Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XC spikes

• 27-08-2010 9:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭

Hi

Looking for a recommendation for a good pair of XC running spikes. Also looking for a good place to try them on and buy them. Preferably in or around Dublin. I'm heading into runways tomorrow so hopefully they may have some.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I wear Puma Ngongs myself they bit heavier than the normal spike but provide great support and are a true purpose XC spike. Got mine ordered from John Buckley in Cork does deliveries and always find him to be really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

ecoli wrote: »
    I wear Puma Ngongs myself they bit heavier than the normal spike but provide great support and are a true purpose XC spike. Got mine ordered from John Buckley in Cork does deliveries and always find him to be really good.

Yeah I've used Buckley before particularly for runners that I know suit me. I'm a bit cautious to buy spikes online as the last pair I bought aren't great, don't suit my foot (broad) very well. I really want to try them on myself in a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭jailhouse_dave

i got the brooks mach 11 last year in runways, think they are the cheapest ones they have. around 55-60. Find them good, like most spikes they are minimalist. I got 15/16mm spare spikes too and was very glad the weather was very changeable last year.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: dont think i have wore anything more than 12s:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Going to check out Runworx tomorrow to see what type of gear they have will let you know.
    Anyone else been there yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

I picked up my first pair the other day - decided to give XC a lash this winter :)
    I got a set of 5mm and a set of 8mm spikes
    Do ye think that 8mm will be sufficient in the muck?

(can't believe that some people would run barefoot beside someone else wearing a pair of these bad boys!!)

DustyBin wrote: »
    I picked up my first pair the other day - decided to give XC a lash this winter :)
    I got a set of 5mm and a set of 8mm spikes
    Do ye think that 8mm will be sufficient in the muck?

(can't believe that some people would run barefoot beside someone else wearing a pair of these bad boys!!)

i wear 9s most of the time only if its a mud bath will i wear 12s so you should be grand

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I was wearing 9's most of the time for the various XC's last season. I think I only bothered once with the 12's but flippers would have been more use on that occasion:

4144334782_c319e3d1fd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Hi

Looking for a recommendation for a good pair of XC running spikes. Also looking for a good place to try them on and buy them. Preferably in or around Dublin. I'm heading into runways tomorrow so hopefully they may have some.

Cheers

Nike XC Forever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Thanks for that lads, happy to stick with what I've got for the moment so

@ robin, you look well different now that you got your hair cut :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Woddle had got chased away by the swans before our race and was hiding under a tree with a pink umbrella before we went round, so no decent shots of us going through that puddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

robinph wrote: »
    I was wearing 9's most of the time for the various XC's last season. I think I only bothered once with the 12's but flippers would have been more use on that occasion:

that was some fecking day my big toe has never been the same.

shels4ever wrote: »
    that was some fecking day my big toe has never been the same.

My toe is very nearly recovered, but only very recently so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

robinph wrote: »

:eek: Jaysus Robin, you've been hitting the oestrogen supplements hard since I last saw you! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Thanks for all the suggestions lads. By the way Robin if you'd like to go for a date run pm me anytime :)