Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lyric fm's Breakfast show presenter - Marty Whelan.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

non-classical music and no blather ? Arent there plenty of stations offering just that ?

Yes, and I wish Marty would feck off to one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Expunge

Well, there was the Vivaldi for the classical people. And a case can be made from the Borodin as well.
    But, no, the rest is not. But where does it say on the tin that he should play classical music? If your expectation is wrong at the outset, then its no surprise if you are going to be disappointed.

Well, Hugo, it says on the RTE report in the 'What we do' section, available from the RTE website that Lyric FM is "a unique alternative listening choice for an audience of classical, world music and arts lovers".

Of course I'm dissappointed and enraged, because I help pay for what is described above and when I turn it on in the morning, it's not there. It has been replaced with something more offensive to my ears - but i'm still paying for it.

Based on this alone, it would seem that RTE are a shower of lying, thieving c**ts.

Edit: already pointed out by Zubeneschamli

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭DownBeaten

You don't have to go to the UK or Finland to find a decent playlist.

Straight after the MITM crap you'll get this. Below is Niall Carrol's programme playlist last Tuesday (day picked at random):

Danse - Tempo Di Mazurka (Act 2) Duration 0:01:38 Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich
    Gaite Parisienne - Valse Lente Duration 0:03:27 Offenbach, Jacques
    Ave Verum Corpus (Mozart) Duration 0:04:04 Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
    Warsaw Concerto Duration 0:09:17 Addinsell, Richard
    Concerto Rv 171 In Do Maggiore Per S.M.C.C (Ii) Largo Duration 0:02:13 Vivaldi, Antonio
    Scheherazade - Iii. The Young Prince And The Young Princess Duration 0:09:03 Rimsky Korsakov, Nikolay
    Minuet From String Quintet Op13/5 Duration 0:03:59 Boccherini, Luigi
    Morning, From Peer Gynt Suite No.1 Duration 0:04:19 Grieg, Edvard
    Symphony In D (4th Movement) Allegro Assai Duration 0:03:51 Clementi, Muzio
    Pavane Pour Une Infante D?Funte Duration 0:07:56 Ravel, Maurice
    The Tula Accordian Duration 0:03:00 Trad Arr/ Afanasiev, Vadim
    Suite No.3 In G Major "Water Music" (2nd Movement) Rigaudon - Ri Duration 0:03:27 Handel, George Frideric
    Violin Concerto In D Major Op77 (2nd Movement) Adagio Duration 0:09:09 Brahms, Johannes
    Canzon Duodecimi Toni, No. 3 A 10 Duration 0:02:50 Gabrieli, Giovanni
    Montagues And Capulets Duration 0:05:07 Prokofiev, Sergei
    Ballabile Duration 0:04:44 Verdi, Giuseppe
    Barcarole Duration 0:04:22 Mertz, Johann Kaspar
    Piano Concerto In D Major Duration 0:14:31 Beethoven, Ludwig Van
    Passing By (There Is A Lady Sweet And Kind) Duration 0:03:26 Traditional English
    Serenata Espanola Duration 0:05:19 Rodrigo, Joaquin
    Io Sono Docile Duration 0:04:08 Rossini, Gioachino
    The Bells Op.35 (1st Movement) Allegro, Ma Non Tanto Duration 0:06:56 Rachmaninov, Sergei
    Tango Habanera Youkali (Tr Garlej) Duration 0:05:27 Weill, Kurt
    Rosemary And Thyme - Caprice For Gtr And Orch Duration 0:04:19 Gunning, Christopher
    Pomp And Circumstance March No.4 Duration 0:05:35 Elgar, Edward
    Violin Concerto No.1 In G Minor (1st Movement) Duration 0:09:06 Bruch, Max
    Alleljua Duration 0:02:58 Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
    Appalachian Morning Duration 0:04:40 Halley, Paul

No Sting. No Bono. No banter. A mix of popular classics with lesser known works, nice relaxing music, ideal for the car or the office.

Why, oh why do RTE management give Whelan the carte blanche to act the eejit every weekday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭Yvonne23R

Expunge wrote: »
    And now this morning's playlist (6-9 am) for Classic FM, the biggest commercial station in the UK.
    11% of the UK adult population listen each week in the last set of RAJARS.
    It has a 3.5% market share.....
    The Gadfly - Romance
    Dmitri Shostakovich (overplayed classical)
    Band of Brothers
    Michael Kamen (not classical)
    The Walk to the Paradise Garden
    Frederick Delius (from A village Romeo and Juliet ,an opera Mr Whelan probably never heard of)
    Les Sylphides - Prelude
    Frederic Chopin (classical)
    La Campanella (classical)
    Franz Liszt
    Swan Lake - Scene (Act II)
    Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky (classical)
    Concerto No.10 in E flat major (1)
    Pietro Antonio Locatelli (another classical one to cause Marty problems)
    Cavalleria Rusticana - Intermezzo
    Pietro Mascagni (classical, Marty's heard of this one, alright)
    L'Arlesienne Suite No.1 (1)
    Georges Bizet (1838-1875 : France) (classical)
    Dardanus - Tambourins I & II
    Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764 : France) (Classical: He'd be lost on this one, too)
    Trumpet Concerto in Eb major Hob.VIIe:1 (1)
    Joseph Haydn (classical)
    Spanish Dance No.1
    Manuel De Falla (classical)
    Matinees Musicales Opus 24 (1)
    Benjamin Britten (There's a composer and a country with the same name, fancy that, Marty!)

You get the idea. Every one of those tunes is listenable and enjoyable. No one is resorting to Val f**kin Doonigan or embarrassed to be playing classical music.
    It's presented by Tim Lihoreau, a pleasant presence with just enough links between each tune and NO BANTER.
    Don't give me any crap about the backward Irish not being able to listen to such music in the morning. It works. It could work here if RTE management would grow a set and Whelan was shown the door.

Well now it's funny you should say all this because :D ... Mart has not alone hear of "A village Romeo and Juliet" by Friedrich Delius but he has attended it in Wexford Opera in Wexford AND he has interviewed the singers and the promoters on the Show. So you will want to place that where the gibbon put the banana. :rolleyes:

And on the others they are all well known to listeners to the Marty Whelan Show except the last one which is played only in England because everyone knows that Benjamin Britten is a third rate composer that they have to try to boost in England because they've nothing better.

And in fact Mart plays a lot of the Gadfly and of the Jazz Suite by Shostakovich and had been responsible for getting this modern classical music popular in Ireland. It's like John Barry in that regards.

He plays lots of Locatelli and of other Italians. Thais, La Boheme, Morricone, Butterfly, Einaudi and so forth. And why wouldn't he when he's taking a group of music lovers to Bella Italia as he calls it for the opera.

I know facts are hard going lads but there you are. Mart is as good and better than all the above. And we have Val Doonican the Jungle Book and the Ugly Bugs Ball today - which doesn't appear on your list for some reason. Are you editing the list down? There's a great reaction to the Johnny C Cash album too that's the Marty Recommends all this week.

And there's been a huge response to the competition for two tickets for the opera to Verona with a chance to mingle with Mart and the team and the opera stars. And the whole event with the Travel Department is sold out so this competition can't be advertising! :)

Like I say, lads, facts is hard!

I'm also OK with themed shows like Donald Helme's Jazz Alley or Ellen Cranitch on Grace Notes, although they are not classical shows.

I'd tune in to Jazz Alley but not Grace Notes, but I know what the point of each show is, and it has a target audience.

What's the point of MITM? Irritate every possible segment of the audience?

Yvonne23R wrote: »
    and in fact Mart plays a lot of the Gadfly and of the Jazz Suite by Shostakovich and had been responsible for getting this modern classical music popular in Ireland.

This is a late April fools, isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm also OK with themed shows like Donald Helme's Jazz Alley or Ellen Cranitch on Grace Notes, although they are not classical shows.

I'd tune in to Jazz Alley but not Grace Notes, but I know what the point of each show is, and it has a target audience.

Except Yvonne, obviously.

(Oh, and SOL, sorry, I forgot about that OTHER poster)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This is a late April fools, isn't it?[/QUOTE

There's not too many fact in the above post, in fairness Yvonne/Hugo.

He did not interview anyone on A village Romeo and Juliet at Wexford because that was before the Wexford Festival became so desperate to invite him to a media launch and before Whelan heard there was more than just strawberries in Wexford.

As for editing the MITM playlist down, that's just the way it appears on the website. Maybe one of Marty's ass-wipers is just too ashamed to put the full list up.

It seems he never plays and probably never heard of Locatelli and will ya get up the yard with your Marty making the Shostakovitch Jazz suite waltz no 2 one of the most hackneyed pieces ever.
    I think Stanley Kubrick was responsible for that.
    He plays from a tiny group of 'Eye-talian pieces' and composers he still can't get around to pronouncing properly.
    Hard facts would be good, but of course we get your usual shyte,.
    Those playlists don't lie and RTE's statement on what Lyric is supposed to be should be the only hard fact.

And now this morning's playlist (6-9 am) for Classic FM, the biggest commercial station in the UK.
    11% of the UK adult population listen each week in the last set of RAJARS.
    It has a 3.5% market share.....

Dardanus - Tambourins I & II
    Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764 : France) (Classical: He'd be lost on this one, too)

You get the idea. Every one of those tunes is listenable and enjoyable. No one is resorting to Val f**kin Doonigan or embarrassed to be playing classical music.
    Don't give me any crap about the backward Irish not being able to listen to such music in the morning. It works. It could work here if RTE management would grow a set and Whelan was shown the door.

And as for the Tambourines from Rameau they are also often on the playlist on the Marty Whelan Show. They are useful like the Badinerie and the Minutes Waltz for coming up to programme points especially on the half hour where the news has to be taken. That's what they're used for on all radio stations. :D Sorry to disappoint you with facts even about your beloved Classic FM. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭jmcc

And we have Val Doonican the Jungle Book and the Ugly Bugs Ball today - which doesn't appear on your list for some reason. Are you editing the list down?
    RTE social media "promoter" or Marty?

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

No banter? All presenters have their flaws, but maybe listening to Mart for a while and he would add that string to his bow.

Banter is a much over-rated commodity, I find.
    Clearly too much heavy classical, not enough 'nice' music, and not enough banter for Seosamh Public.

I'm a bit sick of you and Yvonne rawmeshing on about "heavy" classical. It's a sort of reverse elitism and very, very patronising.
    Yes, and I wish Marty would feck off to one of them.

Likewise. I don't think his talents are suited to mornings on Lyric.
    DownBeaten wrote: »

Straight after the MITM crap you'll get this. Below is Niall Carrol's programme playlist last Tuesday (day picked at random):

Why, oh why do RTE management give Whelan the carte blanche to act the eejit every weekday morning.

I love Niall Carroll's show; I just don't hear it often enough since he moved from drive time to the middle of the day. I'd much prefer to hear in him in the mornings than Marty Whelan.
    And on the others they are all well known to listeners to the Marty Whelan Show except the last one which is played only in England because everyone knows that Benjamin Britten is a third rate composer that they have to try to boost in England because they've nothing better.

Actually, you really don't seem to know what you're talking about. Britten is highly rated world wide, and not just in the UK. Not only that, they have had excellent output from Vaughan Williams and Elgar. Arguably, you could suggest that Charles Stanford Adams has had some very interesting output but then you could also argue the toss as he was born in Ireland. I think his style tends more to the English though and he certainly contributed a lot to compositional style in the UK. Still Finghin Collins' recording of the second piano concerto sells him as an Irish composer so...
    And in fact Mart plays a lot of the Gadfly and of the Jazz Suite by Shostakovich and had been responsible for getting this modern classical music popular in Ireland. It's like John Barry in that regards.

You keep trying to give Marty Whelan credit for stuff he doesn't really merit. Be it Cara O'Sullivan's career or now, access to Shostokovich. In fact, Romance from the Gadfly was the theme music to a series called Reilly Ace of Spies and it is to that that the piece owes its position now I suspect.
    He plays lots of Locatelli and of other Italians. Thais, La Boheme, Morricone, Butterfly, Einaudi and so forth. And why wouldn't he when he's taking a group of music lovers to Bella Italia as he calls it for the opera.

I reviewed two weeks' worth of his play lists last week some time. What was noticeable by its general absence was opera. I did note the prevalence of Morricone as well - one piece in particular - but Morricone is not a classical composer.

Einaudi is an interesting one - he is very much contemporary - but he was selling out the NCH long before Whelan got his gig. And he is excellent in concert.
    I know facts are hard going lads but there you are. Mart is as good and better than all the above.

No.
    And we have Val Doonican the Jungle Book and the Ugly Bugs Ball today - which doesn't appear on your list for some reason. Are you editing the list down? There's a great reaction to the Johnny C Cash album too that's the Marty Recommends all this week.

What you list as missing frankly doesn't actually add to his reputation.
    And there's been a huge response to the competition for two tickets for the opera to Verona with a chance to mingle with Mart and the team and the opera stars. And the whole event with the Travel Department is sold out so this competition can't be advertising! :)

I passed Marty Whelan on the street last week or the week before. I can't say that I feel the need to travel to Italy with him.
    Like I say, lads, facts is hard!

I've noticed you have issues with them alright.

The point I would raise about Jazz Alley, Grace Notes and also, because I caught it again at the weekend, Nova, is that they are presented by subject matter specialists. I think Grace Notes is slightly constrained to a certain amount of conservatism and I've noticed Ellen Cranitch occasionally strain against it. But all of those presenters know their stuff in depth.

Just regarding one of the items in the playlists, I didn't hear the show this whenever but at an educated guess, the Mussorgsky was an extract from Pictures at an Exhibition. It may have been solo piano although there's an orchestral transcription knocking around too. Also, Emerson Lake and Palmer had a go at arranging it as well.

Marty's programme does not appeal to me at all, I can't understand what the point of it is. If all his albums of the week come from Sony, well that's really annoying. Nothing against Sony but there are other record labels as well and I tend to expect that an album of the week has a certain selectiveness about it.

Maybe naive of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

DownBeaten wrote: »

Because Ireland is full of people like Yvonne/Save Our Lyric. People who regard someone like Marty Whelan as talented. They see RTE 'Stars' as their betters. They probably vote Fianna Faíl all their lives and then wonder why their children have had to emigrate.
    They are the superannuated, the cosseted and the no nothings. Happy in their ignorance, happy with the status quo. They have an inverted snobbery towards anyone that professes a little appreciation for anything other than the middle of the road. They drag Ireland down, turn a blind eye to nepotism and corruption and they're alright jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Its a question of 'chacun à son goût' as George Hamilton would say (with admittedly more authentic pronunciation than I myself can muster!).

There will always be a minority who like their serious music (I mean, do any normal people listen to Bartok for pleasure?) with correctly pronounced composer's names, keys, and being told who the performers are even if they arent in the mainstream that the rest of us have heard of. We dont all work in the refined air of the classical music industry you know! I certainly dont.

But most do really like the broad range of the MITM palette that appeals to the vaste majority of Irish people. The string of endorsements that come in to the studio are evidence of this. And the sell out trip to Garda if you want to try your luck on the waiting list. As is clear from almost all the posters here, Mart really does navigate a unique and successful formula that no other station can quite to together with such precision. No its not R3, Classic FM, Radio Smashie and Nicie. Its an innovative and unique show pitched to tickle the ears and funny bone of a great proportion of the Irish people.

Rather than comparing this fine creation to the efforts of the UK or Finland (Finland ! I ask you), give it a little time, and I think it will be other countries who are copy and pasting a MITM style show for their own airways. We are privileged to be listening to the archetype!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

SaveOurLyric, if I was with you at the beginning, I'm certainly not any more! :p I defend MITM because he gives pleasure to some (including you, I would hazard a guess), not because he represents what Lyric should model itself on!

If they extend his slot by even a minute, expect me on this thread spitting with displeasure!

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭twinklerunner

[QUOTE There's a great reaction to the Johnny C Cash album too that's the Marty Recommends all this week.
    [/QUOTE]

A great reaction .. from who? How do you know .. because Marty read out a few agreeable messages?
    Johnny Cash's 'new' album is more suited to John Creedon's Show.. along with Van, James Taylor, Gordon Lightfoot, etc etc

Calina wrote: »
    You keep trying to give Marty Whelan credit for stuff he doesn't really merit. Be it Cara O'Sullivan's career or now, access to Shostokovich. In fact, Romance from the Gadfly was the theme music to a series called Reilly Ace of Spies and it is to that that the piece owes its position now I suspect.

I reviewed two weeks' worth of his play lists last week some time. What was noticeable by its general absence was opera.

They may have had their position already in the limited classical world, but the exposure to the wider population that Mart gives many artists cannot be denied. The same applies to many shows, musicals, concerts, and to the international renown that the Wexford Opera Festival is acquiring for itself (yes it had a niche cache before that, but how many people in Ireland even knew it existed?).

There are a lot of people ready to snipe at Marty's playlist, and I can assure you that he takes care to wear his opera learnedness lightly lest he be accused of overplaying that hand.

Because Ireland is full of people like Yvonne/Save Our Lyric. People who regard someone like Marty Whelan as talented. They see RTE 'Stars' as their betters. They probably vote Fianna Faíl all their lives and then wonder why their children have had to emigrate.
    They are the superannuated, the cosseted and the no nothings. Happy in their ignorance, happy with the status quo. They have an inverted snobbery towards anyone that professes a little appreciation for anything other than the middle of the road. They drag Ireland down, turn a blind eye to nepotism and corruption and they're alright jack.

Why Oh Why did I get involved in this I ask myself?

I think things have taken a turn for the worse if it's nepotism and corruption that be charged now. I don't think Ronan Gilligan is related to Mart for one thing. Even his laugh is different.

Why can't we be left in peace with our little corner of pleasure in the mornings without people trying to push posh music down our throats when it's unpalateable in the morning. What I want in the mornign is a bit of a laugh and a giggle and Marty delivers this in spades. If it isn't Mart himself it's Ronan and ther other members of the troop in the AA. Or it's Daphne and Myrtle - who should be posh enough for anyone here if it's post you all want. And I've even warmed to Neven Maguire who I was a bit critical of before.

We got a voucher to go up to Blacklion to visit MacNean's for dinner and an overnight and it was just lovely. And Neven himself came out to talk to us in the restaurant. He had such lovely lovely stories to tell about his hard times up and coming and about the new series about his life that's being made for television. And he had tons of funny stories about his times with Marty both in RTE, there in the restaurant and on the circuit.

Which brings me to say that someone here was boasting about meeting Marty on the street. Well I haven't but I have seen him compereing a charity event. I think any man who does work for charity should be held up and not criticised. Not everyone would. Mary Kennedy was there too and she is just lovely. I wish she came into studio with Mart sometimes actually becuase they were a super team on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

Someone here was boasting about meeting Marty on the street...

And I've checked with someone who know's and Mart did interview the promoters and some of the cast of that opera in Wexford by Frank Delius - Romeo and Juliet. And he was at it. And he played some of it on the Show. Sorry to disappoint your fantasies with facts.

Why Oh Why did I get involved in this I ask myself?
    Been asking myself this lately too.:( But am determined not to buckle under the torrent of negativity and criticism.

Which brings me to say that someone here was boasting about meeting Marty on the street. Well I haven't but I have seen him compereing a charity event.
    He is a delight in person. Are you going on the Verona or Berlin trips ? You are in for a treat. There is a weekend trip to Prague being looked at with not one but two operas for those who really want to gorge themselves! Mart has already been there and may be persuaded to act as tour guide during the days as well!:)

The same applies to many shows, musicals, concerts, and to the international renown that the Wexford Opera Festival is acquiring for itself

There is no bottom in that barrel you're scraping, this is the most servile booltlicking worship of a Z-list RTE fake celeb i have ever seen.

And I've checked with someone who know's and Mart did interview the promoters and some of the cast of that opera in Wexford by Frank Delius - Romeo and Juliet. And he was at it. And he played some of it on the Show. Sorry to disappoint your fantasies with facts.

Still think you're 'friend' might be wrong there, mate. Although he was there, he was probably wearing his opera knowledge as lightly as ever. :)
    It was broadcast on Lyric as you might expect, but someone with knowledge and credibility, like Bernard Clarke took us through it.

Your 'friend of a friend' Whelan was probably asking his usual shyte questions "isn't Wexford lovely?" etc, ensuring his place in the freebie Champagne bar on opening night.
    His interest probably wanes badly after that.

Still think you're 'friend' might be wrong there, mate. Although he was there, he was probably wearing his opera knowledge as lightly as ever. :)
    It was broadcast on Lyric as you might expect, but someone with knowledge and credibility, like Bernard Clarke took us through it.

Your 'friend of a friend' Whelan was probably asking his usual shyte questions "isn't Wexford lovely?" etc, ensuring his place in the freebie Champagne bar on opening night.
    His interest probably wanes badly after that.

Ah, I see now that you were in good faith. Sorry.

Marty didn't present the opera in the evening (I imagine), but he had the promoters and cast in studio for a chat on one of the days. To give a boost to the Wexford Opera Festival among ordinary people. I think that's the confusion.

And he was very good getting the banter going with them and putting them at ease even the foreign ones both on air and in the production area. It's his training to make everyone feel special. And you don't get that with the toffee nosed presenters of full operas who just don't have the humane touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

There is no bottom in that barrel you're scraping, this is the most servile booltlicking worship of a Z-list RTE fake celeb i have ever seen.

Have you not being following this Thread Zubeneschamali? This wouldn't even make the Top ten:D

Ah, I see now that you were in good faith. Sorry.

Marty didn't present the opera in the evening (I imagine), but he had the promoters and cast in studio for a chat on one of the days. To give a boost to the Wexford Opera Festival among ordinary people. I think that's the confusion.

And he was very good getting the banter going with them and putting them at ease even the foreign ones both on air and in the production area. It's his training to make everyone feel special. And you don't get that with the toffee nosed presenters of full operas who just don't have the humane touch.

I didnt hear it myself but that sounds very plausible which I think explains Expunge's confusion. Marty's people skills are second to none, and its what makes his interviews with even heavy hitting opera people come across as very down to earth for the likes of us enthusiastic dilettantes.

In fairness what Mart has done is make the ordinary person with simple tastes not the snobs who are after Wagner before breakfast think seriously about going to the Wexford Opera Festival. He looks the part himself in black tie and surrounded by lovely ladies something like Maurice Chevalier or Clark Gable.

I think some people are trying to keep the world of opera for themselves and to drive out people who value all kinds of music equally. What is wrong with Johnny Cash anyway followed by Katherine Jenkins and then Ennio followed by the Sleeper's Wake? It's all about linking you see the different kinds of music and showing that it's all as good as any other. One of the heavy composers told Strauss that he would write music like his if he was able.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

All I can say thank God I can get BBC Radio 3 crystal clear up here.

If it isn't music for hairdressers at peak times then TPTB of Irish radio don't want to know about it. Christ knows we are dumbed down enough as it is.

He looks the part himself in black tie and surrounded by lovely ladies something like Maurice Chevalier or Clark Gable.

OK, I was wrong about SaveOurLyric's post being the worst ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Mendelssohn's Fingals Cave on Radio 3 right now. Lovely and nothing remotely elitist about it. No inane chatter either.