Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda vetting form,help please

• 25-08-2010 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

hi,i hope someone can help me please?
    i was advised i would be better off posting here,so here goes!
    i need to fill out my garda form but i'm having this little tiny winy problem!
    is it neccessary to put down on the form this court outcome;
    basically ended up in court with friends because we got drunk one night 13months ago,and in court the judge just accepted we give money to the poor box and didnt convict us of anything. we were in jobs that it wouldnt have looked good for us and the solictor made this known,not alone the fact i think they though it was pretty minor,so there definately wasnt a conviction.
    someone made the point that maybe there was a probations act given to us but before leaving that day,the solicitor said our outcome basically meant that it was as though we were never in court in the first place.
    what do you all think? what will i do??
    i dont want to put it down but if i have to i will :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Andrea88 wrote: »
    hi,i hope someone can help me please?
    i was advised i would be better off posting here,so here goes!
    i need to fill out my garda form but i'm having this little tiny winy problem!
    is it neccessary to put down on the form this court outcome;
    basically ended up in court with friends because we got drunk one night 13months ago,and in court the judge just accepted we give money to the poor box and didnt convict us of anything. we were in jobs that it wouldnt have looked good for us and the solictor made this known,not alone the fact i think they though it was pretty minor,so there definately wasnt a conviction.
    someone made the point that maybe there was a probations act given to us but before leaving that day,the solicitor said our outcome basically meant that it was as though we were never in court in the first place.
    what do you all think? what will i do??
    i dont want to put it down but if i have to i will :(

if i were you i'd put it down. There may be no official record of it but it'd be better to declare it just in case imo. It shows that you've grown up since & are human. In fact i was told by a retired super years ago that when you're filling out your interview form it's important to state you have active social life and enjoy meeting friends in pub etc it shows you're human and sociable. Everybody has made a drunken mistake and if you can show that you've learnt from it then i don't think it would go against you. I think it's always better to declare these things in case they come back to bite you on the bum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Put it down... If you ended up in court you were either charged with something or summonsed? Either way, it's not something you want to neglect to mention when trying to join the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Andrea88

im not trying to join the guards,i want to do nursing,someone just told me to post it here. ok thanks a mill lads i'm just going to put it down.and under outcome im just going to write "donation to poor box"

viking: thats my point!! we werent given anything, the judge waived it as in e were let off!!!!!!! and was happy with our offer to give money to poor box. like i said the solicitor told us to forget it even happened. we did. and we haven't been idiots since. lesson learned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Andrea88 wrote: »
    im not trying to join the guards,i want to do nursing,

This is a Garda Recruitment forum. If your question does not relate to joining the Gardai, you're pretty much in the wrong forum.
    On that note, nobody here will (or at least should) advise you to lie on your vetting form as people who post on this forum are mostly prospective members of An Garda Siochána who should not take such things as Garda Vetting forms lightly.

Thread closed.