Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheal o' Leary, love him or Hate him...

• 08-09-2010 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭

Tonight I heard him call the DAA a Bunch of Moran's!!!
    You have to admit he ain't wrong there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

How many Morans are employed by the DAA ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

He is not afraid to speak his mind , I quite like him you never know what he is going to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Michael who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I think hes a great business man, but i wouldnt like to work for him

.. and the first person that thinks hed be good to run the country in any shape or form shows how disconnected from reality you are.

Just getting that in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

snyper wrote: »

"magnificent bastard" is the term often used in such cases, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

How many Morans are employed by the DAA ?

“Congratulations to Iain for a thoroughly deserved win in these hugely prestigious awards,” said DAA Infrastructural Development Director Colm Moran. “This award is a huge honour for Iain, the T1X team, and the entire Transforming Dublin Airport programme.”

http://www.dublinairportauthority.com/TDA/Latest_News/311008_award.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

I.. and the first person that thinks hed be good to run the country in any shape or form shows how disconnected from reality you are.

I agree with you because someone concerned with this country would not be happy to play a part in decimating Shannon airport but isn't it wonderful how he can use the announcement of reducing the flight numbers out of Shannon as further self-promotion. He's becoming a parody of himself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I hate how people idolise him and claim he'd fix the country

Fcuking hell, is there anything this man can't do?

Why doesn't he get into politics then? Because he knows he'd be ****, that's why.. He's only interested in his personal wealth, sure lets make him minister for finance

talking crap about how things are done on whine-line radio doesn't make a good politician

Fcuking hell, is there anything this man can't do?

He cant make chuck norris pay for his extra luggage.

He pays chuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I agree with you because someone concerned with this country would not be happy to play a part in decimating Shannon airport but isn't it wonderful how he can use the announcement of reducing the flight numbers out of Shannon as further self-promotion. He's becoming a parody of himself at this stage.

You understand that his job is to make Ryanair money, right? It's outrageous for anyone to expect him to engage in some sort of charity work by running flights that don't make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

jezko wrote: »
    Tonight I heard him call the DAA a Bunch of Moran's!!!

How dare he talk about the Moran family that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

He's very funny but you can't take him seriously. Fact is they are cutting back in Ireland because they can't make money here. That's no ones fault but their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

there's nothing this man cant do!! i think he'd fix the country!!! probably not a big enough wage for him to be a politician though and its all about the green! oh and i idolise him :P hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'm indifferent to him tbh. Think of him kinda in the way you'd think of your mad uncle-talks pure sh1te most of the time, yet you can't actually hate him.

Why doesn't he get into politics then? Because he knows he'd be ****, that's why.. He's only interested in his personal wealth, sure lets make him minister for finance

Actually he has said many times that he wouldn't bother getting into politics because

1) He doesn't think people would want him to be a politician

and

2) He isn't capable of saying the nice things that politicians have to say sometimes.

And I don't understand how being motivated by money is a bad thing. It's his job, and he's good at it.

Mark200 wrote: »
    You understand that his job is to make Ryanair money, right? It's outrageous for anyone to expect him to engage in some sort of charity work by running flights that don't make money.

Of course I know he's not running a charity but I think that he's not in the position to lecture the government about job creation and robbing the country of jobs e.g. with the debacle in Dublin airport warehouse and then pull a load of flights out of Shannon. The Paris flight was one of the most popular flights out of the airport. My point really is that someone in his position should just shut his mouth.

As for him being a politician, anyone who witnessed his debate Declan Ganley on Primetime would have seen first hand just how inept he would be.

Id rather his ineptness than Ganleys lies

Of course I know he's not running a charity but I think that he's not in the position to lecture the government about job creation and robbing the country of jobs e.g. with the debacle in Dublin airport warehouse and then pull a load of flights out of Shannon. The Paris flight was one of the most popular flights out of the airport. My point really is that someone in his position should just shut his mouth.

You're completely missing the point. The whole argument about the Government creating jobs is that the Government should be making business conditions so that it is financially beneficial for businesses to hire more people, and the Government should do what they can to help businesses create jobs. If Ryanair could have made money out of Shannon, they would have. No one really benefits by hiring people just for the sake of it.

I got the impression that O'Leary wasn't too interested in arguing about the fine details considering Ganley was just throwing a truck load of lies out throughout the whole campaign.

Id rather his ineptness than Ganleys lies

I never said I liked Ganley, but rather that O'Leary showed himself as the one trick pony who can only self-promote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Actually he has said many times that he wouldn't bother getting into politics because

1) He doesn't think people would want him to be a politician

and

2) He isn't capable of saying the nice things that politicians have to say sometimes.

And I don't understand how being motivated by money is a bad thing. It's his job, and he's good at it.

Well I didn't know he said that he wouldn't be a politician.. and a drive to make money is no bad thing.

I just think he uses his position to flame people that don't help to make his life easier even if they make the right calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭jezko

Of course I know he's not running a charity but I think that he's not in the position to lecture the government about job creation and robbing the country of jobs

But He is in the Position to lecture this Government about job creation... If His Company can employ any more People.. then Micheal tell the Morans what we need to do to make it possible if it is Possible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

He's a millionaire. He has done what other people can only dream.

I love him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Am I the only one who has had no problems with Ryanair? :rolleyes: The planes have better legroom than most other charter airlines. Issues arise by people not reading the Terms and conditions properly :P Fair play to him running such a successful airline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I like him and his cheap ass flights!!!!

Kerry to frankfurt hans return hand luggage only, €16.

Can't beat that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

I love him tbh. He got me return flights to berlin for 50 euro :)

And this thing about him pulling flights etc etc i dont agree with. He plays ball with ball. He tries to provide the cheapest flights possible and wen the government introduce things like the 10 and 5 euro tax it just pisses him off and goes against what he is tryong to achieve. He offered this country quite a few jobs with that maintainence hanger in a building that was very rairly being used and it was clear that the goverment weren't going to support him in any way,thus why we lost all those jobs to Poland(i think?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Colm, Kevin, Monica, Francis, Mary, John and Beyonce.

Self made millionaire who isn't afraid to face his critics. He's the type of person hated by the average AH keyboard warrior, because he will stand up to them.

I like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭csm

What about the tricks he pulled with Munster fans a few years back? People had booked flights to the final well in advance so they paid only normal Ryanair prices. Munster get to the final and he cancels the flight, refunds their money, and puts another flight on at around the same time. Of course, the second flight costs a couple of hundred euro.

On the one hand, yes he's being an excellent business man. He realises that demand is huge for the flight and he finds a loophole to charge as much as he wants.

On the other, he's being a bollix and taking advantage of people purely for a few grand profit, which is neither here nor there for Ryanair, and for his own promotion.

I like him for his business acumen. I dislike him more for his pettiness and narcissim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Being a good businessman, "no-nonsense", "not afraid to speak his mind" etc doesn't stop him from being an unpleasant prick.

And before the "begrudgery" accusation wankfest starts: if he was Mick O'Leary down the street who worked in a mediocre job and had similar obnoxious character traits to Ryanair's Michael O'Leary, he'd still be an unpleasant prick.

It is a bit of shame to see them go as they did open air travel to a lot of people who couldn't otherwise afford it. Fact is once Ryanair lose on price they are dead as they have nothing else. Well unless you actually need to get to a small field 150km outside Paris.

There are over 30 other airlines flying to/from Ireland and they are all better than Ryanair at virtually everything. If you have the choice for about 50 quid more to fly with decent airline you would be daft not to.

Aer Lingus may charge €24 for a bag up to 20kg with Ryanair it costs €30 for a bag up to 15kg and €50 up to 20kg. That's one reason why I'm flying with Aer Lingus to London in a few weeks. Funny thing is I never minded flying into Beauvais as there was a great bus service there and you were brought directly into Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

To be fair Im sure I heard him giving full credit to S Brennan for having the foresight etc in what he did in opening up the market to them.
    Also O Leary is right for the most part about the stupidity of our governement allowing rising airport charges among other things when most countries are fighting to get flights in with huge reductions to the airlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

There's no leeway with Ryanair, customer care is by far the worst going, but I suppose if your'e want to pay dirtcheap fares and get treated like **** they can fling that **** all over Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

He is constantly criticizing the government and DAA

How quickly he forgets that Seamus Brennan took Aer Lingus off the Standstead and Luton Dublin routes and gave it to Ryanair.
    They were seriously struggling, not far off closing and got handed profitable routes, pretty much a bail out

Easy to lash government interference and every government minister except Seamus Brennan basically secured their survival and opportunities to grow from there.

Nothing magic about Ryanair management,

I think you forgot a few little details though, Ryanair started flying from Dublin to Luton in May 1986, which AFAIK was before Aer Lingus flew that route and in May 1989 Ryanair announced they were opening the Dublin - Stansted route and Aer Lingus shortly afterwards commenced their own flights to Stansted. Clearly Aer Lingus were trying to drive Ryanair off these routes(and possibly out of business) with predatory pricing(as this was before Ryanair had fully developed the low cost model it has today).

So how were Ryanair handed profitable routes, when these routes didn't exist before Ryanair ? I think what actually happened is that Aer Lingus were forced to stop predatory pricing and this combined with the adoption by Ryanair of the low cost model led to their survival.

Aer Lingus may charge €24 for a bag up to 20kg with Ryanair it costs €30 for a bag up to 15kg and €50 up to 20kg. That's one reason why I'm flying with Aer Lingus to London in a few weeks.

You know, you can get 15kg on Ryanair for €15 and 20kg for €25 if you just book it online............

http://www.ryanair.com/ie/questions/table-of-fees

Call me daft, but I don't see the point in paying €50 extra for an inch or two of extra leg room and the occasional smile for a couple of hours.

heyjude wrote: »
    I think you forgot a few little details though, Ryanair started flying from Dublin to Luton in May 1986, which AFAIK was before Aer Lingus flew that route and in May 1989 Ryanair announced they were opening the Dublin - Stansted route and Aer Lingus shortly afterwards commenced their own flights to Stansted. Clearly Aer Lingus were trying to drive Ryanair off these routes(and possibly out of business) with predatory pricing(as this was before Ryanair had fully developed the low cost model it has today).

So how were Ryanair handed profitable routes, when these routes didn't exist before Ryanair ? I think what actually happened is that Aer Lingus were forced to stop predatory pricing and this combined with the adoption by Ryanair of the low cost model led to their survival.

It wasn't just predatory pricing, they were actually operating these routes at a loss (at a cost to taxpayers) just to kick Ryanair out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I think he's hilarious, excellent at what he does, probably brilliant at a party, and I'd say he'd be great to be friends with. But I just can't bring myself to like him. He's one of these people who see those who disagree with him as not just wrong, but retarded too. And he seems quite vindictive, and petty at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I think fareplay to him. He has made a fortune for himself, because he is bloody good at what he does. I don't know, fully, what kind of a person he is, because all I see/hear is what he portrays through his business life.

I couldn't believe the OUTRAGE a couple of years ago when he bought a taxi plate to get to the airport quicker. I thought it was a great idea!

Having said all that, I'd imagine it would be a nightmare working for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭jezko

I think fareplay to him. He has made a fortune for himself, because he is bloody good at what he does. I don't know, fully, what kind of a person he is, because all I see/hear is what he portrays through his business life.

I couldn't believe the OUTRAGE a couple of years ago when he bought a taxi plate to get to the airport quicker. I thought it was a great idea!

Having said all that, I'd imagine it would be a nightmare working for him.

Have to admit I wasn't Impressed about the taxi plates...
    But If I could a job with Ryanair, I think I would now .... Just hope I could work on a economically sucessfull viable route. he's not Shy about making "Cut's" when needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

I think he should be put in charge of streamlining government agencies, departments and semi state bodies; God knows we need someone to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

He's a self made man and he definitely didn't get where he is by being nice. Nothing against him, he's just part of the scenery, and still better than a shill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Terry wrote: »
    I like him.

I'll bet you'd change your mind if he took over your local.

"All pints are free!"

"What do you mean, you don't like slops?"

"And you can't sit there, you didn't register for that seat online"

"Where's the loo? Have you got your credit card handy?"

And, of course, all the barmen are let go as the floor staff take their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

Sprouts wrote: »
    There's no leeway with Ryanair, customer care is by far the worst going, but I suppose if your'e want to pay dirtcheap fares and get treated like **** they can fling that **** all over Europe.

I've flown Ryanair a few times and never had any problems. The scare stories about the lack of legroom, lost luggage and shirty attitudes from staff have proven totally un-true. The planes have left on time (except for yesterdays flight), arrived early and didn't kill me. I've flown AL and BMI on similar length flights and noticed no difference. Maybe I've been lucky?

I know a few people who have brothers/sisters/husbands working there and they all enjoy it. They're all admin staff or maintenance though - I guess it could be different for air crew.

Pherekydes wrote: »

"All pints are free!"

Plus of course the local wouldn't actually be local, it'd be a 90 minute bus journey away!

Pherekydes wrote: »

"All pints are free!"

Ryanair's model is successful because people pay for what they use. Bringing baggage to the plane from the airport costs money, so why should someone without bags pay the same price for a ticket as someone with bags? Checking in at the airport costs money, so why should someone who checks in online pay the same as someone who checks in at the airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

I actually quiet like Michael O Leary. Funny though because i wouldnt even consider getting a ryanair flight!

Ryanair's model is successful because people pay for what they use. Bringing baggage to the plane from the airport costs money, so why should someone without bags pay the same price for a ticket as someone with bags? Checking in at the airport costs money, so why should someone who checks in online pay the same as someone who checks in at the airport?

Ah Michael Mark , he was only jokin' !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

If it wasn't for him, we would still be getting raped by aer lingus etc.. Nuff said.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

I like him, he is brilliant at what he does.

When asked about his wedding.

Reporter: Will your wife to be, be on time for your wedding?

MOL: Of course she wont, she is flying Aer Lingus.

Quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

.. and the first person that thinks hed be good to run the country in any shape or form shows how disconnected from reality you are.

The problem is that the people who (would) put him into office would be the first ones to complain once he went about doing his job.

The country could use a 'ruthless' business man to start cutting the waste and putting things in order, but in reality, that is never going to happen.

The problem is that the people who (would) put him into office would be the first ones to complain once he went about doing his job.

The country could use a 'ruthless' business man to start cutting the waste and putting things in order, but in reality, that is never going to happen.

Fully agreed.

People spend waaaay to much time whinging about politicians getting money for this and that and it takes up 90% of the medias time finding another scandal for 10% of the problem, when infact the biggest elephant in the room is our MASSIVE, and i mean MASSIVE social welfare / services bill, couple coupled with our incrediblely inefficent public sector which the country cant afford.

Social welfare should be increasingly coupled with back to work schemes, cut out much of the red tape and costs associated with employing people, and using money saved from cutting real waste to create jobs and encourage investment.

You see, i dont disagree that some politicians are taking the mick with expenses and that the banks took a wholly irrisponsible method of lending money, but whinging about ivor getting 60k for this or bertie having a full time driver or cutting double pensions for TD's is all well and good, but its inneffective, while it may make "us" feel better for tackleing it - the reality is that it saves little in the grander scheme of things.

The reality is, Mary Harney and Brian Lenihan well know how to make savings, sadly, when you start cutting services there are always people effected, then try to cut hours / jobs in the public service you have unions diggin in

Call me daft, but I don't see the point in paying €50 extra for an inch or two of extra leg room and the occasional smile for a couple of hours.

In fairness if that was the only difference then true enough, it wouldn't make a difference. But the full service airlines provide you with a proper service, stuff like your seat being assigned so you don't have that horrible free for all when boarding, you can checkin by phone or online or at the airport free of charge, and you get a real baggage allowance so you bring what you need not what you can. Some airlines are even 23kilos now which you need if you have small kids.

As regards the staff smiling, I find a lot of them are boarderline rude. And that comes from the top. O'Leary revels in the fact that he is not liked. I honestly don't know any other service provider who believes it is not important to be friendly with your customers?