Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Private speed camera operator jobs

• 08-09-2010 9:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

The new private speed camera operators GoSafe are opening 15 depots
    Nationwide. Did anyone hear if the are advertising the positions or have the already advertised .Did anyone get a job as camera operator already.
    I cant get info anywhere.I have been watching the positions for months
    and did not see any advertised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 kieranb07

The new private speed camera operators GoSafe are opening 15 depots
    Nationwide. Did anyone hear if the are advertising the positions or have the already advertised .Did anyone get a job as camera operator already.
    I cant get info anywhere.I have been watching the positions for months
    and did not see any advertised.

here you go http://www.irishjobs.ie/Recruiters/GoSafe-5150.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 thundercatgary

kieranb07 wrote: »
    Thanks kieranb07 seen this one .
    I was wondering about the new camera van operators .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

First round interviews were in July, I'd say you are a bit late.

Thanks ,
    I was watching out for ads but missed them.

There was only one ad that I saw, I applied when the contract was announced last year.

What was the money and hours like trad

5 over 7 days and they were talking €25k to €30k. A lot of evening and weekend work. Being filled mostly by retiring Gardai so expect a lot of new positions when they see what €25k is worth after paying 42% tax on the full amount (tax credits gone on their pensions).

Hopefully a position might come up . Do you know if training has started
    and when the intend to come in to operation.

Still waiting to hear.

that was quick,
    I believe theres going to be a bit of movement on the jobs over the next few weeks.

trad wrote: »
    There was only one ad that I saw, I applied when the contract was announced last year.

Trad was the add in a national news paper

The one I saw was on www.irishjobs.ie. Give them a ring in Listowel, although the HR mamanger works in Kilkenny. The worse they can do is say no.

Thanks trad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gunners89

trad wrote: »
    Still waiting to hear.
    did u get the job

Heard nothing so far. Staying put where I am, going into management shortly, the devil you know and all that.

Good luck with the job. I'd stop contributing to work related posts here, you'd never know who's reading them (probation period and all that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gunners89

yeah ur right,cheers

Can someone give me an idea of the interviews , Driving test, and garda test .
    If you are worried about big brother please sent me a private mail.
    thanks
    tcg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Valve69

It appears to me that GO safe have been advertising jobs for the sake
    of appearing to advertise them. I know a number of people who applied
    for positions and who have experence in this area and heard nothing.
    It looks like the majority of the jobs are going to people in the know
    and retired Gardai .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

So not only do the Gardai get to retire earlier than the average but also get a nice "earner" to tide them over.

I have already seen the results of this new policy with people crowded on top of each other on the M1 afraid to move with the inner lane doing 119 kph outer lane doing 120kph all clumped together, tailgating and weaving in and out dangerously close to each other waiting for a pileup to happen.

With no latitude to get out of such dangerous clumps by briefly putting on a burst of speed I have to do the opposite and slow down to 110/105 kph and let the herd past me.

I have no intention of going up to the speed limit and remaining stuck in a clump of weaving, tailgaters on any of our roads.

I also have no intention of giving money to this corrupt shower of wasters which masquerade as a "government".

Speeding fines are a tax on carelessness.

Valve69 wrote: »
    It appears to me that GO safe have been advertising jobs for the sake
    of appearing to advertise them. I know a number of people who applied
    for positions and who have experence in this area and heard nothing.
    It looks like the majority of the jobs are going to people in the know
    and retired Gardai .

I applied for a Camera operators job that was advertised on irish jobs .ie .
    I was then told a number of weeks later that the dont have any vacancy,s in the county the advertised for. It did give me the impression
    the positions in that county were filled before the were advertised .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 happy hamster

I left go safe a while ago because the money is crap, the hours are crap, the conditions are crap and the management won't run a piss up in a brewery.

1:- was told 30k but what you get is 10.05 per hour which is 21k.

2:- hours are as follows 8am to 4pm, 2pm to 10pm, 8pm to 4am and 2am to 10am. one of the lads that started with me has'nt had a weekend off since last oct.

3:- the companies idea of the operators safety is a joke. the won,t tell us about any attacks on vans because if we don't know, we can't complain and won't put simple security items on the vans because 'they are looking into it'!!

4:- so far as i can make out about 25 drivers have left the job because of these issues.

SO PLEASE IF YOU OR ANYONE YOU KNOW GETS OFFERED THESE JOBS DO NOT TAKE THEM.

I have nothing lined up yet but I could not wait to get away from them.

Glad I dodged that bullet.

I fould it odd during interview when I posed some questions about the operation of the contract neither of the interviewers had a breeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

I left go safe a while ago because the money is crap, the hours are crap, the conditions are crap and the management won't run a piss up in a brewery.

2:- hours are as follows 8am to 4pm, 2pm to 10pm, 8pm to 4am and 2am to 10am. one of the lads that started with me has'nt had a weekend off since last oct.

3:- the companies idea of the operators safety is a joke. the won,t tell us about any attacks on vans because if we don't know, we can't complain and won't put simple security items on the vans because 'they are looking into it'!!

4:- so far as i can make out about 25 drivers have left the job because of these issues.

sorry to hear that..hope you get a better job.

can you say if you were allowed used some leeway in relation to the speed limits or is that not allowed?
    thanks

Safety on vans would be a major issue especially around the border area
    Where certain organizations in that area are very paranoid of been watched.

I got the impression management weren’t up to scratch when I seen
    badly put together job adverts. They seem to be making it up as the go along.

can any one tell me if the got a job with gosafe. and that they are not a retired garda or a relation of a garda . (send me a private message) .
    just so i know if i am wasting my time with them.

I would'nt mind the hours ,D'ont like the money €21,000

thanks tcg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 the wallet

all of what happy hamster said is 100% true,i used to work for them aswell,left in jan,never told of any attacks,and there "looking into it" is the company line,worst run business in the world.there gonna have no drivers soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

10 euro an hour to sit in a van and do nothing? sounds grand to me at a time when its hard to find jobs.

As Clint Eastwood said "Dyin aint much of a living"

10 euro an hour to sit in a van and do nothing? sounds grand to me at a time when its hard to find jobs.
    ten euro an hr to be set on fire isnt good,lads are taking a big risk doing it.should be on danger money at the min.

i also started with this company go safe a bunch of cowboys done all the training passed all the test but as said they couldnt arrange a piss up in a brewery i left just before they went live as for 10.00 euro per hour to be burnt out :mad::mad::mad: they really were taking the piss ****e pay ****e hours of work and also they get you to drive to kerry for training which is at your own expense 6 time over 3 weeks the and to templemore to the garda college for a driving test a joke to be honest then to sligo from dublin i put some serious mileage up i left a brilliant job which i had because i thought i was bettering myself but i was completly wrong:mad::mad::mad: SSSSSTTTTAAAAYYYY AAAAWWWWAAAAAYYYY dont make same mistake as me i am working ten hours now part time thanx to this go safe:eek: great:pac: company

yeah thats all true but it was 10.05 an hour,i know a lad who left a good job cos he was told it was more money in interview,he also left go safe,d whole place is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭saltandpepper10

500 quid a week,ha ha cant believe anyone would do that job for that sort of money,go safe wont be attracting any trinity graduates imo

its not 500 a wk,ye get tenner an hr and your taxed on dat,and the new usc aswell,40hr week,get about 800 every 2 wks,wit lunch allowance,its crap money for the risks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BO NER

So if you catch 1 car speeding thats ur wage covered where does the rest of money go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

BO NER wrote: »
    So if you catch 1 car speeding thats ur wage covered where does the rest of money go?

The money from speeding fines is still paid to the State - Go Safe don't see a penny of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

Interesting topic.

You'd have thought the operator of such a licence would have had their **** together.

The hourly rate does seem very low, when DCC's parking gestapo earn much more an hour. :confused:

yeah ye would think go safe would look after lads,cos its gonna be very hard for them to get drivers with all these attacks going on,with the bad hrs,bad money,and risks i cant see any driver this time next year being able to speak english in the place if u know what i mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 davejones572

Wallet

I did apply for one of those jobs but got a PFO, seems like those guys have a hard time but at least it’s better than the dole

What area did you work I was hoping to get into Limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

are they still taking on people at the moment?

also, are you liable to be placed anywhere in the country or would you be region based dublin, limerick etc?

cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 accordsir-t

yes they seem to be send your cv by post i will get address and post it here for you but to be honest everybodys leaving is that not a bad sign :confused::confused:
    I know somewere in listowel co kerry is the main office i just have not got address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

yes they seem to be send your cv by post i will get address and post it here for you but to be honest everybodys leaving is that not a bad sign :confused::confused:
    I know somewere in listowel co kerry is the main office i just have not got address

im just interested in a quick few bob to get me out of ireland by crimbo!

WilcoOut wrote: »
    im just interested in a quick few bob to get me out of ireland by crimbo!
    go cleaning windows,u will earn more money,by the time u pay the unreal price for petrol these days its not worth your while working for go safe,its a crap unsafe job.DONT GO THERE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭rubbledoubledo

Hi All
    Just wondering any jobs available with Go Safe
    Very interesting reading the previous posts.
    Love to hear from someone working there at the present.

Im not a million miles from Listowel , would it be worth dropping a cv in.
    Or would i be waisting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

What do you actually do in the van; how long is it stationary and how much driving would you do a day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

handbags posts have been deleted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Anybody have any experience working for these lads ???

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭irish_bhoy09

Anybody have any experience working for these lads ???

Cheers

I rember reading the pay was ****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Bump...........................any info on salary lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭irish_bhoy09

I rember reading the pay was ****

Are ther jobs going ther?