Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A couple of unexpected visitors

• 28-08-2010 11:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

I went out tonight to check whether my lamp modification cured the slight light feedback being reflected from the mod into the scope. I took an 18cm plant pot, cut most of it away only leaving a lip out over the scope, the shadow of which covers pretty much all of the T8. Seemed to work fine.

Thought since I was out I'd take a short walk up the path and out onto the hill. As soon as I'd reached the gate leading out to the hill proper I saw a fox look and turn away from me ambling out the old path.

I quietly, and slowly :rolleyes: unlatched the gate, got through and closed it up again. One of those affairs that has never hung right and never will be hung right. I moved off up the path a piece and went left up onto a hillock. As I thought my fox had gone up along the wall and through a gate into a neighbours cattle field.

I sat my ass down on the hillock waiting for the damp to soak through, was I ever glad it'd been a dry day. Spying my fox halted among some creeping gorse I rested the rifle on my knees and squeezed off a H.... Federal 40 grain.

Now I've seen muzzle loaders and cannons from hundreds of years ago fired on YouTube with less smoke. I had forgotten about the WD40 being sprayed into the mod after my last run out. All I could see was blue and grey smoke, but after the Psssshhhttt I heard that Thwok! so I knew all was good. Dog fox, range under 50 yards.

Seeing as I was already out I decided to head for a place on the side of the hill which has yielded results before. The rabbit squeal was on all of thirty seconds when I spotted a pair of eyes bouncing in around a rock face really close to me :eek:

No time to clip the scope to the lamp I sat down, held the lamp in my left hand and rested the rifle across my left forearm. Lining this lot up is trickier than when using a shotgun :rolleyes: He stopped for a look up at me, Pssshhhtttt-Thwok! Another dog fox well under 50 yards.

Not bad considering I wasn't even going to take the bolt or the three Federal rounds with me. I only had the camera phone with me.

Fox5and6abverobnsdogs50ishyards.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

veriminator strikes again,foxecution is the only solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

The Recrown seems to be paying Dividends :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

I had trouble with reflection from my new moderator at first. Got a moderator cover -camo but this made it worse. In the end it was solved with a old black sock! Perfect ever since.
    This might be easier to use than the cover piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Yep an old black sock for me too...:D

Keep them com'n John, as usual well worth a read.

Fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I have heard Clivej talk about the black sock as well. It's on my list of items to try :) I just didn't have one to hand last night. Total fluke getting those two last night, hmmming and hawing about bolts, old habits die hard. Recrown wouldn't make much difference at that range, but the screw cut & mod certainly did. No ringing ears, no ferocious bang wondering has anyone heard that and if they have are they doing anything about it?! Luxury.

I'm wondering about the mod cover. I got one ages ago - never got the mod - and I figure it'd just make the mod thicker which would only add to the problem. Do ye lads using the socks have them coming back the barrel a bit as well as over the mod or what's the craic there?

My plant pot isn't perfect as when I'm using it handheld there's quite a bit of reflection from the lip up towards me. Going to try the fully pot with the bottom cut out for the craic, always wanted to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

I used a roll of that camo tape, it sticks only to itself so won't leave any residue on the mod and can be easily removed and reapplied! It will sort out the glare too without making the mod any thicker like the cover would!

Thanks Pat, I'd kinda like to keep away from tape, I'm paranoid enough about rust forming on the T8 so I want to be able to see as much of it as possible ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭mac80

The "Camo Form" wrap is made of some kind of self clinging material and as Pat said it sticks to itelf ( Like velcro only better ) It takes seconds to put on and take off and is re usable and washable. Can be got from Ebay for about €12 or about €23 in your local shop :eek:

Great for protecting the stock also.

Mac

johngalway wrote: »
    Thanks Pat, I'd kinda like to keep away from tape, I'm paranoid enough about rust forming on the T8 so I want to be able to see as much of it as possible ;)

As mac said it can be taken off and reapplied in seconds! My mod is stainless so I don't have to worry bout it.
    I also have it wrapped around the butt of the rifle to cover my homemade cheek riser :D

Must put up pics of the cheek riser when I get the chance.

Ah sorry lads, I picked ye up wrong on the tape so :)

No worries! Can't go wrong with a tenner tho! :)

No the sock just covers the mod, maybe 1/2 inch. Further back no more. Defo put on the mod cover in any event as I reckon it deadens the sound a bit more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Aye, there's a tinny ring from the mod without a cover. Need to get something to cover it up myself, if I'm going to keep using it.

Obviously I haven't got much experience with my own T8 as yet, but I don't find the ring to be an issue. Or maybe I'm deafer than I thought :D Possibly something that will come with time using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Obviously I haven't got much experience with my own T8 as yet, but I don't find the ring to be an issue. Or maybe I'm deafer than I thought :D Possibly something that will come with time using it.

It's not an issue as such, but it's definitely something that can be nicely muffled with a cover, keeps it a wee bit quieter even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I've loads of Black socks :D
    I must try this out.

I only find the tin can sound on the Reflex, as I believe the shape is what causes this.

The ASE S7 does not have a thin can sound, but at over 100 quid in the difference of price would account for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

John's place seems to be some sort of Mecca for foxes with a death wish:D

On the T8 you can get a ringing but as enough shots go through it, the unburnt powder and carbon and what ever else might come out of the end of your muzzle, lines or coats the inside of the mod and the ringing goes away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Birdnuts wrote: »
    John's place seems to be some sort of Mecca for foxes with a death wish:D
    Wish I could say the same, one look at the lamp and they are gone for dust up here :mad:

homerhop wrote: »
    Wish I could say the same, one look at the lamp and they are gone for dust up here :mad:

Getting like that here too.

Over heard two lads talking at a match the other day about how good express no.1's are on foxes at 150 yards.

Gob...es!!!

Fish

There are, or should be, a lot of this years cubs on the move. I don't get many foxes compared to other people. I just go places where other people won't. Anyway, the majority of foxes at this time of year are slightly on the dim side so it's not rocket science picking off a few.

Lamp shy foxes are a challenge. Look for their regular paths, set up on or near them and patience will eventually pay off. Usually on a manky dark hailstoney stormy night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

There is one at the back of the house for the last 2 years, can see where she crosses a ditch but dont want to snare it. Tried different filter lenses and callers all to no avail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

John I first used a black sock over the mod and it came back until the toe of the sock was against he front of the mod. I was thinking I´d shoot a hole in the sock with the first round. All was well and down went old foxy but it was onlt after retrieving the fox and on the way back to the 4x4 that I found the sock. It had been shot off the the mod about 20y and a good hole was now in it. So the morrel is to tape up the socks end thats over the barrel.

I now have caom tape on the mod and theres no reflection but remember to cover the end of the mod that looks back at the lamp ´cos thats what the lamp mainly reflects back off.

Oh ya and good shooting again John, I must get out again when I´m back of the hols. Heat wave here:p

alternatively put the hole in the sock to start with and you wont need the tape :P