Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women upto dodgey antics on the course.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Women golfers?

1282956136887.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Smyth wrote: »
    Women golfers?
    1282956136887.png
    Hiya Smyth, not really sure what your post is supposed to insinuate but if you'd like to play a scratch match against me (a woman!!!) off the back sticks on any course in Ireland I'd be more than happy to wipe the smile off your face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Par72 wrote: »
    Hiya Smyth, not really sure what your post is supposed to insinuate but if you'd like to play a scratch match against me (a woman!!!) off the back sticks on any course in Ireland I'd be more than happy to wipe the smile off your face!

Fair play to you ?

Let's get it on........

Only if you look like this

Natalie-Gulbis.jpg

Aw didn't think you'd be up for it. Your poor little ego wouldn't be able to handle getting hockeyed by a woman. . All mouth and no trousers like most chauvanists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Or... you could say... all hypersensitive and no sense of humour like most lesbians feminists.

but i would never say anything like that... being all mouth and no trousers myself

;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Sounds like Par72 is the exception, and not the rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

It looks to me like Par72 needs to post a pic of herself so that we can ascertain if Smyth is indeed committed to playing the match.

This thread has so much promise.

You're very uptight, paranoid, and overly defensive par72.

Of course it was in jest. I'm sure there's good female golfers out there too. Unfortunately the majority of them are as slow as a wet week. If you think this isn't the case, I challenge YOU to spend a day on my course to see how true that statement really is.

So loosen your skirt, relax, and make a sandwhich or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

There's going to be no winners here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Jacket111001

I agree no winners and some of you are out of order.

Would you give it up and stop acting like a shower of bullies.

You're very uptight, paranoid, and overly defensive par72.

Of course it was in jest. I'm sure there's good female golfers out there too. Unfortunately the majority of them are as slow as a wet week. If you think this isn't the case, I challenge YOU to spend a day on my course to see how true that statement really is.

So loosen your skirt, relax, and make a sandwhich or something...

Au contraire mon frere! The slagging off of women on the forum just gets tedious at times. For the record, I have never been held up as much on the course as I have been by men, but that's just my experience. Maybe some of the women at your club are slow but not fair to label the majority of women golfers as being slow just because of them.

Anyway, shame you're not up for our match. How about if I give you five shots? You'd have to wear the skirt though ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

...Unfortunately the majority of them are as slow as a wet week. ...

Wednesday is ladies day at my club and a while back 3 of us were behind 2 ladies playing. While they were slow they hit nearly every single fairway and were never in a buker for the whole round!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I'm sure there's good female golfers out there too. Unfortunately the majority of them are as slow as a wet week. If you think this isn't the case, I challenge YOU to spend a day on my course to see how true that statement really is.
    Not sure about that .
    Lately I have found that if women golfers are directly behind me on the course they go like the clappers and are intent on pressurising me.
    However if they are directly ahead of me ,they saunter along and seem to take an eternity.
    A very odd phenomenon.
    In general though women play pretty quickly due to shorter holes and the simple fact that most of them never hit the ball over 180 yards so they hardly ever spend time looking for a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭NoelAPM

Yet to see a lady at my club becsuse its long and not easy if you cant hit big. On other courses however I find them to be very fast. Especially if there in a 3 ball. They dont hit it far but they'd put olimpic power walkers to shame. I presume they see it as an opportunity to get exercise.

Germans on the other hand, male ones... painfully slow, and don't let ya through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

It looks to me like Par72 needs to post a pic of herself so that we can ascertain if Smyth is indeed committed to playing the match.

This thread has so much promise.

This thread has little promise with comments like yours, wtf has a picture of Par72 got to do with anything.You should have gone back to school with the rest of the adolescents this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

ok enough of the generalisations and insults please and that goes to everyone.

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    This thread has little promise with comments like yours, wtf has a picture of Par72 got to do with anything.You should have gone back to school with the rest of the adolescents this week.

It was not a serious post, it was in the same vein as the posts that preceded it. Childish humour, you might call it. Read back and have a look if you're still confused. I finished school years ago, but thanks for the advice, I appreciate you taking the time to post it ;)

Anyhow, I'd have to concurr about lady golfers and them not being slow, or at last that is my experience. They rattle along at our club, they are always quick. Saturday competitions are mainly played by men, and they are outrageously slow, but the ladies that do play in them are always putting pressure on those in front, never lagging behind.

As regards slow play, my own observation has been that male junior golfers swanning around in all the colourful kit are terribly slow - several practise swings, an eternity to run their routine and then settle over the ball, and then practise swings having hit the thing, and of course the slow cool wander off up the fairway. When I was a lad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

It was not a serious post, it was in the same vein as the posts that preceded it

dig.png
    Read back and have a look if you're still confused. I finished school years ago, but thanks for the advice

I'm neither confused or offering you advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

ok.... hauld on.... slow golfers come in all shapes, sizes, age, sex and race.

... and any opinion that uses a generalization in its argument is undermining its own validity by doing so.

so saying germans / women / men / junior / colorful / whatever... is a pile of dung.

Au contraire mon frere! The slagging off of women on the forum just gets tedious at times. For the record, I have never been held up as much on the course as I have been by men, but that's just my experience. Maybe some of the women at your club are slow but not fair to label the majority of women golfers as being slow just because of them.

Anyway, shame you're not up for our match. How about if I give you five shots? You'd have to wear the skirt though ;)

Of course it's not fair. It wouldn't be fair if I was being in anyway serious. I was obviously playing off a well known stereotype. A jest, a joke, a jibe at the women. If you think that's sort of pish taking is bad, you really wouldn't want to play with me at all.

Hey :D, for someone who's all about their equality on the course, how about we play off our respective handicaps. I've been playing since february, and i'm still off 18. I'd be more than happy to have you down. Not only for the social aspect, but merely because I've never seen a woman drive a ball further than 100 yards :P:P:P:P

Of course it's not fair. It wouldn't be fair if I was being in anyway serious. I was obviously playing off a well known stereotype. A jest, a joke, a jibe at the women. If you think that's sort of pish taking is bad, you really wouldn't want to play with me at all.

Hey :D, for someone who's all about their equality on the course, how about we play off our respective handicaps. I've been playing since february, and i'm still off 18. I'd be more than happy to have you down. Not only for the social aspect, but merely because I've never seen a woman drive a ball further than 100 yards :P:P:P:P

Would you still be willing to wear the skirt though? Sure I only hit it about 90yrds off the tee but I have a hell of a short game. :p

I'm not gonna lie. I do have the legs to pull that off.

I heard a good one at the weekend, when one of the lads arrived to play in shorts, displaying pretty skinny legs that were pretty (alabaster white if truth be told), someone remarked that he had brought his out of bounds stakes with him.