Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50 degree vs 40 degree

• 28-08-2010 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭

olrite lads,
    we all know the benifits of the guarder 50degree hop up rubber for our fps limit but has anyone got any info on the 40degree ones i see on that new site sgairsoft in fairview.
    id be under the impression that these would give even less resistance than the guarder to the bb leaving the barrell and hence more fps/range

edit: ive just seen the guarder is silica gel and the other is rubber.any idea if that would make much of a difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MonkeyGuy

Well I don't know them indivually, but generally softer gives a better grip and silicone wears down quicker than rubber. Hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

glicster wrote: »
    olrite lads,
    we all know the benifits of the guarder 50degree hop up rubber for our fps limit but has anyone got any info on the 40degree ones i see on that new site sgairsoft in fairview.
    id be under the impression that these would give even less resistance than the guarder to the bb leaving the barrell and hence more fps/range

edit: ive just seen the guarder is silica gel and the other is rubber.any idea if that would make much of a difference?
    Common Misnomer.

FPS does not equal range. :) HOPUP, Equals range, barrel tightness equals range. The less grip a hopup has, the less hop is um, upped. :P the difference, between the 40 and 50 degree hop rubbers is stiffness

The softer the rubber, the more grip is applied when the bb passes, thus, at 330 fps/1j, the 40 should grip more, and thus provide more hopup for less adjustment. Harder hop rubbers are designed for high fps guns to impart hopup on a faster moving bb.

As for material, little difference, marketing jargon largely, show the customer a big word, and they think its special.

that help? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Firekitten wrote: »
    Common Misnomer.

FPS does not equal range. :) HOPUP, Equals range, barrel tightness equals range. The less grip a hopup has, the less hop is um, upped. :P the difference, between the 40 and 50 degree hop rubbers is stiffness

The softer the rubber, the more grip is applied when the bb passes, thus, at 330 fps/1j, the 40 should grip more, and thus provide more hopup for less adjustment. Harder hop rubbers are designed for high fps guns to impart hopup on a faster moving bb.

As for material, little difference, marketing jargon largely, show the customer a big word, and they think its special.

that help? :)

OMG your back!!
    Or did we go back in time?
    Welcome back.

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Or did we go back in time?
    Michael J Fox, you are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭glicster

FPS does not equal range. HOPUP, Equals range, barrel tightness equals range. The less grip a hopup has, the less hop is um, upped. the difference, between the 40 and 50 degree hop rubbers is stiffness

why do we chrono with hop off? this lowers fps
    im under the impression that a softer rubber would give way quicker to a passing bb and offer less resistance,keeping fps up but still applying enough hop to have the desired effect thus allowing the bb to have more forward momentum and give more range.
    i get better accuracy from a tighter barrell but cant notice too much differance in range

Ok, you made a topic asking how this works. I offered you the explanation.

you come back with what you belive, at first, i thought you were another poster, not the op.

We chrono with the hop off because it does indeed lower fps, slightly. However, the drop is negligible, and the gain from less hopup is irelevant to performance in the field.

No, it isnt providing the same hop with less 'grip'

hopup is applied by 'grip'

the softer rubber is specialised to grip better, to a a slower moving bb without impeding its forward momentum too much, its not necessarily allowing it to go faster than the 50, it simply gives you more 'adjustment range' on your hopup 'dial, lever, slider, whatever'

As I said above, FPS has next to no effect on range, unless you say... drop 100 or add 100, Range is improved by barrel tightness and hopup. the endless struggle for that elusive 1 or 2 fps that brings you to your 'sweet' 328 on the metric dot, is useless, trust me babe.

im just curious all the same tho.
    i have mucked about in my house with higher powered springs to see what was the outcome and sure enough the range increased massively.thats why id think more fps would give better range.

i didint say,i believe,i said id be under the impression,theres a difference.
    and being under the impression says im open to other points of view which will help me further understand the workings of hop up.
    but anyway, yes i agree with the drop or add 100.i only added maybe 50 and noticed the difference.

If i were you id delete the top 3 lines of your post NOW, for your sake.

whats wrong with being curious. my aegs are not over powered so ive nothing to be worried about,and ive never gone out playing with an over powered aeg and never will.
    im extremely interested in how it all works and opening my gb over and over again to see what is happening with repeated use.
    as is what im trying to discover about hop ups.
    and if you must know your posts are helping darling;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

of all the people i have talked to on sites,that go abroad to play games
    agianst higher fps guns most dont mess with their guns.
    they just have a good soft hop and tightbore barrel,
    and they match guys with higher fps,this is from what i have been told
    and i belive them,some of the guys i havetalked to are gun techs workin
    in shops here.just have a look at older posts here and you will
    find out for yourself.and most said the best thing you can do
    to a new gun is put a soft hop rubber in it for range

deco ive had a look about and seen what people are saying but im one of those guys that has to see it for myself

oh ye,im not trying to get massive range coz this will only take from my learning of tactics.i just like working on my aeg

one, darling? *rolls eyes*

two, *sigh* ill put this simply, you just admited to upgrading guns beyond the legal limit for ownership, nevermind playing.

Grand, it was for investigation's sake, but the gardi will have you investigating the inside of an 8 x 8.

look, im saying this for your sake hon, id just remove the mention, gardi read this site... it is illegal for whatever reason. I do agree though, perhaps 100 was an exaduration, but it was my point, 'significant' increase, rather than the seemingly popular hunt for one or two fps more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

glicster wrote: »
    whats wrong with being curious. my aegs are not over powered so ive nothing to be worried about,and ive never gone out playing with an over powered aeg and never will.
    im extremely interested in how it all works and opening my gb over and over again to see what is happening with repeated use.
    as is what im trying to discover about hop ups.
    and if you must know your posts are helping darling;)

unfortunately the forum charter is very clear on the matter im afraid
    * There will be no discussion of airsoft greater than 1 joule.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054977747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Taken from the charter
    There will be no discussion of airsoft greater than 1 joule.

- There will be no discussion on the importation or upgrade of airsoft to over 1 joule.
    - If you are posting from a country which has different laws concerning airsoft, you are still subject to this rule as boards.ie is an Irish website.
    Offenders will be either warned or banned. Dependant on the severity
    I'll leave that as a stark verbal warning to all.

fair enough pudding,i mentiond id done it without thinking.

@kitten,i play with these aegs,payed good money for them so i wouldnt put myself at the risk of having them taken off me so there all within the law.

andy_g wrote: »
    Taken from the charter

I'll leave that as a stark verbal warning to all.

lads ive got the answers ive been looking for (thanks kitten) so can we put this to bed