Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know anyone who is illiterate ?

• 06-09-2010 9:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Was just thinking back when I worked in a pub a few years back. There was this lad who only really came in once a month or so. He used to come into the pub for a few hours to have a couple of pints and back a few horses. But he'd always ask me to write his betting slips for him and claim that he'd left his glasses at home.
    After a while I wondered about it and mentioned it to the other barman. He knew of him and confirmed him as being able to read and write numbers but not able to do letters and words.

I remember reading a stat before that said there is an 11% illiteracy rate amongst the population, travellers being the group most affected.

Have you come across it much yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

dggb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Few auld lads that can just about read and write.

When I say just about, they can read the betting section of the paper and write out dockets.:P
    They can calculate the scoring in darts in seconds, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

TBH I suspect its a lot higher than 11%

As far as im concerned anyone who uses TXT SPK on the internet or buys red top tabloids falls into the category of illiterate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,987 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I dont think I know anyone who is illiterate......but then again I've not had the chance/opportunity to see whether everyone I know can read or write.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    TBH I suspect its a lot higher than 11%

As far as im concerned anyone who uses TXT SPK on the internet or buys red top tabloids falls into the category of illiterate.

So anyone who reads some of the most popular newspapers in Ireland is illiterate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Yes I know one or two but I know far more people who are just lazy with grammar and spelling which is probably more worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

I'm not sure if my grandma was illiterate? As I never once seen her write or read anything. She used to get everyone else to write birthday, christmas cards and paperwork etc for her. Although, she could read numbers as she used to catch the bus to our house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

sye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

An amazing number of people who come into the office I work in "leave their glasses at home"... I don't bother to get stroppy at having to fill forms in and stuff, cos I suspect the vast majority are simply illiterate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just about being able to read a newspaper with a reading age of 8 (for example 'The Sun') would make you functionally illiterate.
    A person with a reading age of below 10 would struggle with some of the instructions on medicines and tablets for example.

Most LC students would be reading at a reading age of about 12/13.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

baz2009 wrote: »
    So anyone who reads some of the most popular newspapers in Ireland is illiterate?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I was stopped by a traveller once who was on the phone to somone who was giving her an address. She had to give me the phone so I could hear the address & write it down for her as she didn't know how to write. She was in her early 20s.

I must admit, that I found it quite saddening.

I can understand people being less willing to fill in forms - i'm fully capable to read and write, but I hate filling out forms - always, always make mistakes.

Where I used to work the vast majority of the Traveler community that came in were illiterate. You always had to spare a lot of time going through what we were showing. One staff member was approached by a Traveler couple and when they asked what was on, she pointed to the monitors and a synopsis folder we have, and when the guy said he couldn't read, my co-worker laughed at them. The disgust on their face was something awful and I jumped in and calmly went through what was on, giving my best advice on what they should see- I fear to think what could have happened had I not been there.

I can understand people being less willing to fill in forms - i'm fully capable to read and write, but I hate filling out forms - always, always make mistakes.

Where I used to work the vast majority of the Traveler community that came in were illiterate. You always had to spare a lot of time going through what we were showing. One staff member was approached by a Traveler couple and when they asked what was on, she pointed to the monitors and a synopsis folder we have, and when the guy said he couldn't read, my co-worker laughed at them. The disgust on their face was something awful and I jumped in and calmly went through what was on, giving my best advice on what they should see- I fear to think what could have happened had I not been there.

It's one thing being uneducated. It's another thing being ignorant. Your co-worker falls into the latter category.

I completely agree with you on that. I was so surprised when she laughed - there was a moment of shock on all our faces. With Travelers you can somewhat understand them being illiterate as it is ingrained into their very culture to be - not excusing it. She should have had more understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yep-my old boss. He left school at 13 barely able to read or write cos he'd no interest in learning, yet he somehow managed to set up his own (quite successful) shop. His son has basically been running the place for the past 10 years or so, but dunno how he managed before that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

RATM wrote: »
    Do you know anyone who is illiterate ?

Yes, a person that once was related to me by marriage - and another who was a great local singer.
    (He used to learn the words of his favourite songs by playing them again and again on his cassette player)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

hah? bleedin muppa sez som1 is gay so he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Actually no, they are in fact the same thing. Consult your dictionary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

I've worked in learning support with teens and adults and have met a fair few illiterate people, settled as well as Travellers. It goes across all age groups, although I've mostly worked with older people (55+) who maybe left school once they had made their confirmation and hadn't had any kind of formal education since. My dad left school at 13, he could read and write but many of his classmates from primary school never got much further than being able to write their own names. I'd imagine that was quite common back then (1950s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Used to work in an office where people came to pay bills.
    Some would ask me to write out the cheques for them.
    They would sign their names of course;).

They were obviously used to it, didn't phase them, but first time someone asks you to do it, it's quite surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Yeah. Your ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Gary4279 wrote: »
    dggb?

Dodgy Box?

They can have the same meaning, depending on which dictionary you consult - but they can also be used in different contexts to convey different things.

And many words are not always used in the context as defined by a dictionary definition, yet are still understood in the way they were suggested to mean. To suggest otherwise would be both uneducated and ignorant.

I think they call that, 'touche'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I think you mean thesaurus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

davyjose wrote: »

Well look at you with your fancy book learning.

Actually no i dont. Straight out of my dictionary-

Ignorant –adjective
    1. lacking in knowledge or training; unlearned: an ignorant man.

They can have the same meaning, depending on which dictionary you consult - but they can also be used in different contexts to convey different things.

And many words are not always used in the context as defined by a dictionary definition, yet are still understood in the way they were suggested to mean. To suggest otherwise would be both uneducated and ignorant.

I think they call that, 'touche'.

I know, just messing with ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

My cousin is illiterate, its pretty awkward. I had to sit down and read a book to him earlier on, and stop and show him all the pictures. then, he shat himself, right there. and laughed. Last time I'm babysitting.

Ignorant –adjective

Well my dictionary (lets be honest -- we both went to dictionary.com) says:

Uneducated –adjective
    not educated.

Therefore, my "Dictionary", makes no correlation between ignorant and uneducated. My thesaurus however...

zuroph wrote: »
    My cousin is illiterate, its pretty awkward. I had to sit down and read a book to him earlier on, and stop and show him all the pictures. then, he shat himself, right there. and laughed. Last time I'm babysitting.

Must've been even more humiliating when he was the one who got paid :D

Ignorant –adjective

It is possible to be educated and still be ignorant. An educated person can be be for example, musically ignorant. An educated person can also be ignorant in the sense of being insensitive or crude. And an educated person can also be ignorant of certain facts.

And it is obvious that you are ignorant to the fact that your dictionary contains only a rudimentary defintion of words. Perhaps you should invest in a more comprehesive one than "My First Dictionary".

Well my dictionary (lets be honest -- we both went to dictionary.com) says:

Uneducated –adjective
    not educated.

Therefore, my "Dictionary", makes no correlation between ignorant and uneducated. My thesaurus however...

Well if its the same dictionary, and its telling us different things then its obviously a lying bastard of a dictionary. No other possible reason for it!

It is possible to be educated and still be ignorant. An educated person can be be for example, musically ignorant. An educated person can also be ignorant in the sense of being insensitive or crude. And an educated person can also be ignorant of certain facts.

And it is obvious that you are ignorant to the fact that your dictionary contains only a rudimentary defintion of words. Perhaps you should invest in a more comprehesive one than "My First Dictionary".

And youre ignorant to the fact that i was joking. Even after i said i was joking! Let it go man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

travellers only have themselves to blame. there is no excuse in this day and age to not be able to read and write barring a disability of course

Well if its the same dictionary, and its telling us different things then its obviously a lying bastard of a dictionary. No other possible reason for it!

Nope.

You're pedantry just isn't refined enough. Your dictionary reference made no mention of the word: "uneducated"! A good thesaurus would have.

And youre ignorant to the fact that i was joking. Even after i said i was joking! Let it go man!

Joke–noun
    1. something said or done to provoke laughter or cause amusement

Weird!!!

I wasn't aware that you were joking. I usually notice when people are joking because they tend to be humorous in some shape or form.

Joke–noun
    1. something said or done to provoke laughter or cause amusement

Weird!!!

Weird –adjective
    1. involving or suggesting the supernatural; unearthly or uncanny: a weird sound; weird lights.

2. FANTASTIC; bizarre: a weird getup.

3. Archaic . concerned with or controlling fate or destiny.

I agree, fantastic post altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭John C

RATM wrote: »
    Pattial quote................ He knew of him and confirmed him as being able to read and write numbers but not able to do letters and words.

I remember reading a stat before that said there is an 11% illiteracy rate amongst the population, travellers being the group most affected.

Have you come across it much yourself?

Let's get pack to the original post!
    The title is "Do you know anyone who is illiterate?"
    I know nobody personally who is illiterate or who admits to being illiterate.

My bus stop was at the local town hall. There the death notices are displayed. Almost every week an adult German would ask me to read these notices for him. At least some of them were genuinely short sighted

In Germany there are an estimated three million Germans who cannot read proficiently. There are government sponsored schemes to help these people.
    There was a television campaign to show the problems one has if they cannot
    read or write. Its aim was to improve the attitudes of people working with illiterate people.

I agree, fantastic post altogether

Fantastic –adjective

3. imaginary or groundless in not being based on reality; foolish or irrational

Yawn, you done yet?

Nope.

You're pedantry just isn't refined enough. Your dictionary reference made no mention of the word: "uneducated"! A good thesaurus would have.

YOU + ARE = YOU'RE

Fail........ And in a post criticising someones pedantry, how embarrassing for you!

Yawn, you done yet?

Lol see my last post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Yep my uncle. He left school very early.

This thread reminded me of this vid.

YOU + ARE = YOU'RE

Fail........

Is that what your Leaving Cert results paper said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

YOU + ARE = YOU'RE

Fail........

he was saying that you are pedantry, personified.

Is that what your Leaving Cert results paper said?

No it told me my results.
    Why on earth would it say you + are = you're??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

A school friend of mine has been going out with a guy for about three years and he's illiterate.
    He never went to secondary school and I suppose he just didn't retain much of what he learned in primary. If it's relevant, he's in his late twenties now.

I know she's quite saddened by it because since leaving education, he hasn't wanted to learn to read or write which obviously makes certain things in his life very challenging.

She also finds it difficult because many ways in which couples communicate, or communicate their affection, are ruled out for them. For example, she knows they'll never be able to send each other letters, text messages or write each other Birthday cards or Valentine's cards.

A school friend of mine has been going out with a guy for about three years and he's illiterate.
    He never went to secondary school and I suppose he just didn't retain much of what he learned in primary. If it's relevant, he's in his late twenties now.

I know she's quite saddened by it because since leaving education, he hasn't wanted to learn to read or write which obviously makes certain things in his life very challenging.

She also finds it difficult because many ways in which couples communicate, or communicate their affection, are ruled out for them. For example, she knows they'll never be able to send each other letters, text messages or write each other Birthday cards or Valentine's cards.

I just barfed a bit in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

I was in Ladbrokes in Fleet st on friday night last there was a fella looking at the tv at kempton races was on he kept looking akwardly at me and came over to me and said " i broke my wrist could you write out a bet for me No 8 in the 7.45 race" i put the bet on for him he bet 10€ on a horse kept asking me the name of the horse during the race and it won at 9/1 he was delighted anyway i wished him luck and fair play to him he came out of the bookies shop and gave me a tenner