Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South Coast Endurance Race 2010

• 24-08-2010 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Hi All

I am thinking about entering this. They have a nice website and the course looks challenging. Has anybody here entered or completed this before?

Mods: apologies if I'm duplicating here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭W123-80's

As far as I am aware this is the first year of this race. A guy from Westport is actually one of the organisers!

I will be signing up anyway, good motivatiopn to stay training and a nice excuse for a little trip to west cork in October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Yeah I have my eye on this one too. I'm going to sign up in the next week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭monthehoops

I'm going to do this as well, hopefully I won't find it as tough as GF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Hmm, tempted to sign up, at least it would mean I'd keep the training up through October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 peterparker

I'm from skibb and just signed up.I done all the course(at a leisurely pace!!) apart from the kayak yesterday.Its a challanging course alright but not as bad as GF.(still hurting!!!).There seems to be a good buzz down here about it
    so roll on race day.I heard Padraig Marrey might be doing it,dont know if thats confirmed or not.

How long did it take you at the leisurely pace? (Are you a serious athlete like, making your leisurely pace seem like my world record speed :p)

I did my first Gaelforce in 8hrs so this is just a way of keeping the momentum up to hopefully getting in the 7hr zone for Gaelforce next year. What was your Gaelforce time?

I must sign up during the week. I've the hotel booked!

I done it in 5:13,was hoping for under 5,but there's always next year!!
    I took an hour off my time last year so its definately possible.we done the route in 1:45 or so,was'nt timing really.still hurting from the week before!!!
    Still as you say its too keep the training going into the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

I was thinking about doing this as i live in cork so it would mean i could actually sleep in my own bed before a race. That was until i looked at the course. There's only about 6km of running in total!!!

I dont know maybe its just me but i would prefer if an "endurance" race was a bit longer. It is 60euro after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭tippgod

Am thinking of signing up too. missed gaelforce this year but trying to get back into it.

its 45 euro each for a team of 3 if you can get another two.

does the course take long to complete?

hi all,
    just wanted to say I meant 4:45 for the iniatial run,cycle and hill climb.(approx).I'd say the run is a bit longer than advertised and there is still the kayak and run home to do.Sorry for type o.!.Hope it dosent seem as hard on race day!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 thehurly1

hi,

looking to buy a backpack for adventure racing, anyone any recommendations, also do people use cyclecross bikes at these events, - newcomer to this sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Kander

Me and a friend will be entering the easy version just for laughs and a bit of motivation not drink more beer for our winter insulation fat. Cyas there

thehurly1 wrote: »
    hi,

looking to buy a backpack for adventure racing, anyone any recommendations, also do people use cyclecross bikes at these events, - newcomer to this sort of thing

hi there,
    the best backpack is a small rucksack or camel pack with a drink bladder inside.Any adv. store or halfords have them.Expect to pay betwen 30 euros up to 100 depending on brand name!!! Any bike is suitable really as this course has no off road sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 earsandasmile

I was down in Cork yesterday and took the opportunity to cycle/ run most of this course. I have to say it really is a lovely part of the country and the scenery is fantastic.

Anyway, down to the important stuff.... The cycling legs of the course are fast and follow well surfaced back roads. Plenty of short gentle climbs with only one major ascent, but it is a tough climb.:eek: I have taken part in GF, ROAR, WAR and CLEC Tarmac this year and this is by a distance the toughest bike ascent yet IMO.

The second run is up a wooded hill. I'm not that experienced a hill runner but I found it ok tbh. I hope that the route up, will be well marked as there a loads of small tracks and paths up to the top and it would be easy to come off the course.

The only concerns that I would have are, the second run and the cycle from the hill back to the main road will have two way traffic on them. I suppose the potential exists for an accident, but I'm sure the organisers will be aware of this.

I was down in Cork yesterday and took the opportunity to cycle/ run most of this course. I have to say it really is a lovely part of the country and the scenery is fantastic.

Anyway, down to the important stuff.... The cycling legs of the course are fast and follow well surfaced back roads. Plenty of short gentle climbs with only one major ascent, but it is a tough climb.:eek: I have taken part in GF, ROAR, WAR and CLEC Tarmac this year and this is by a distance the toughest bike ascent yet IMO.

The second run is up a wooded hill. I'm not that experienced a hill runner but I found it ok tbh. I hope that the route up, will be well marked as there a loads of small tracks and paths up to the top and it would be easy to come off the course.

The only concerns that I would have are, the second run and the cycle from the hill back to the main road will have two way traffic on them. I suppose the potential exists for an accident, but I'm sure the organisers will be aware of this.

Myself and a friend have signed up. This is his first race and he hasnt done a lot of training. I havent done much since Gaelforce either. Is it a doable, enjoyable course for the less than elite among us? :)

Yes I of course it is Trotter. If you have completed GF, then you will be able to complete this. Like I said, it's a really nice part of the world and tell your friend not to be worried about any part of the course. Even the bike climb I mentioned is relatively short and if you need to, just hop off the bike and walk/ run.

Looking forward to it. See ye there.

Any updates from people doing this one? Ive been taking it pretty easy. I wont be going for any medals :)

I'd love to know how many have entered!

I've entered into the challenge cat. and have been doing some running / cycling 3 days a week but nothing too intensive. Have just polished off a packet of maryland cookies so I'm not taking it too seriously. I just wanna finish it and enjoy the day.

Just home after this. An enjoyable day out, haunted with the weather to be honest. Like a few more on here I haven't lifted a finger since Gael Force and on paper I was going to breeze through this. More fool me.

First forest run was very enjoyable. The bike after that. I just got bored of being on the bike after that massive hill and was praying for the 2k hill to appear around each corner. Unfortunately the 2k hill turned into around 8k I'd say in total which was a real kick in the teeth. I messed up my knee running on the downhill section of it.

Then there was the 6k cycle to the kayaks. Maybe it was my knee but was it really 6k? Felt more like 10. The kayaks were great, most of them one person per kayak so I could lean back and paddle rather than having 2 in it and my hips locking.

The 750m dash back to the finish was 1.5k, which it was supposed to be initially.

All in all a good day, hopefully it'll go from strength to strength. Only suggestion to the organisers would be to have everything a bit more lively when people get back to the finish line, it was a little dead (music etc). Other than that it'd be measuring the distances properly, though maybe it was me but a lot of people said it.

Hats off to them though, soup, protein drinks and rub downs afterwards. For a first effort it was brilliant.

Just home after this. An enjoyable day out, haunted with the weather to be honest. Like a few more on here I haven't lifted a finger since Gael Force and on paper I was going to breeze through this. More fool me.

First forest run was very enjoyable. The bike after that. I just got bored of being on the bike after that massive hill and was praying for the 2k hill to appear around each corner. Unfortunately the 2k hill turned into around 8k I'd say in total which was a real kick in the teeth. I messed up my knee running on the downhill section of it.

Then there was the 6k cycle to the kayaks. Maybe it was my knee but was it really 6k? Felt more like 10. The kayaks were great, most of them one person per kayak so I could lean back and paddle rather than having 2 in it and my hips locking.

The 750m dash back to the finish was 1.5k, which it was supposed to be initially.

All in all a good day, hopefully it'll go from strength to strength. Only suggestion to the organisers would be to have everything a bit more lively when people get back to the finish line, it was a little dead (music etc). Other than that it'd be measuring the distances properly, though maybe it was me but a lot of people said it.

Hats off to them though, soup, protein drinks and rub downs afterwards. For a first effort it was brilliant.

I think they are fair comments. I thoroughly enjoyed the race and it was definitely more challenging than it looked on paper.

I spoke to one of the organisers after the race and he told me that the second run was extended due to them getting late access to part of the downhill section.

Well done to all involved and I will be back next year.

I enjoyed the race too. I underestimated it though and it'll need a lot more training next year. I'll be back again!

Anybody know if the results are up yet? Or any photos of the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

No results yet. Anyone know what time 1st came in at?
    Good day out, from the area so nice to have something local to compete in!

Cycle felt longer than GF for some reason. Definitely needed shoes instead of clips for the hill, spun out and that was that. Couple of people still took falls on the bike though so hopefully all ok.
    Hill run was nice, Roaring Water bay looked great from the top! Kayak could have been longer.
    Well organised and smaller numbers made it a bit more relaxed than GF. Hopefully they'll do it again next year.

They seem to be taking their time posting the results. Normally you'd get a print out when you cross the finish line. I'd say that's maybe an area to look at next year.

I "think" I heard the 1st camp in at 2hr 20ish.

Defo agree with monthehoops with the points raised. I still really enjoyed the event even though I didn't expect the extra distance and my body was giving out at the end.

I think since the part of the kayak times were taken down by hand, as competitors were clocked out when dropping the bikes and race nembers were written down with times when leaving for the water. This will probably slow the results down etc.

Website says:

Overall Winner - MALE

Trevor Wood 2:22:57

Overall Winner - FEMALE

Virginia Hourihane 2:46:56

FULL RACE RESULTS WITHIN 24Hrs

Well done to both

this was my first adventure race and i really enjoyed it, however i thought i would end up doin the kayak section with someone else but ended up on my todd - needless to say it was a disaster - can anyone recommend a good day course for geting the basics of kayak??

it was very tough in general, especially the hill climb in both the saddle and on foot, roll on next year and by then i should be better at kayaking

btw did anyone else find the kayaking hard or was i the only spanner in a kayak

I absolutely despise kayaking. You're not alone. My two hips lock up the minute I sit into the kayak and thank God it was a single kayak this time cos I was able to lie back and straighten myself out - couldn’t do that with two people. I didn't find it too tough, just got sick of going in different directions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

thehurly1 wrote: »
    - needless to say it was a disaster - can anyone recommend a good day course for geting the basics of kayak??

Really enjoy the kayaking sections myself. Granted, the first few times out you get terrible pains in your lower body from not being used to it but after a few sessions you get a good rhythm and bit of speed going.

Where are you based ? Total Experience do courses and adventure racing training days, they have one coming up in Lacken next weekend but presumably have more on an ongoing basis , see here http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=162025337155702 and here
    http://www.totalexperience.ie/ The lads involved really know their stuff.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Really enjoy the kayaking sections myself. Granted, the first few times out you get terrible pains in your lower body from not being used to it but after a few sessions you get a good rhythm and bit of speed going.

Where are you based ? Total Experience do courses and adventure racing training days, they have one coming up in Lacken next weekend but presumably have more on an ongoing basis , see here http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=162025337155702 and here
    http://www.totalexperience.ie/ The lads involved really know their stuff.

yea i came across these guys on the internet, i am based in the midlands so will prob have to travel to do one of these courses, thanks anyway for the response, i have signed up for the westport sea2summit which has no kayaking so bring it on....anyone know if the guys involved with southcoast are going to put pictures up on net, thought they might be up by now, also i wouldn't mind attempting some of those war events in wicklow, anyone know when registration is open?? as can be seen i have caught the bug of adventure racing...