Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jesus was an AIDS victim

• 03-09-2010 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

Sky News
    A South African pastor has caused outrage by preaching a sermon entitled "Jesus was HIV positive".[/url]

15712968.jpg Some Christians accuse the reverend of portraying Jesus as sexually promiscuous

Reverend Xola Skosana said his sermon was designed to combat the stigma surrounding HIV and Aids.
    "My responsibility as a pastor is to paint a picture of a God who cares for people and wants the best for them, not who judges them and is ashamed of them," he told the Daily Mail and The Guardian.
    The reverend preaches at the non-denominational Way of Life church in Khayelitsha, near Cape Town, a township with one of the highest rates of HIV in South Africa.
    Last month Skosana, who has lost two of his sisters to Aids, underwent an HIV test in front of his congregation, along with more than 100 young people from the township.
    His approach has been praised by Aids campaigners in South Africa.
    But some Christians have accused him of portraying Jesus as sexually promiscuous.

15103263.jpg Former president Thabo Mbeki fought the claims of Aids campaigners

"They're saying you can't reconcile Jesus and Aids," he said.
    "But in many parts of the Bible God put himself in the position of the sick and the marginalised," the reverend said.
    He has called for more churches to address the issue of HIV in their sermons to try to end the stigma surrounding the virus.
    The Catholic Church in the country has avoided discussion of Aids, while continuing to oppose the use of condoms.
    An estimated 1,000 people a day die of Aids-related illnesses in South Africa.
    The nation is still working to correct the damage done by the years of "Aids denialism" under the leadership of former president Thabo Mbeki.
    Mr Mbeki, who was ousted from office in 2008, delayed the roll out of life-saving anti retro-viral drugs, while his health minister suggested a diet of beetroot and garlic could cure the virus.

Lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Everyone has their cross to bear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

tomorrows Daily Mail headline:

Jesus Had HIV

says obscure pastor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Is he HIV positive about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

Does this mean he eats the poop as well ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Everyone has AIDS!
    AIDS AIDS AIDS!
    AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS!
    Everyone has AIDS!

And so this is the end of our story
    And everyone is dead from AIDS
    It took from me my best friend
    My only true pal
    My only bright star (he died of AIDS)

Well I'm gonna march on Washington
    Lead the fight and charge the brigades
    There's a hero inside of all of us
    I'll make them see everyone has AIDS

My father (AIDS!)
    My sister (AIDS!)
    My uncle and my cousin and her best friend (AIDS AIDS AIDS!)
    The gays and the straights
    And the white and the spades

Everyone has AIDS!
    My grandma and my dog 'ol blue (AIDS AIDS AIDS)
    The pope has got it and so do you (AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS)
    C'mon everybody we got quilting to do (AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS AIDS)
    We gotta break down these baricades, everyone has
    AIDS! x 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

The good aids or the bad aids?

There is a difference you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

He had 12 of them didn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Don't mean to put a dampener on the comedy here, but that idea was pretty cool. The reason i like it is it's actually helpful what he said and also pisses off hardline Christians.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Lads the pastor wasn't just sure, he was HIV positive Jesus had AIDS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

That's the last time I'm drinking the blood of Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

mikom wrote: »

Good, we don't want the messiah getting done for grievous biological harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

mikom wrote: »

Are you still willing to swallow his other precious bodily fluids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

This thread is the son of AH
    blessed is he who comes in the name of toilet humour and fart jokes.
    Your mother in the highest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

What would you expect from someone who ran around with 12 men and a hooker ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

What would you expect from someone who ran around with 12 men and a hooker ?
    A sub standard sit-com starring Pauly Shore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

"The Catholic Church in the country has avoided discussion of Aids, while continuing to oppose the use of condoms."

I wonder how many deaths from AIDS the Catholic church is responsible for....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's a ploy to sell condoms for the second coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fair play to him.
    The world needs more people like this dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

stbrennan wrote: »
    This thread is the son of AH
    blessed is he who comes in the name of toilet humour and fart jokes.
    Your mother in the Hiace...

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

That's rubbish. Everyone knows HIV came from a us marine shagging a monkey in Vietnam, that had been frozen in an ice Berg.

( or something like that anyway.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Don't mean to put a dampener on the comedy here, but that idea was pretty cool. The reason i like it is it's actually helpful what he said and also pisses off hardline Christians.....
    I remember we floated a similar idea in religion class in school. Said he would have hung around with hookers and drug addicts if he came back and would, in all likelihood, have contracted AIDS or some other such disease. 4 of us were kicked out of the class for 3 months for that theory.
    Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I remember we floated a similar idea in religion class in school. Said he would have hung around with hookers and drug addicts if he came back and would, in all likelihood, have contracted AIDS or some other such disease. 4 of us were kicked out of the class for 3 months for that theory.
    Happy days.

If you came back a second time would you make the same stupid ****ing mistakes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Pherekydes wrote: »
    If you came back a second time would you make the same stupid ****ing mistakes?

I have learned nothing.