Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess who's back, it's Fred Phelps of Westboro Baptist Church...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

What a complete surprise that some other loon would want to run with the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Religion? lulz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

MrDarcy wrote: »
    Just in time for 9/11, Fred Phelps, the insane leader of the US Westboro Baptist Church that brought us:

http://www.godhatesfags.com

http://www.godhatesireland.com

http://www.priestsrapeboys.com

...has now joined this whole debate on the plan by Terry Jones to burn as many copies of the Koran as he can find on 9/11. While Jones has agreed to suspend his campaign to burn the Koran on 9/11, Phelp's is now picking up where Jones has left off...

http://www.godhatesfags.com/fliers/20100910_WBC-to-Burn-the-Koran-Sept-11.pdf

I imagine this is going to cause uproar and most probably loss of American life, as Phelp's is unlikely to show any moderation or restraint on this subject, his approach all along has been one that uses outrage as his main stage...

That's exactly what he wants. Then he'll just use that loss of of life to promote his fairytale and preach that the almighty God is punishing them for tolerating homosexuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

this is not going to end good...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

O' Crap. Here we go again...
    irish-stew wrote: »
    this is not going to end good...
    Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Me V you, Fred Philips. Lunch time at the football fields.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

someone please make the hysteria stop :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Here's the main text of the PDF link above:

GOD HATES MUSLIMS
    WBC WILL BURN THE KORAN AND
    THE DOOMED AMERICAN FLAG AT
    12:00 PM ON SEPTEMBER 11, 2010
    AT WESTBORO BAPTIST CHURCH

As predicted, false prophet Terry Jones was bullied by
    sissy, intolerant rebels worldwide into cancelling plans
    to burn that blasphemous idol called the Koran.
    As promised, WBC will burn Korans instead, as well as
    the Doomed american flag, on Sat., Sept. 11 at 12 PM
    (media is invited; trouble-making rebels are not).
    Like priests-rape-boys Catholicism, Islam is just another
    false religious system with a pedophile as its prophet.
    You’re not supposed to be finding common ground with
    idolatrous perverts, but throwing down their altars, as
    God instructed!

“And ye shall make no league with the inhabitants of this
    land; ye shall throw down their altars: but ye have not
    obeyed my voice: why have ye done this?” Jud. 2:2
    In standing in league with blasphemers, you bring God’s
    wrath on this rebellious generation. Woe to you!
    YOUR DESTRUCTION IS IMMINENT

i'm just wondering what the Hon' Phelps has against us.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Oh ffs..

*facepalm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

We let American aircraft use Shannon as a stopover an thats why he hates us

We let "fags" and "dykes" roam freely..as opposed to putting them in cages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

Would ya?!?!?!?!? Ohhhhhh yeshhhhhh! :D:D:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

what hurts the most is that his qouting from the bible:
    “And ye shall make no league with the inhabitants of this
    land; ye shall throw down their altars: but ye have not
    obeyed my voice: why have ye done this?” Jud. 2:2

And cliams this provides him the right to make these kind of statements / gestures against people who believe somethign differently from another book...

What if their book has something similar written down...

...would that cancel out his arguement or just throw more heat into the whole "he said / she said" thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Quazzie wrote: »
    storm2811 wrote: »

Nah. It's because Sen. David Norris is gay.

Quazzie wrote: »

ah, that oul can of worms, and i thought it was about the catholic church abuse scandel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Just in time for 9/11, Fred Phelps, the insane leader of the US Westboro Baptist Church that brought us:

http://www.godhatesfags.com

http://www.godhatesireland.com

http://www.priestsrapeboys.com

1 out of 3 aint bad mind you.

well if your going to go to hell you might as well go out enjoying your self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Does anyone else find the song on the Godhatesireland website very catchy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

What? You think those ghouls are hot? Despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

If the media just pay the WBC no attention tomorrow then there'll be no problem.

Yer wan on the left, seriously fuppable... Unless your ghay, and you shall BURN IN HELL YOU FILTHY SODOMITE, (Revelations 14:8)!!!

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

There were gowls in that vid?............... Must look again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Looks like there will be some koran burnings after all then. This guy won't back down :(.

So much hate from one person :mad:.

Do you think homophobes are just in the closet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i would do the one in the green, the other one looks like casandra out of fools and horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I wouldn't touch either with a bargepole, based on face alone. Too much of the equine.

Wouldn't mind seeing them have a go at each other though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Wouldn't mind seeing them have a go at each other though!
    oh noes! godhatesfags.com!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

mohawk wrote: »
    Looks like there will be some koran burnings after all then. This guy won't back down :(.

So much hate from one person :mad:.

Do you think homophobes are just in the closet?

It won't be the first time that Phelps has done this. He did it in 2008 in Washington but the media was so fed up with his antics at the funerals of US servicemen that they completely ignored him. He's now trying to piggyback on the current situation to get some attention for himself.
    Her irritation Wednesday was not that the Rev. Terry Jones and his Dove World Outreach Center's planned bonfire would offend Muslims worldwide and probably increase the danger to American soldiers in Afghanistan and Iraq.

It's that in 2008 she and her father's Topeka flock set fire to a Quran in plain view on a Washington, D.C., street and nobody seemed to care.

"We did it a long time before this guy," Phelps-Roper said by telephone from a street corner in downtown Chicago, scene of the latest Westboro picket — against Jews this time, not gays.

The difference could be that in 2008 many news media outlets had decided to ignore the group's routine of spewing hatred at funerals of fallen American soldiers.

LINK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Stupid religions ruining things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭aine-maire

It makes me so sad that they're indoctrinating a new generation into their despicable 'religion'.
    In spouting such vitriol they debase the value of freedom of speech. They're so full of hatred, it's unfathomable.

At the very least they have unwittingly undermined the campaign to burn the Qu'ran. (Though whether it had any credibility to begin with is questionable :rolleyes: )

aine-maire wrote: »
    It makes me so sad that they're indoctrinating a new generation into their despicable 'religion'.
    In spouting such vitriol they debase the value of freedom of speech. They're so full of hatred, it's unfathomable.

At the very least they have unwittingly undermined the campaign to burn the Qu'ran. (Though whether it had any credibility to begin with is questionable :rolleyes: )

Ah there's only around 100 of them max and they are all in the same family! I don't think their message is catching on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Since Phelps and his followers are widely viewed as mental/deluded (even in America), it probably won't be much of an issue in the end (despite being quite inflammatory)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Religion? lulz...

Bet you were expecting loads of thanks for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Guess who's back?
    Back again?
    Shady's back
    Tell a friend

Guess who's back?
    Back again?
    Shady's back
    Tell a friend

Absolutely love it haha!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭aine-maire

Ah there's only around 100 of them max and they are all in the same family! I don't think their message is catching on!

That's true, I think it's 80% of them from the same family. But that they're perpetuating this in their children is scary.
    I know that that makes only about 20 people who aren't related to them... But that even one person could buy into this stuff :eek:

Does anyone know if this nutcase has done as he said he would yesterday and burned the Koran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Does anyone know if this nutcase has done as he said he would yesterday and burned the Koran?
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/quran_burning

the big news networks in the US have decided not to report on this guy either way, so news is scarce today on him (as it should be)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

That's probably the best approach anyone could take with these ignorant morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

I like his stance on Bono though:
    U2, led by jackass Bono, is amongst the most ardent and influential fag enablers on the planet, setting a filthy example for people all over the world. For example, Bono supported Bill Clinton for president, and proudly proclaimed that his victory in 1992 was a victory for homosexuals. Bono has stuck his vile nose into the socio-political arena worldwide, including thinking he's going to remove God's curse of AIDS (good luck with that Bono - let me know how that turns out for you). Bono, along with the rest of the band, are proud drunkards, womanizers, perverts, and, of course, "Christians."
    ^From godhatesireland.com (can't believe there's a website called that:rolleyes:, the guy is a complete nutter)

Well the bit in bold is all I agree with really...

raveni wrote: »
    I like his stance on Bono though:

^From godhatesireland.com (can't believe there's a website called that:rolleyes:, the guy is a complete nutter)

Well the bit in bold is all I agree with really...

Ha, he actually called them "homosexuals" instead of "filthy fags".:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Ha, he actually called them "homosexuals" instead of "filthy fags".:rolleyes:

Yeah but I bet he copied it and pasted it from somewhere and forgot to change it to "filthy fags":rolleyes:

raveni wrote: »
    Yeah but I bet he copied it and pasted it from somewhere and forgot to change it to "filthy fags":rolleyes:

Probably.:pac:
    Honestly I don't know how anyone can take him seriously, he argues like a spoilt child.
    Not to mention the Gaga covers they did..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Fred Phelps should be thrown into a dyke.

Is it just me or does he not look very like the evil bastard in Ghostbusters 2 (You know the guy in the painting who comes alive) when he does his televised addresses??

I'm convinced if someone captured him, and threw him into a gaybar, he would just spontaneously combust. Problem solved :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'm convinced if someone captured him, and threw him into a gaybar, he would just spontaneously cum.

Fixed your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

For anyone who hasn't seen it, Louis Theroux's documentary on Fred Phelps and his family 'The Most Hated Family in America' is a great watch; one of his best documentaries:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOrz5k0jWdU (comes in 8 parts, with links on the sidebar to subsequent parts)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

mikom wrote: »
    Fixed your post.

Oh how I LOL'ed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭GarethWA

Apparently we have 'never recovered' from the Great Famine....I thought we were doing ok!:rolleyes: