Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lamb Quality Assurance Scheme

• 09-09-2010 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

I presume the Lamb Quality Scheme Inspections have been discussed before, but I am just wondering has anyone had an inspection lately and what did it entail. I will be having an inspection soon and I just want to be on top of things.
    All information really appreciated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

have your register and vet forms up to date, also have the place feed etc is kept clean. That was the main items I got audited on anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Had a meeting this week on the STAP and one of the conditions stipulates that you must join the Lamb Quality Assurance Scheme in order to send lambs to the factory. Are many sheep farmers here in the scheme and how have you found it

Are you inspected every year and what do you need to watch out for? Is there a cost involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

razor8 wrote: »
    Had a meeting this week on the STAP and one of the conditions stipulates that you must join the Lamb Quality Assurance Scheme in order to send lambs to the factory. Are many sheep farmers here in the scheme and how have you found it

Are you inspected every year and what do you need to watch out for? Is there a cost involved?

I'm not, but I'm looking to get into it and know two farmers who're already in it.

One had a bag of horse ration on a pallet with lamb ration and got marked down on that. You'll need a farmyard sketch with rat poison points clearly marked out on it. Any and all dead stock needs to be properly accounted for on paper, knackers records/flock reg etc.

There's a check list of something like 300 questions, but some sections of if you won't have to bother with if you're not in those activities.

They didn't think it was bad, neither did they think there was much/any money out of it most years. One of the lads is in it 6 years.

Best point they though of it was it's like a dry run for a cross compliance check. But, unlike a CC it's Bord Bia so even if you fail it, what's the worst that happens you get thrown out of the scheme - compared to failing a CC check.

I've emailed BB looking for information, not heard back yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

i am in it for about 4 years now . originally got in on the back of the beef scheme as it was only launched when i had a renewal inspection for beef scheme. as said above it aint too hard to pass, just have the basics covered such as knackery receipts, and dose and injection records. also make sure you did not sell any sheep that were within a withdrawal period. if you read the hand book for the scheme it covers nearly everything that you need to have done. remember getting notice once and ended up housebound due to flu for a week beforehand. end result was that i had everything perfect for the inspection. when the guy was finished he said he had to deduct 2 marks as he was not allowed to have a perfect mark. last time i was deducted marks or not having records of dosing the farm dog even though i showed it to him in my medicine book.watch out also that you say you castrated animals by their guidelines as they dont like writing it down that you dont fully comply with this.overall dont worry about it as they want you to pass and be a member of the scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

thats for the advice lads, some good pointers there

where do you record what you dosed your sheep with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I might be wrong, but I think they give you a record book.

Oh another thing, no penicillin to be on farm, it's a prescription only med.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 speedtheplough

they call here every 18 m0nths,have proper feed storage,medicine cabenet with lock,he will take down medicine no.have none out of date stuff, when u get serts from knackers get them to put down a bag of lambs on cert, have records up to date, have out disinfectant an youl b grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭drive it

There is feck all to it they give you a record book and its laid out well a page for meds/doseing feed purches don't do like I did enter in each time I bought meal eg. Lot no.- exp date where i got it ,when I got the second inspection 18 months later yer man said no need to do that just keep one label for each type of meal

as said all ready it basically a cross compliance inspection with out the fear of been done and you are given 3-4days notice .
    And keep register up to date any sold,bought or dead animal in it