Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sister in-law lies, bullies and is devious

• 30-08-2010 2:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

My brother had testicular cancer years ago but is fine now, but I think it has affected his confidence with women. He married an English girl a couple of months ago. Her well off dad would not pay for the wedding and my heavily indebted brother had to. Then the wedding was held in an expensive English manor. My dad who is ill was not put on the seating plan for the top table , nor was my sister. My sister in-law is really awkward. All my family see through my sister in-law.

In late 2006, I called to my brother to tell him that his recently purchased house was built in a flood plain and would get cracks/subsidance which I knew as I knew builders who told me this and that the housing market was going to collapse. I didn't know he was living with the english girl. She called the guards on me when I was just trying to talk to my brother (not her)about the £225,000 house that he was struggling to pay for. I was right about this. Eventually, after 18 months they sold the house.

She moved back to the UK after they broke up. She got my brothers work colleagues wife to move my brother's stuff into a van. Then, she drove all my brothers stuff to the UK, leaving the blame if my brother went to the gardai for the theft with my brothers colleagues wife. Despite all this, they got married.

I have avoided her ever since. I don't want to visit her and felt she was making me look bad in front of the gardai. I don't want to visit her anyway. I never liked or trusted her and feel she is a bully. Recently, they moved down the road from me. She often sits outside my front door in my drive waiting for my brother to finish farm work. Last week, she went to the guards and said she wanted to complain about me in case I ever visited them. She is making me look bad with the gardai. I just keep away from her.Apart from this what should I do?

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

realistically, there is nothing you can do. she is his legal wife now and next of kin if anything ever happened to him, you and your family no longer have a say, whether its his assets, or even something like medical care if he is incapacated.

gardai will see the situation logically - as in:

her: i want to make a complaint about my sister-in-law
    Garda: grand, what has she done?
    her: err, nothing...:confused:

gardai wont think you 'look bad' unless they have evidence to prove this. its their job to deal with facts, not speculation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey OP,

That is a nasty situation to watch someone you love be in, your poor brother!!! From what you're saying she's completely nuts and dangerous, so you are right to completely disengage from her, that's all you can do when someone is so toxic. Don't worry about the gardai she's actually doing the opposite, she's making herself look nuts, Gardai can see through people's crap a mile away they'll know that she's talking ****e so leave her to it. All you can do with someone like that is sit back and watch them destroy their lives as they inevitabley do. Just say nothing, do nothing and be ready to get your brother away from her and into counselling when he eventually cops on enough to get away from her.

You have my sympathy, it's a ****ty situation to be in, all you can really do is stay classy, i.e. don't be drawn into their ****e and don't gossip, just stay out of it as much as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Don't worry about the Guards. My dad was a guard for 30 years and he can tell you lots of stories about nutjobs like these, constantly calling in to the garda office to complain about people. They're a bit like the unstable people that harass their local TD every time he comes to his constituency office, trying to get him to build a wall in some village somewhere.

In short, don't worry about the effect she will have on the guards. Women like these are the cause of their own destruction.