Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dear God !! Good news in a newspaper about airsoft !!!

• 27-08-2010 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭

So ladies and gents ,
    Please get your hands on a copy of the ''Swords Gazette*'' !
    Four , yes four pages all about Airsoft !
    (sorry I don't have a scanner :( )
    check it out !!

David

*paper dated August29, 2010 (pages 19-22)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Could you give us a rough idea what its about? Don't live in Swords :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

swiftblade wrote: »
    Could you give us a rough idea what its about? Don't live in Swords :p

Everthing ..... IAA,Shops ,Sites
    How nice we all are !!!! ''...interact with some of the friendliest and sociable people in any sport . ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

What the airsoft community friendly?!!
    We use aeg's to shoot bb's at each other. dave what have you been smoking or drinking :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

If anyone can scan/upload now said stuff is in public domain
    I'd love to give the article an ol read!

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭AUDIE MURPHY

the Gazette paper can be picked up in most places in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭deepimpact

It's unfortunate these articles never describe the complete experience of airsoft. That is, the actual shooting each other part, and the "bitching on Boards" part...

Seriously, well done to all those involved.

andy_g wrote: »
    dave what have you been smoking or drinking :P

27082010540.jpg
    :D:D:D:D:D
    (€16 for 24 JC'S swords )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

now take a photo of the paper an post it:p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Swiftblade, I'll take a copy of the Gazette to Salute tomorrow for you!

Leftyflip wrote: »

Thanks dude! :D

Leftyflip wrote: »

Will drop some at the IAA tent !

whydave wrote: »
    Will drop some at the IAA tent !

Good idea. Or even a few photocopies so people (not airsofters :p ) could take them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

i concurr. i got the gazette too and its an excellent article. 4 pages of airsoft. really promotes it very well. looks like the work of the IAA? whoever had a hand in it - well done, its great stuff and keep up the hard work please. with articles as good as that, it can only be good for our 'beautiful game'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

For those who can't wait for tomorrow...

BF546D5488A240A3AA3BC63640E531C1-0000328750-0001878009-01600L-D7397E9B3FE24B96943A1FA8C7925BD7.jpg

201EB674A8214916BB7CC3129DE25CA4-0000328750-0001878008-01200L-6E1034774D60442CA0492D212D6B707A.jpg

B30547011E6B441395AD1BFA8A810B89-0000328750-0001878007-01200L-BC31AC822A82404EADADD69E323D2A53.jpg

9D233DED554A4D2EBD89E57177EB5C04-0000328750-0001878006-01200L-88A077770BC644F3B5B83002998D478E.jpg

My apologies to dial-up users. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

We (the IAA) were asked again by the gazette to produce an article about airsoft due to the success of last years article. This years article is similar to last years, but also focuses on college airsoft and the Filipino aisoft scene here in Ireland with a nice picture montage covering the warlord event held in The Red Barn earlier in the summer.
    We have a limited number of issues to hand out at our info tent at salute (approx 200) but we are hoping for more to be delivered.
    For those outside Dublin, we hope to have some more copies available next week and we will gladly send them to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

I see they've re-hashed all those epic pics of me again! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

whydave wrote: »
    ''...interact with some of the friendliest and sociable people in any sport . ''

I hope to God they never come out West for a story.

*leers menacingly*

Just read the article and it's brilliant!! Whoever did the piece should be given a year's free play for them and their kids (?) at the site or sites of their choice if you ask me. They did a huge service to airsoft when most news stories these days are nothing but doom and gloom. Fair play to the Gazette and everyone involved with the piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

Bucklesman wrote: »
    For those who can't wait for tomorrow...

<Snip>

My apologies to dial-up users. :P

Thanks very much. For once a nice thing said about airsoft. It was nice to see someone from the media point out that these were Toys, not deadly weopos, and that they had safe power limits in the same sentence.

Bucklesman, you seem to have uploaded the same page 4 times;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭killerhitman

J.D.R wrote: »
    thought that was just me who noticed that still a great story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

That's really great. Getting the word out about airsoft in the correct manner.

But, why "Dublin's fastest growing sport", not the country's fastest...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

I see they've re-hashed all those epic pics of me again! :cool:

You, me and Oz on the front page as the faces of Airsoft. Nice:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

J.D.R wrote: »

Balls, so I have. :mad:

I'll edit that now...

Here's a linky to the album in case people want a higher res.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Cheers for posting pics,

Pair play to the lads from the IAA for this. NIce to see somebody getting it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    You, me and Oz on the front page as the faces of Airsoft. Nice:D

I think it's great: all the kids that play airsoft and they use pictures of three oulfellas!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭BioHazRd

SgtBob wrote: »

The gazette is a Dublin publication and it's target audience is primarily Dublin. If anyone knows any other publications around the country who would want to do a similar article we would be glad to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Thats a fantastic article! thanks for the upload!

Fantastic 4 pages that could be handed to anyone to
    promote the sport. The Airsoft advertisements for the Irish
    Business enhanced the article by highlighting the fact
    that there are actual shops/business out there earning a living from the existance of the hobby/sport here in Ireland.

Imagine seeing all the airsoft related business across all
    of Ireland listed on a page! I reckon it would look pretty
    impressive! :)

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Great to see!

Rob and the lads out at the Gazette are true gentlemen, this is actually the 3rd large and prominent multi-page airsoft feature they've run, top quality as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

congratulations to all involved its a great achievement very positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭ricka

Thanks to the lads in the IAA for organising this again.
    It's probably the best possible method of geting new blood into the sport.
    Last year was a huge success for us after advertising in it.
    I expect this year will be no different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭SgtBob

BioHazRd wrote: »
    The gazette is a Dublin publication and it's target audience is primarily Dublin. If anyone knows any other publications around the country who would want to do a similar article we would be glad to get involved.

OK, that sounds fair to me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭The_ChiefDUB

Well done the IAA and the Swords Gazette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭SG AIRSOFT

well done!!!!!!
    Great news!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

SgtBob wrote: »

Guess ya can't win em all. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Ironman Collie

Saw this in the Southside Gazette, absolutely delighted when I saw it. Nothing but good news for our sport, this is what we need to promote, to show people that we are not "g*n" weilding maniacs but sportspeople, hobbiests, and dare I say it: nice guys and gals!.

I have always had (in over two years gaming) great craic out gaming, and have meet some damn nice people who are always willing to help out and give advice to the young'ins, who we should all support and help when we can.

I would hate to see anything bad happen to the sport and that is why we need as much positive output like this as possible.

Stellar work and thanks to all involved, please keep it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Great to see!

Rob and the lads out at the Gazette are true gentlemen, this is actually the 3rd large and prominent multi-page airsoft feature they've run, top quality as always.

Some well written stuff in there buy our own favorite troll Gerrowadat :D