Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could we, the people of Ireland, create a leadership "heave"???

• 09-09-2010 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

Just reading this article here on the Independent website...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/kenny-puts-on-show-of-unity-but-insiders-warn-of-another-heave-2331043.html

Basically when there was a leadership heave against Kenny, he won because the figures they reckon stacked up as follows:

"Look, it depends who you talk to," one rebel TD said, when asked about the mood of the party.
    "We think the result of the leadership vote went 38-32. And the way the polls are at the moment, Labour will win 35 to 40 seats in an election.

So basically because 6 absolute IDIOTS voted for Kenny instead of Richard Bruton, and the rest of the country pays while Fianna Fail and the Green Party pillage the country and we are left without a credible leadership alternative and Kenny and Gilmore are not credible leadership candidates in my opinion...

So what are we left with???

If Richard Bruton had have won that leadership heave, where would we be now???

Well I reckon it would have united the country into action because for once there would have been a genuine reason and a noble purpose to protest for an election.

So my point is, forget about your golden Anglo circle or "the elite", my opinion that is because 6, SIX people no less, didn't have the guts to vote for change and that is what we need, CHANGE, that the rest of the country despairs???

So is there a case to be made for a movement amongst the people to push Bruton back out there for a leadership role??? Maybe doing up a website asking for him to acknowledge the fact that people want him to be the next Taoiseach of Ireland. He is clearly fit for purpose where kenny and Gilmore are not.

Maybe we need to by-pass the old farts in FG who cannot see the very real and serious need for real and credible political leadership at the moment....

Any views???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

MrDarcy wrote: »
    ... So basically because 6 absolute IDIOTS voted for Kenny instead of Richard Bruton...

Who were the six? You also say that 38 people voted for Kenny. So I can infer that 32 of them were not idiots. While we're on the subject of absolute idiocy, I might point out that it required only four of them to have voted for Bruton instead of Kenny in order to get a different result.

If you want to bring about change in a political party, then you should consider joining that party and getting involved. A number of anonymous participants on a web forum aren't going to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Who were the six? You also say that 38 people voted for Kenny. So I can infer that 32 of them were not idiots. While we're on the subject of absolute idiocy, I might point out that it required only four of them to have voted for Bruton instead of Kenny in order to get a different result.

:pac: Pwned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

If you want to bring about change in a political party, then you should consider joining that party and getting involved. A number of anonymous participants on a web forum aren't going to do it.

I don't have to be a member of any political party to create a thread on here and have some discussion on something. I might add that I understand from your public sector leanings on the forum, that change and progression in the wider interest of other folks is something that is inherently difficult for you.

My point remains that the difference could have been merely ONE TD voted for Kenny instead of Bruton, and it could have been that close for all we know, because it was a secret ballot.

It's September 2010, the country is cruising very steadily towards a sovereign default, and we are accepting that we have a leadership vacuum at the very highest level within this state, and we are tolerating secret ballots in closed rooms where back room power deals are all the order of the day, and THIS IS FROM THE PARTY THAT SAYS IT IS THE CHANGE WE NOW SO BADLY NEED TO SEE IN IRELAND?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Why should we tolerate a situation that because some FG lads progressed politically under Kenny as opposed to Bruton, and they want to retain the status quo and keep "their man" in place, why should we tolerate a situation that the only real possible candidate who could inspire this nation, lead the people back to working again and creating jobs, is smacked down by 1, 6 or 30 something absolute gullies???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I don't have to be a member of any political party to create a thread on here and have some discussion on something. I might add that I understand from your public sector leanings on the forum, that change and progression in the wider interest of other folks is something that is inherently difficult for you.

My point remains that the difference could have been merely ONE TD voted for Kenny instead of Bruton, and it could have been that close for all we know, because it was a secret ballot.

It's September 2010, the country is cruising very steadily towards a sovereign default, and we are accepting that we have a leadership vacuum at the very highest level within this state, and we are tolerating secret ballots in closed rooms where back room power deals are all the order of the day, and THIS IS FROM THE PARTY THAT SAYS IT IS THE CHANGE WE NOW SO BADLY NEED TO SEE IN IRELAND?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Why should we tolerate a situation that because some FG lads progressed politically under Kenny as opposed to Bruton, and they want to retain the status quo and keep "their man" in place, why should we tolerate a situation that the only real possible candidate who could inspire this nation, lead the people back to working again and creating jobs, is smacked down by 1, 6 or 30 something absolute gullies???

It is entirely up to FG how they choose their leader. By your logic then it would be wrong for Bruton supporters to back him in the expectation of being promoted?? Cop on. Your opinion on Bruton is completely clouding whatever argument you are trying to make. Instead of whining, come up with something concrete that could be realistically be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

It is entirely up to FG how they choose their leader. By your logic then it would be wrong for Bruton supporters to back him in the expectation of being promoted?? Cop on. Your opinion on Bruton is completely clouding whatever argument you are trying to make. Instead of whining, come up with something concrete that could be realistically be done.

The only consideration should have been what's best for the country, given the critical situation that we are in. Enda Kenny is obviously not capable of running a country, he is a bufoon. Eamon Gilmore, another bufoon. What suggestions do you have? Do you think it is acceptable that the only two large political parties in opposition are putting forward bufoons to lead the country???

Do you think it is fair or democratic that the people of this country, many of who are seriously suffering at the moment through unemployment, are being asked to subscribe to this standard of leadership???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

... I might add that I understand from your public sector leanings on the forum, that change and progression in the wider interest of other folks is something that is inherently difficult for you....

You obviously know little very about me, and you have not grasped the tenor of my posts in this forum.