Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irrational hatred of the current Cork football team?

• 03-09-2010 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭

I hope they get walloped by Down in the final.
    Reasons:
    There's no football in them. They're just a big, physical team who outmuscle their opponents.
    They play the dourest of the dour puke football.
    They kick the 'foot'ball about 10 time a game.
    They're adept at the snide tackle - making sure a trailing leg catche the opponent, falling on the opponent, sly digs, etc.
    They bore the **** out of me.

I used to love watching Cork play, but not for the last 4 or so years.

For this reason, I hope football - and therefore Down - win this year's AI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭gmale

Reasons:
    There's no football in them. They're just a big, physical team who outmuscle their opponents.
    They're adept at the snide tackle - making sure a trailing leg catche the opponent, falling on the opponent, sly digs, etc.

I will admit that they have not had "their" game yet this season, they have not put on an inspiring performance yet. But they have been there or there abouts for the last number of years. They have proven themselves at being well capable of taking on the best and never giving up and winning.

My theory is that they have played at 70% all season, every game was played at 70% for the whole game. So that when they played a team like Dublin who were at 90% at the start and dropped to 40% at the end, Cork were more consistent, level headed, fitter, stronger, more determined and more skilled, Cork were able to walk past them.

For this reason, I hope Football - and therefore Cork - win this year's AI. Reward consistency and reward perceiverance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭MfMan

There's nothing irrational about hatred of Cork, it's a common complaint!
    Personally, I can't stand Longford - just sitting there in the middle of the country, doing nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

gmale wrote: »
    For this reason, I hope Football - and therefore Down- win this year's AI. Reward consistency and reward perceiverance

Fixed that typo for ya. Cork have been utter muck this year and played anything but "foot"ball. Handball maybe (with a dash of wrestling thrown in) but certainly not football. Most peoples eyeballs bleed from watching them. Horrible brand of football and I cannot remember one game this year where I actually enjoyed watching them play (even when beating Dublin;)). Down on the other hand seem to have gotten better as the year went on and are a mostly enjoyable team to watch. They at least try to play football whereas Cork grind, pummel and blindly stumble their way through games, Limerick, Roscommon and Dublin games being examples. Compare that to Downs games against Sligo, Kerry and Kildare.

Those reasons and they are the under dog do it for me.

Up Down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Animal Bar

And what county are you from recycling bin?

Ye everybody likes to see good kick passing, but there is no point in just kicking the ball long when the opposition have brought back a sweeper to stop ball getting into the full forward line. Possession is vital at that level and cork are just more patient then people like and rarley turn over 50/50 balls. They make sure of there pass. Great team in my opinion. The more people tha hate us the better.

"They're adept at the snide tackle - making sure a trailing leg catche the opponent, falling on the opponent, sly digs, etc."

What a load of rubbish, ur just clutching at straws now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Any team with any sense plays to their strengths. Thats what Cork do and fair play to them.

this thread is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Reasons:

I object to this, was never a massive fan of corks style of play, but they are far worse to watch this year than they have been over the last couple of years. For this reason more than any i would be hoping Down win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TommyT

Will they go on strike if they get beat?
    I thought this would be Corks year. They have been there or there abouts for the last few years, but tend to sh*t their togs when they meet Kerry. They may never have a better chance than 2010. We did the hard work for them in getting rid of the Kingdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Come on the rebels:)
    Success always breathes contempt:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

irrational
    adj.
    a. Not endowed with reason.
    b. Affected by loss of usual or normal mental clarity; incoherent, as from shock.
    c. Marked by a lack of accord with reason or sound judgment: an irrational dislike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I dont find any irrational hatred of the Cork football team - I think its just a rational hatred of Cork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

People hate success. Cork are one of the most consistent teams of the last 4 years. Play winning football. I'd bite the hand off ya for a 0-1 0-0 win for cork the next week.

Kicking the ball without losing possession is become increasingly difficult with sweepers and packed defenses. Cork have come up against arguably the best defense in the competition, tired them out and broke it. Therefore if Cork can limit the possession of the Down forwards we'll win.

Come on the rebels:)
    Success always breathes contempt:p

I heard success can breed contempt too.

Alas Cork haven't succeeded at anything other than 1 league title in 12 years. That's really not enough to breed anything other than an undeserved sense of arrogance and entitlement.

I actually hope Cork win the AI by the way. I think people dislike them because they do tend to be a bit cynical and hand pass way too much but if they win the AI I don't think anyone in Cork will care and it's up to other counties to come up with ways to beat them. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

People hate success.
    I don't follow why that would make me hate the current Cork team and not the succesful Cork teams.
    Please to be explaining logic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

this thread deserves to go to the ops username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

If Cork didn't have the attitude that they deserve to win the AI then I don't half as many people wouldn't hate them...

I don't like there style a lot tbh and we'll not mention what happened when out amazing county team traveled to Cork but anyways

Would love to see Down win because I don't like Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I think the weakest link in the Cork team is the manager Counihan. I think he is tactically inept, and way too cautious when making decisions. He constantly plays lads out of position. Most recently:

1) Shields is not a full back, is a centre back. Canty is a better full back than centre back. Switching the two would make sense?

2) Anthony Lynch is still far better than Ray Carey. A waste on the bench.

3) Miskella at corner back against Dublin. Looked to eager to attack and out of position.

4) Carey on Bernard Brogan nearly cost Cork the match inside the first 10 mins. Seemed too arrogant to make a switch but eventually saw sense.

5) Colm O'Neill on the bench? Immediate impact when introduced which swung the game.

6) Masters is a divisive figure but still deserves a place in the squad at least.

I could go on for ages but these seem the most recent gaffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

They are just totally boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Swoosh

hardybuck wrote: »
    I think the weakest link in the Cork team is the manager Counihan. I think he is tactically inept, and way too cautious when making decisions. He constantly plays lads out of position. Most recently:

1) Shields is not a full back, is a centre back. Canty is a better full back than centre back. Switching the two would make sense?

2) Anthony Lynch is still far better than Ray Carey. A waste on the bench.

3) Miskella at corner back against Dublin. Looked to eager to attack and out of position.

4) Carey on Bernard Brogan nearly cost Cork the match inside the first 10 mins. Seemed too arrogant to make a switch but eventually saw sense.

5) Colm O'Neill on the bench? Immediate impact when introduced which swung the game.

6) Masters is a divisive figure but still deserves a place in the squad at least.

I could go on for ages but these seem the most recent gaffs.

1 -Shields was all star full back last year but hold onto your thought that he's not a full back

2 - Anthony Lynch is injured and hasnt played all year. He has barely played for his club in 12 months. Everyone would love to see a great servant to cork football win an all ireland medal

3 - Dublin withdrew the corner forward therefore bringing miskella into where he wants to be. a better move than playing a defensicve corner back on a withdrawn forward.

4 - A better judge than you in eamon fitzmaurice reckons carey was the right guy for brogan and that noone would have lived with brogan in the form he was in.

5 - Having a sub to make an impact is a good idea. no point in having a sub that wont affect theings. Similarly if it was goulding, o'connor, sheehan, kerrigan that were introduced there'd be a fair chance that they'd have an impact like O'Neill did

6 - Masters is a good player but yet another left footed full forward player like goulding, o'neill and sheehan. his opportunites would be limited anyway. its a moot point as he is out injured with a broken jaw anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'm sick of Cork not delivering. They constantly get hyped up as the best team in the country. They've shown me nothing so far this year. Sure they beat Dublin but they Dublin handed them the win on a silver platter. Maybe if they win the Final convincingly and in an entertaining fashion I'll like them. I respect them but they are a dull team to watch and always under-perform come AI-Final day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I agree with OP. Cork cannot play football anymore like they used to. What happens in each match for them is different but they play the same way all the time never changing their tatics.

In a match they might score points but might never manage to score a goal! In another match its nearly all goals and hardly no points they score! They are never really consistent from match to match! They played very poorly against Wexford yet they beat them on whim!

It was just a stroke of luck that they won against Dublin in the Semi Final. Dublin played far better than Cork did. Cork got an average of 13 wides during the course of the match, Dublin got less. The only thing that was to play for was that Cork had more possession than Dublin but they lost many scoring chances in the first half. They did what Kerry do in a second half, make an attempt to score goals and points towards end so that Dublin hasn't a chance to catch up. Cork play dirty though they never seems to win kick outs fair and square unlike other teams do. Dublin were the better team on the day and Dublin should have won. Cork didn't play as well as they thought that day.

I hope that Down beats Cork and gives Cork a run for their money. Down I say are one of the best teams in the country at the moment. Fair play to them, Down managed to beat Kerry in style unlike Cork never got to beat Kerry throughout this years Championship shows what kind of team that Down is made of. If the original best teams of the last decade have been thrown off the pedestal I can see Down and teams like Kildare and so on coming out of the woodwork being the team of this deacade. Cork be long out of earshot!

Up Down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

they play the same way all the time never changing their tatics... They are never really consistent from match to match
    I don't really understand this. Are they the same all the time or different all the time?
    Cork got an average of 13 wides during the course of the match
    An average of 13 wides? Or did they have 13 wides?
    They did what Kerry do in a second half, make an attempt to score goals and points towards end so that Dublin hasn't a chance to catch up.
    I don't think they're the only two teams who try to score goals and points so that the other team can't win...
    unlike Cork never got to beat Kerry throughout this years Championship shows
    This is the icing on the cake. Beaten by a point in a replay, having beaten better Kerry sides several times in the last few seasons (albeit never when they really needed to) and you think this all means something? I'm from Dublin by the way, so I don't really mind who wins, but nothing you've said above makes any kind of solid argument that Cork don't deserve an AI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

This thread title is pathetic but some of the posts are amusing like! Yes I am from Cork :). We have alot of people coming on here(and most notably the Kerry contingent) discussing their bitter hatred of the Cork football team. Jealosy or hatred...most likely the former imo but how unsporting is this thread! I think success does breed contempt as we can see. Cork may not have won an AI yet but they are knocking on the door for the past 3 - 4 years. Yes it may not look pretty but football is very tactical these days so Cork do what they have to do to get over the line. It would be very bitter for the KERRY folks if Cork beat Down after Down putting kerry out convincely :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

People are slating Counihan for chopping and changing and not knowing his best 15 but i really dont think its a problem in modern football - most games these days are won or lost in the last 20 minutes,

the way i see it Cork's best 15 usually finish most games instead of starting them which might be why we are finishing games so well - we have at least 20 very good players and it might actually be better having good subs coming in with a point to prove rather than weakening the team by making changes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

I'm sick of Cork not delivering. They constantly get hyped up as the best team in the country. They've shown me nothing so far this year. Sure they beat Dublin but they Dublin handed them the win on a silver platter. Maybe if they win the Final convincingly and in an entertaining fashion I'll like them. I respect them but they are a dull team to watch and always under-perform come AI-Final day.

What you said reminds me more of Galways hurling team. Look at your own team for once. This thread will be pointless when Cork win the All Ireland on the 19th.

teednab-el wrote: »
    What you said reminds me more of Galways hurling team. Look at your own team for once. This thread will be pointless when Cork win the All Ireland on the 19th.
    And did I ever say Galway were sure-fire going to win the All-Ireland? No. They weren't good enough. Cork didn't beat Kerry or Tyrone. They beat a young Dublin side and Roscommon.

We beat Tyrone last year. Kerry werent good enough this year against Down and Tyrone werent good enough against Dublin. You can only beat whats in front of you.

Ye weren't good enough to beat Kerry in the AI last year! You lost in the Munster semi-final this year to............... Kerry. You have beaten one top team this year (still disputable). You under-perform on the grand-stage. That's why their is a hatred for your footballers IMO. The dull style of football isn't as big a problem.

So what we lost to Kerry in last years final. Someone had to loose. I dont see Galway anywhere near a final since 2001. We lost to Kerry by a point this year in a replay that game could have gone either way Cork were in control and still lost. Maybe when we see Galway contesting an All Ireland football final in the next century or so we can then comment on how pathetic their style of football is. Galway cant seem to get out of connaught never mind getting to the knockout stages as to why we cant really talk about yer football tactics and style. BTW I hate the Galway hurlers as they are so overratedm the hype gets to them and yet underachieved so much in their hurling history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I dont hate the football team, I hate the attitude. The fact that a number of Cork people, believe they are gods gift to football. I had one Cork friend of mine claim that Paddy Kelly was the best footballer in Ireland (good player, but not even top 20).

Also their arrogence in claiming the only reason Kerry won their rake of All Irelands is because of an easy draw, and/or being favoured by referee's. Appartently Anthony Lynch was hard done by and Colm Cooper is only average, can only kick free's and is a compulsive Diver.

Call this, as one poster above put it "kerry bitterness", but its this attitude that riles me up big time when it comes to Cork. I

p.s Also Cadogan really gets on my nerves. :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

DDC1990 wrote: »
    I dont hate the football team, I hate the attitude. The fact that a number of Cork people, believe they are gods gift to football. I had one Cork friend of mine claim that Paddy Kelly was the best footballer in Ireland (good player, but not even top 20).

Are people not entitled to their opinions?

Also their arrogence in claiming the only reason Kerry won their rake of All Irelands is because of an easy draw, and/or being favoured by referee's. Appartently Anthony Lynch was hard done by and Colm Cooper is only average, can only kick free's and is a compulsive Diver.

He is a class player BUT If you want to look at the record books - the majority of Coopers scores ARE from frees ( he does take them you know!) and alot of them are as a result of him "diving". If you fart next to him he falls over.

Call this, as one poster above put it "kerry bitterness", but its this attitude that riles me up big time when it comes to Cork.

And it's this Kerry Bitterness that riles us Cork people!!

p.s Also Cadogan really gets on my nerves. :P

Yeah, I'm sure he's losing sleep over it as we speak;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

So what we lost to Kerry in last years final. Someone had to loose. I dont see Galway anywhere near a final since 2001. We lost to Kerry by a point this year in a replay that game could have gone either way Cork were in control and still lost. Maybe when we see Galway contesting an All Ireland football final in the next century or so we can then comment on how pathetic their style of football is. Galway cant seem to get out of connaught never mind getting to the knockout stages as to why we cant really talk about yer football tactics and style. BTW I hate the Galway hurlers as they are so overratedm the hype gets to them and yet underachieved so much in their hurling history.

This post comes across as pathetic and desperate. Can't seem to handle criticism of your team so go dragging Galway into it. As if that somehow addresses, in any way whatsoever, the many issues people have with this Cork outfit.

Personally I'm not sure of Cork deserving a place in the final. Their route has been handy enough (no offense to the beaten teams) but all that will be addressed on the day. You can't coast your way to an AI!

I'll be shouting for Down, but nobody would begrudge this Cork team bringing Sam south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

If Cork had an easy draw this year than the same could be said of Kerry last year. But i don't have a bitter hatred of the KERRY TEAM. One guy said Cadogan gets on his nerves...galvin related? Yep! Without a doubt. Possibly can't accept that galvin is the dirtiest player in the country to play on a football field.

If people here don't like corks style than blame the management, not the players. In that case, the thread should be renamed hatred of the cork management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

Cork have been disappointing. Nevertheless, I still believe that there is nothing wrong with this Cork team which could not be corrected with a very simple change of tactics - start kicking the bloodly football. The game is called "football" for a reason but Cork have been playing the game as though kicking the ball was not quite nice. The maddening aspect is that no team are better equipped than Cork to play a long ball, direct route approach to scoring. So why do Cork persist in using tactics which do not make full use of their physical advanatages?

Bringing in a weaker side to make yourself feel better. Good man. If anything Galway in football have over-achieved and now we are paying for it. In hurling we just aren't good enough. I won't sink to your level and ask how many All-Ireland's Cork have won this in the last ten years in football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

As a Cork supporter I couldn't really give a flying f*ck how bad or overrated they are,if they win Sam this year the year will be seen as a success even though they haven't been at their best by no means but at the end of the day it's all about results not the performances!

Of course if ye win Sam it will be a success. A good year for any team. We're just stating why some of us don't like this current Cork team.

I've no problem with people stating why they don't like Cork,after all this is a forum for discussions like this. Personally I haven't been happy with some of the tactics Cork have used this year,the handpassing game has infuriated me at times when IMO Cork are a lot better off playing the long ball.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    I've no problem with people stating why they don't like Cork,after all this is a forum for discussions like this. Personally I haven't been happy with some of the tactics Cork have used this year,the handpassing game has infuriated me at times when IMO Cork are a lot better off playing the long ball.
    I agree but if it wins you an All-Ireland it is well worth it. Some people in this thread are all offended that despite playing some of the dullest football possible we should all love Cork. That attitude alone makes a lot of people even more supportive of Down.

Look everyone is entitled to support who they want and just because Cork are in the final doesn't mean everyone should support Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

They certainly won't be the peoples champions but I don't think that will bother Cork people too much. For a county with only 6 football AIs, I doubt they're going to be picky about how they go about picking up another one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm sure he's losing sleep over it as we speak;)
    Thank you. You've just proven my point.

I take the Paddy Kelly point, yeah people are entitled to their opinions.

However the rest of your post is filled with the arrogence, that makes the country hate Cork.

@crebel
    As for the Cadogan thing being Galvin related, of course thats a factor, but thats not the only reason. I think his treatment of opposition players on the Hurling and Football field borders on disgraceful. He abused Ritchie Power several times in the opening minutes of the Killkenny game, before Ritchie Power gave him a masterclass in Hurling. I only wish Galvin reacted the same way, but he didnt and he and Kerry payed for it.

Finally Gooch does get the majority of scores from frees, but he wins 90% of those frees. Its hard to score from play when your jersey is pulled off you.

Thank you. You've just proven my point.

How exactly did I do that?:confused:

I take the Paddy Kelly point, yeah people are entitled to their opinions.

However the rest of your post is filled with the arrogence, that makes the country hate Cork.

And you speak for every county in Ireland - :rolleyes:

Finally Gooch does get the majority of scores from frees, but he wins 90% of those frees. Its hard to score from play when your jersey is pulled off you.

sometimes he is fouled and sometimes he falls down and gets a free - spot the difference?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

That makes the country hate Cork.

In your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

As for the Cadogan thing being Galvin related, of course thats a factor, but thats not the only reason. I think his treatment of opposition players on the Hurling and Football field borders on disgraceful. He abused Ritchie Power several times in the opening minutes of the Killkenny game, before Ritchie Power gave him a masterclass in Hurling. I only wish Galvin reacted the same way, but he didnt and he and Kerry payed for it.

Look Cadogan is a mad whore, nobodys gonna deny that but he wouldnt be have the player he is if he wasnt as mad - you need a bit of fire in the belly and that is why Cork fans love him, his passion and physicality make him a fans favourite and as is the case with players of that nature the opposition are all gonna hate him - same with Galvin

And as for Gooch i think its clear for all to see that he has started going down easier in recent years - as a younger lad he didnt seem to as much, but he does get a bit of treatment from the opposition and has found the way to make the most of it by winning as many frees as possible, fair play to the lad :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭tomdadude

As a Cork man I don't see why you'd hate them.We're branded as cocky but what's wrong with being confident in your counties ability to win things?

The fact is there's 25 or so counties out there that aren't good enough to bother hating.You know, the counties that are over the moon when they win any championship game.

It's jealousy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Bet you wish you were from Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

I wasn't going to reply to this childish thread but I feel I have to respond;
    People don't like this Cork team because they don't play champagne football like Down?
    OK Down beat Kerry but everything was set up perfectly for them in that game; Kerry had two of their best player suspended and had a few on the team that had a lot of miles on the clock. They haven't beaten anywhere near the calibre of teams Cork had to play.
    This resentment of Cork reminds me a little of the "puke football" insults that were thrown at Tyrone in 2003-2005. That Tyrone team played to their strengths, as do this Cork team.
    We mightn't have many scoring forwards but we showed courage in turning around two games this year when we looked in serious trouble;Limerick when we lost a five-point lead at the end of normal time and Dublin when we went in at half-time four points behind and having lost our captain.
    If Down beat us I will be the first to congratulate them but it won't be because we are arrogant or feel "entitled" to win, it'll be because they played better than us on the day.

BERBA wrote: »
    Bet you wish you were from Cork?
    If I was a Cork man I would be happy to have a team in the final.

My point is that Cork will do well if they win the All-Ireland. I just don't see why some of ye don't understand that people don't like this current Cork football team for various reasons like their lifeless style of football and their belief that winning the All-Ireland is not a possibility it is their right. Not because we are jealous.

If I was a Cork man I would be happy to have a team in the final.

My point is that Cork will do well if they win the All-Ireland. I just don't see why some of ye don't understand that people don't like this current Cork football team for various reasons like their lifeless style of football and their belief that winning the All-Ireland is not a possibility it is their right. Not because we are jealous.

... but it is our right:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

An Dún Abú! (agus tógadh mé i gCathair Chorcaí - is fuath liom iad agus a n-éirí in airde; fiú níos measa ná na Ciarraígh)