Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Desire on 3

• 02-09-2010 6:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Basically I have a HTC Desire which i purchased from Carphone warehouse and is an o2 phone unlocked. Im with 3 on their 3pay service at the moment and i was looking to use a €5 add on for 500mb of data usage for the phone but they are claiming i need something called planet3 for this to work which i don't have ''preloaded'' to my phone.

Any suggestions as to how i can resolve this? I could move to o2 and most likely use it there but the offers are nowhere near as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭aaronm13

Just go to three.ie and set up a my3 account and you will be good to go. You don't need planet 3 at all. I did the exact same as you getting the Desire from o2 and am using it on 3 fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

planet 3 is just a 3 specific web site - nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

I would leave three if I were you - terrible service and worse customer care.

I live in Dublin so they dont get a pass on saying Im not covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 J P C

aaronm13 wrote: »
    Just go to three.ie and set up a my3 account and you will be good to go. You don't need planet 3 at all. I did the exact same as you getting the Desire from o2 and am using it on 3 fine.

Thanks very much i set up a my3 account and purchased the data pack add on without that planet 3 nonsense. I still can't seem to connect online though :confused:

I dunno what else could be the problem :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭kenyard

if you buy it off o2 you have to tinker with the settings to get it working online on three..
    maybe someone can help you with what settings to change it to and where..
    iv been waiting for the phone to come out on three for 3 months now.. theyre terrible network. online it just says "coming soon". the desire HD is coming out on the 5th of September now like! no point getting the desire probably

J P C wrote: »
    Thanks very much i set up a my3 account and purchased the data pack add on without that planet 3 nonsense. I still can't seem to connect online though :confused:

I dunno what else could be the problem :confused:

I had to root my phone to get 3G working. No matter what I did to the APN settings it just wouldn't work for me. As soon as I rooted the Desire it worked straight away. Think I wasted about 4 days messing with settings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 J P C

aaronm13 wrote: »
    I had to root my phone to get 3G working. No matter what I did to the APN settings it just wouldn't work for me. As soon as I rooted the Desire it worked straight away. Think I wasted about 4 days messing with settings.

Is rooting it hard? Wouldn't that void the warranty too? I wouldn't have any experience with this at all like.

J P C wrote: »
    Is rooting it hard? Wouldn't that void the warranty too? I wouldn't have any experience with this at all like.

I was the same as you but once you get your head around everything it's fairly handy. Not sure about the warranty as you can always revert back to the original Rom. I used the one click method and there is a thread about it on this forum that explains it better than I ever could. So search around for Desire rooting information and get familiar with everything. Check out the following sites for information

http://android.modaco.com/category/430/htc-desire-desire-modaco-com/

http://androidforums.com/desire-all-things-root/

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=696189

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055969546&highlight=click+root

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭Walkman

3 will defiantly have the desire this month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Walkman wrote: »
    3 will defiantly have the desire this month

i was told by the customer support that they will have it on the 20th sept 18 month contract though:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

o2 branded phones tend to stop you from using another proivders APN
    This was the case with my sony mobile would not let me access the internet over 3G when i had my 3 sim in the phone so had to de-brand the phone from o2 to generic software and it works great now

I was told they would have the desire - at the start of summer and then again and again later and then two weeks later......

iv given up and am getting meteor tomorrow.. even though the HD desire is being announced tomorrow or monday :/
    three will be selling it at 300 euro on prepay though which is pretty slick.. just waiting for it is the killer and im not bothered anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Anyone else have similar bad experience with 3?

Thinking of switching to them from O2 for the cheaper price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Goodshape wrote: »

What bad experience? The bad experiences seem to be coming from posters who don't have 3 phones and are trying to adapt some other networks phone to work on 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭crimsonfire

kenyard wrote: »
    iv given up and am getting meteor tomorrow.. even though the HD desire is being announced tomorrow or monday :/
    three will be selling it at 300 euro on prepay though which is pretty slick.. just waiting for it is the killer and im not bothered anymore

I've no real desire for the HD one arfarfarf. I'll be psyched with the Desire on three. Was with them a few years ago and they were brilliant. 300 you say?? This is good news for me.

What bad experience?

This bad experience:

I've no real desire for the HD one arfarfarf. I'll be psyched with the Desire on three. Was with them a few years ago and they were brilliant. 300 you say?? This is good news for me.

yeah but the problem is any phones they do get in will probably be on billpay same as meteor are doing...got mine today. happy enough so far. getting used to typing with the touchscreen is taking a bit of getting used to :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Celestial Deity

Wait what?

300 euros! Where are you getting this info from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭crimsonfire

yeah but the problem is any phones they do get in will probably be on billpay same as meteor are doing...got mine today. happy enough so far. getting used to typing with the touchscreen is taking a bit of getting used to :)

No I did my homework. Three are good in the way that you can choose prepay or billpay with their full range. The literature I have from the 3 store on Henry St says it will be E399 whenever they decide to release it. That's a good 40 yoyos cheaper than the other networks who have it now.

I'm on O2 so I may just end up staying with them for the sake of having it now rather than X number of weeks down the line.

This bad experience:

To quote the man himself earlier, "All they have to do is get the good smartphones and they are hands down the best network."

Something went wrong somewhere...

the desire is 399 not 300

So they're good except for the customer service then? I'll just hope I won't need any, I guess.

Package I'm looking at is about half the price of what I've got now. I think it's 350 flexi-units and 2gb data for 35/month. Should be more than enough for me.. my usage last month was 45mins talk, 65 texts and over 1GB data.

Are you just getting a sim? The one your looking at is Classic Flex Max but it's 40pm with a phone or 30pm with just a sim, You get 350 flex units and 2G of Data, Unlimited free 3 to 3, and 100 euro for moving your number to 3, and you also get a one of the free add ons, so you could get an extra 2GB of data...It's a lot, customer service isn't that bad customer service is in India but if you can look past the accent you'll be fine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cbates

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Goodshape viewpost.gif

I was with 3 for 18 or so months. Found them to be quite good. Only issue I had with them was when I went to Austria(maybe 4-5 years ago) and sent a text message. To another Irish mobile out there(not three network) The message was sent numerous times to the other phone (possibly 20 plus) over 2-3 days every so often they would get message and it was from me. Went from being funny to annoying very quickly. Only happened that one time and never got charged for messages either. From what I can remember the people in customer service were very helpful about it.

Anyway for what it's worth from my experience and in a completely non scientific way I found 3 the least expensive of "3", "vodafone" & "O2" with Vodafone being most expensive. Am currently with o2 but thinking of switching to Meteor as they seem cheaper again

I was told 35/m for sim only. Think the catalog yoke I have says the same actually.

Roaming rates and international included (or so I'm told? Is it the same for data?) is a big plus. there's little worse than ending a month with half your minutes remaining and still getting billed for those calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Thinking of switching to them from O2 for the cheaper price.

I've just signed up to 3. I got the HTC Wildfire, which is deemed a lite version of the Desire. I really like the handset and the spec suits me fine - for the more savvy regarding the phones the Desire has a better resolution, quicker processing unit, and more apps as far as I'm aware.

But I had some trouble with porting my number across, which took 5 days to rectify - quite annoying to be honest. They disabled functions on my phone until it was sorted, which I found to be ridiculous as I've already signed up and paid for the bill option.

The customer service are helpful but quite hard to understand as all the agents I dealt with were Indian. Quite difficult to understand in my opinion.

So I went into an outlet to get it sorted. I found the staff I dealt with in the Grafton street outlet to be quite surly, but the Henry st outlet were quite well versed and polite - twas here I got it all sorted.

I can't complain about the service since I've sorted it out. In my opinion it's the cheapest deal in comparison to the other networks for what you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Talisman

I was due an upgrade in March but decided to hold out for the Desire. In May customer support were telling me that it would be available in a few weeks for €450! That was supposedly the upgrade price, at the time the Desire was available as a £25 upgrade in the UK for the same package as I'm on (€49/£29 per month). I have since been told that it will be available in September on an 18 month contract. Based on the extortionate upgrade price I was quoted I decided to buy an unlocked handset myself and don't regret the decision.

I've been with Three since they first launched solely because their pricing is much better than O2 and Vodafone but I'm now starting to reconsider because the network coverage has become flakey. The 3G network disappears for no apparent reason and it could be 20-40 minutes before it's available again - it's not an issue of being in the sticks, last night it happened in Drumcondra, at the weekend it happened in Dun Laoghaire. It's not the handset either - I've experienced the same issue with a Nokia E71, HTC Desire and iPhone 3GS. Swap out the Three sim and replace it with a Vodafone/O2 sim and there is no issue with coverage at the same location.

I found the staff I dealt with in the Grafton street outlet to be quite surly, but the Henry st outlet were quite well versed and polite
    I had a very similar experience re: the staff! I went to Henry St. last week to the O2, Voda and 3 shops to find the best deals -- polite and helpful staff in all of them. Went home with leaflets and questions answered from each and decided 3 was probably the best deal.

Then I went into 3 on Grafton St. a few days later with a couple of follow up questions. No real intention of signing up just yet but probably would have if I got the right answers. Guy in there didn't seem to care about the actual questions I had and just wanted to push a contract on me -- "oh, but having two phones will be very handy!"... "um, no, that's alright" ... "but I'll just get you a form.. it's very easy." ... "eh, no, thanks"... "with a contract you will be entitled to upgrades!"... and so on.

In the end I left the shop wondering if the Voda and O2 plans weren't a little better after all!

Then I went into 3 on Grafton St. a few days later with a couple of follow up questions. No real intention of signing up just yet but probably would have if I got the right answers. Guy in there didn't seem to care about the actual questions I had and just wanted to push a contract on me -- "oh, but having two phones will be very handy!"... "um, no, that's alright" ... "but I'll just get you a form.. it's very easy." ... "eh, no, thanks"... "with a contract you will be entitled to upgrades!"... and so on.

the work on a commission basis though so thats kind of half expected at the same time in my opinion...
    i got the desire on meteor. was already on meteor so wasnt much hassle.
    signed contract. checked my free messages there yesterday and calls.. joined half way through the contract so only got a fraction of the messages and calls free and that, but its no biggie as i txt meteor numbers mainly anyway..
    checked today and i have no free messages..
    apparently there is a 5 day switch over before i get the free texts :(
    called them up and was supposed to have been informed about it in the shop. very annoyed now as i have sent 200+ messages already to meteor numbers more than the 60 i got for free or whatever...
    cant understand what the problem with this 5 day thing is since i already had free texts anyway before this. stupid phone companies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Talisman wrote: »
    I was due an upgrade in March but decided to hold out for the Desire. In May customer support were telling me that it would be available in a few weeks for €450! That was supposedly the upgrade price, at the time the Desire was available as a £25 upgrade in the UK for the same package as I'm on (€49/£29 per month). I have since been told that it will be available in September on an 18 month contract. Based on the extortionate upgrade price I was quoted I decided to buy an unlocked handset myself and don't regret the decision.

I've been with Three since they first launched solely because their pricing is much better than O2 and Vodafone but I'm now starting to reconsider because the network coverage has become flakey. The 3G network disappears for no apparent reason and it could be 20-40 minutes before it's available again - it's not an issue of being in the sticks, last night it happened in Drumcondra, at the weekend it happened in Dun Laoghaire. It's not the handset either - I've experienced the same issue with a Nokia E71, HTC Desire and iPhone 3GS. Swap out the Three sim and replace it with a Vodafone/O2 sim and there is no issue with coverage at the same location.

im having the same problem based in dubliin and according to 3 the mast in my area is 1km away, my coverage goes from 3g(2 bars) to no signal to vodafone1.
    i have asked the tech support about these issues as my phone works fine with a meteor sim they just fobbed me off so looks like i will be calling their upgrade/cancel team looks like they dont value customers who pay on average 1000e a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

jay93 wrote: »
    o2 branded phones tend to stop you from using another proivders APN
    This was the case with my sony mobile would not let me access the internet over 3G when i had my 3 sim in the phone so had to de-brand the phone from o2 to generic software and it works great now

Is it hard to do this? I have an O2 branded phone and am planning on switching over to 3 once I get it unlocked but if there will be trouble with the phone when I switch I might put it on hold for now.

To quote the man himself earlier, "All they have to do is get the good smartphones and they are hands down the best network."

Something went wrong somewhere...

the desire is 399 not 300

I spent a week on their network using data.

On paper and on the surface they seem magical - but they are terrible.

The tech support and the manager even didn't know what they were talking about.

If you are getting bill pay 02/voda and Meteor are good with data etc and the extra price is worth it as they actually have a full proper network, ie three have terrible problems switching back from piggybacking on 02 to their 3g.

3 have no relationship with o2, works perfect for me, were you using a 3 phone with those problems?

Sorry they use Vodafones network for GSM.

Switching back and forth from 3g actually on their network to GSM on Voda is fine but switching back was a pain and flaky.

unlocked phone set up perfectly (settings i doubled checked with their customer care team who knew it was not a three device) and worked on their network for a week or so and then the problems started.

When you compare a fiver for 250MB to the flat fee of 99c a day (30 euro a month) or 19c for 1MB (47.50 for 250) or whatever is very compelling but you get what you pay for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Sorry, don't agree!
    I find their service to be on par if not better than O2s!
    Customer service? It's based in India, so what? They sorted any issue I had, and answered any questions I put to them quickly and effortlessly!

But most importantly of all, they do NOT shaft their customers like O2 do with ' roaming ' charges in the north, calls to the UK are included in their packages (yip including mobile)

Think folk use to have issues with coverage alright, but by amd large 3 seem to have sorted this.

I don't care where it is based - thats not the problem.

Not knowing the difference between 3g and wifi is one of my problems with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I don't care where it is based - thats not the problem.

Not knowing the difference between 3g and wifi is one of my problems with them.

Your messing???

that sentence doesn't make sense - but no I am not messing tech support didn't know the difference between wifi and 3g.

When I left them and rejoined meteor and needed them to port my number.
    The manager did not grasp the concept of ''if i have no coverage how can you ring me on my three number''.
    I quit with him because he knew nothing and meteor had to tell me that i could port my number a diff way that the manager on three did not tell me but normal customer care of meteor did.

This was all after getting another clean three sim that was ported using my number and worked but soon was screwed after it switched onto gsm network and then broke.

Eircom are bad - upc are bad etc etc but Three take the biscuit.

In fairness Conor you weren't using a 3 phone when calling tech support, i'm pretty sure they know how their phones work, there pretty slow to release phones due to the seriously testing them, to make sure they work well with the network.
    You weren't using a tested and approved phone and you had a problem, no great surprises there, hardly their fault.

The phone was working on their network, if you read you would know that.

They agreed once it is unlocked and set up right, which is was, there is no problem that it is not a "three phone".

As an aside I got plenty of that nonsense about it not being a three phone from customer care but not from tech support which was nice until the fact they were clueless shone through.

(it was not a three phone because the strung people along for months that the desire was coming soon and didnt sell any decent phones at the time).

The phone was working on their network, if you read you would know that.

They agreed once it is unlocked and set up right, which is was, there is no problem that it is not a three phone.

Well there can be, i've always used a 3 phone and when I haven't i've had problems, nokia e65 unlocked from o2 and a proper 3 nokia e65 there was a huge difference between handover between 2G and 3G.

Yep but the tech support told me to turn of the phone, and then when it turned back on to go into airplane mode and that reset it to threes network proper and it did not reset and thats when I lost all coverage and had to get the new sim and all the nonsense when I decided to switch back.

They also told me to edit the smsc edit the apn over and over again and lots of other settings to make sure that it reset to the proper network but that didnt work, at that stage it didnt matter if the phone was not from three it was essentially manually reset and still did not work.

it was clear by the end they were useless no matter what phone they were talking about - the settings are the same I used cop on to go into the different menus when they were giving me generic menu titles.

essentially the fact that it was not a three phone became a cop-out by the end - they couldnt solve the problem and brought that back up again in the end.

Your just confirming my point, you weren't using a 3 phone and you couldn't get a non 3 phone to work properly. I'll wager any money when or if they release the desire it will work and it will have signal.

the phone - a non three phone yes well done - was set up and working on the three network.

that was not a problem.

if is more accurate then when concerning the release of the desire by them but the wildfire is out already and also the iphone if you want to see if people have problems with smartphones on three ireland.

http://ogreswamp.info/?p=37

shocking that the iphone has problems switching between 2/3g - ad hoc network produces problems no matter the phone.

if is more accurate then when concerning the release of the desire by them but the wildfire is out already and also the iphone if you want to see if people have problems with smartphones on three ireland.

Ahh I have a Galaxy S on 3, I also had an iphone with them that i'm selling on adverts as I think it's a **** phone for reception, it's apple's fault for that not 3's. Hence I just changed my phone as I know it was not a network problem as i'd been with them so long.
    I've had LG U400, E65, W910i, E71, N95 and iPhone 3GS, all bar the iphone worked perfect on 3.

further problems - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056003333

Of course it is the iPhones fault - interesting when desire and wildfire start reporting problems.

last post as this is pointless

same ''non three phone and non meteor phone and non irish phone'' works fine on meteor except getting robbed on data charges but it works.