Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunter's negative opinion of Birdwatch Ireland

• 24-08-2010 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭

Why do alot of Hunter's/Shooter have a negative opinion of Birdwatch Ireland?
    Can't understand it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

this'll be good i expect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Can't understand it?

How do you figure this?
    I taught it would be quite the opposite as i love watching birds;)
    and surely by means of vermin control we are helping them lots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭mac80

I'm a member for over 10 years and I also shoot for over 10 years.

Why ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Can't understand it?

I'm sure there are a certain small few who don't careless about wildlife yet are issued with firearms its a part of life.

I ant one of them. I myself have the upper most respect for birds and wildlife in general and some of my best time's out have been when i haven't shot anything but just been out for a stroll.. I think thats a little harsh to be honest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

To be quite honest I don't know the second thing about them. The first thing I know about them is they like watching birds, allegedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Im a member for a long time as i like wildlife very much. I probably spend more time watchin wildlife deer in particular than i do shooting. IMO Birdwatch ireland is a lot better that the rsbp. Birdwatch on most part understand hunting and vermin control. The reason he askes is because a poster here said last week ' birdwatch ireland my ass' and he is takin it seriously. As you guys know if one dosn like something we all dont. Ps cant do roll eyes symbol on phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Good to know that most of ye recognise their excellent work :). Without them there would be no Corncrake, Little tern or Roseate tern in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

Can't understand it?
    thats some statement:confused: what is you proof or did you just pick it out of the air (nothing better to be doing on a tuesday night:()

Yip picked it out of the air:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Sorry Fergal but I have to agree - theres little or no evidence to back up the pretence of this thread. Hunters and Birdwatchers alike want to see more birds about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Only kind of Birds I'm intrested in watching in Ireland
    :D:D:D:D

www.playboy.com

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Good to know that most of ye recognise their excellent work :). Without them there would be no Corncrake, Little tern or Roseate tern in this country.

ara sure tis nothin got to do wit all the mink trappin in the callows. Or the farmers who wont cut there grass etc just so they can hear the sound of the corncrake. Dont believe me? There was a programme on it. So its not just birdwatch ireland who are keeping what little are left here. Thats some statement to read if your one of the farmers who have given up their land in the hope the birds will breed. Indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Can only speak for myself and I don't hate them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Vegeta wrote: »

me either, I have a pair of Soligor 12-60x70 Bino's and I spend a lot of time in the off season watching birds.

And all types of wild life for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Vegeta wrote: »
    Same here I regularly meet members of B.I while out wildfowling and we always pass the time of day to each other and they actually tell me where they have seen game species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭diveshark

don't agree either, sent in a small survey to BI this year with the winter photos i gathered. Its great to see as much wildlife of all types as possible while out wandering!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I think that BWI and RSPB are getting mixed up/painted with the same brush I know two gun clubs that sent in survey data to BWI and got advise in relation to owl nesting boxes etc etc etc.

RSPB in the UK are always hunting/ shooting bashing and it seems an ever ending war in the Shooting Times between them.

I for one love watching wildlife, birds etc I also like to eat the odd one (hey we all sucumb to temptation;)).

Unfortunately, because of this we are seen by some as a kind of savage, however if the truth be known we are more keyed in on wildlife than a lot of so called nature lovers who thinks all you have to do is watch Bill Oddie and Spring watch.

Example like many of us on this Forum

As an individual, I released into the wild,partridge, not for shooting but to see them about the place last year I did the same (they are breeding), I can tell you the day and date the first swallows came back, I can tell you where there is an owl nest, harriers, a peregrines nest and also where you can see badger sets. When the first snipe are back and woodcock

I know a river where there are Otters, and by the way where there are otters you wont see mink.

We could be an excellent source of information for BWI......

I think that BWI and RSPB are getting mixed up/painted with the same brush I know two gun clubs that sent in survey data to BWI and got advise in relation to owl nesting boxes etc etc etc.

RSPB in the UK are always hunting/ shooting bashing and it seems an ever ending war in the Shooting Times between them.

I for one love watching wildlife, birds etc I also like to eat the odd one (hey we all sucumb to temptation;)).

Unfortunately, because of this we are seen by some as a kind of savage, however if the truth be known we are more keyed in on wildlife than a lot of so called nature lovers who thinks all you have to do is watch Bill Oddie and Spring watch.

Example like many of us on this Forum

As an individual, I released into the wild,partridge, not for shooting but to see them about the place last year I did the same (they are breeding), I can tell you the day and date the first swallows came back, I can tell you where there is an owl nest, harriers, a peregrines nest and also where you can see badger sets. When the first snipe are back and woodcock

I know a river where there are Otters, and by the way where there are otters you wont see mink.

We could be an excellent source of information for BWI......
    Nice work:) Are they gray partridge you are releasing or red legged partridge?

Dusty87 wrote: »
    ara sure tis nothin got to do wit all the mink trappin in the callows. Or the farmers who wont cut there grass etc just so they can hear the sound of the corncrake. Dont believe me? There was a programme on it. So its not just birdwatch ireland who are keeping what little are left here. Thats some statement to read if your one of the farmers who have given up their land in the hope the birds will breed. Indeed
    Corncrakes have been in decline for the last hundred years primarily due to agricultural intensification. The response of Birdwatch Ireland was to establish a Corncrake Conservation Project with funding fro the RSPB and put in place Fieldworkers in Donegal 1992, Shannon callows 1993 and West Connacht 1994. Birdwatch Ireland fieldworkers locate all singing male corncrakes in the three core areas (Donegal, Callows, West Connaught). They contact all farmers with corncrakes on their farms to offer advice and administer the Corncrake Grant Scheme (delayed mowing dated, centre out mowing etc). They survey all established corncrake territories, recording dates and methods of mowing and fodder save. They attend mowing operations to offer advice on centre out mowing, monitor compliance with the grant scheme. They carry out habitat management in key areas : early cover for when corncrake arrive ie iris beds, nettle beds. mink control.
    Without this work there would be no corncrakes!
    Farmers still cut their silage/hay but at a later date. Without the farmers cooperation there would be no Corncrakes either.

Dusty if you're interested you can buy the Corncrake field reports from Birdwatch Ireland. They give all the data on how the Corncrakes are doing each year and their exact numbers and locations. I eagerly await the field reports every year. Last year with the terrible weather they were down to just 128 calling males. Hopefully with the better weather this year we might get an increase in Corncrakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bibio

This is really ironic (or annoying) Fergal, as a reply to a post I put up yesterday on the bird watching boards forum, about golden ealge re introduction programme. You posted comments about "bastards shooting the eagles" :( and then you post here asking why hunters dont appreciate birdwatch Ireland. You really should consider my reply to your post, and stop antagonising, based on fiction. I'm not sure if you are a member of BI, but if you are, you and your comments reflect badly on that excellent organisation, I know most members of BI that I know, are a bit more clued in than yourself.
    For the record, I'm a fisherman, hunter, bird watcher (supporter of Birdwatch Ireland), and am actively involved in many habitat restoration projects such as nore/suir river trust, I consider fieldsprts enthusiests to be the most committed conservationalists I have come accross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bibio

This is really ironic (or annoying) Fergal, as a reply to a post I put up yesterday on the bird watching boards forum, about golden ealge re introduction programme. You posted comments about "bastards shooting the eagles" frown.gif and then you post here asking why hunters dont appreciate birdwatch Ireland. You really should consider my reply to your post, and stop antagonising, based on fiction. I'm not sure if you are a member of BI, but if you are, you and your comments reflect badly on that excellent organisation, I know most members of BI that I know, are a bit more clued in than yourself.
    For the record, I'm a fisherman, hunter, bird watcher (supporter of Birdwatch Ireland), and am actively involved in many habitat restoration projects such as nore/suir river trust, I consider fieldsprts enthusiests to be the most committed conservationalists I have come accross.

bibio wrote: »
    This is really ironic (or annoying) Fergal, as a reply to a post I put up yesterday on the bird watching boards forum, about golden ealge re introduction programme. You posted comments about "bastards shooting the eagles" frown.gif and then you post here asking why hunters dont appreciate birdwatch Ireland. You really should consider my reply to your post, and stop antagonising, based on fiction. I'm not sure if you are a member of BI, but if you are, you and your comments reflect badly on that excellent organisation, I know most members of BI that I know, are a bit more clued in than yourself.

To be fair Fergal was referring to 2 criminal acts in NI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

fergal seem to very anti shooter, judging by a lot of his posts that he puts up in this forum( this is the impression that I get) for no other reason other that hunters shoot game birds,
    When first I read his post on this thread I thought his was trolling for responces that would confirm his belief
    sorry to dissappoint

4gun wrote: »
    fergal seem to very anti shooter, judging by a lot of his posts that he puts up in this forum( this is the impression that I get) for no other reason other that hunters shoot game birds,
    When first I read his post on this thread I thought his was trolling for responces that would confirm his belief
    sorry to dissappoint

Fergal can defend himself but I think he posted this thread in response to a throwaway comment in another thread which maybe he took too seriously. Anyway going on most of his posts here I think Fergal would agree that Irish Hunters are generally among the most responsible and conservation focussed in Europe - At least when compared to the likes of hunters from Malta, Cyprus etc. who appear to live by the phrases "if it flies, it dies" and certainly don't understand the concept of a closed breeding season etc:(

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Fergal can defend himself but I think he posted this thread in response to a throwaway comment in another thread which maybe he took too seriously. Anyway going on most of his posts here I think Fergal would agree that Irish Hunters are generally among the most responsible and conservation focussed in Europe - At least when compared to the likes of hunters from Malta, Cyprus etc. who appear to live by the phrases "if it flies, it dies" and certainly don't understand the concept of a closed breeding season etc:(

maybe should have includes a link to whatever it was got him so upset...
    chances are it would have most on here feeling the same..

sorry to dissappoint
    I questioned a fellow shooting pink footed geese (illegally)!
    I questioned the dangers of lead shot to Raptors!
    I gave out about Raptors being shot!
    Hardly trolling!

I questioned the dangers of lead shot to Raptors!
    !

And wildfowl - most of it ends up in our rivers and lakes where it is ingested in the gizzard of everything from swans to ducks with serious health affects including death in many cases:(. Its been banned in many US states for that very reason!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

i think 4gun is right, i think you have aproblem with hunters, someone on another forum asked about the golden eagle re introduction and you replyed by saying

' Alas all the news we seem to get is bastards shooting them '.

that has nothing to do with the re introduction of eagels and puts genuine hunters in a bad light

Can't understand it?

why was this your first post then..too vague in general
    as previously said in this thread, a few irresponcible asses don't represent the whole shooting community,
    from a personal point of veiw, some of your post on the shooting forum have been negative towards shooters,
    some of the eagles were poisoned, do you go on the farming forum and accuse them of being negative towards Birdwatch,
    you would probably find a few friend here if you took a slightly different approach

Birdnuts wrote: »
    And wildfowl - most of it ends up in our rivers and lakes where it is ingested in the gizzard of everything from swans to ducks with serious health affects including death in many cases:(. Its been banned in many US states for that very reason!!

most of this argument was trashed out here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055990537

jap gt wrote: »
    i think 4gun is right, i think you have aproblem with hunters, someone on another forum asked about the golden eagle re introduction and you replyed by saying

' Alas all the news we seem to get is bastards shooting them '.

that has nothing to do with the re introduction of eagels and puts genuine hunters in a bad light
    "Alas all the news we seem to get is bastards shooting them or eagles being poisoned."
    You conviently left out the part about the poisoning when you quoted me:mad:
    Since both affects the raptor re introductions it has everything to do with the project.
    What you do want to happen? Cover up all illegal shooting of raptors. Don't admit it happens

"Alas all the news we seem to get is bastards shooting them or eagles being poisoned."
    You conviently left out the part about the poisoning when you quoted me:mad:
    Since both affects the raptor re introductions it has everything to do with the project.
    What you do want to happen? Cover up all illegal shooting of raptors. Don't admit it happens

i left it out because it has nothing to do with what we are talking about here and the shooting bit is the bit i took offence to, even if some eejit decides to shoot a raptor it doesnt represent the vast majority of hunters

Here I applauded the response to the replies by poster. Another example of trolling???

you came here spoiling for a fight then when you didnt get the response you expected you decided to applaud us

i left it out because it has nothing to do with what we are talking about here and the shooting bit is the bit i took offence to, even if some eejit decides to shoot a raptor it doesnt represent the vast majority of hunters
    Most hunters are responsible, I agree with that. The eejits that shoot/poison them are bastards.

Here I applauded the response to the replies by poster. Another example of trolling???

I'd say you were responding to a reply that you didn't expect to get on the hunting forum..
    you probably didn't think that members of BI were also members of gun clubs

Most hunters are responsible, I agree with that. The eejits that shoot/poison them are bastards.

be more specific in your threads
    most people here will agree with you that the ones who poisioned those eagles are Bast**ds..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Folks, that's two threads in a day we've had to delete posts from to keep things civil. You lot know better than this.
    you came here spoiling for a fight then when you didnt get the response you expected you decided to applaud us
    I'd say you were responding to a reply that you didn't expect to get on the hunting forum..
    you probably didn't think that members of BI were also members of gun clubs
    In which case, through civil discussion and dialogue, someone who didn't think much of hunters changed their mind.

I call that a good outcome.

Just for the factual evidence..How many eagles have been shot?ASFIK there has been one red kite last year.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Just for the factual evidence..How many eagles have been shot?ASFIK there has been one red kite last year.

1 in NI.

i think one has been, thats just from reading what fergal said on another thread

Troll banned, post deleted, and please folks, just read my signature?

So one bird not even shot in the 26 counties,makes us all B"""TDS then???:rolleyes:

apparently so :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

So far this year I've released a buzzard from my crow trap, a sparrowhawk from my partridge pen, twice! Both the buzzard and the sparrowhawk breed on my shoot. I've seen a male peregrine there. I've also seen one of the golden eagles there. There are two kestrels that I come across regularly on my walkabouts feeding the birds. A male corncrake was heard twice calling just behind my pheasant pen earlier in the year and yes the silage is cut later by choice in the hope some will breed here. I'm not a member of bird watch Ireland although I understand they do good work and oh yes I'm from Northern Ireland. :rolleyes:

Mallards

Grizzly, be fair - we all thought the people shooting&poisoning them were bastards. He never came on here and said all hunters were bastards, just that all those killing eagles were - which we say as well.

Seriously, what's there to disagree about here?

Can't understand it?

Alot is more than a few..how much more? depends on your perspective
    and Hunter/Shooter is very broad... how many guys only ever target shoot and never ruffle a feather of a hair

this guy is Anti-firearms, by and large

deleted post

Sparks wrote: »
    Grizzly, be fair - we all thought the people shooting&poisoning them were bastards. He never came on here and said all hunters were bastards, just that all those killing eagles were - which we say as well.

Seriously, what's there to disagree about here?

Personally ,I felt Fergal was using a rather large brush here to tar us all with the same crime.It comes across like the enraged Femmy saying "All men are bastards!"Could you be a tad more specific??
    Yes these people who did shoot the eagle and red kite are total idiots,that should never have been let near a feather duster rather than a gun.
    It is however a statement that could be taken up very wrongly or rightly by whichever side of the fence you are sitting on.An anti reading this would be 100% in agreement with it and the sentiment.A hunter would feel hard done by.As I say,thats my personal reading and interpertation of it.

Alot is more than a few..how much more? depends on your perspective
    I think his perspective came from reading this and not seeing anyone post in disagreement...

i agree with grizzly, but from the link sparks posted, if he got the idea from what jwshooter posted, since when is jwshooter a spokesman for us, i think fergal assumed away too much