Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worried about market aps!

• 07-09-2010 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭

just reading through some of the replies on boards and am wondring how safe it is to download apps when the process can access alot of your details! some downloads only request your location, storage etc but others want access to your calls text and such....is i safe to give that info or should we be more careful? What says ye?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Depends on the app really. If its a bouncing boobs app requesting access to everything then you have to ask why!

TBH i never look at the permissions i'm granting anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭joanofarc

but isn't that mad chet? would you allow all the info on your laptop be disclosed if you wanted to add new software/hardware for example? aren't the new smartphones like mini pc's? is it not the same thing then giving out so much info? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Same as anything in life, all you need is a little cop on and you wont get stung by anything.

The only one to be really wary of is the permission to make calls without user interaction.

joanofarc wrote: »
    but isn't that mad chet? would you allow all the info on your laptop be disclosed if you wanted to add new software/hardware for example? aren't the new smartphones like mini pc's? is it not the same thing then giving out so much info? :confused:

I don't think its mad, i don't check the terms on software i install on the laptop either. People who write decent apps/programs aren't the people that are going to try take advantage

Common sense does wonders for security!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I normally check all the reviews before deciding to install..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Android Wallpaper Apps Gathering Personal Data

30 July, 2010, by ITProPortal Staff

More than 80 applications downloaded from Google's Android Market have been secretly gathering personal information from millions of users and sending it on to third parties, the Wall Street Journal reported on Wednesday.

Read more: http://www.itproportal.com/portal/news/article/2010/7/30/android-wallpaper-apps-gathering-personal-data/#ixzz0yse9lSYE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

just reading through some of the replies on boards and am wondring how safe it is to download apps when the process can access alot of your details! some downloads only request your location, storage etc but others want access to your calls text and such....is i safe to give that info or should we be more careful? What says ye?:confused:

Those permissions are just the possible things they can access.

I see the access the calls permission a bit, not sure what they means.

If it's a useful app that you want to use, you can prob turn off location stuff.
    For joke apps, it's something that you need to decide if it's worth the loss of privacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

del88 wrote: »
    Android Wallpaper Apps Gathering Personal Data

30 July, 2010, by ITProPortal Staff

More than 80 applications downloaded from Google's Android Market have been secretly gathering personal information from millions of users and sending it on to third parties, the Wall Street Journal reported on Wednesday.

Read more: http://www.itproportal.com/portal/news/article/2010/7/30/android-wallpaper-apps-gathering-personal-data/#ixzz0yse9lSYE
    This story was debunked weeks ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭28064212

All (or most of) that information is disclosed when you add new software to your PC. If your PC had a permissions model like Android and you downloaded (for example) iTunes, you would get a huge list of things that iTunes would need access to. A malicious app that you gave permission to could easily wreak havoc.

As Chet T16 said, the best security is common sense. If you're downloading a text messaging app like Handcent, it's obviously going to need access to your messages and your contacts. If you're downloading a chess game, it shouldn't need any permission (maybe internet access if there are ads in it). If it does, then you need to make a judgement call (check reviews, see the developer's website to see if they give a reason etc.)

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Bugzy

This thing has been discussed loads of times.

Nothing comes free.

You want free apps you have to give something for it. In this case user data.

If you had a bit of common sense you would cop on that some of wallpaper/ringtone apps are dodgy.

I think the people that use the ringtone/walpapers apps are the same ones who download free screensavers and smiley packs on thier pc's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Bugzy

Chet T16 wrote: »
    I think the people that use the ringtone/walpapers apps are the same ones who download free screensavers and smiley packs on thier pc's!

agree :) the only wallpaper app i use is zedge (cant remember do they do ringtones)...ive been using their website for years and their trusty for providing nice pictures and themes for phones