Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate when Irish people say: "can I get a..."

• 26-08-2010 10:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

You hear this phrase in takeaways, restaurants, pubs, from Irish people. And it's PURE American. Not just people who are "cool" and modern either, old people from rural areas also say it nowadays.

It's worse than just American english, it's SLANG. It's idiomatic slang. "can I get a" is a slang expression. In Irish slang you should say something like "gizz a double cheeseburger with chips".

I've a right mind to go up to them and say: "what are you on about, what country to you think you're in, ya PLANK!!!!"

*suspects hate from people who do say it*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

In before "Can you get a life?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Pettiest rant ever.

Can I get a better rant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You hear this phrase in takeaways, restaurants, pubs, from Irish people. And it's PURE American. Not just people who are "cool" and modern either, old people from rural areas also say it nowadays.

It's worse than just American english, it's SLANG. It's idiomatic slang. "can I get a" is a slang expression. In Irish slang you should say something like "gizz a double cheeseburger with chips".

I've a right mind to go up to them and say: "what are you on about, what country to you think you're in, ya PLANK!!!!"

You're the plank! "gizz a double cheeseburger" isn't very polite. And they're bad for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

"Can you get a life?"

Can I get an amen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Can I get an amen ?

eamonn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Humans are social creatures, we take in social influences from others, that includes all the trashy American TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I nearly always say "May I get a ...."

Who says "gizz us a....."?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I usually opt for:
    Giz one of them yokes over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭kieran26

i say it all the time, and i'm gonna keep sayin it! Put that in your pipe and smoke it op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

OP, you are confusing slang with Hiberno English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's not so much a 'Can I get a...', more of 'Can I get aaaaaaaaahhhhh, ehhhhhhhhhhhh, uuuuuuuuuuhhhh, ehhhhhhh.....tree snackboxes a coak and a boll o luucozayede pleaase'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I never realised this was an Americanism. It has certainly been used in Ireland for a long time, before we were exposed to American culture. I tend to use "Could I get a..." myself, but if I heard someone saying "Can I get a" I wouldn't think "Americanised twat" in the way that I would if somebody used trunk instead of boot, or sidewalk instead of path.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

jaysus wept, have ya nothing better to be worrying about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Can I get a grammar check?

Glasshouses etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

In Irish slang you should say something like "gizz a double cheeseburger with chips".

If you're a skanger, perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

Is this one of those funny threads I've been hearing about?

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    Is this one of those funny threads I've been hearing about?

No. This is one of the sh*t ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

OP, I hate being Irish too. We're quite embarrassing.
    I don't know how to deal with this affliction.
    Perhaps you have a solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

WTF is the problem with "Americanisms"??! Considering the amount of American TV most people watch.

So :mad:ing sue me if I say "douchebag" or "sidewalk" or "assholeface". I learned probably 60% of my English through watching TV and the vast majority of that is American TV.

It'd be freakily unnatural for me to come out with something like "Ta tu an anchuinse!" when I've heard "You're a freak" about 100,000 times more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

and breathe.... yes OP, many people unconsciously 'pick up' the latest phrases. You are aware of your speech, come to terms that others are not.

Cool story Bro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Worse: Using the word fries to refer to chips.

"Can I get a..." is being polite tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

No. This is one of the sh*t ones.

I was afraid of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I nearly always say "May I get a ...."

gizAGoOfYourGee probably does :D

But i'd often hear it when i'm in Burger King or whatever in Dublin. Giz a whopper there luv will ya.

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Giz a whopper there luv will ya.

"An' a chip."

Just the one, sir?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Ask me bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

what a gob****e :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Usually I point and grunt to what i want, if that fails I jump up and down throwing my poop at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"Can I get fries with that, you greasy pimply fuckwit?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Please sir, I want some more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I say 'Can I get', and then take some time to think.

So it's like 'Can I get, ahh. . .'.

Completely different OP, completely different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

I think it's polite, just saying "give me chips" is rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

"A Cod and a large wan!" To Quote The Van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

theres less to this post than meets the eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wow, you've out-caseyed Casey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Q. Can I get a..?
    A. Yeh sure, it's over there on the second shelf.

Q. Can you get me a ?
    A. Just one second please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Was at an all nighter many years ago when someone said to me ''would you care for some charles?''
    Still makes me smile thinking about it, manners cost nothing. ;)

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

Here's another pure american term COCKSUCKER

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Greetings, young gentlemen/my dearest lady! It is indeed a favourable evening! May I gather some of your attention towards my food order? May I partake in your chipped potatoes and a mince disk?

I was giggling a little, then I got to mince disk and cracked up completely. Well played sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I thought this was gonna be a rant about phrases like "Can I get a HOLLA!!" or "Can I get a witness" or something. Which would be Americanisms.

"Can I get a cheeseburger" is not an Americanism. It's a food order.

This is probably the pettiest, most pointless rant I have ever read on AH. Which is actually a staggering achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's when you hear someone say 'I can haz cheezburger?' and they're not a cat that you have to worry.

It's when you hear someone say 'I can haz cheezburger?' and they're not a cat that you have a furry.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i really doubt that is american slang as a very old teacher of mine used to tell us the difference regularly between "can i go to the toilet" and "may i go to the toilet?" and that he had been doing it for as long as he could remember and his teachers used to do it too.

his response usually was something like "i don't know, can you?" :)

anyway, a very pathetic thing to get upset about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Using PURE before a word is worse.

Especially if its said as Peeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuooooorrrrrr!

as in "Hes a peeeeeauuuuooooorrrr handicaaaaaaaaap!" which is something us residents of Limerick here on a daily basis from the more evolutionary challenged who we share this city with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

If I was the shop keeper and my customer said "Can I get a Mars bar please", I'd say, "yes you can" then wait for the awkward silence. I'd agree with the OP, this is a new, Americanized trend that has started. I cringe when I hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I might say "Can I get xyz please?" (among other phrases) in a takeaway or whatever just because it's a valid way of communicating and I wouldn't really put any thought into it or consider myself to be complying with an Americanised trend. Seriously. Reading into something taken to a whole new level...
    krudler wrote: »
    Using PURE before a word is worse.

Especially if its said as Peeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuooooorrrrrr!
    I say that a lot... :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,683 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Idiots? Perchance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

I don't think it's American to say that.

But if they have an american twang like many fully Irish teenagers these days they deserved to be slapped and shown the door..:)