Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know any shady characters??

• 01-09-2010 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭

Do you know anyone who could get you:

A working gun
    A bottle of poteen
    Any type of stolen goods

Was thinking the other day about lads bragging about knowing "underworld" characters and how they could get anything they wanted from them or if they got themselves in bother then "insert tough guy name" would sort it out for them.

I know a few "dodgy" characters but i wouldn't ever want to get anything from them ie owe them a favour at all.

I also know one lad who is convinced he is a "dodgy" bloke but in reality he works in an IT department and would shít himself if faced with someone who is a bit dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

One, by the name of Trent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I know someone who could get poitín from a friend of a friend's neighbours second cousin ;) if that counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup half my family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I used to, but not any more. These type of folks have a fairly short life expectancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I know a few alright, not sure about the guns but they prob could. I've not asked yet but who knows what the future might hold.....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

mfceiling wrote: »

A working gun
    A bottle of poteen
    Any type of stolen goods

Was thinking the other day about lads bragging about knowing "underworld" characters and how they could get anything they wanted from them or if they got themselves in bother then "insert tough guy name" would sort it out for them.

I know a few "dodgy" characters but i wouldn't ever want to get anything from them ie owe them a favour at all.

I also know one lad who is convinced he is a "dodgy" bloke but in reality he works in an IT department and would shít himself if faced with someone who is a bit dangerous.
    Half of the fcuking country does ,but doesn't feel the need to post about it on the internet like a idiot.

MOD: user banned for this comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

G-Man from "Half Life"

You can't get shadier....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Several, with prison tattoos and skills in making all kinds of things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Im not going to say here......but if the moneys right......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

irish_goat wrote: »

That's poitín shandy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

i live in Tallaght if that helps.....the land of opportunity :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Anyone want poitin, a gun and a couple of stolen goods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

This guy is very shady tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

i live in Tallaght if that helps.....the land of opportunity :pac:

And in the true spirit of Boards...we all know you by association.

/thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Yup all three.

Everyone needs some friends in low places :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Half of the fcuking country does ,but doesn't feel the need to post about it on the internet like a idiot.

Good to have you back scrappy!!
    I'll quickly point out your obvious spelling mistake above - you always have at least one per post

It was just a random thread idea....no need to go personal with the idiot insults.....if you want to go personal just send me another few PM's....or run along like a good little fellow;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

515kkvv88SL._SS500_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

No Garda. I don't know anyone.

From the manual " Dealing with the Gardaí 101 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Kiera wrote: »
    Yup half my family.

Kiera wrote: »

No suprise there :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

C'mere to me know and tell me this young fellah, what would you be needing them sorta things for anyways?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

pow wow wrote: »
    Several, with prison tattoos and skills in making all kinds of things...

Macgyver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 timelessone

My sister's friend's younger sister used to go out with Seanie Fitz's son, if that counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Scrappychimow

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    C'mere to me know and tell me this young fellah, what would you be needing them sorta things for anyways?

Work dried up for him / perving on building sites.
    He wants to get drunk and blow the onion armpits off himself with a shooter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Eminem. He's a Shady character. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yep, i work in a pub.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Some of the most respectable people are in fact very very shady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

Yes know a few, helped me in certain situations but I wouldn't associate with them on a daily basis or get involved in their business.

One of them was shot in July..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Plenty of shady characters in No2 Kildare St.

Everything else is harmless fun compared to what those cunts get up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

the only one id know to talk to is a family member of a friend of mine and my friend never shuts up about it- always going on about 'he could get this and that', 'id only have to ask and he'd know someone who'd get it', 'he knows people high up'-all that crap, like hes proud of it or something, it drives me insane. even if it was something to be proud of you're not the one who is doing it- he is, so theres no need to brag! il admit hes sorted people out with some pretty cool stuff but its not like its something to brag about! rant over- its been bugging me for ages! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Op are you cop? Because boards seems to be the place everyone finds out their info....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

A working gun
    A bottle of poteen
    Any type of stolen goods

plenty came to the building site over the years with "cheap" tools and equipment.

"well boss, would ya like a drill?" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

I've found out that generally it's not the one who brags about it that you worry about.

It's usually the silent one on the fringes of things that is the dangerous one.

I have a friend whose Father I could turn to if I really needed (not wanted) but needed a gun I have no doubt he would know where to get a gun.

However I would only ever ask if my life was in danger and given how I live my life I can't ever see a situation developing where I would need one.

This man is a quiet and unassuming man in my parents neighborhood but what I've found out about him subsequently really shocked me.

As for stolen goods... anyone could get their hands on them, in fact I'd say the majority of people on here have bought something hooky at one point in their life or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Erica<3 wrote: »
    Op are you cop? Because boards seems to be the place everyone finds out their info....:rolleyes:

Jesus no.......not a great place to get info from all the same!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Going by some of the places I've seen in my travels in this country I'd be surprised if there was anyone who couldn't get at least one of those things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

A working gun
    A bottle of poteen
    Any type of stolen goods

You make wanting a gun, a bottle of poitin & a tv off the back of a lorry sound so unsavory.

OP it's easier to buy coke than it is to buy over the counter painkillers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Sadly, the OPs list is plain.

I've seen too much and know enough of who does what around my area in work to be able to lay my hands on most things or get stuff done.

But I stay out of it all. Lead a clean life. Only vice is alcohol and only drink once a week or every second week.

But have "friends" involved in quite a lot of stuff,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Plenty of shady characters in No2 Kildare St.

Everything else is harmless fun compared to what those cunts get up to.

Off Topic : Can we please give this a rest. Its getting very annoying that every thread somehow turns into a government whipping. Half the people who post such thing probably voted for FF in 2007.

On Topic : Yeah I know a few. Went to school with them ect... would never in my wildest dreams ask them for anything. Getting mixed up with people like that is more trouble than its worth. Besides most of their attitudes annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Know one lad in particular, terrifying person altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

original 3 things are too soft.

Anybody know anybody who can get them an assault rifle
    Have somebody killed :pac:
    Stolen or counterfeit goods worth over a hundred grand

thats shady!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Baile an Locha

I get my Poitín from a man with US Navy tatoos and broken english, he will only sell poitín to other Gaelgoiri. Not shady just kinda interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Fuzzy wrote: »
    original 3 things are too soft.

Anybody know anybody who can get them an assault rifle
    Have somebody killed :pac:
    Stolen or counterfeit goods worth over a hundred grand

thats shady!

My girlfriend currently has TV3 on!!! Can any1 pm me details of any1 who'll do a twin package on opt
    ion 2 here,Jedward must die!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭OhThePenguin

aDeener wrote: »
    "well boss, would ya like a drill?"

Are you sure it was stolen goods he was sellin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Burkatron wrote: »
    My girlfriend currently has TV3 on!!! Can any1 pm me details of any1 who'll do a twin package on opt
    ion 2 here,Jedward must die!!! :mad:[/QUOTE

Shes probably watching it because of Liam McKenna....like me:D