Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is John Gormley the Goverments self destruct button?

• 10-09-2010 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

I really think the Goverment should gag this idiot before he does anymore damage.

So since the recession really kicked in and people of this country have taken wage cuts, increases in personal taxation, massive job losses, commited to taking on a National debt that will surpass the working lives of our grandchildren he has come out with the following:
    • banning of tradtional bulbs in exchange for the really expensieve ones.
    • increases in ESB charges
    • increases in bin charges
    • restrictions on the use of commercial vehicles for private use
    • kyboshing the only realistic method of us disposing of the 300 million tonnes of crap we produce every year
    • and now he expects us to accept water charges.
    I think the media have identified this guy as the Goverments self destruct button...so they keep niggling at him to see if he really does bring the house down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Banning of outdated, energy guzzling light bulbs in exchange for energy efficent, environmentally friendly alternatives.
    He doesn't increase the charges. There's an independent regulator which assesses that. And untility prices have come down over the past few years. Now the carbon tax is another matter, but then he is a GREEN minister, and it was part of the GREEN manifesto.
    He has no power over this.
    Enforcing existing legislation more like. What's the point in drafting laws if you don't enforece them?
    • kyboshing the only realistic method of us disposing of the 300 million tonnes of crap we produce every year
    Agree with this. But he's a politican and wants to get elected the next time around. His constituents have to share the blame too.
    Practically every other EU country has water charges. You want free water? Go down to your local river with a saucepan and collect some for yourself. You want clean, trated water, free from ****, you'll have to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Einhard wrote: »
    [/LIST]Banning of outdated, energy guzzling light bulbs in exchange for energy efficent, environmentally friendly alternatives.

oh, you and your sensible post...
    ruining the rabble rabble rabble of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

He's a green what do you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

well at least the green party will never be elected again for as long as I live after this showing - they had there moment and proved that everyone bar the tree huggers were right about them

The water charges is the only one I'd agree with - in fairness - most people in the countryside already pay for private water schemes so it's only fair that city folk pay for their water too - after all it's not free to clean and treat the water and might help conserve water if people actually think before turning the tap on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

People in rural areas often get zero help from the council for water.

Pay contributions to a group scheme or install, service and power your own pump.

Water isn't free, it has to be treated and pumped. But people in cities, towns and villages somehow think they are exempt :confused:

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    well at least the green party will never be elected again for as long as I live after this showing - they had there moment and proved that everyone bar the tree huggers were right about them

You planning on dying before the next election? The Green Party, unlike the PDs, have a core base of supporters. They'll be badly hit in the next election, but they won't be wiped out, as some political fetishists are wont to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

heres hoping that he will bring them down,
    on the bulbs issue, tesco are selling them for a euro each,
    on water charges, most people living in the country are paying them, i was paying them 30 years ago,
    on the waste, he is almost the biggest waste of space we have, he put the price of incenreration sky high, yet in 2 years time we have to have incenderation according to eu rules,
    it looks like he has learned quite a bit from his partners in political grime, giving substance to the old adage that if you sleep with dogs you are likely to pick up their fleas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

No doubt Gormley is a <snip> forcing his religious beliefs upon us but as for self destruct button for the government how about callely cowan and the rest of the cowardly greedy members of fianna fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

[/LIST]Banning of outdated, energy guzzling light bulbs in exchange for energy efficent, environmentally friendly alternatives. He doesn't increase the charges. There's an independent regulator which assesses that. And untility prices have come down over the past few years. Now the carbon tax is another matter, but then he is a GREEN minister, and it was part of the GREEN manifesto. He has no power over this. Enforcing existing legislation more like. What's the point in drafting laws if you don't enforece them? Agree with this. But he's a politican and wants to get elected the next time around. His constituents have to share the blame too. Practically every other EU country has water charges. You want free water? Go down to your local river with a saucepan and collect some for yourself. You want clean, trated water, free from ****, you'll have to pay for it.

On lightbulbs...its all good in principle and during normal economic conditions....but we are in a severe financial crisis, where we need people spending again in a normal manner, the last thing we need is a tit with a green hat on making noises about us being forced to buy lightbulbs that are traditionally far more expensieve.
    On ESB...thats a 5% to subsidise totally inefficent bog burning. Why has his colleague Eamon Ryan not pulled rank on why the interconnector to Britian is costing €300 million when a private company has costed an interconnector to France for €120 million?
    As for our utility prices...they were 30% higher than the rest of Europes before the recession...so if they have come down by 30%...we are where Europe was 2 1/2 years ago and when oil was trading @ $140 a barrel...so not something to harp on about.
    As for the existing legislation on commercials....did you know its actually illegal to dance before midnight on the sabbath in the UK?...and thats a law still on the Statute Books. The Law is the Law..I agree...but maybe one should think before they speak...how would you enforce that law? what defines working for the self employed?
    The incinerator issue....did you know that in Vienna...the city's incinerator sits cheek to jowl with a hospital and has no issue.
    On water rates...id say the same thing as with the light bulbs...these sort of announcements need to be made tactfully and with the political climate considered. we,ve been battered this week with the Bond Yield issue...Anglo...McCarthy talkin about taking 5 big ones outta the economy at the budget. Jesus all the man needs is a feckin newspaper and a decent P.R guy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Voltex wrote: »
    On lightbulbs...its all good in principle and during normal economic conditions....but we are in a severe financial crisis, where we need people spending again in a normal manner, the last thing we need is a tit with a green hat on making noises about us being forced to buy lightbulbs that are traditionally far more expensieve.

learn to write in paragraphs.

I got 5 of them for a fiver in woodies the other day and they use much much less electricity so actually save you money you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

oh, you and your sensible post...
    ruining the rabble rabble rabble of it all

sensible and greens , you sure about this ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

1. Building incinerators
    2. Raising taxes
    3. Supporting a corrupt government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Practically every other EU country has water charges. You want free water? Go down to your local river with a saucepan and collect some for yourself. You want clean, trated water, free from ****, you'll have to pay for it.

I agree with everything you said apart from this.
    Water is the most essential thing that people need in order to stave off death.
    Nobody should ever have to pay for it.

I'm becoming more and more conservative as I get older, but water should never have a price on it. I don't think I will ever change my mind on that.

Yeah, the government puts money into cleaning it, but that's what taxes are for.
    I don't care that other EU countries pay for clean water.
    The term "other EU countries do x" is bandied about too much when it comes to criticism of our government. It's valid at times, but to use it to justify charging for the most essential need of human beings is just retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

Einhard wrote:
    You want free water? Go down to your local river with a saucepan and collect some for yourself. You want clean, trated water, free from ****, you'll have to pay for it.

We do, it's called PAYE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Nobody mentioned carbon tax? 5c on petrol and diesel. :mad: They get enough vat and duty off it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

[/LIST]
    And untility prices have come down over the past few years.
    we pay more for electricity then most of europe. If we want more jobs our costs have to come down.

Now for the AH portion of my post. If he is the self-destruct button would someone press it already!!! KaBoom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

mohawk wrote: »
    If he is the self-destruct button would someone press it already!!! KaBoom

It is pressed by giving him a firm kick in the hole. So you know what to do when you see him cycling past! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Here's my theory on the light bulbs....

Good old incandescent bulbs generate light with heat as a by-product. (or should that be the other way round :-P) This heat has been heating our homes for years (albeit only a little).

This heat is lost when an energy efficient bulb is used instead.....

So to replace the heat lost from the bulb we're probably turning up our thermostats or leaving the heating on that bit longer now without realising it...therefore we're probably burning more oil to replace the heat we were getting from the bulb....small but it all adds up

also...energy efficient bulbs suck....it's like replacing a fireplace with a storage heater....just not the same :mad:

anyway the moral of the story is Gormley is an idiot and I can't wait to see him get turfed out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bytey

hes fcuked , the greens will be ravaged beyond recognition
    end of story .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I know! And the light bulb industry is such an important part of the Irish economy.....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

So John Gormley is so powerful that he managed to enforce a Europe wide ban on the old lightbulbs?

Oh no, wait, it was actually the EU that did that. Yet for some reason, he is being blamed for the laws the EU pass.

I guess that is what ignorance is called.

I also like that he is getting blamed for the councils raising the bin charges.

I know! And the light bulb industry is such an important part of the Irish economy.....:rolleyes:[/QUOTE
    with a CPI runing at -2%...anyone asking for people to pay more for anything deserves the wrath of ignorance!!

reprazant wrote: »
    So John Gormley is so powerful that he managed to enforce a Europe wide ban on the old lightbulbs?

Oh no, wait, it was actually the EU that did that. Yet for some reason, he is being blamed for the laws the EU pass.

...and what was the rational for the increase in bin chrages???????
    O sh it yeah..the increased cost of landfill!!!!
    shouldda just put a match to that pile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

A green minister who's only good for stopping bullets before they hit the wall. What's new?

He's trying desperately to be seen to be doing something to justify his cabinet position, and in the process announcing to the world why he shouldn't have it.

Also... big old lightbulbs make for a nice resistive load on the national grid, which helps stabilise things. CFL bulbs are bastards for reactive power and the like.

They only work for a certain part of the electricity waveform... which is great for the customer, but a pain for the generator and supplier.

...and what was the rational for the increase in bin chrages???????
    O sh it yeah..the increased cost of landfill!!!!
    shouldda just put a match to that pile!

I guess you would have no problem with an incinerator beside your house?

Dartz wrote: »

They only work for a certain part of the electricity waveform... which is great for the customer, but a pain for the generator and supplier.
    reads a bit like a Stephan Hawking book...but i guess you reckon they aint orth s hite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

reads a bit like a Stephan Hawking book...but i guess you reckon they aint orth s hite?

They're not a perfect solution.

LED's are better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

If I'm not mistaken he tried to ban the sale of incandescent lightbulbs a number of years ago but the EU stopped him on anti-competitive grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

[/LIST]Banning of outdated, energy guzzling light bulbs in exchange for energy efficent, environmentally friendly alternatives.
    ...the new energy saver bulbs dont last pissing time, so in the lifetime of the old bulb you need to replace the new ones 3 times more.. killing the planet
    [/LIST]
    [/LIST]He doesn't increase the charges. There's an independent regulator which assesses that. And untility prices have come down over the past few years. Now the carbon tax is another matter, but then he is a GREEN minister, and it was part of the GREEN manifesto.

Which with such a small national vote i wish he stick his manifest up his brown hole

Enforcing existing legislation more like. What's the point in drafting laws if you don't enforece them?

Reality and cop on is important too. The reality that people cannot affort 2 vehicles now, one for work and one to drive to mass or school, and the cop on to leave well enough alone when people are hurting
    [/LIST][/LIST]Agree with this. But he's a politican and wants to get elected the next time around. His constituents have to share the blame too.

What happened to for the the greater cause. Hes another jackie healy ray then with better personal hygiene?

snyper wrote: »
    ...the new energy saver bulbs dont last pissing time, so in the lifetime of the old bulb you need to replace the new ones 3 times more.. killing the planet
    Then blame the EU. They brought in the law.

snyper wrote: »
    Reality and cop on is important too. The reality that people cannot affort 2 vehicles now, one for work and one to drive to mass or school, and the cop on to leave well enough alone when people are hurting
    They don't need two vehicles. They can just declare it as the primary vehicle, not a work one, and pay the same tax as every else.

Another post from someone not in touch with reality, or should i say, other peoples reality.

Sorry, I hadn't realised tax fraud is fine when there is a recession on.

Its not tax fraud.

Commercial vehicle been used for commercial purposes.

If you drop the kids to school you are now a tax fraud?

Please cop on.

Under the eyes of the law, yes it is.

If the vehicle is designated as a commercial vehicle only, it can be used for commercial reasons only.

That is the law.

If you want to use it as your primary vehicle, then it should be designated as such.

Under the eyes of the law, yes it is.

If the vehicle is designated as a commercial vehicle only, it can be used for commercial reasons only.

That is the law.

If you want to use it as your primary vehicle, then it should be designated as such.

Reality and common sence is completely lost here.

If my wife has a car, and if i have a van.

I use my van to work. It commercial, REALITY is i will use it to drop the kids to school, get milk etc...

It has not been enforced because the Gardai cannot enforce it, it just shows how out of touch with reality this minister is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Sorry, I hadn't realised tax fraud is fine when there is a recession on

Oh I forgot the holier than thou greens frown upon fraud and the likes......

On a totally unrelated topic.....................

Who are they in government with again??? Seems to have slipped my mind...

While I do not deny that it will be quite difficult to enforce, and that it is somewhat silly, the law was already there.

While he announced that it was to be enforced, I doubt that he alone decided this. I would imagine that it was the revenue that decided that this should be enforced since they need the money.

It will just be another of the many traps that the have at checkpoints for van drivers. They were already going after then even before this was announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

While I do not deny that it will be quite difficult to enforce, and that it is somewhat silly, the law was already there.

While he announced that it was to be enforced, I doubt that he alone decided this. I would imagine that it was the revenue that decided that this should be enforced since they need the money.

It will just be another of the many traps that the have at checkpoints for van drivers. They were already going after then even before this was announced.

Gormely's goal is environment protection. When someone is fanatical in a goal, then all other views are not important.
    Let's not kid ourselves here - we have our own natural born fanatical evangelist here.

This in itself is the main problem with environmentalists (forgive my spelling). If we have more progressive, mainstream pro reformers leading the way then I’d say we'd have less struggle in the process to being more environmentally aware.

Just my 2c

I only know one staunch green party supporter, he likes to talk about how he's helping save the environment and how Gormley and the Greens are making the world a better place to live. The same guy insists on owning two cars, both gas guzzlers. He refuses to walk the half mile from his college to the nearest shop, he burns rubbish in his back garden, he refuses to recycle as it's too costly and he believes that banning bull fighting is a good thing as it helps the environment,

All in all, pseudo wanna be enviromentlist are a shower of cunts.

I only know one staunch green party supporter, he likes to talk about how he's helping save the environment and how Gormley and the Greens are making the world a better place to live. The same guy insists on owning two cars, both gas guzzlers. He refuses to walk the half mile from his college to the nearest shop, he burns rubbish in his back garden, he refuses to recycle as it's too costly and he believes that banning bull fighting is a good thing as it helps the environment,

Forgive me, but I smell BS here.
    All in all, pseudo wanna be enviromentlist are a shower of cunts.

Don't think anyone would agree with you here. Especially the real environmentalists in the Green Party.

Forgive me, but I smell BS here.

Yes because there's no way such a hypocritical person could exit, oh hang they do and I happen to know one.
    Don't think anyone would agree with you here. Especially the real environmentalists in the Green Party.

If you had read the post I clearly stated that wannabe environmentalists were cunts, never said that actual honest to god enviromentlaists are, though I'm sure some are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Triangle wrote: »
    environmentalists (forgive my spelling)
    I will not! How dare you spell a word correctly!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

I really think the Goverment should gag this idiot before he does anymore damage.

So since the recession really kicked in and people of this country have taken wage cuts, increases in personal taxation, massive job losses, commited to taking on a National debt that will surpass the working lives of our grandchildren he has come out with the following:
    I think the media have identified this guy as the Goverments self destruct button...so they keep niggling at him to see if he really does bring the house down!

but they will send chuckles eamonn ryan on to the radio to say its all right
    because he is so lovable with his cocker spanial eyes
    the sleep walking climate zealots:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

From what I recall when living back in Ireland, the greens were the most tame and spineless Government partner, far worse than the P.D.s

At least Mary Harney through her weight around - pun fully intended - and tried to at least look like she was doing something - before taking on the ironic role of health minister when she looks like she's going to have a heart attack after climbing a flight of stairs - the only more hillarious appointment could have been making Brian Cowen the minister for good looks - but they took that poisin challace off FF and fell on their sword eventually.

As a Dublin South East constituent, I can assure you that Gormley wont get a vote off me ever again (he was never first preference, but always gave greens a preference) as it has become apparant that they're even more irrelivant than the P.D.s were and are used and exploited even easier. Seemingly an expertise of the current crop of trench coats...none better than good auld Bertie of course!

If they had a shred of dignity and sincerity they would have disolved this Government long ago.

Not that an alternative would or even could make a major difference.

Even if it was the case, it wouldn't make much difference if your Granny or Michael Schumacher was driving a clapped out old lada with an oil leak and smoking engine....either way it's pretty fu*ked and you're not going to improve the performance a lot, regardless of who's driving.

It's the last bunch that rode the tidal wave of destruction and hopped off just before it came crashing down, except Cowen held on for the big mans job, and has been ruined as a credibal politician as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Ah for God sake...energy guzzling light bulbs?? I hope you turned your monitor off while you were typing, to you know, save electricity.

I hate the light from the CFL bulbs, & if it costs me the €2.42 extra every year to use the bulbs I want, whats the big problem? The ESB are getting PAID for the additional energy consumed arn't they? (point - Hydro generation)

Imagine the savings on fuel alone, if Mary Harney was to lost a few stone? Now that would be a real benefit to the environment. Or better yet, why not give all the lads four or five months off a year, instead of the measly three, the carbon savings alone from none of them attending The Dail would be huge (although it never looks full anyway, so may be a moot point).

The point is now is not the time, the leader of this country, should be promoting stimulation, not digging us in deeper with his greener colleagues. And good point about drinking from the river, are you from Galway? Those folks can tell us the best methods for avoiding poisonous drinking water...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Gormley also has some very strong beliefs on power generation...

For example, he wants more and more wind, which is fine. But the problem is that once you've loads of wind, the grid can get very unstable because the wind's not constant.

He's also avidly anti-nuclear. Despite the fact it would work very well for almost the entire base-load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Hopefully not, because that might imply that he's in some way useful.