Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Donegal driver banned for 25 years

• 03-09-2010 2:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

A judge in Donegal has said he would like to impose curfews on young drivers who appear before him.

Judge Seamus Hughes sentenced a 24-year-old man found guilty of dangerous driving to 22 months in prison and banned him from driving for 25 years.

Kevin Dunleavy, of Kerrykeel, Co Donegal, was convicted of dangerous driving at Carrigart on July 1 and August 12 and at various other locations in Kerrykeel and Rathmullan.

Judge Hughes warned young motorists that those who flout the law and endanger the public would receive similar sentences if they appeared before him.

“I want the message to go out loud and clear in Donegal, that if there are any further cases like this before me they will be treated in the same way,” he said

"I’m not tolerating young men driving around like this and endangering the lives of innocent members of the public.”

Judge Hughes asked Inspector Colm Nevin at Letterkenny District Court to look into whether or not he had the power to impose curfews on young drivers.

“I would rather impose a curfew on a young driver convicted of a first offence, so they cannot drive between the hours of 8pm and 7am or carry passengers, rather than disqualify them and affect their employment or education prospects,” Judge Hughes said.

Inspector Nevin told the judge he would investigate the issue on his behalf.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/judge-bans-man-from-driving-for-25-years-2323793.html

What do you think? Fair or unfair? I think the curfew and ban on carrying passengers would work well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Kimia wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/judge-bans-man-from-driving-for-25-years-2323793.html

What do you think? Fair or unfair? I think the curfew and ban on carrying passengers would work well.

Or do what they do in the UK.

Get six points within the first two years of getting your licence and it is revoked. Not suspended, revoked so you have to go through the whole driving test thing again.

In before Gaybo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

You're about 25 years late with the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I heartily endorse this event or product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Or do what they do in the UK.

Get six points within the first two years of getting your licence and it is revoked. Not suspended, revoked so you have to go through the whole driving test thing again.
    I think that's a better idea. A curfew would unfairly effect new drivers who may be working late, and banning passengers is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

kylith wrote: »
    I think that's a better idea. A curfew would unfairly effect new drivers who may be working late, and banning passengers is just silly.

Why is it just silly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Its over the top imagine being in your 40s with no licence dealing with Irelands public transport system all because you cocked up in your 20s.

Also it wont work as a deterrent, the only thing that will is everyone getting caught and receiving a minor punishment. One person caught does nothing, regardless of punishment, all drivers have to know that if they step out of line at all they'll pay for it, that its not bad luck to get caught, its insanely good luck not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Ridiculous decision considering that a drink driver who kills someone can get off with a suspended sentence and a shorter ban.

I think that a) it's not a ridiculous decision and b) if you kill someone due to dangerous driving you should be charged with manslaughter and get at least 25 years in prison, not just off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

what did he do that got him a 25year ban?..cant find any details on that.
    Musta been a doozie!!

Why is it just silly?
    Because it's not just friends who'd egg on dangerous drivers who are passengers in cars. Especially in a rural area a new driver may be giving a lift to a neighbour who's car's broken or who can't drive. Would the ban include experienced drivers who are out with the newly-qualified for a bit of practise? It seems a bit silly to ban new drivers from carrying people who may be helping them improve their driving skills.

kylith wrote: »
    Because it's not just friends who'd egg on dangerous drivers who are passengers in cars. Especially in a rural area a new driver may be giving a lift to a neighbour who's car's broken or who can't drive. Would the ban include experienced drivers who are out with the newly-qualified for a bit of practise? It seems a bit silly to ban new drivers from carrying people who may be helping them improve their driving skills.

I suppose the thinking is that it will deter stupid idiot drivers that try and squash 7 or 8 others into the back all with no seatbelts.

Why not ban all passengers bar one other driver with a full license? That would work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I think that a) it's not a ridiculous decision and b) if you kill someone due to dangerous driving you should be charged with manslaughter and get at least 25 years in prison, not just off the road.

Not that I disagree but I was highlighting the ridiculousness of the inconsistencies rather than the actual sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

Take and sell/crush the car of anyone convicted of a dangerous traffic offence - dangerous driving, serious speeding convictions etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

From my limited experiences of donegal the youth of that county are as a feckless a shower as you'd find in a days walk...which is why they keep driving into things I suppose

Beatings should be administered to these young offenders ensure that they get the message on this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

...and doesn't the drunk-driver get to choose the date on which the ban starts, or is that just a Kerry thing?

I suppose the thinking is that it will deter stupid idiot drivers that try and squash 7 or 8 others into the back all with no seatbelts.

Why not ban all passengers bar one other driver with a full license? That would work.
    So no giving blind old Auntie Sadie a lift to the shops then? I really don't think that banning all passengers, or even only allowing passengers with a licence, is fair. It's already illegal to carry more passengers than you have seatbelts, and the gardai should be enforcing both this rule, and being stricter on distracted drivers, both old and new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

25 years might be a wee bit too harsh in fairness but still - might be a deterrent for some other donegal lads - but from what you hear about them I doubt it somehow..

A curfew sounds very fair for anyone who has had a conviction - short story is - if you want or need your car after 8pm don't break the law ever...

maybe a 5-6 year ban would have been more in order because he's going to be 49 before he can drive again because he was a gob****e when he was in his early 20s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    25 years might be a wee bit too harsh in fairness but still - might be a deterrent for some other donegal lads - but from what you hear about them I doubt it somehow..
    A curfew sounds very fair for anyone who has had a conviction - short story is - if you want or need your car after 8pm don't break the law ever...

maybe a 5-6 year ban would have been more in order because he's going to be 49 before he can drive again because he was a gob****e when he was in his early 20s...

That's just how the Donegal lads roll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Damn good for him. Unfortunately, I can't see it working because drivers in their early twenties who drive this way do so because they will never get caught. When they do, it's too late.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I applaud the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

johnmcdnl wrote: »

He didn't get a 25 year ban just for being a gob****e once or twice, he had a string of dangerous driving offences behind him and a lifetime ban would be in the better interests of the rest of country's drivers imho.

As someone mentioned earlier having a car confiscated or huge ass fine is the only way these retards are going to learn, the softly softly approach has never and will never work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Bambi wrote: »
    From my limited experiences of donegal the youth of that county are as a feckless a shower as you'd find in a days walk...which is why they keep driving into things I suppose

Beatings should be administered to these young offenders ensure that they get the message on this issue

Your post has about 50 shades of wrong to it - and all painted with one big, f*ck off tar brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

that driver will be driving again within the next 10 years, probably 5 actually. the ban is a step in teh right direction.

bit OT, but can somebody confirm for me that the donegal driver of that car that killed the 7 youg men had a number of prior driving convictions before the crash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Venom wrote: »
    He didn't get a 25 year ban just for being a gob****e once or twice, he had a string of dangerous driving offences behind him and a lifetime ban would be in the better interests of the rest of country's drivers imho.

As someone mentioned earlier having a car confiscated or huge ass fine is the only way these retards are going to learn, the softly softly approach has never and will never work.

I dunno what he's done but unless he's an absolute danger altogether 25 years is probably a bit harsh - i'd love to see what he's done but although I said that it was harsh I definitely think it's a step in the right direction to be absolutely nailing these lads that are driving at 1000000 mph down the road on the wrong side of road with legs flying out the windows and all that craic...

the sooner these lads realise there gonna be done for it the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Ridiculous sentence
    Ridiculous suggestions
    Curfew? Really? Passenger ban? Fukk off
    Can't believe people think those are good ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Your post has about 50 shades of wrong to it - and all painted with one big, f*ck off tar brush.

Save it for the judge, Speedy

Ridiculous sentence
    Ridiculous suggestions

ideas. . . that is all they are. Somebody has to do something. The judge gave the maximum sentence to the guy and he deserved it. He gave him a very long ban, as he knew the sentence wasn't enough for this dangerous idiot.

Before you get back in your car again, have a read of this post. It might open your eyes a bit more.

ideas. . . that is all they are. Somebody has to do something. The judge gave the maximum sentence to the guy and he deserved it. He gave him a very long ban, as he knew the sentence wasn't enough for this dangerous idiot.

Before you get back in your car again, have a read of this post. It might open your eyes a bit more.
    I've read it, poor fella, R.I.P:(
    the way I see it, some people are fuktards, there's always going to be fuktards. I think some scare tactics are needed. Victims of car crashes need to come talk to young people before they learn to drive.
    The punishment should be on the individual, not a blanket punishment that severely restricts the freedom of young drivers-it's bad enough that insurance premiums are through the roof. Maybe this guy did deserve it, but 25 years is really a bit much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Ideo wrote: »

bit OT, but can somebody confirm for me that the donegal driver of that car that killed the 7 youg men had a number of prior driving convictions before the crash?

Sssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

You should know the rules by now

- no criticism of the drivers and passengers is allowed for fear of causing offence.

- no speculation about likely cause of accidents involving young people.

Much better to lock the thread and sweep any attempt at discussion under the carpet so that no lessons are ever learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Its excessive. 5 years is along time to a young fella. Id say give him 5 years off the road, and if after that he racks up so much as 1 point for a speeding offense, hes off the road again for another year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

the way I see it, some people are fuktards, there's always going to be fuktards. I think some scare tactics are needed. Victims of car crashes need to come talk to young people before they learn to drive.
    The punishment should be on the individual, not a blanket punishment that severely restricts the freedom of young drivers-it's bad enough that insurance premiums are through the roof. Maybe this guy did deserve it, but 25 years is really a bit much

Scare tactics wont and have not worked on these gob****es. Countless graphic RSA ads on TV and in the cinema haven't worked, almost daily news segments on TV and in newspapers haven't worked and the huge media coverage of roads deaths like the one in Donegal haven't worked.

The only way to get through to these retards is getting their car taking off them on the first serious road offence or huge fine.

Scare tactics wont and have not worked on these gob****es. Countless graphic RSA ads on TV and in the cinema haven't worked, almost daily news segments on TV and in newspapers haven't worked and the huge media coverage of roads deaths like the one in Donegal haven't worked.

The only way to get through to these retards is getting their car taking off them on the first serious road offence or huge fine.
    make them more graphic lol

Scare tactics won't work because "ah sure that'll never happen to ME".

No the only way is to stop it being a gamble, I know for a fact where I live I could speed every day of the year and maybe get 2points in the space of a decade, who cares about a huge fine if the odds of getting it are so slim? Who cares about losing their car if more are crashed than crushed annually? The logic would be well I haven't managed to crash so I certainly won't get my car taken. Similarly who cares about a 25year ban when it only happened to one guy?

If there were enough guards around it would take those boys less than a week to lose their licences solely through penalty points at the rate they go, a month or two of that level of scrutiny and I guarantee they would calm down and the next lot would as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

He was already serving a 20 year disqualification for repeated driving offences so a further 25 year ban isn't going to do f*ck all. His brother is also in jail because he was involved in a crash that resulted in the death or serious injury of a Garda.

*EDIT* The Garda was killed
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0701/1224273707774.html

He was already serving a 20 year disqualification for repeated driving offences so a further 25 year ban isn't going to do f*ck all. His brother is also in jail because he was involved in a crash that resulted in the death or serious injury of a Garda.

Cathal Dunleavy? If so its f!ckin good enough for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Cathal Dunleavy? If so its f!ckin good enough for him.

Thats the one. Being a gobsh!te must run in the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭JonB

25 years seems a bit much. But saying that. Driving isn't a game and its one more idiot off the roads.

Thats the one. Being a gobsh!te must run in the family.

They used that car as a missile its disgusting, nothing to do with driving that was an attack on the garda. Do agree though, if that mentality runs in the family he should never be let behind the wheel, and given the weight of the sentence I can only assume that there was good reason to believe it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Little gimp should never be let behind the wheel again.

Only lesson these gimps understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Ban from driving for 10 years for boy racers. AND make them smash thier own car to bits with a sledge hammer. No more Mr.subaru to annoy the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Ridiculous sentence
    Ridiculous suggestions

It is a licence to drive. That means he was given permission to drive by the licencing authority and he was expected to drive sensibly and obey the rules of the road.

If he thought the prison sentence and driving ban were not correct he could appeal. There is the possibility that the appeal judge might increase the sentence.

It is a brilliant idea to take dangerous drivers off the road. Roads are for the transport of people and goods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I hope I don't come across as a know it all idiot..

Even, the way you wrote that post compared to the first shows a slight change in the way you thought about it. Maybe this guy, and some of his mates will permanently think about the ban and sentence, and cop the fúck on. If more judges punish a bit harder, maybe more people will take notice.