Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Troubled by tiger raids? It's yer own fault for wanting free ATMs

• 02-09-2010 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

In the IT today there's a story about a tiger raid in Dublin/Wicklow. Here is the government response:

'Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern said that while the banks, the Garda and the Irish Bank Officials Association have been working to prevent such incidents, more needs to be done. He said Ireland was not as cashless a society as most of our European neighbours. “If you go to most European countries, you’ll find there’s less cash swilling around than in Ireland,” he said. “We’re the only country in Europe that doesn’t charge for money coming out of ATMS and that, I think, is something that will have to be looked at.”'

Anyone else think this is an example of FF hijacking a news story to suit their own motives? "Here lads, you know that tax on ATM withdrawals we were thinking of? I've got the perfect spot in the Irish Times to throw it out there".

How does the Irish Times let politicians away with this lame sh*t? Perhaps I'm just over-cynical after my daily Irish news intake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

I agree with you 100%

WTF do ATM charges have to do with Tiger kidnapping!

When the charges come in won't there still be cash in the banks anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

It would be very counter productive of them to add a tax on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

It would be a lot more PRODUCTIVE of our Minister for JUSTICE to provide more adequate prison space for those who perpetrate these attacks, as well as work towards more appropriate jail sentences, and get these thugs off the street for good, instead of making lame statements about things that are nothing to do with his department.

Dermot Ahern in his entire tenure there, just like Dempsey in Transport, has contributed NOTHING to the cause of Justice, except for the grasping of empty and meaningless PR opportunities to promote the lie that FF contribute anything to society.

What has he done? Tell me, because I'm damned if I can find anything. He is a waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

bakedbean wrote: »
    He said Ireland was not as cashless a society as most of our European neighbours. “If you go to most European countries, you’ll find there’s less cash swilling around than in Ireland,” he said. “We’re the only country in Europe that doesn’t charge for money coming out of ATMS and that, I think, is something that will have to be looked at.”'

This all sounds very scientific.:rolleyes:
    Load of auld b*l*x, from an auld b*l*x methinks.:cool:

We already pay tax for possessing bank cards and credit cards. How would imposing a tax on ATM withdrawls end Tiger Kidnappings. Tiger Kidnappings are the crime du jour for the kind of people who used to rob banks. They would simply target a different sector or source of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭seithon

Ahhhh lookit the cute lil bugger, ATM fee's for more security my ass!
    I can't wait to be away from these deluded people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭bakedbean

I'm more troubled by the fact that this was written by a journalist and - presumably - was Ok'ed by a subeditor in a national newspaper. Who asks the hard-hitting questions in the Irish media these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

We were the only country in Europe with an unsustainable economy based on selling overpriced houses to each other too; I didn't see him complaining or challenging his leader about that!!!

As for the bull**** cashless society argument, that would be partially caused by these rats robbing €30 off us annually for having the nerve to have a credit card, no ?

But don't worry, you will be exempt from any ATM tax if you're caught on CCTV putting the money in a brown envelope with an FF TD's name on it.

Finally, if we were taxed every time we used an ATM, we'd use it less, withdrawing less money.....increasing the chances of crime.

Of course, given FF & the state of our banks, maybe we should keep our cash at home.....again increasing the chances of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

“We’re the only country in Europe that doesn’t charge for money coming out of ATMS and that, I think, is something that will have to be looked at.”'

That sentence is indicative of a governmental culture whereby those in power feel they have a moral right and entitlement to legislate and regulate any part of the country, its culture and its people they so choose. When you give so much power to a system of government it is no surprise that politicians feel they have a right to engage in this kind of societal micro-management.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

any excuse to get more money out of us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 timuthytrimble

Perhaps one of the dumbest ideas brought about to protect the public from medical professionals is the publishing of countless doctor and pharmacist home adresses on the internet- only Mary Harney could be that incompitent to introduce this as part of legislation..a field day for drug addicts and celtic tiger robberies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Anyone else think this is an example of FF hijacking a news story to suit their own motives? "Here lads, you know that tax on ATM withdrawals we were thinking of? I've got the perfect spot in the Irish Times to throw it out there".

How does the Irish Times let politicians away with this lame sh*t? Perhaps I'm just over-cynical after my daily Irish news intake?
    The two things don't even go together as a news story - tax/charges on ATM withdrawals has got sweet damn-all to do with the kidnapping.

One would have thought that the journalist would have realised that and chosen to run with the oddness of Dermot Ahern swirling the two together like a thick bowl of chalk and cheese soup as a secondary story to the one of the raid itself, including the words "confusingly", "strangely" or similar in the first sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

you could imagine a gang having a meeting:

"here lads, lets do a tiger kidnapping!"

"no, you get charged for withdrawing cash from atms now, so no, we can't!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I was listening to the news earlier and I heard Dermot Ahern being interviewed about a bank robbery and what could be done to stop similar such robberies in future.

His solution is to tax bank link machine users!

That is going to cut down on bank employee's family members being kidnapped for ransome. :eek:

Make no effort to catch the bastards responsible, just tax everyone else. I never considered, nor do I condone violance, but............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

I was listening to the news earlier and I heard Dermot Ahern being interviewed about a bank robbery and what could be done to stop similar such robberies in future.

That is going to cut down on bank employee's family members being kidnapped for ransome. :eek:

Make no effort to catch the bastards responsible, just tax everyone else. I never considered, nor do I condone violance, but............

Fianna Fail are fatigued and unfit to govern anymore imo. Such a lazy pathetic idea.

They seriously need 10 or 15 years out of power.... starting asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭last name ever. first name greatest

We are always following the UK in many ways so I don't understand why we have not followed suit with the key holding in banks. Group 4 etc do it in the UK. No employees open up or are key holders.

Random security company people do it.

As for Dermots comments. No comment. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Jesus that man needs a holiday .... and a long, long one at that :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

All the time they WASTED on that stupid blasphemy legislation, when they could have been tackling this growing problem.. Scumbags that do these crimes should be hung...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

“We’re the only country in Europe that doesn’t charge for money coming out of ATMS and that, I think, is something that will have to be looked at.”'

We've already put over 30 Billion in to the banks, have we not got given them enough money Mr. Ahern.... And it's not like the b*stards have reciprocated the nation's generosity... sneakily converting overdrafts to loans, trying to move people from tracker mortgages, not lending a red cent to businesses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

changes wrote: »
    Fianna Fail are fatigued and unfit to govern anymore imo. Such a lazy pathetic idea.

They seriously need 10 or 15 years out of power.... starting asap.
    I fully agree. The GOP ran America for 8 years, tried to go for 12, and now that they've been voted out they are still scrambling in the intervening 2 years to figure out who the hell they are anymore.

If you imagine the GOP as Mr. Potato Head: He's been hurled at a brick wall going 80 miles per hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Manic Preacher

The bank robbers might be perfectly normal tax payers who've had enough of banks taking money off them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

FF TD opens his mouth and spouts ****e that will probably end up costing us money.

Nothing to see here.

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

The Minsister in effect wants to take cash out of circulation and therefore the bank branch network. Lets humour that specious reasoning. Has it occured to him that the reason we use cash us because our card system charges higher rates than the rest of Europe on top of a tax and that if you try to pay by laser or cc in many outlets they simply refuse?

Deal with that and we might catch up with places like France where you can pay for a taxi or a newspaper with your Carte Bleu negating the need to go to an ATM. A middle aged Parisian lady I know will not handle cash AT ALL because she thinks its dirty. Yet she can get on with life with no hassle. Every single thing goes on her French equivalent of Laser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

imme wrote: »
    We already pay tax for possessing bank cards and credit cards.
    Removing the tax on bank cards & credit cards and replacing it with an ATM withdrawl charge could be revenue neutral and encourage a more cashless society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭F-Stop

If they start charging fees for using the ATM I'll stop taking out 300,000 euro each time I have to save my wife from kidnappers.

GSF wrote: »
    Removing the tax on bank cards & credit cards and replacing it with an ATM withdrawl charge could be revenue neutral and encourage a more cashless society.

Making the HUGE assumption we could then actually pay for things with the cards at the point of sale.

They day I can buy a coffee with my laser is the day that this plan might make sens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Two threads on same topic merged

/mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Making the HUGE assumption we could then actually pay for things with the cards at the point of sale.

They day I can buy a coffee with my laser is the day that this plan might make sens.

Cash withdrawls arent free today. To make a withdrawl at an ATM you need to pay yearly tax of €5 for the ATM/Laser card. if each withdrawl was taxed at 10 cent there wouldnt be much difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Ahern just loves the sound of his own voice and I think seriously believes that he is put on this earth to rule us and appears to be patholigically incapable of telling the truth:eek:

He seems to think that the bull**** he spouts is valid and that people will believe he is doing something! His interpetation of cause and effect is as realistic as Terry Pratchett;)

For example he claimed that he would deal with illegal firearms - so he hammered the lawabiding firearms licence holders. He said his leglislation would enable the criminal gangs to be rounded up and jailed - yeah right.

So by his logic taxing ATM withdrawals will certainly end Tiger Kidnappings:P

He should go back to climbing trees in North County Dublin:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The government just hates the idea of cash transactions as the black economy is out of the tax net.

So a tax on ATMs is just one more turn of the screw towards a cashless society.

Their solution to everything seems to be to tax it.
    I look forward to the cancer tax, the AIDS tax, and the left handed tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

I heard this on the news as well but what got me was that he said that they tax the rest of europe for using ATMs as if that was ok for this bunch of thieves to do the same.
    Why is it every time that something happens in this Country the Clowns that are in power use that same worn out excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

The Government may have to consider making banks charge for withdrawals from ATMs to reduce the amount of cash in circulation, the Minister for Justice said today.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0902/breaking49.html

What is it with this fellow? Has he lost his brain altogether, or did he ever have one? I can't even find words to describe this latest lunacy.
    The Minister for Justice said 'Charges on cash withdrawals may have to be considered, to take more cash out of the economy, and help combat such kidnappings.' [RTÉ Six One News, reported by Anne Doyle with a serious face.]

I have a better solution: Charges of corruption should be mandatory, to take the trash out of Dail Eireann, to help combat such daylight robberies of the citizens of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Maybe we should bring in a political stupidity tax. Everytime a politician says or does something stupid a fee would be charged to their accounts. By my rough estimates each year this would generate circa 60bn for the Irish exchequer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

mysons wrote: »
    I heard this on the news as well but what got me was that he said that they tax the rest of europe for using ATMs as if that was ok for this bunch of thieves to do the same.
    Why is it every time that something happens in this Country the Clowns that are in power use that same worn out excuse.

There is no charge for withdrawing cash from ATMs in the UK. As Ahern lives close to the Border he must know this. He is a tw@t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭veritable

Why don't the gobsh1tes in govt just impose a tax on tiger kidnapping? i swear that's the next thing we're going to read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Dont suggest that as FF would tax the Victim.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Finally, if we were taxed every time we used an ATM, we'd use it less, withdrawing less money.....increasing the chances of crime.

Good point - people who use cash often spend it more on impulse items e.g. you wouldn't normally buy an impulse cup of coffee on a credit card, but you might if you had €2 on you.

So the government wants us to spend more, but at the same time brings in measures that make people spend less, literally people will have less money in their pockets to spend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Here I carry very little cash as I can pay for pretty much everything on my eftpos Card. Everyone does Petrol, Groceries, Meals out, Mcdonalds etc

My electrician even accepts the card on house calls.

Most cash items are coffee and a paper.

To withdraw from my bank ATM is free my Banks competitors ATM or a Private ATM costs me 2 dollars.

It's been an age since I got charged at an ATM I dont withdraw cash that much.

However what he is suggesting is stupid its all stick and no carrot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

What this government needs to do is as has been suggested already is introduce sentences proper to crimes. This is typical of the guards too, what is the point of having a rapid response team, they should just swarm the area and shoot the scumbags dead, shoot first and ask questions later or else give them a money bag with dud notes and a bomb to explode and kill them.

Punish the criminals properly, to suggest a tax on cash in this situation makes the minister no different to the scum carrying out these crimes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Logically of course the minister is correct. I'd go so far to say that as cash causes crimes the Government should confiscate it all, which they are already on their way to doing. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

So the minister thinks if we tax atm withdrawals that suddenly banks won't have any cash to steal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭simplistic2

This tax should of come in a long time ago , if it wasnt for idiots like us getting kidnapped he wouldnt have to do it. I feel embarrassed for that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

What a load of bull**** in most southern European countries its practicality impossible to use cards.just cold cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What about the fact that banks do charge for withdrawals at ATMs?
    There are just simple ways around it, only use your own banks one and have an online account so you don't pay current account fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The next time there's a murder here, he will probably ask for a tax on childbirth. Afterall the less of us are here the less likely it will be that someone is murdered....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Just when you think stupid ideas could have been a thing of the past for our government, he comes out with the gem of an idea to start taxing ATM transactions to reduce the amount of tiger raids. How you even make the link between ATM charges and reducing bank raids is beyond me. One has nothing to do with the other.

Introducing a tax per ATM charge will not reduce the amount of cash 'swilling about the place' and it will not reduce the amount of cash held by banks. If anything it will increase it. People will not want to get hit with a charge every time they need some cash so instead of taking out €20-50 when they need it people will empty their accounts on pay day.

Instead of targeting the hard working, tax paying citizens of this country why don't you look at your own roll in all this? What have YOU done to help prevent any of this from happening? Have you increased the Garda numbers on the street? Have you set mandatory minimum jail sentences for people caught committing crimes like this? How about a 20 year minimum sentence with no early release for good behaviour for people convicted of this? That’s sure to make them think twice now isn't it? How about increasing prison space to keep people like this off the streets? Have you considered forcing the banks to install monitored alarms and panic buttons into the home of each bank employee with access to branch funds? If they want to protect their money they have to protect their staff!

The truth is you haven't done anything because you’re a useless f*** just like the rest of your incompetent party!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Speaking of card transactions, they'd want to make it more secure as it ain't totally secure yet. Remember the wave of card terminals been replaced willy nilly by 'repairmen' at prime city shops a couple of years ago?

How many of us have had our cards skimmed at atms and in the shops?

I used to use laser alot, but ended up with my card been used mysteriously without my permission at a retail outlet. Since then I tend to use cash as my confidence in laser is down.

So the minister thinks if we tax atm withdrawals that suddenly banks won't have any cash to steal?

In a nutshell.

GSF wrote: »
    Cash withdrawls arent free today. To make a withdrawl at an ATM you need to pay yearly tax of €5 for the ATM/Laser card. if each withdrawl was taxed at 10 cent there wouldnt be much difference.

I think you have somewhat missed the point here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

In the IT today there's a story about a tiger raid in Dublin/Wicklow. Here is the government response:

'Minister for Justice Dermot Ahern said that while the banks, the Garda and the Irish Bank Officials Association have been working to prevent such incidents, more needs to be done. He said Ireland was not as cashless a society as most of our European neighbours. “If you go to most European countries, you’ll find there’s less cash swilling around than in Ireland,” he said. “We’re the only country in Europe that doesn’t charge for money coming out of ATMS and that, I think, is something that will have to be looked at.”'

I get charged for ATM withdrawals :confused:
    I heard bank prices will increase also. :rolleyes:
    So the robbers make us pay whats that going to do deter them from robbing :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

gurramok wrote: »
    Speaking of card transactions, they'd want to make it more secure as it ain't totally secure yet. Remember the wave of card terminals been replaced willy nilly by 'repairmen' at prime city shops a couple of years ago?

How many of us have had our cards skimmed at atms and in the shops?

I used to use laser alot, but ended up with my card been used mysteriously without my permission at a retail outlet. Since then I tend to use cash as my confidence in laser is down.

That happened to me aswell,now i dont put anything in that isnt for direct debit.And i dont use my card at all :(