Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ivor Callely used the Dáil to tap firms for money for 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Where does it end? I'm in Asia travelling now, read a headline about a politician resigning after giving his daughter a job. Can you imagine that in Ireland? There's no honour, just bastards like Ivan on the take for as much as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why aren't the police charging him? He'll get away with a slap on the wrists and keep his cushy job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

The Dail is meant to be our national parliament, surely it's not permitted to be used as a bloody fundraising venue? We must be such a laughing stock for the rest of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

raymon wrote: »
    If this is true ( on top of everything else ) then I am mad as hell :mad:

I'm surpised that you appear somewhat shocked by it. Do you not realise by now that that political party are corrupt to the bone? I don't put too much pass on any new revelations I hear at this stage as they simply don't shock or surprise me anymore. This culture is rife in Fianna Fail for a long time now. Jack Lynch was a great person and politician but look at all subsequent Fianna Fail leaders since. Can you say any of them were or are even half honest and good political leaders? In my opinion anyone who voted Fianna Fail down through the Haughey years or subsequently only have themselves to blame.

Edit: Dermot Ahern assumed it was a post budget lunch for friends and constituents of Callely? Come on like does he really think people are that naive and stupid. You can fool some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time but you can't fool all of the people all of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Why aren't the police charging him? He'll get away with a slap on the wrists and keep his cushy job.

Because this is an endemic deep deep problem ingrained into this country and its people. Get as much money as you can through whatever means you can. As per usual nothing will come from this yet if you were to take a Mars bar from a shop you would be looking out through bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Because this is an endemic deep deep problem ingrained into this country and its people. Get as much money as you can through whatever means you can. As per usual nothing will come from this yet if you were to take a Mars bar from a shop you would be looking out through bars

Damned right - if I went to my local shop and robbed a loaf of bread and a pint of milk - the Gardai would be on it in a flash !

Have we become a "Kleptocracy" ? , maybe we always were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

All the money in the world could not fix the image of his wife and those tights.

She could surely pass as a man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Vim Fuego wrote: »
    Where does it end? I'm in Asia travelling now, read a headline about a politician resigning after giving his daughter a job. Can you imagine that in Ireland?

Dick Spring, a good few years ago, and no, he didn't go. He had to ditch her though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Use of the facilities is to be conducted in a manner reflective of the dignity and decorum of the Houses

Yeah, right! Given some of the goings-on as well as the usual bitchfest that passes for opposition and debate in that place, I don't think there's any decorum left.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Kevin Baxter Jr, said he paid ‘a €500 (£417) cheque’ and it was ‘made out to Ivor Callely’.
    ...His yearly list of donations does not include cheques received for the lunches.

The MoS has confirmed that in at least two cases donors paid an amount over the declarable limit of €634.87 (£529) to attend the events, but they do not appear on Callely’s donation list.
    `
    Busted!!!
    However, what will happen? There will be some mumbling from Ministers, TDs and Senators and then nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the word on the street is that he's in financial difficulties to the tune of several million €€€

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Absurdum wrote: »
    the word on the street is that he's in financial difficulties to the tune of several million €€€

And if that was to be the case, so what ? If you can't live on a TD's or Senator's income there's something seriously wrong with you or you're showing some serious Roi de Soleil tendencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Are we honestly supposed to believe that of 216 Oireachtas members and hundreds of senior civil servants, only Ivor the Wicked exploited the incredibly lax expenses system? In a few months dozens will follow.

And if that was to be the case, so what ?

because a politician in deep financial difficulty could in theory be easy to manipulate (all lol's aside)
    If you can't live on a TD's or Senator's income there's something seriously wrong with you or you're showing some serious Roi de Soleil tendencies.

we're talking about a guy who bought an Merc identical to his senior ministerial colleagues, and hired a driver to complete the look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

because a politician in deep financial difficulty could in theory be easy to manipulate (all lol's aside)

we're talking about a guy who bought an Merc identical to his senior ministerial colleagues, and hired a driver to complete the look
    That's why a bankrupt person cannot be a TD. Not sure about a senator though?
    Thats pathetic but funny, about the merc and chauffeur. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Now that is funny !!!!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

TD's and Senators regularly use the house, its stationary, etc, to further their own political and financial interests.

It's the biggest gravy train in the country, and should be reformed from the bottom up to be a completely transparent system. I want to know, as a taxpayer, every goddamn receipt they charge me for and everyone who steps through those doors and why.

Transparency is the only answer to some of our problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

And if that was to be the case, so what ? If you can't live on a TD's or Senator's income there's something seriously wrong with you or you're showing some serious Roi de Soleil tendencies.

Ah now really '.... houses, housekeepers, cars let me tell you it's not easy' now where did I hear that before?

... this is some soap opera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

Morally lacking, corrupt, wishy washy and unrepentant.

It seems to be a cultural thing, he's only getting dragged into the limelight.

But i reckon alot of he's "hard working" colleagues are the same.

Root and stem pruning needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

The Court was told that the Committee portrayed Senator Callely as 'a pariah' who had ripped off the State to the sum of €80,000, as 'a chancer', 'a rogue', and as 'thoroughly despicable'.

God help us but doesn't the truth hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Callan57 wrote: »
    The Court was told that the Committee portrayed Senator Callely as 'a pariah' who had ripped off the State to the sum of €80,000, as 'a chancer', 'a rogue', and as 'thoroughly despicable'.

God help us but doesn't the truth hurt

i just heard on the radio(today fm) that the little cnut is seeking damages and costs he must be living on planet bertie:mad:

Callan57 wrote: »
    In fairness, as a former constituient of Ivor's, I could have saved the committee a few bob and told them most of that over ten years ago!
    i just heard on the radio(today fm) that the little cnut is seeking damages and costs he must be living on planet bertie:mad:
    And he'll probably get it.
    And given that he is a great fundraiser for FF, it won't be long after that that they welcome him back with open arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

Vim Fuego wrote: »
    Where does it end? I'm in Asia travelling now, read a headline about a politician resigning after giving his daughter a job. Can you imagine that in Ireland? There's no honour, just bastards like Ivan on the take for as much as they can.

It wasn't Japan, was it? Fellas over there used to slice their bellies open if they disgraced themselves, their families, or their company. If they couldn't bring themselves to do that they'd just jump out of a window.

This country could use a bit of the Bushido way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭Fluffybums

And the court case will cost the taxpayer even more money and they will probably give him a slap on the back and tell him he is just one of the lads. Assuming it goes to court, everyone in the Dail will probably try and drop the proceedings in the Seanad, Callely is almost certainly not the only one ripping us off and all his pals will guess that he will name names in court.

Bl**dy banana republic - need a revolution and to change more than the accents this time!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Don't forget the little man was appointed by Bertie Ahern to the Seanad. It says it all really. There is probably some appeal on semantics re his expenses....to you and me no is no and yes is yes. The likes of the Callely person there is an in between word.....no doubt he will get away with it as he is Ahern's man after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

it seems he has proved he does reside in corkeven though his post goes to his dublin address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Don't forget the little man was appointed by Bertie Ahern to the Seanad.

Heard Bertie on the radio this evening very clearly distancing himself from Ivor.. He said that he only missed out by a few votes the last time, and blamed the transfer system for this (i.e. justifying that he was worth a pick for the Seanad) .... He then made reference to his latest antics, and backed away completely from supporting him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'd like to post something clever, given that this is a serious forum. But I can only think of sentences which could only be used in the thunderdome or which might get me arrested.

*bangs head off keyboard after hitting "Submit Reply"*

goat2 wrote: »
    it seems he has proved he does reside in corkeven though his post goes to his dublin address

So he drives up (on expenses) to collect it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Heard Bertie on the radio this evening very clearly distancing himself from Ivor.. He said that he only missed out by a few votes the last time, and blamed the transfer system for this (i.e. justifying that he was worth a pick for the Seanad) .... He then made reference to his latest antics, and backed away completely from supporting him..

he missed out by 1500 votes, even after running by far the most expensive election campaign

and he didnt even pay for his campaign leaflets, the company went to the wall and he was listed as owing them 17.5k

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/callely-denies-he-owes-struggling-printer-836417500-2138593.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

goat2 wrote: »

Hmmm so he lives in West Cork ay? How did he prove that?

Anyone know where his mother-in-law lives?
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jennifer-callely-says-she-is-target-of-witchhunt-2316066.html

Now it wouldn't make much sense them kitting out the jeep if the woman lives in Dublin? So did he swindle revenue this way?

The plot thickens
    JENNIFER CALLELY, the wife of the senator, has recently returned to work at her north Dublin hair and beauty salon.
    Mrs Callely owns and runs Foleys Hair and Wig Studio in Clontarf, whose website describes it as a 'Five-star Salon with Good Salon Guide'.

...Her father, Jack Foley, operated a pharmacy in Clontarf for over 50 years and her mother Maureen ran a hair salon in the same area.

source
    So correct me if I'm wrong, but it looks like they are claiming to live in Cork while working in Dublin and getting a tax break on a jeep to drive Maureen around in Dublin, while they live in Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

The plot thickens

source
    So correct me if I'm wrong, but it looks like they are claiming to live in Cork while working in Dublin and getting a tax break on a jeep to drive Maureen around in Dublin, while they live in Cork!

question is
    do they fly, drove or go by rail
    huge expense either way

To me it doesn't matter how he travelled, I just dont think he did (regularly anyway)

The issue for me is the inconsistency.

I live in Cork, I work in Dublin
    I live in Cork, get my post in Dublin
    I live in Cork, I jog in Dublin
    I live in Cork, need a disabled friendly car for my mother-in-law in Dublin

Odds are he doesn't live in Cork.

No, he doesn't live there, you wally; it's just his "primary place of residence* ". :rolleyes:

Sheesh, can you dumb ordinary folk not understand plain English ? Poor Ivor's issue isn't what he did, it's the same issue that Lenihan had when he pointed out that us mere mortals couldn't possibly understand the intricacies and quite obvious legal above-boardness of all of those complicated FF goings-on ;)

* Definition of same yet to be made up during a lengthy and costly court battle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The neck on Calley is unreal.

I can understand why he wants to hang on to his Senate position - he's massively in debt in regards to property he owns.
    So the good (better than the most of us) earnings he's getting as a guarenteed income would go a long way to keeping off his creditors a while longer.

...That said, he ass should have been kick out of the Senate anyway - regardless of his personal financial position - which helds explain why he might want to screw a few (quite a few!) more Euros out of the state and thus us!

Biggins wrote: »
    The neck on Calley is unreal.

I can understand why he wants to hang on to his Senate position - he's massively in debt in regards to property he owns.
    So the good (better than the most of us) earnings he's getting as a guarenteed income would go a long way to keeping off his creditors a while longer.

...That said, he ass should have been kick out of the Senate anyway - regardless of his personal financial position - which helds explain why he might want to screw a few (quite a few!) more Euros out of the state and thus us!
    His personal finances are of no concern of mine, though if he did go bust the loans would go to NAMA, and what are the bets the house in Cork is in his wife's name?

Nijmegen wrote: »
    His personal finances are of no concern of mine, though if he did go bust the loans would go to NAMA, and what are the bets the house in Cork is in his wife's name?
    Nor mine, they just might help explain why though, he's fighting tooth and main (and court case!) to keep away investigators and trying to keep his position.

If it was you or I, we'd be in prison long a go, convicted on possible charges.

Biggins wrote: »
    Nor mine, they just might help explain why though, he's fighting tooth and main (and court case!) to keep away investigators and trying to keep his position.

If it was you or I, we'd be in prison long a go, convicted on possible charges.
    Well, what I meant by saying it is that it should be no consideration in deciding whether or not to toss him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

To me it doesn't matter how he travelled, I just dont think he did (regularly anyway)

The issue for me is the inconsistency.

I live in Cork, I work in Dublin
    I live in Cork, get my post in Dublin
    I live in Cork, I jog in Dublin
    I live in Cork, need a disabled friendly car for my mother-in-law in Dublin

he buys all his mobile phones in Dublin!

So the little cnut is bringing the Irish tax payer to court this is what should happen imo but the chances are slim,:mad: get his mobile phone records to check who and where he mad his calls and get the operator to confirm what masts/aerials his phone was using.
    then check his atm/visa cards to see the transaction times&places in another word follow the paper trail,then they could check his mileage against what he has claimed.

he goes for a walk on the seafront in Clontarf most mornings too. Must be to clear his head after his long commute from Cork :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Ivor's taking one for the team, as the Americans would say. The more he wriggles the more attention he gets, and the Spindependent happily obliges with mock-outrage.

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Well, what I meant by saying it is that it should be no consideration in deciding whether or not to toss him out.
    I do not disagree there.
    We are in complete agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

This weasel and thief from the Irish taxpayer has a neck like a jockey's b0llox and no mistake.

The likes of him (and there are LOADS more like him in the Seanad and indeed directly elected BY US in the Dail) feel thoroughly entitled to pocket extraordinary sums of our money. They see nothing wrong with it! Remember John O'Donoghue? His lavish treatment of himself, does anyone think the good people of Kerry South will remove this individual from politics? I don't because a large percentage of the electorate are total idiots with no appreciation of the bigger picture. We get muppets like Callely because we choose them (we didn't choose Callely directly of course but we chose the muppet and other gangster Ahern that put him in there).

When will we grow the fcuk up as a country and stop electing these shysters because they (appeared to) get a swimming pool for the local parish?!

He can be seen almost every Sunday attending mass in Clontarf and out walking the dog along the seafront almost every day!
    There must be some miles clocked up on that range rover!
    So the little cnut is bringing the Irish tax payer to court this is what should happen imo but the chances are slim,:mad: get his mobile phone records to check who and where he mad his calls and get the operator to confirm what masts/aerials his phone was using.
    then check his atm/visa cards to see the transaction times&places in another word follow the paper trail,then they could check his mileage against what he has claimed.
    He doesn't need to prove the mileage (as it was a blanket figure rather than a certain amount per mile) and he does seem likely to win his case by twisting the meaning behind the revenue term for residence.
    He could well get to keep his mileage amount and get to sue the seanad for defamation.

if that is the case i cannot see him ever getting elected again so we will just have to wait till the next election to get rid of the little cnut forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I said this months ago when the original dirt on this guy came out and I will keep saying it.
    He is the tip of the iceberg.
    He has a neck on him that a professional rugby player would be proud of.
    Almost every one of his alleged indiscretions have, in my opinion, warranted a garda investigation, the gardai were very slow to act on this and I am still unsure as to how serious they are taking their investigations into his affairs.
    If any one of us did anything remotely similiar to what this guy has gotten away with we would be up in the 'joy.
    This guy is now spending more of your money (mark my words this is not coming out of his own pocket) to challenge what his peers have found of him and in essence holding up every other investigation of him (while all the time still retaining his salary and expenses as a member of the Senate and bearing in mind that the longer he stays in that job the larger the pension he is getting.
    If he is successful it will tear apart the internal workings of the houses (which may not be any harm to be honest).

My solution,
    Dissolve the senate. Lose em. They'd say the country one hell of a headache and one hell of a cost. Theres only one or two senators I have any faith in, let them create a standards in public office committee and keep an eye on the other bunch of w4nks in the upper house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

we will just have to wait till the next election to get rid of the little cnut forever.
    We tried that before the last election; it didn't work. He got in the back door :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭minder2009

WHY DONT YOU GO TOM THE POLICE AND COMPLAIN...SIT ON FENCE SUITS YA BETTER MAYBE:confused: