Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Currys & PC World Blanchardstown : Grand Opening Specials

• 03-09-2010 6:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭

We're officially opening our new combined Currys & PC World store in Blanchardstown Retail Park this Friday to Sunday with a lot of genuine bonkers stuff to get as many people as possible to visit what we think is the best electricals store in Ireland. Details below. Stocks are limited in many but not all cases and I've put those in brackets. These are the limited numbers by day, so 20 means that there will be 20 on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. At the end of the post I'll give an update on how the queue looked this morning ;

TV

Samsung 32 " HD Ready LCD 32C450 - € 199.99 ( 20 )
    Samsung 50 " HD Ready Plasma PS50C450 - € 599.99 ( 10 )
    LG 42 " Full HD 1080 P LCD 42LD450 - € 479.99 ( 10 )
    LG 32 " Full HD 1080 p LCD 32LD450 - € 379.00 ( 10 )
    Samsung 40 " Full HD 1080p 3D LCD 40C750 - € 999.99 ( 5 )
    Samsung 22" Full HD 1080p LCD P2270HD - € 229.99 ( 15)
    Panasonic 32 " HD Ready LCD TX1 32C20 - € 399.99 ( 5 )
    Currys Essentials 15 " HD Ready LCD C15DIGB10 € 99.00 ( no stock limit )
    Logik 19 " HD Ready LCD L19DIG810 € 149.99 ( no stock limit )
    Samsung 42 " 600 hz HD Plasma PS42C450 € 499.99 ( no stock limit )

Computing

HP 15.6 " laptop Model G61 - 410SA € 299.99 ( 20 )
    Compaq PC with 20 " monitor - Model SG3-110UKM € 399.99 ( 10 )
    Pack Bell 25oGB 10 " Netbook - € 199.99 ( 10 )
    Toshiba 15.6" laptop L450D- 11X - € 399.99 ( no stock limit )
    HP 15.6 " Core i£ 15.6 " laptop Model G62-107SA € 499.99
    Apple 13.3" Macbook € 899
    Western Media mini media player € 39.99 ( 10 )
    Seagate 320 GB portable hard drive € 44.99
    Microsoft Hidef webcam € 49.99
    Epson wireless all in one printer € 69.99
    Microsoft Office Home & Student € 49.99

Tom TOM UK & Ireland Sat Nav - € 49.99

Domestic appliances

Indesit 6 KG Washing machine - € 149.99 ( 20 )
    Dyson DC 29 origin Vacuum - € 139.99 ( 10 )
    Beko Frost Free fridge freezer - € 249.99 ( 10 )
    Hotpoint Dishwasher - € 249.99 ( no stock limit , save € 130 )
    Kenwood steel electric rangestyle cooker € 649.99 ( no lmit save € 150 )
    Sandstrom conventional microwave half price € 49.99
    White knight 6 KG vented tumble dryer € 149.99

Imaging

Nikon D 3000 10 M pixel SLR € 399.99 ( 5 )
    Panasonic H86 hard disk camcorder € 299.99 ( no stock limit )
    Fuji J 40 12 M pixel compact camera € 89.99( no limit )
    Casio 12 M pixel compact camera € 109.99

That's a fair summary of the key deals. There's other stuff worth talking to the staff about, such as free delivery, our wall mount and installation services, wireless installations, setting up your laptop or computer for you or remote back up and so on. We have package deals to beat the band on accessories and , of course, plenty of standard good offers on all the other products. We've got 70 - 80 laptops in our range, and over 100 TV's, so you'll find something for every budget.

If you are contemplating coming for one of the limited stock deals it might be helpful to describe how the queue worked out this morning Friday. I arrived at the store at 07.00 and there was a queue of at least 100 and maybe up to 150. The first people in the queue had arrived the previous evening at 10.00. That's not to say that there will be 150 people outside the store on Saturday morning but I thought I'd put it up as an indication. If you are early and have put serious queueing effort in, rest assured you'll be delivered a cup of tea or coffee to keep you going.

I'm afraid I'm very limited in my access to a terminal this morning and am totally out of commission for the afternoon so I won't be very available to answer questions.

Best of luck if you're coming to the store and I'd appreciate any feedback you have . The store opens at 08.00 to 18.00 on Saturday and 12.00 to 18.00 on Sunday

Declan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Thefirst people in the queue had arrived the previous evening at 10.00.
    thats mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Any chance you can post up the TV models. Its not much use just seeing the brand and the size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭Currys PC World: Declan

I've edited the post there and added the model numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭t125

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Welease viewpost.gif
    It's not an error.. It's on sale.. Thet have updated their web site.
    I have spoken to Argos directly and they confirmed.

This was posted on by Paulo_B on http://boards.ie/tre/2056016236 about
    SAMSUNG 46'' LE46C530F1 LCD TV AT 529.99 EURO in ARGOS AND NOW IN DID

will Currys match DID offer?????? SAMSUNG 46'' LE46C530F1 LCD TV AT 529.99 EURO

Just wanted to let people know if you cant wait on the delivery from Argos, DID are selling the same TV for €678.99.They are doing a 200% price difference at the minute so once you can bring proof of Argos selling it at €529.00, DID electrical can beat the price and do it for €519.99 OR you can get the difference €159*200% = €318.00 as a credit note(after paying the DID price of €678.99). We went for the 2nd option today and picked up the 46inch TV + nice black stand + a credit note of (€200).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Was up there this morning & got the Sat Nav for €50. Nice.

Just to let some of you know when I was there the price dropped on the SLR camera they reduced it to €299 but only 3 were left.

Also the camcorder priced at €150 was reduced by the salesman in store to €120 while people were at the checkout.

Just a tip but if you bring cash you'll be served quicker as the credit card readers were taking forever.

Was talking to a store manager who said doors will be open at 8am on Sat & 11am on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭the corpo

need a new laptop but don't think i've the nerve for all the queing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

having qd up is there a mad trample for stuff or do u issue tkts to people in the q for the items they're looking for?

damian139 wrote: »
    having qd up is there a mad trample for stuff or do u issue tkts to people in the q for the items they're looking for?

Tickets/vouchers were issued outside 1 special offer item per customer, but then as you queued at the register the salesman would announce further price drops & it was the 1st people to raise a hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

thanx chunx:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Just back.

Inside the door there is a bloke with a folder. From the folder he is able to tell you which of the special offers are left and which are gone.

He gave me a voucher that I had to take to the register with the TV I bought to get the reduction. Samsung 22" LCD HDTV monitor (€230)

Damn Bargain Alerts. Making me spend money that I didn't want to.:D

They still had some of these as well. Samsung 50 " HD Ready Plasma PS50C450 - €600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

The new Currys in Navan is doing a PS3 Slimline 120gb for 200euro. Will the Blanch store be doing anything similar? Its much closer for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Any chance of the model number on the sat nav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭netnerd

Nice one Curry's, what an excellent way of pissing off your potential customers, that don't live in or near Blanchardstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Can anyone advise what model webcam the "Microsoft Hidef webcam € 49.99" is please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Rysinh

Was up there this morning & got the Sat Nav for €50. Nice.

Just to let some of you know when I was there the price dropped on the SLR camera they reduced it to €299 but only 3 were left.

The SLR being the Nikon D3000?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

netnerd wrote: »
    Nice one Curry's, what an excellent way of pissing off your potential customers, that don't live in or near Blanchardstown.
    you can please some of the people some of the time.....

Rysinh wrote: »

I think so mate I'm not up on my cameras. The guy called it an SLR he said it was the top of the range one, it looked like a professional piece of kit as opposed to the normal snap takers

EDIT just googled it this is the one > http://www.squidoo.com/NikonD3000DigiCam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

netnerd wrote: »

Ridiculous post. The op clearly says the sale is to celebrate this new shop opening.

Some people.....

ridiculous post?

I was going to pop into my local Curry's tomorrow to pick up a spare set for the bedroom.

Will I do so now, knowing that folk are buying the same TV, from the same company just 80kms down the road, for 150 less?

Am I hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Opening offer. Is the store that's beside your house having an opening sale, no I didn't think so.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Wait until they convert the store nearby you to a 2 in 1 and then start complaining if they don't do the same.

I'm only jealous:o

will sit on my hands until a good deal turns up in the wee county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

potential customers, that don't live in or near Blanchardstown

If you want the bargains be prepared to travel.
    Simple as that, shop opening so why would you expect the same offers to be had in other branches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Rysinh wrote: »

If it is the D3000, then its Nikon's entry level DSLR (But still a bl**dy good camera, only came out late last year)
    review is here
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond3000/

300 bucks is a great price - with lens, its normally around 479 - 549!

At these sales, can you only get one offer? Like just the TV or can you get TV and camera say?

If it is the D3000, then its Nikon's entry level DSLR (But still a bl**dy good camera, only came out late last year)
    review is here
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond3000/

300 bucks is a great price - with lens, its normally around 479 - 549!

At these sales, can you only get one offer? Like just the TV or can you get TV and camera say?

Yeah thats the camera in the booklet you get at the store

If you queue outside you can only select 1 item & they give you a voucher for it & are brought to the counter to purchase it, you're then free to re-queue if you wish & purchase another special offer item

HOWEVER...

While I was in the queue for the checkout with my voucher for the Sat Nav the salesmen addressed everyone in the queue & said he was dropping the price on that camera by 100e but he only had the 3 left today, should be another 5 on sale tomorrow, if I'd have put up my hand & said I was interested I could have got it there & then while queuing at the check-out.

Easy way out is to bring 2 people & get an item each

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Are there any of the Samsung 32" @ 199e left?

johnn wrote: »
    Are there any of the Samsung 32" @ 199e left?

As the OP said there are a set quota on sale each day. I was there when they sold out today but there are more on sale on Sat & Sun.

But its 1st come 1st serve, I wonder are people queueing outside at the mo :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 quyanjie

300euro for the d3000,r u serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

As the OP said there are a set quota on sale each day. I was there when they sold out today but there are more on sale on Sat & Sun.

But its 1st come 1st serve, I wonder are people queueing outside at the mo :)

Got here bout 20 min ago. 50 odd here already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Rysinh

I think so mate I'm not up on my cameras. The guy called it an SLR he said it was the top of the range one, it looked like a professional piece of kit as opposed to the normal snap takers

EDIT just googled it this is the one > http://www.squidoo.com/NikonD3000DigiCam

I ask because I had to pay 369.99 as opposed to 399.99 as you say so I'm not sure if I should be going back to request my discount or if that's right. I was initially pretty happy with the deal but if that's the case I might consider returning it for a refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Noxin wrote: »
    Got here bout 20 min ago. 50 odd here already.
    Fair play to you. I hope you got yourself a nice bargain after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭padraig91

just a heads up for anyone wanting to get somthing that has a limit of like 10, they did this in galway a bout a year ago on the first night people were queuing from about 1 in the morning then the next day people were quewing from about 9 at night ( i got there at 10 o clock and got the fourth out of the five 42 inch tvs they were selling) and the following day peopel were queuing from 5 in the afternoon. also if you are planning on doing this bring a fold up chair a ipod and somthing to eat or drink, also helps if you can convince someone to wait with you or else it gets boring, and i didnt read all of the first post but when i did it it was only one item per person. hope this helps

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Will this be happening in Cork soon then??....

Yes, as soon as we get the new store built and open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

where is this new currys store in cork going to be?

There's no change in location, still Mahon Point. We'll be doing as we have done in Blanchardstown and Airside, which is putting both stores under one roof. the format and layout will be much more modern.

It's worthwhile adding that we're very keen to get a store like PC World Jervis St into the city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Cheers Declan, made a bit of a journey today to see the place and pick up the western digital mini media player. All the staff really nice and place looks great. An amazing setup of the tv's. Kid in a candy store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

well I got me one of them sat navs had to get down there early sunday morning but got it. Nice 1 currys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭billius

Bought a 22" LCD and TV Bracket on Sunday...staff were really helpful and friendly...even gave me a discount when I asked. Place looks amazing...nice layout and not too overcrowded. Well done Currys!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Got the 22 inch samsung myself. The 32 was gone pretty much by the first 20 people in the queue who had been there since 8pm the previous evening. :eek:
    Laptop was the next to go by anyone after.

The whole thing was done very well by staff. Simple as, they came in early, handed out a piece of paper to the first 80 or so odd in the queue and that was your order position. Store opened at 8 but they came out at 7 and took everyone's order via ipad. Emailed into the back and another chap came out with a small receipt which you simply took to the cash register and your item was given to you.
    They let us in to use the toilets at around 6ish and came out with free coffee / tea at 6.30. Very well organised so well done to the staff there. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,971 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Noxin wrote: »
    Got the 22 inch samsung myself. The 32 was gone pretty much by the first 20 people in the queue who had been there since 8pm the previous evening. :eek:
    Laptop was the next to go by anyone after.

The whole thing was done very well by staff. Simple as, they came in early, handed out a piece of paper to the first 80 or so odd in the queue and that was your order position. Store opened at 8 but they came out at 7 and took everyone's order via ipad. Emailed into the back and another chap came out with a small receipt which you simply took to the cash register and your item was given to you.
    They let us in to use the toilets at around 6ish and came out with free coffee / tea at 6.30. Very well organised so well done to the staff there. :)

companies that run sales that entice people to queue for a long time prior to opening - should read the above reply. It certainly does sound like the proper and correct way to run it, a big well done from someone who has queued for hours previously -elsewhere- only to see a clusterfúck at opening time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Quoi?

t125 wrote: »
    Just wanted to let people know if you cant wait on the delivery from Argos, DID are selling the same TV for €678.99.They are doing a 200% price difference at the minute so once you can bring proof of Argos selling it at €529.00, DID electrical can beat the price and do it for €519.99 OR you can get the difference €159*200% = €318.00 as a credit note(after paying the DID price of €678.99). We went for the 2nd option today and picked up the 46inch TV + nice black stand + a credit note of (€200).

I've been on to DID about this. They are awaiting stock but when I asked about the "Double the Difference" offer, they say they need a current, printed quotation from an Argos store, i.e. not the website, showing the price?

Is this what you did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭The Lone Ranger

declan,
    any deals left over from the weekend? i had to work so was not able to pop in.

Sorry, I'm afraid there was serious queueing to snap up the mad deals. That's not to say we don't have good deals anyway, but nothing as bonkers as the limited offers in the leaflet.