Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr. bf - Mr. Hyde????

• 06-09-2010 1:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

Hi boardsies,

Not sure where I am going with this but please bare with me. I have been with my bf for a year and a half and he is a really sweet guy. Some of my past relationships have been real stinkers but he made up for all this.

The problem I am facing now is that my bf scares me.... he treats me like a queen and is always there for me and he has always been a nice guy. The thing is that we were out at the weekend with some friends. However, when the night was coming to an end and we were leaving a pub, one of my friends was verbally accosted by two guys who were acting very leacherously. My friend laughed it off and she tried to walk away with us but these guys wouldn't leave us alone and they were fairly out of it. Another male friend of mine stood up to them and told them to fcuk off but one of the guys started a fight with him and all hell broke loose (I know this sounds dramatic but its the best way I can describe it). My bf who was only then coming out of the pub (because he was talking to some friends) saw what was going on, told me to ring the cops and tried to break it up. My female friend either slipped or was pushed and she hurt herself and started crying. At this point my bf lost it completely. I mean I have never seen anyone in a psychotic rage before but that's the only way I know how to describe it. The guys who started it just legged it and the cops eventually came. All this time I was spellbound at my bf because in a split second he went from a fun loving caring guy into a monster and just as quickly he went back to his usual self. This is what scares me. This is the only instance of him getting so angry that I have seen but I keep thinking now that he has this side to him. Should I be worried.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Miss Mimsy your boyfriend acted fairly responsibly in my book.

You guys who walked didnt & the first thing to do was to go back inside tell the pubs management and let the pubs management deal with the problem.

What was your b/f supposed to do differently.

Fully marks to b/f for doing what had to be done but the situation could have been different if someone had a knife.

So the lesson here for you and your friends should have been to go back to the safe location and avoid getting split from the group you were in. That was very irresponsible and someone did get hurt but not b/fs fault.

Sorry -but it is you guys and not your b/f who are the unreasonable ones.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

His first action is to attempt to bring temporary order to the situation until the guards arrive, but when people start getting hurt by these aggressive blokes he then takes it to the next level and runs them off? Sounds like a knight in shining armour, not a transformer. Geeeeeeeez, I'd be giving him a kiss rather than doubtful looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

Don't worry about your boyfriend's reaction. More importantly, tell your girlfriends to be more careful about what men they entertain and who they choose to walk out of the pub with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

TitoPuente wrote: »
    More importantly, tell your girlfriends to be more careful about what men they entertain and who they choose to walk out of the pub with.

I wouldn't do this OP. That would mean that you think they were at fault, which is why things like these usually aren't reported for fear of not being believed.

More likely, these guys wouldn't take no for an answer no matter what your friends had done. We've all seen those situations.

Your boyfriend did absolutely the right thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

OP ask yourself what alternative your b/f had?
    Would you have preferred if he had stood back and done nothing?

Have to say i wouldn't have a problem with it myself unless he went totally crazy and beat the c***p out of the other lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Miss Mimsy

angelfire9 wrote: »
    OP ask yourself what alternative your b/f had?
    Would you have preferred if he had stood back and done nothing?

Have to say i wouldn't have a problem with it myself unless he went totally crazy and beat the c***p out of the other lads

The thing is that I thought he was going to. He seriously looked like he was going to hurt someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Miss Mimsy wrote: »
    The thing is that I thought he was going to. He seriously looked like he was going to hurt someone

Yeah but you know him and know he's not like that.

The guys he was trying to scare off don't know him, so they legged it.

Sounds to me like your boyfriend did the right thing. He handled things fairly calmly at first and then when your friend got hurt he got angry and scared the guys off without having to resort to violence.

It all sounds perfectly justified and reasonable to me. If you were scared then talk to him about it, make sure that he knows you were scared but that as long as he was doing it to protect you and your friend it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Think I have to agree what has already been said! Your boyfriend did the right thing! He protected you and your frinds and you can't ask any more from him! You said as soon s it was all over he turn back to his usual self and that he never acted like that before so I wouldn't worry about it too much!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Miss Mimsy wrote: »

Well of course he did - do you think it would have been at all effective in getting rid of the guys who started it if he looked like he was just pretending to have a go or it was obviously all bravado? In order to scare them he'd have to look like the read deal, to them - and of course he's look the same to you. The fact he wasn't buzzing and going after them and flipped straight back to his normal self would indicate he knew exactly what he was doing and how far to take things.