Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone in RTE Loves Pat Shortt

• 03-09-2010 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

Someone in RTE must really think that 'comedian' Pat Shortt is the funniest man since the last funny man.

He's got a new show on RTE http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/mattie.html

So, is there just there just no other talent out there or does someone in RTE find Shortt hilarous.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Wasn't the first series of this a total flop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

imme wrote: »
    Someone in RTE must really think that 'comedian' Pat Shortt is the funniest man since the last funny man.

He's got a new show on RTE http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/mattie.html

So, is there just there just no other talent out there or does someone in RTE find Shortt hilarous.:confused:

RTE is just trying to show how much they hate us.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

He gets massive ratings.The Irish public thinks he's funny.The Irish public also buy the Sunday Independent in their droves and have voted Fianna Fail into power decade after decade:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Lenny Lovett

Venom wrote: »
    Wasn't the first series of this a total flop?
    There wasn't a series. Just a pilot epsiode and it did very well actually. Over 600,000 viewers on it's first showing and has been repeated a few times... As they do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Drunken Grrrrrrr I feckin well hate that Pat Shortt
    I dont find him funny in any way at all.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

todolist wrote: »
    He gets massive ratings.The Irish public thinks he's funny.:confused:

well they do say that the irish are half mad, maybe this proves it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Karmaman

Agree with OP, he must be up there with the all time most appearances on the Late Late.
    Reminds me a bit of when Billy Connelly was always on Aspel.
    Like Pat though, he does entertain, it just shows a lack of imagination from RTE bringing him back all the time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I think he's much better when he plays it straight - like in 'Garage'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Pat Shortt is certainly a good actor / comedian... But ffs, get him a set of decent writers... Killinaskully and the other episode of this Mattie thing were really lowest common denominator stuff... awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

spurious wrote: »
    I think he's much better when he plays it straight - like in 'Garage'.

Was just gonna post this....watched this last night, brilliant film. Shows a different side to his acting from playing the gombeen all the time.

I dont think he's hilarious nor do I think he's dreadful as a comedian, harmless comedy that could take or leave tbh.

It's not great is it.. very little chemsity between the two lead characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

Awful rubbish, this.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

I like it. Good camera shots from Limerick. The female police officer is the typical Irish woman. Brilliant

/facepalm @ the toilet scene

I like way they have the woman Police officer as a moody, boring average looking one. Exactly like the typical Irish chick mid 30's and single. Very good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭CrazyBiscuit

Thank God it's over in 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

Horrendous rubbish. Typical Irish ****e...

I wonder does an episode take more than ten minutes to write..

jaysus yer wan from next week's episode was in Fair City half an hour ago..

Terrible. Will be avoiding this stinker in the future.

jaysus yer wan from next week's episode was in Fair City half an hour ago..

Ya just saw that. Hot as hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Raoul

Awful awful show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

The recession must finally be getting to me. Just watched Mattie and chuckled all the way through it. Watched Fair City before that, For Your Eyes Only this afternoon and Moonraker yesterday. Basically anything that doesn't mention Anglo Irish Bank is okay with me. I've lost all my dignity. Getting worried. Very worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Dire, dire sheite, how any money was spent on this rubbish is beyond me. They pay good money for the Irish rights to Entourage, Mad Men and 24 and show them around midnight yet show this muck at primetime, the mind really does boggle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Horrendous rubbish. Typical Irish ****e...

should be a huge success so:) remember killnascully

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Have to agree terrible terrible is this what im going to have to contend with on a Sunday night beside the fire for the rest of the winter:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

missed this but surely it couldn't be any worse than val falvey or *shudders* hardy bucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

missed this but surely it couldn't be any worse than val falvey or *shudders* hardy bucks.

You seen Hardy bucks on RTE yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

He does big ratings with the country folk, I think they must know someone like him in every town/village, hence relate to him. I have to switch the channel asap when I see him on to prevent my shoe going through the tv. I remember being forced to watch D'Unbelievables when I was in college, it will be up there will one of the worst experiences of my life, god awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I have watched killinaskully maybe twice and to be honest as totally rubbish and cheap and targeted at 6 year olds as it is, it still made me laugh despite itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

RVD420 wrote: »
    /facepalm @ the toilet scene

Haha I know that toilet well ;) Not for those sort of activites I might add.....it was filmed in a diner in a well known Limerick business park where I useda work. Thats really why I tuned in and probably will continue to do so, just to see where they film stuff, the local landmarks and so on......but I must admit I didnt find much of it very funny at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Slow start but funny overall.

Like a bunch of grapes hanging off your arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

I was watching Mattie there lastnight,there was a few individual lines i lol'd at but the show on a whole is poor.

Yer wan:Have you any coffee?

Auld one:NO IT GIVES ME THE SCUTTERS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

The acting in this was dreadfull,especially the guy playing the head garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Bjorn Bored.

I actually thought it was gas, I mean I know its not high brow but it seems way better that either Val Falvey or Kilinascully so far.

I love the Glenroe ringtone on his mobile,

The tractor as his screen saver,

little things like that are quite clever and subtle that only an Irish audience would appreciate,

8 out of 10 for me.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

i take it your a muck savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Bjorn Bored.

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^

i take it your a muck savage

Eh no,I am a Dub born in Walkinstown,but now live in Navan,does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

Eh no,I am a Dub born in Walkinstown,but now live in Navan,does that count?

yes to a dub id imagine :D a town full of tommy and hectors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

You can't blame Shortt, he is a comic who is doing a version of the same thing for 20 years and getting well paid . It's those apes in RTE who play it safe. They should pull hard hard hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Shane10 wrote: »
    yes to a dub id imagine :D a town full of tommy and hectors

Don't get me started on those muppets, though Tiernan was funny once until he married that real life Podge and Rodge.
    Shoot those ****ers please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

FrostyJack wrote: »
    He does big ratings with the country folk, I think they must know someone like him in every town/village, hence relate to him. I have to switch the channel asap when I see him on to prevent my shoe going through the tv. I remember being forced to watch D'Unbelievables when I was in college, it will be up there will one of the worst experiences of my life, god awful.
    +1 Culchies are thick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

+1 Culchies are thick
    At least we dident inflict Brendan O Carroll on the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

darkdubh wrote: »
    At least we dident inflict Brendan O Carroll on the nation.
    Us and them mentality? I'm not a Dub and agree Skangers are thick too..... but nothing thicker than a culchie skanger ie. Tommy Tiernan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

DREADFUL.......WILL HAVE STACK OF DVDS READY FOR SUNDAY EVENINGS IN FUTURE

If the British made those TV shows that Pat Short does, we'd be up in arms saying how racist & gombeen irish it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You are allowed to mock your own without getting stick from "politcally correct" types, eap if dealing in bogger cliches.

To be honest I'm surprised he gets away with this... I thought Pavey Point would be up in arms over this.

One of the few characters that actually makes me laugh in Killinaskully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I would have agreed with ye before I saw Garage, but he how now has immunity for life. Must be the best Irish film ever. Still brings a tear to me eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I once contributed to the ratings of kilinaskully. It was a cold xmas night, all the family were in front of the tv, I said let's watch Killinaskully....that's what normal people do at xmas....after 30 mins waiting for a punchline i was nailed to a tractor wheel and rolled out into the traffic.....

Twas the highest ratings that year....and it's ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Hmm..yeah..that might have been the Christmas Day where RTE's offerings were either Killinaskully or Chicago. Which contravenes the Geneva convention. Thank God for "the channels."