Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fashion for the Zompocalypse.

• 06-09-2010 12:21pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭

We have discussed weapons, transport and safe havens. We have not however considered the attire we shall wear to combat the dead menace. Some would say chain mail is the best defense. However, I own chain mail. That stuff is heavy and may slow you down leaving you unable to maneuver successfully. Personally I think the best option is a heavy leather jacket that fits close to the upper body with heavy leggings and boots that fit comfortably. You can still move relatively quickly, but would be protected from glancing attacks by a zombie. What do you all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Pair of fishing waders to sort out those crawling buggers, if they do happen to cop you a bite on the leg minimal chance of it breaking skin so no infection. Will probably still hurt like hell though.

Couple that with a pair of heavy boots (can you wear something like that over waders ?)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

c - 13 wrote: »
    Pair of fishing waders to sort out those crawling buggers, if they do happen to cop you a bite on the leg minimal chance of it breaking skin so no infection. Will probably still hurt like hell though.

Couple that with a pair of heavy boots (can you wear something like that over waders ?)
    Well, if not over certainly under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

i think light and flexible would be the way to go, maybe something like this

http://www.kineda.com/stab-proof-hoodies/

some kind of running/hiking footwear, if your in the country side your gonna need it. im not sure if you can get water proof protective wear (as in protects you from knives etc) if you can would it be light weight ? personally id prefer to be able to run really fast without hindrance

id like some knife belts for my thigh, dunno, they just look cool :D although im sure they would come in handy

if possible, light knife proof combat trousers, slim fitting so they wouldnt slow me down flapping all over the place during chase

im sure ill think of more

not sure if id want my clothes to weigh too much wolfy (can i say wolfy? )

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

ShadowGal wrote: »
    i think light and flexible would be the way to go, maybe something like this

http://www.kineda.com/stab-proof-hoodies/

some kind of running/hiking footwear, if your in the country side your gonna need it. im not sure if you can get water proof protective wear (as in protects you from knives etc) if you can would it be light weight ? personally id prefer to be able to run really fast without hindrance

id like some knife belts for my thigh, dunno, they just look cool :D although im sure they would come in handy

if possible, light knife proof combat trousers, slim fitting so they wouldnt slow me down flapping all over the place during chase

Im not sure if id want my clothes to weigh too much wolfy (can i say wolfy? )
    I like the way you think. Speed and flexibility paired with lightweight defense. (Sure call me wolfy if you like. Many do.)

oh oh i almost forgot, id need protective head wear, i was thinking one of those cool looking cycling army style helmet but im not sure how good it would be. ive got an old American vietnam war army helmet hanging from my book shelf but its really heavy :(

perhaps something like this:
    41dwYQXQEwL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
    Kevlar hood.

perhaps something like this:
    Kevlar hood.

now that looks cooool, night time ninja

Twould also limit the ability of a zed to lay hands on you. Paired with this you would be a stealthy and protected.
    41JbCAFWjqL._SS400_.jpg

Twould also limit the ability of a zed to lay hands on you. Paired with this you would be a stealthy and protected.
    41JbCAFWjqL._SS400_.jpg

could you run in that though ? i think if i fell over id spend so much time squeaking around the place trying to get up the ole Z's would have a field day no ?

Well, it's made out of kevlar and leather with lightweight armoring in key places. I imagine a bit of practice and you would be able to run with ease in it.

give me a trakkie, strap a few knives to my thighs and its on !!!!

but really, ya i suppose you could practice. i know you would have to be protected from bites thats the main worry for me, so anything that stops them from breaking the skin is a plus, trust me, ive been bitten more then a few times

it would have to be totally flexible breathable gear.i think heavy armor is fine for initial crazy out break days but for survival after you need to be able to move fast, always moving actually

suppose it depends on where you are.if you've got a fort type place set up then the ground soldiers whe are most likely to face first contact need to be well suited up

You make a good point there. Different situations/roles would call for different gear. Guards would need serious bite protection, while a scout would need extremely lightweight gear so they can move fast.

i think id like to be a scout, im not sure how well id stand up to a few zombies on my own and im not even a tiny little thing, i like the attack them from behind method ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't think you need to get to heavy with Zombie armour. Gore-tex fabric or even 3Do pads would be ideal if you could find the 3Do stuff.

A weakened bite from a human (which already has a non deadly bite) won't pose much of a threat, sharp protruding bone will be more dangerous but you can find allot of cut resistant fabric in the workwear market that would protect from that as Zombies won't be able to put much force behind there attacks.

Outside of that all you'll need is watertight clothing to protect from the elements and splash back.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't think you need to get to heavy with Zombie armour. Gore-tex fabric or even 3Do pads would be ideal if you could find the 3Do stuff.

A weakened bite from a human (which already has a non deadly bite) won't pose much of a threat, sharp protruding bone will be more dangerous but you can find allot of cut resistant fabric in the workwear market that would protect from that as Zombies won't be able to put much force behind there attacks.

Outside of that all you'll need is watertight clothing to protect from the elements and splash back.

lets say we dont know how the infection spreads but we're guessing its bites, if they are the crazy kind they may pack a viscous bite, would gore-tex protect from that ? i thought it was more rain proof regarding the elements etc ..

im with you on protecting from the elements too though

lets say we dont know how the infection spreads but we're guessing its bites, if they are the crazy kind they may pack a viscous bite, would gore-tex protect from that ? i thought it was more rain proof regarding the elements etc ..

im with you on protecting from the elements too though
    Well the gore-tex jacket I have is fairly rough, it's a work wear snickers jacket, Zombie bites won't get through much, once they over excerpt themselves on one bite their power will be completely gone. I don't entertain the possibility of super human Zombies.

im along the lines of prepare for absolutely anything to occur :D

Well the gore-tex jacket I have is fairly rough, it's a work wear snickers jacket, Zombie bites won't get through much, once they over excerpt themselves on one bite their power will be completely gone.
    This is why I would prefer something heavier if I was facing a horde on my own.

see i dont think i could face a group on my own, i just dont think id be strong enough

I would be casting myself as a one-man version of the 3oo Spartans. Would probably end much the same to be honest. Run woman, run!

tonight we dine in HELL !!!

now thats one group i wouldnt mind running into :pac:

i can run so hopefully id make a nifty escape

Again, you would be dressing for speed. I would be dressing for prolonged head and jaw cracking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

From the suggestions so far most would end up looking like Big Daddy from kickass :pac:

kickassx.jpg

The stalker look is pretty cool (no! not that kind of stalker! :p)

stalker_shadow_of_chernobyl1.jpg

Big Daddy's outfit would actually work quite well I'm thinking, if we leave the cape off.

Again, you would be dressing for speed. I would be dressing for prolonged head and jaw cracking.

id be dressing for get me the hell out of here as fast as i can run and if i get to slice a few Z's up on the way yippy

Big Daddy's outfit would actually work quite well I'm thinking, if we leave the cape off.

No dice. Cape stays :p

ya i kind of like the cape too

Capes give zombies a handhold to reel you in.

May also keep you warm concidering youll probably be in the outdoors most of the time ;)

but come on wolfy, dontcha want to look s**t hot while your doing it ? :pac:

realistically it would only get in the way, ill still look uber cool with my knives strapped to me and maybe a cool bike, ill be the oldest zombie killer on boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

For ease of movement and protection and to have good all round protection id go for the Kevlar hood posted a few posts back and googles, preferably a good pair of ski googles or airsoft googles and all in one biker leathers with a pair of biker boots to.

You could move quicker then Z's and be protected enough to take on a small group 2-5.

gavredking wrote: »
    For ease of movement and protection and to have good all round protection id go for the Kevlar hood posted a few posts back and googles, preferably a good pair of ski googles or airsoft googles and all in one biker leathers with a pair of biker boots to.

You could move quicker then Z's and be protected enough to take on a small group 2-5.
    How did I forget the goggles.

i love this, you may as well have a bike too :)

How did I forget the goggles.

Easy oversight really, but they are a most, your eyes need to be protected at all costs, a lunge form a Z could effect your sight if they catch ya in the eye area and then it would be game over.

i love this, you may as well have a bike too :)

Maybe a cycle bike :pac: id be really hardcore turning up anywhere on a BMX dressed like this :D

Could you imagine trying to run in biking leathers? if they didnt hear you squeaking and squelshing as you hobble down the streat youd melt under your own heat! Dont the police(maybe not the gardai) have slash resistant material in their jackets. I maybe wrong on that might go look that up later if im bored;)

Kevlar hood.
    +

41JbCAFWjqL._SS400_.jpg
    +
    41RIA-Pb7RL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
    =
    ZOMBIE FIGHTING AWESOMENESS

Maybe a cycle bike :pac: id be really hardcore turning up anywhere on a BMX dressed like this :D

people would start diving for cover everywhere,

"look paddy, theres young gav with his armor again, is that a sword on his back"

Could you imagine trying to run in biking leathers? if they didnt hear you squeaking and squelshing as you hobble down the streat youd melt under your own heat! Dont the police(maybe not the gardai) have slash resistant material in their jackets. I maybe wrong on that might go look that up later if im bored;)

haha

you can get slash resistant clothes on the link i put up, well sweat tops and hoodies

Totally agree, its not to practical, but for short/medium journeys it would be a good option rather then your normal clothing or heavier chain mail or the such.

Id much rather be protected like this then be caught out and complaining about the heat, id still fancy my chances of out pacing a Z at a speedy walk in this outfit :pac:

+

+
    41RIA-Pb7RL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
    =
    ZOMBIE FIGHTING AWESOMENESS

very cool, i think that gear would be great if you were on a really fast motor bike equipped with a sword or 2, you could drive at speed slashing merrily as you go

Cyberwolf77 have you been watching a certain film by Uwe Boll?

rampage.jpg

Bad film. Good zompocalypse fashion tips :D

No, I been reading The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman. The riot gear they use gave me the idea for this thread.

Cyberwolf77 have you been watching a certain film by Uwe Boll?

rampage.jpg

Bad film. Good zompocalypse fashion tips :D

i saw this a few weeks ago, is it with the guys ordering all the gear from the net ??? it was a bit freaky i must say

No, I been reading The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman. The riot gear they use gave me the idea for this thread.

Truely the new bible for survivors after Z day :D

Edit Shadowgal: I was a bit sickened by the film alright. Didnt have much of a point apart from the shock value which is something im guessing will be missed by a few psycos wholl get some nasty ideas from it :(

Truely the new bible for survivors after Z day :D

Edit Shadowgal: I was a bit sickened by the film alright. Didnt have much of a point apart from the shock value which is something im guessing will be missed by a few psycos wholl get some nasty ideas from it :(

i kind of thought that it got its ideas from a lot of stuff that has gone on already. its like bowling for columbine x 100. i was shocked by it i must admit and i can watch a lot of gore, but there was something about this that made my heart skip beats

But there's no need to over protect yourself as it'll cost you energy in the long run.

To know what type of armour would be best you just have to look at what it has to do. Protect against human teeth and sharp bone cuts. Neither of these are particularly hard to protect against as Zombie won't be able to generate any dangerous amount of force to put behind them, unless in a large horde where they would have the weight advantage brought on by numbers. So any work wear would protect against these two factors as they're designed to withstand cutting and snagging.

The only other major concern is contact with infected fluids, of which Zombies won't have allot of due to the side effects of being dead and having no way to replenish lost fluids. A good watertight covering would be enough to protect against Zombie fluids. Again this is something covered by work wear as it's designed for outdoor use.

The main problem with to much armour is the weight, heavy armour could end up costing you dear if it saps all your energy. It will also restrict your movement and more than likely make you very uncomfortable while you're wearing it. You have to seriously consider how much energy you can afford to use throughout your day during an apocalyptic scenario like this. The more active you are the more fuel you'll require to stay active and you have no guaranteed food source any more. So it's back to nature and serious energy conservation like every other animal on the planet has to do on a daily basis to survive. Remember that Lions spend the vast majority of their day sitting around doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

Light,durable and comfy

Balaclava/Neck scarf,Jeans,hiking boots or runners depending on the situation and long sleeve tops and a neat fitting hoody[so a large on me]

Why? if the zeds can't catch you,they can't bite you
    it's the sort of stuff I'm used to wearing and I know for a fact wearing the above I can easily vault a 5 foot obstacle in one leap so while you're all getting used to it and lugging around chainmail [note; if you get injured in it,you'd need a hand to take it off and most of you wouldn't be used to wearing it.Just sayin']

and most people would under estimate a guy in a hoody and jeans for a dumb kid,my advantage bitches.I've worn chainmail for an entire weekend and trust me,unless you've done it for a while.you'll be crawling by the evening and plain clothes guy will be still skipping around[skipping is still a valid escape tactic :P ]

Light,durable and comfy

Balaclava/Neck scarf,Jeans,hiking boots or runners depending on the situation and long sleeve tops and a neat fitting hoody[so a large on me]

Why? if the zeds can't catch you,they can't bite you
    it's the sort of stuff I'm used to wearing and I know for a fact wearing the above I can easily vault a 5 foot obstacle in one leap so while you're all getting used to it and lugging around chainmail [note; if you get injured in it,you'd need a hand to take it off and most of you wouldn't be used to wearing it.Just sayin']

and most people would under estimate a guy in a hoody and jeans for a dumb kid,my advantage bitches.I've worn chainmail for an entire weekend and trust me,unless you've done it for a while.you'll be crawling by the evening and plain clothes guy will be still skipping around[skipping is still a valid escape tactic :P ]

hey im with you on the light and durable, for the long term anyways. i can also see the benefit of heavy armor in the middle of a huge scuffle of zombies though

never wore chain mail, what am i missing ?