Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rumble in Rush 5 February 26th

• 06-09-2010 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

Rumble in Rush 5 is set for February 26th and is going to be using the new semi pro rules where head shots grounded will be used but using padded sparring style gloves, also im going to use the new Amateur rules for a few fights too, so the plan is to have an Amateur/Semi pro night capped off with 2-3 Pro fights..

Any coaches e mail me with names for this show on Cowzerp@yahoo.com
    and any fighters interested ask your coaches to contact me as i deal directly through coaches, Thanks Paul

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

International Fight.

John Donnelly Team Ryano (Ireland) V Dustin West (USA) in a 77kg welterweight match up,

All the way from the US comes Dustin West straight out of fighting on strikeforce in april and now coming to fullfill a dream of fighting on Irish soil on the Rumble in Rush 5, Dustin is coming to holiday here and what better way to spend your holiday than throwing down in front of a load of crazy irish fans!!

Both men are strikers 1st and well rounded so this could be amazing, also a major chance for John to get Strikeforce to take an interest in him so bith men will really want the W in this match up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Performance Martial Arts

That's great news Paul! Turning out to be another good fight card and another cracking nite of mma!!! Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭_oveless

Wow big fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

What time does the event start and what are the ticket prices?

7.30 and the ticket prices are 25 euro as always, any coaches looking to get on the card let me know so i can match make for you..

Thanks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

cowzerp wrote: »
    International Fight.

John Donnelly Team Ryano (Ireland) V Dustin West (USA) in a 77kg welterweight match up,

Thats a major coup for Rush, well done for getting this one on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Mrs Lynch

.......John Donnelly Team Ryano (Ireland) V Dustin West (USA).........

Great fight Paul:cool: Ive always considered John as one of Irelands best - he had been out for long but glad to see him back and taking fights at such high standard:)

RiR is a tremendous show and looks set to be another great nite of MMA ;)

Urs
    x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Team West

Looking forward to the fight in Feb. Thanks to Paul for making this happen. Can't wait to visit your beautiful country, meet some great people, and put on a hell of a show for the Irish fight fans!

Team West

Team West wrote: »
    Looking forward to the fight in Feb. Thanks to Paul for making this happen. Can't wait to visit your beautiful country, meet some great people, and put on a hell of a show for the Irish fight fans!

Team West

Your more than welcome to our country and we hope you have a great nite of Irish MMA ;)

Personally Paul is one of the best guys in MMA here so you are truely working with a gentleman who will look after you:)

Urs
    x

Another fight to announce, Paul is a very good grappler with ever improving striking and Vinny is a very good striker with an always improving ground game, this is a cool fight to be added to the card and 1 i'm excited to see..

Paul Hamill Ryoshin Lucan V Vinny De Ruscio Fit to fight 73kg

Fight Card so far

John Donnelly Team Ryano (Ireland) V Dustin West (USA) 77kg
    Paul o' Carney Ryoshin Lucan v Will Heffernan IP Light heavy contest.
    C class Match up
    Michael Burke PMA v Owen O'Neill Maynooth Shootfighters -93kg

Andruis Sokqouskis Extreme MMA V Conor Duffy Fit to fight 77kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

I love it. Awesome match up Paul. :)
    Looking forward to this majorly now. This could be a fun fight. Im calling it Right now as Fight of the night :D

Stephen Doyle PMA v Leigh Desmond Middleton MMA 84kg
    Both come from striking backgrounds and debuting in MMA..
    Fight Card so far
    C class Match ups

Amateur fights

Ciaran Kearney Ryoshin Lucan v Jarek Sowinski Middleton MMA 77kg,.
    a few kickboxing fights from both these lads and both relative newcomers to MMA and both will have 1 MMA fight each by the time of this fight..

Interesting fight and 1 that will be hard to predict as they are both the same on paper..

2 New fights to announce
    Neil Ward Rush FA V James Higgins PCCB 61kg, Both unbeaten and 2 fighters that are hoping to stay that way..

Michael O'Donohue Rush FA v Chris Shannon PCCB 61kg

Fight Card so far
    C class Match ups
    Dean Mitchell Rush FA V Tommy Collins Middleton MMA 73kg

Ciaran Kearney Ryoshin Lucan v Jarek Sowinski Middleton MMA 77kg

Neil Ward Rush FA V James Higgins PCCB

Michael O' Donohue Rush FA v Chris Shannon PCCB

Amateur fights

Shona Maguire Rush FA V Gillian phelan Ryoshin Lucan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Marty Mc

Is Vinnie De Ruscio the ex full contact kickboxing world champion and one time full time professional kickboxer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Marty Mc wrote: »
    Is Vinnie De Ruscio the ex full contact kickboxing world champion and one time full time professional kickboxer?
    yup thats vin alright, though never full time as he's in the army

John Donnellys opponent pulled off a 9 second KO win last night on strikeforce so will be confident coming into the main event fight, great chance for John also to make a name for himself, tickets on sale by the way

Gona be great night and really lookin foward to it and best of luck :) x

Urs
    x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 domz mc c

wat a card, well done mate, il get down to watch dis 1, it looks like a great nite of mma is on da cards,,

Event is now been sponsored by Ashbourne club who are doing Beginner MMA, BJJ and Also Kickboxing classes.

C class Match ups
    Neil Ward Rush FA V James Higgins PCCB 61kg

Darah Harte Rush FA V Tommy Collins Middleton MMA 73kg

Conor Walsh Rush FA V Kristoph Plona Ryoshin Lucan 84kg

Paul o' Carney Ryoshin Lucan v Aarron Wogan Legends 93kg

Idruss Anilimashaun Shika v Dean dalton Legends 66kg

Aaron Skelly Rush FA V Conor Duffy Fit to fight 77kg

Zbigniew Hormanski V Tadhg dixon Legends MMA 93kg+

Michael O' Donohue Rush FA v Chris Shannon PCCB 57kg

Amateur fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭rondog

Great stuff,Any news on doors opening time,first fight time ,breaks in between fights.

All the rush events usually run like clockwork but just wondered as im trying to fit this in with a 30th.

cheers

rondog wrote: »
    Great stuff,Any news on doors opening time,first fight time ,breaks in between fights.

All the rush events usually run like clockwork but just wondered as im trying to fit this in with a 30th.

cheers

Doors open 7pm
    1st fight 7.30 sharp
    No breaks or time wasting on the Rumble
    As ya know i cant tell a finish time but it could end quick if lots of fights stopped which could happen with new rules but with matches been well matched i expect some wars!
    Hope that helps and thanks for the support with the show..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭troygracie

great card paul looking forward to another great night in rush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Team West

6 more days until we land in Ireland! We cannot wait to meet all of the great mma fans in Rush. We are excited to be a part of this great card and to get to compete against Mr. Donnelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭tyreman1

6 more days until we land in Ireland! We cannot wait to meet all of the great mma fans in Rush. We are excited to be a part of this great card and to get to compete against Mr. Donnelly.
    i for one cannot wait for donnelly vs west !!!!!.....
    dustin has heavy hands and goes for the finish, but donnelly is a beast....this is a great fight for irish mma, a big name like dustin coming over from the U.S. and irelands top WW in donnelly.....
    fair play to paul on matching these two, once again the RUMBLE delivers an action packed card

And you know what, fighting aside - your not going to meet a friendlier, more down to earth bunch of people that the RFA guys & girls.

Enjoy your visit.

Event is now been sponsored by Ashbourne club who are doing Beginner MMA, BJJ and Also Kickboxing classes.
    C class Match ups
    Darah Harte Rush FA V Tony Keane Waterford 70kg

Idruss Anilimashaun Shika v Dean Dalton Legends 66kg
    Zbigniew Hormanski V Kristoph Plona Ryoshin Lucan 85kg

Michael O' Donohue Rush FA v Chris Shannon PCCB 57kg
    Amateur fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭kid chaos

Best of luck with the show Paul. James Higgins is going to impress without doubt.

kid chaos wrote: »
    Best of luck with the show Paul. James Higgins is going to impress without doubt.

No doubt Joe, Neil is the same too-thats why these 2 are matched up, 2 unbeaten prospects that will be looking for to stay that way..

potential fight of the night right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 KneesStopFight

naw man ... higgins gona knock this dude out cold!

Neil knocked last opponent out cold so we'll see. :)

will be good

I've had the pleasure of training with neil and the other Rush lads for this fight and I really can't see neil being knocked out at all he's a beast in training and can hold his own with anyone. Should be a good fight!!!!

C class Match ups

Darah Harte Rush FA V Tommy Collins Middleton MMA 73kg

Conor Walsh Rush FA V Kristoph Plona Ryoshin Lucan 84kg

Idruss Anilimashaun Shika v Dean dalton Legends 66kg

Zbigniew Hormanski V Tadhg dixon Legends MMA 93kg+

Michael O' Donohue
    Rush FA v Chris Shannon PCCB 57kg

Amateur fight

Everyone highlighted there im fairly sure has the power to KO their opponent. I havent included myself as in the cage my power still hasnt been seen. Havent thrown my hands with the power i have yet.
    Just cuz somebody isnt highlighted doesnt mean they dont have the power I just have not seen everyone on the card fight.
    Lookin forward to this card. Probably the best Rumble card yet. Great mix of experience on the card.
    Is Phil and Adrius' fight called off?(excuse the spelling error)
    Also is that gonna be the running order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭kid chaos

potential fight of the night right there.
    Im in England that weekend and gutted I wont see the fight.

Hope somebody records it.

James via Suprise, round 2 :)

The fight card will be running pretty much in this order, as always it could be subject to change for certain reasons, there is some serious fights on the card and lots that i could not call, thats how i try to match them

Last remaining Tickets are flying out locally so get onto me or fighters asap so you dont miss out

Weigh ins for fighters will be at earliest 6pm Friday so know fighters have extra time to hydrate rest etc than others and fighters have 2 hours to make weight-all weigh ins conducted outside the Dublin weigh in station in Rush must be recorded and will be checked on day of the fight by an appointed person on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

Thought this comment (from the comment box in the link) was a bit **** as it's from someone called MMA Ireland. You think with a name like that they would want to say something good about Irish events.

MMA Ireland says:
    February 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm

This seems absolutely mad, why in gods name is west scraping the barrel going to fight in a tiny promotion that nobody in world MMA has ever heard of? I looked online to find this is a minute MMA show that gets 200 or 300 folk coming to watch!!! This is just nuts, Wests management cannot have checked this out at all

Thought this comment (from the comment box in the link) was a bit **** as it's from someone called MMA Ireland. You think with a name like that they would want to say something good about Irish events.

MMA Ireland says:
    February 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm

This seems absolutely mad, why in gods name is west scraping the barrel going to fight in a tiny promotion that nobody in world MMA has ever heard of? I looked online to find this is a minute MMA show that gets 200 or 300 folk coming to watch!!! This is just nuts, Wests management cannot have checked this out at all

Jealous airholes thats why-He's fighting the best Ireland has to offer so the promotion is irrelevant, this is not about money for him and all about visiting his heritage and getting a fight in while he's visiting, the man deserves credit for this and the Rumble sells more than any show in Dublin bar CC so they also have there figures wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Herculeez

is his name vinny de ruscio or rusico?

Herculeez wrote: »
    is his name vinny de ruscio or rusico?

de ruscio, last few tickets left and my phone is hopping!!

Anyone looking for MMA training gear, we have good news, there will be MMA and Boxing gear etc on sale at the show so bring a few quid if you are looking for anything..

Best of luck everyone in making weight tomorrow night.

See you all cage side on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Chris Shanks

Jealous airholes thats why-He's fighting the best Ireland has to offer so the promotion is irrelevant, this is not about money for him and all about visiting his heritage and getting a fight in while he's visiting, the man deserves credit for this and the Rumble sells more than any show in Dublin bar CC so they also have there figures wrong.

There is a difference between a show and a promotion. It is down to the personal desire of West and what he wants to do. I am sure a bigger show did offer him a fight but he has turned it down for a reason.

I also don't understand why MMAIreland would come on here and say something that he knows is going to piss people off? I challenge you to put on a show and do better than Rumble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

I also don't understand why MMAIreland would come on here and say something that he knows is going to piss people off? I challenge you to put on a show and do better than Rumble

I kinda doubt whoever made the comment is in anyway involved in MMA in Ireland, or even from Ireland at all. Especially given they said they had to look online to learn more about the Rumble in Rush show.

Just back from the weigh ins and all the lads looked in good shape and ready to go!!!! Dustin and john were both ripped so this is gonna be a great show. Best of luck to all the fighters!!!!!

Anyone weighing in today all looked in top shape while i was there alright. Expected West to be a bit taller but he was absolutely shredded as was Donnelly.
    This could be the best Rumble yet. See you guys tomorrow. Hopefully plenty of boardsies will be there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

http://twitter.com/Ljungberg_8

I SHOULD be tweeting results from the show. As well as my skill of showing my inability to find anywhere outside of Co Louth.

Looking forward to this now, best of luck to everyone!

I'll be wearing my Elmo shirt. However check the twitter naturally for all wardrobe updates and changes

EDIT - Sorry lads, seems Hitler himself has come back in the spirit of my mother. I won't be tweeting or attending. :mad:

Hopefully plenty of boardsies will be there :)

Count me in :D

Any boardies give me a shout, given the amount of drunks in Templebar know my mallet head from boards.ie I suspect you guys will too... Looking forward to putting a few faces to usernames.

Couldn't make the weigh in's in Rush for some photographs, was in bed with a bug the last few days and didn't want to risk infecting fighters.

T-minus 7 hrs to kick/punch off :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

any results?

John donnely won in style over three rounds and looked great!!!! My team mates from rush had a great nite and also won in style so all in all a great nite and a great show so well done to Paul for putting this on as it was the best rumble so far!!!!!