Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parents - Do you drive your kids to school?

• 07-09-2010 8:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

So how many of you out there drive your brats kids to and from school every day?

Do you drive your kids to schools? 41 votes

Of course. My brats are too precious to walk or use public transport
    0% 0 votes
    Yes. 0-5km
    7% 3 votes
    Yes. 5-10km
    29% 12 votes
    Yes 10+km
    4% 2 votes
    No. They walk or use the school bus
    4% 2 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    53% 22 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I prefer driving over kids going to school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I drop my kids off at the pool every morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Lazy feckers should walk - when I were a lad ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Walk, but it's only 5 minutes away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

it's 9am. do you know where you're children are??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Adam wrote: »

Still inside me I hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Eh yes......at school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

At the After Hours Club; looking for drugs, dirty dancing and listening to pounding, pounding techno music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Still inside me I hope!

You have children inside you? What the f*ck are you - a kangaroo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

You have children inside you? What the f*ck are you - a kangaroo?

Or pregnant with twins or more...

I can't really complain on this issue as I drive to work that is served enough by public transport. However driving in is much quicker and I hate people.

Are you calling me a child :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

WindSock wrote: »

I can't really complain on this issue as I drive to work that is served enough by public transport. However driving in is much quicker and I hate people.

I started getting the bus again recently after driving. Don't worry, the other passengers don't make you sit round a campfire and sing Ging Gang Goolie or anything. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Yes. Tuesdays are tough. Up at 5, drive #1 son to swimming pool. Home by 7.30, drive kids to secondary (if the weather's ok they walk, it's 25 minutes), then last kid to primary school on the way home, which is 4k from the house.

By 9 am, I've driven 90 mins and run/walked 50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

stovelid wrote: »
    I started getting the bus again recently after driving. Don't worry, the other passengers don't make you sit round a campfire and sing Ging Gang Goolie or anything. :p

Maybe not on your route...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

So how many of you out there drive your brats kids to and from school every day?

Herself drives 4 year old the mile or 2 it is to playschool. How about you Wile? Drive to work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

bluewolf wrote: »
    Are you calling me a child :mad:
    que?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

Driving kids to school, what has the word come to?

When I was a id, we were walking 3 hours in the morning to school up a very steep mountain. And in the evening we were walking back another 3 hours up a very steep mountain.
    When we would have ask our prents to drive us to school, they would have driven us in the opposite direcion, so we would have to walk 6 hours in the morning.

There is not a chance in hell I'll be driving my sons to secondary school if it's under, say, 30/40 minutes walk and it isn't pissing rain. I wouldn't have wanted a lift when I was a kid anyway: liked walking to school (25 minutes walk) and chatting with my mates.

I know somebody (full-time mother) that drives her kids to primary school about 5-10 minutes walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Where is the sometimes and only some of them option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

mdebets wrote: »

When I was a id, we were walking 3 hours in the morning to school up a very steep mountain. And in the evening we were walking back another 3 hours up a very steep mountain.
    When we would have ask our prents to drive us to school, they would have driven us in the opposite direcion, so we would have to walk 6 hours in the morning.

When yourself, ego and super ego used to trek all those miles to school!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

1 in Primary - wife yes most of the time - distance is about 1 mile but up a very steep hill so coming home is OK but going is tough for a 5 year old. Sometimes wife collects her on foot weather permitting.

1 in Secondary - takes bus to school 5 miles away.

And no she doesn't have an SUV - a 98 Xantia diesel with 150K miles on the clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Some of the driving done by parents in the morning (and the afternoon) is amazing to behold. I watched two women this morning block up a bus stop, get out, and walk off to the school (within sight) with the kids.

People at the bus stop had to traipse through wet and muddy grass to get on the bus.

Serves them right, for heading out to their jobs, to pay their taxes to the department of education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Drive them? Jaysus.

When I was a young fella, we didn't even have a car. You'd be sent off in your bare feet, with a sod of turf in yer hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Wear a condom.

Nijmegen wrote: »
    I watched two women this morning block up a bus stop, get out, and walk off to the school (within sight) with the kids.

People at the bus stop had to traipse through wet and muddy grass to get on the bus.

I would have performed some spontaneous key art on said vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

TheZohan wrote: »
    Wear a condom.

On your head.

That'll stop 'em asking you for lifts everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

WindSock wrote: »
    Or pregnant with twins or more...

And we hate you! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

What ever happened to school buses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

of course i drive them

larry murphy lives within a 3,000 mile radius of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

No school buses where i am, drive 2 boys 5 and 3 to school and preschool 5km away, drive my lady (almost 11) in the other direction 3 km away.

I did however drop a neighbours child to my sons school today as she had to leave early for work.

When i was a kid i had to walk 4 mile every day down and up a mountain (we lived at the top of the mountain) to a school in killavullen in co. cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

phill106 wrote: »
    How about you Wile? Drive to work?

Yep. The 190km round trip everyday would be a bit much on a bicycle :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Let the little fcukers walk. I walked 40 mins every morning, did me no harm.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I bring him on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

Really wish people would carpool or use public transport as much as possible when getting kids to school - the increase in traffic in september is absolutely mental :( bumper to freakin' bumper where I live. Thankfully I can get the dart!
    When I was a young 'un.. Well, my mam was a teacher in my secondary school :D however if she was free last class, we'd walk the 45 minutes home because getting into town around school closing was literally impossible. Parents parking up on paths, in the middle of the road, the whole way up the entrance to the school so the teachers couldn't leave.. God forbid their children would have to walk 5 minutes up town where there was plenty of parking. Mental.

Well with that attitude you'll never do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I'm always late so yes I have to drive instead of walking.

No school buses where i am, drive 2 boys 5 and 3 to school and preschool 5km away, drive my lady (almost 11) in the other direction 3 km away.
    Your lady is almost 11?
    Oh dear.... Unfortunate typo!

Surely you have some form of rocket powered bicycle?
    Possibly involving a large fuse and the comical insertion of a large cliff?

phill106 wrote: »
    Your lady is almost 11?
    Oh dear.... Unfortunate typo!

Thought he meant his daughter was 11? How's that a typo? :confused:

bluewolf wrote: »
    Thought he meant his daughter was 11? How's that a typo? :confused:

Jeez i thought his lady was his wife or something!hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

mdebets wrote: »

In the snow, all year round, barefoot with a bag of coal on your back. Same here, actually.

But seriously, I wonder why on earth traffic is so bad every September. Surely most of the kids around the same area go to the same school, so could they not at least share rides with their mates? Or organise a school bus? From 'it takes 20 minutes to work' to 'it takes 50 at best if you leave after 8 am' is a huge increase...

Do mothers have nothing else to do but drive their darlings in? (and, incidentally, have the biggest, ost annoying cars that they are rarely able to handle even on a good day?)

What about 'catchment' areas? All primary and secondary school kids attend schools within a certain area?

(and the older kids could take the bus where needs be...)

or start school that bit earlier, so that you don't have the work 9 am trffic AND all the school traffic in at the same time. surely that would be better for working parents as well? Our school started at 7.30 am, as far as I recall...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

I drive them 200 meters to where the school bus picks them up.
    I didn't know what option to pick on the poll.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

still in my scrotum