Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 simple questions I need answers to!

• 03-09-2010 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

1) Why do washing machines have two compartments for washing powder when your only supposed to put the powder in one?

2) Why is the chainset of every bicycle always on the right side? Is it just standard or is there a very interesting law or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

There is no spoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Voltex wrote: »
    1) Why do washing machines have two compartments for washing powder when your only supposed to put the powder in one?

Cos you touch yourself.
    2) Why is the chainset of every bicycle always on the right side? Is it just standard or is there a very interesting law or something?

See answer 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

MJ23 wrote: »
    There is no spoon
    which question does that answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

1 - the second compartment is probably for fabric softener or something

2 - Bikes used to have thread on freewheels. With the chain on the right side, a conventionally threaded freewheel tightens itself onto the hub as you pedal. If you turned it around and put the freewheel on the left side, it would unscrew itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

1) answer

2) answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

To confuse you. Things can't be too easy.

It's because the sprockets and chainrings are on the right. If you put the chain on the left, nothing would happen when you peddled.

(robbed from another site)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

mikom wrote: »
    Cos you touch yourself.

See answer 1.

ROFL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

The 2nd compartment is for the pre wash which some wash cycles have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Has someone just started college?

Relax, you'll get to that stuff in 3rd year (unless you're doing arts, in which case it will always be a mystery).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

That's for washing up powder? I've been putting washing up liquid in those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Oh dear. Do your clothes come out clean, or are your dishes all smashed to ****?

Washing up liquid is for cleaning dishes, while washing powder is for washing clothes.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Oh dear. Do your clothes come out clean, or are your dishes all smashed to ****?

Washing up liquid is for cleaning dishes, while washing powder is for washing clothes.

It might not get things very clean but the bubbles are quite impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

ceadaoin. wrote: »

Thank you woman :pac: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭JonB

Ok since the questions are answered. My turn.
    What is the meaning of life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

JonB wrote: »

Living it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

To watch Monty Python :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Catch 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Curly has the answer you seek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Jaysus lads were we this desperate for a thread? :p

Curly has the answer you seek.

Curly that used to be in Corrie?

Is that what he's up to nowadays:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

when you filter out all the smart arse replies...theres actually no-one who has answered the questions!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

when you filter out all the smart arse replies...theres actually no-one who has answered the questions!!

Only Smarties have the answer.

*A-hem*
    johnmcdnl wrote: »
    1 - the second compartment is probably for fabric softener or something

2 - Bikes used to have thread on freewheels. With the chain on the right side, a conventionally threaded freewheel tightens itself onto the hub as you pedal. If you turned it around and put the freewheel on the left side, it would unscrew itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

ceadaoin. wrote: »

Top of the class, your gonna make a man very happy someday....

I just hope and pray your fellatio skills are up to snuff to compensate your husband for his fairy soft shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Curly that used to be in Corrie?

Is that what he's up to nowadays:pac:

:eek: You've never seen City Slickers? :pac:

I just hope and pray your fellatio skills are up to snuff to compensate your husband for his fairy soft shirts.

When I get married, my husband won't wear a shirt!

(Damn, that should've been if I choose to get married...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Dishwashers really piss me off - they all have those plastic compartments that you put the dishwasher tablets into. In the instruction manual, it tells you to make sure the compartment is closed fully before turning the machine on.

I did this religiously for years. And always thought to myself, what's that bloody noise the machine makes about 2 mins after you turn it on - a kinda "thunk" sound?

So one day, I opened the dishwasher to see what the noise was & lo and behold - there was the dishwasher tablet on the bottom of the machine. So, basically, you put the tablet into the compartment & make sure it's closed, just so the machine can fling the thing onto the bottom.

For f*ck sake. I could have done that myself & saved a countless amount of time & effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

alwaysadub wrote: »
    To confuse you. Things can't be too easy.

It's because the sprockets and chainrings are on the right. If you put the chain on the left, nothing would happen when you peddled.

(robbed from another site)

AAhh.....so that's why it's called a push bike.

:eek: You've never seen City Slickers? :pac:

Now there's a film i haven't seen in ages!:D

I thought you were talking bout Curly of the Three Stooges mind you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Dishwashers really piss me off - they all have those plastic compartments that you put the dishwasher tablets into. In the instruction manual, it tells you to make sure the compartment is closed fully before turning the machine on.

I did this religiously for years. And always thought to myself, what's that bloody noise the machine makes about 2 mins after you turn it on - a kinda "thunk" sound?

So one day, I opened the dishwasher to see what the noise was & lo and behold - there was the dishwasher tablet on the bottom of the machine. So, basically, you put the tablet into the compartment & make sure it's closed, just so the machine can fling the thing onto the bottom.

For f*ck sake. I could have done that myself & saved a countless amount of time & effort.

Ah Dishwashers are ****e!:mad: put your Fairy in compartment 1 of your washing machine and see how clean they get, saves the time and effort of putting the dishes away too! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Answer to question 1:

There is a compartment for liquid detergents/fabric softners and a seperate compartment for washing powder! Read your instruction booklet, icon inside each compartment might give you an idea, or maybe do a wash and see which seems more feasible, you know about it fairly fast which compartment to use!! One will get blocked the other won't!

Anwser to question 2:

Don't know wether its standard or law, but depends on where you chain it too? more feasible to chain it to the right side less likely to get robbed!? Depends which way you chain it and what yoke you chain it too?

Best answers you get will be from Jedward let loose! Hard not to laugh at them unable to do the most basic household things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Washing machines live longer with calgon.

The answer you seek is here: http://tinyurl.com/3xpj52w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Ask herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 noura

well, it depends what is your mood so that is why ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

1. There is a pre-wash cycle and a standard wash cycle that are available on most machines. There is a section for each where powder goes.
    (The third one is for conditioner)

2. Not a clue.

A Left Hand Drive BMX, OP.

http://www.bmx-zone.com/en-article-id-86.html

Couple of theories online. Push bikes originated in UK where people drive on the left, so it was safer to dismount on the left.

Right-handed bicycle cavalry officers had their sword on the left hand side so the chain being on the right meant there was less chance it would become entangled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Ah Dishwashers are ****e!:mad: put your Fairy in compartment 1 of your washing machine and see how clean they get, saves the time and effort of putting the dishes away too! ;)

I actually did that once. It was like a friggin B-Movie.. "Invasion of the Sud Monster". Jesus H - the place was destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

kincsem wrote: »

There you go.

I always thought the bike was invented by Sir Walter Raleigh.