Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has Boards lost all credibility

• 31-08-2010 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

I see those two little wankbags 'Jedward' feature on the Pallas Karting advert at the bottom of the page.....dear God, is this what it's come to on Boards, is there not a blanket ban on here for those two guys (gays?) who are affectionately known as 'Thrush' :p:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

kfallon wrote: »
    I see those two little wankbags 'Jedward' feature on the Pallas Karting advert at the bottom of the page.....dear God, is this what it's come to on Boards, is there not a blanket ban on here for those two guys (gays?) who are affectionately known as 'Thrush' :p:D

money talks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

kfallon wrote: »

Is that how you think of them? Do they make you angry, yet slightly turned on at the same time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd still prefer "corporate ho" Boards to the horrible, cliquey one of old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

The joys of Adblock Plus means i don't need to look at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

whiteman19 wrote: »

That gets you a permanent ban on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Dudess wrote: »

While I like the idea of people actually earning from boards, I don't find it any less cliquey...Maybe new people able to join old cliques but essentially it hasn't changed.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Jedward are planks

so Boards....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

There are ads on the internet now?

(Lil firefox + Adblock joke there.........)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

No doubt Biggins will be along shortly to defend them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

It had credibility to begin with?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Is that how you think of them? Do they make you angry, yet slightly turned on at the same time?

Nope - how bout yourself? Thinking it must do seen as you've brought up (excuse the pun) all these 'symptoms'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I liked their first 3 posters...after that they sold out.

*does hipster scowl*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    While I like the idea of people actually earning from boards, I don't find it any less cliquey...Maybe new people able to join old cliques but essentially it hasn't changed.

There's cliques?

How do you join one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If it was horrible and cliquey, why'd you hang around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Jedward are good performers but they are seriously not good singers! They do annoy me though with their quirks. Surprised they advertise on boards?? Its not like they are 'on' it?! I don't bother looking at the ads. Just ignore them Mr Fallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

King Felix wrote: »
    There's cliques?

How do you join one?

You don't choose a clique; it chooses you!
    Earthhorse wrote: »

Part of the clique

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Boards has actually been steadily gaining credibility in the real world in the past few years. RTE did a primetime episode on it, they are frequently mentioned in the media.

It is becoming a part of everyday life for those who know about it. A good place to meet people with similar interests.

That said it is VERY cliquey, but all communities will do that anyway eventually. It really just shows how in tune with real life this place is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

ads?

There are still cliques of course, which is the natural order of things, but it's still a far more welcoming place.

Well there were still other aspects that I enjoyed, but I didn't like the "old guard", esoteric stuff.

People accuse mods now of being bullies and in cahoots with each other - Christ, ye really have no idea... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

better still, why don't you name the cliques?

Oh cool, can we have a prize for the best one.

My entry: Le clique, c'est chic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The least ye could for Boards is not adblock their ads. They don't ask you to pay to sign up but you should at least click on some of the ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm in one. With myself. If I could only thank my own posts...

tbh wrote: »
    better still, why don't you name the cliques?
    Oh don't be disingenuous - you know perfectly well what I'm talking about.

Faux puzzlement - yawn...

Boards "old guard" - many not nice, my opinion. Deal avec it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

WindSock wrote: »
    I'm in one. With myself. If I could only thank my own posts...

Is The Mighty Boosh forum that dead these days?
    :cool:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You prefer the boards where you're part of the clique to the one where you weren't? Normal enough :pac:

'Cliques'r'us'.

I'm not part of any clique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

FREAK OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I cant see the problem with Jedward if you had your chance at making tons of money at their age and living the famous life by acting the goat you would do it too

People should just get off their backs, live and let live and all that

I say fair play to the 2 of them

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Is The Mighty Boosh forum that dead these days?
    :cool:

:(

It's a retirement forum.

BluesBerry wrote: »
    I cant see the problem with Jedward if you had your chance at making tons of money at their age and living the famous life by acting the goat you would do it too

People are still allowed say they're exceptionally shyte though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yes you are - the 'not part of any clique' clique. They're the most scornful of all.

The least ye could for Boards is not adblock their ads. They don't ask you to pay to sign up but you should at least click on some of the ads.

You weren't here in the old days man. If you think the clicks are bad now...

Pffft! What kind of a name is that for a clique?

BluesBerry wrote: »

Yeah all this Jedward hating is seriously grating. I only watched them for the first time last night. They are young and having a bit of craic. I admire their enthusiasm. Bet they are getting plenty of muff too, fair play to them.

I can't stand the fans though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Yeah all this Jedward hating is seriously grating. I only watched them for the first time last night. They are young and having a bit of craic. I admire their enthusiasm. Bet they are getting plenty of dick too, fair play to them.

FYP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The credibility (or lack of) of boards doesn't affect my ability to read and discuss a wide range of issues, make/read lame puns, cog information on diverse topics from people who are more intelligent and well-informed than me, and chat with friends so I don't care.

I'm alright Jack. :)

And if i wanted to raise the issue of credibility, it would possibly be in a deeper sense than getting the hump about random pop-star adverts. Even profoundly spooky gimps like Jedward.

Dean09 wrote: »
    FYP ;)

Probably that too/instead :pac:

Yeah all this Jedward hating is seriously grating. I only watched them for the first time last night. They are young and having a bit of craic. I admire their enthusiasm. Bet they are getting plenty of muff too, fair play to them.

A mate of mine is a manager of a hotel in Temple Bar, where he kicked them out for trying to sneak in to see Lady Gaga, before they were famous.

He looks after them when they stay there now and he was telling me a few weeks back about how a girl from a shop across the road saw him with them, came across and asked my friend to introduce them, which he did. She said her young niece was a huge fan whereupon one of the two took her phone and proceeded to chat with the niece for about half an hour.

Nice thing to do, I thought. Good luck to them as well, I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Oh don't be disingenuous - you know perfectly well what I'm talking about.

Faux puzzlement - yawn...

Boards "old guard" - many not nice, my opinion. Deal avec it.

"Old Guard"? Dev? Vex? Thaed? Beruthial? MOI???!?!?

I'm not being disingenuous. You were the one who made the effort to have a pop at the mean people. If you want to be all vague and mysterious, that's up to you. best advice would be to put up, or shut up. Playing the martyr doesn't suit ya ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

What is the problem with Jedward? They are just two kids who are basically taking the complete piss out of the whole pop culture realm. It isn't Jedward's fault that people are so lacking in discernment that they buy their records or enjoy whatever it is they do. If the Jedward phenomenon really irritates you, I think your beef is with the public who supported them, and continue to do so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

alwaysadub wrote: »
    No doubt Biggins will be along shortly to defend them :D
    :p

Go Jedward... to the bank laughing! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

whiteman19 wrote: »

just installed it

merci mon ami:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Boards has actually been steadily gaining credibility in the real world in the past few years. RTE did a primetime episode on it, they are frequently mentioned in the media.

It is becoming a part of everyday life for those who know about it. A good place to meet people with similar interests.

That said it is VERY cliquey, but all communities will do that anyway eventually. It really just shows how in tune with real life this place is.

If boards is in tune with real life, then maybe I should reconsider my optimism for humanity.. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I get my news from RTE.ie, the most credible site for all the important news stories.

Here's a cutting from November 2009.
    Taoiseach Brian Cowen has given his backing to Irish 'X Factor' contestants John and Edward Grimes.

As he was marking the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, Mr Cowen said: "I wish the twins all the best and I hope they go all the way."

When asked about the Grimes brothers last week on a radio show, British Prime Minister Gordon Brown said: "I don't think they're very good."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I get my news from RTE.ie, the most credible site for all the important news stories.

Here's a cutting from November 2009.

Britain - they get rid of the sod
    Ireland - we still allow Cowen (and co) to continue!

Somethings never change in Ireland. We gripe about the two boys taking the pee of out an artificial music business and making money while they are at it - yet the (lot more in number) bigger goons are allowed stay and rape money from out very pockets without permission.

Perspective - its all about perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

She said her young niece was a huge fan whereupon one of the two took her phone and proceeded to chat with the niece for about half an hour.

Can I presume correctly that the human troll-doll paid for the 30min call? :mad:

I have nothing against the two little freaks other than they are they are the constant reminder that we live in a culture that has been conned into celebrating mediocrity and is that is controlled by the promise of unattainable aspirations.

bonerm wrote: »
    Can I presume correctly that the human troll-doll paid for the 30min call? :mad:
    I presume so. They gave her some signed memorabilia, so maybe the kid was chuffed enough to make the cost of the call worth it.
    I have nothing against the two little freaks other than they are they are the constant reminder that we live in a culture that has been conned into celebrating mediocrity and is controlled by the promise of unattainable aspirations.

The two freaks seem like nice enough people in interviews. My friend, the manager, said that's exactly what they're like irl.

Tune out if you don't like the culture. Who forces you to watch Jedward? I can only assume you have kids.

I've only seen their songs once or twice. It seems like something aimed at young children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

A mate of mine is a manager of a hotel in Temple Bar, where he kicked them out for trying to sneak in to see Lady Gaga, before they were famous.

He looks after them when they stay there now and he was telling me a few weeks back about how a girl from a shop across the road saw him with them, came across and asked my friend to introduce them, which he did. She said her young niece was a huge fan whereupon one of the two took her phone and proceeded to chat with the niece for about half an hour.

Nice thing to do, I thought. Good luck to them as well, I say.

They did something similar on the radio for a girl who had been turned away from one of their record signings because so many turned up, even sang one of their songs with her. Class acts really.

Jedward - A great bunch of lads.

tbh wrote: »
    "Old Guard"? Dev? Vex? Thaed? Beruthial? MOI???!?!?
    No, although I haven't particularly gotten on with most of ye. :pac:
    However no, not who I'm referring to.

But criticism of the way things were is allowed - it's better than nauseating sycophancy (a too oft feature before, not so much now). And I regularly defend moderators/admins on Feedback so I'm coming from both sides - I get irked by the non stop whingeing and paranoia re mods too.

I can understand defensiveness, but criticism doesn't just come out of the air either.
    I'm not being disingenuous. You were the one who made the effort to have a pop at the mean people. If you want to be all vague and mysterious, that's up to you. best advice would be to put up, or shut up. Playing the martyr doesn't suit ya ;)
    Well I don't have to put up, as most are either gone or rarely posting anymore. I think you are being disingenuous by saying to name names, as that would surely be deemed personal by the mods here? I was just referring to a "culture" moreso anyway which Boards had going on, and it's not as prevalent now - and I personally find that preferable.