Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F the world, I'm number 1

• 24-08-2010 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭

Why do so many people have this attitude?
    I was in a very rural part of Ireland, you know the kind of place where everyone waves, regardless. This got me thinking...
    I'm not a saint by any means, but the simple things always help. I'll ALWAYS hold the door for you, if I'm not travelling fast I will stop to let you cross the road and give a little smile as I wave you across. It takes practically NO effort to do this. If I'm coming to a red light and you're at a junction, I will leave room for you to pull out (in before "hehe, 'pull out'")
    Today, was driving in town and I stopped to let a lady cross with a buggy. Prick behind me in an '09 Merc beeps at me. I was literally stopped for 5 seconds. So, I get out and just say loudly "problem". He mumbles something, then body language goes all hunched and apologetic. So obviously this guy was a prick without trying. How does that happen to people? The woman who I let cross was looking back smiling when I let her cross and without being rude, she didn't seem too bothered about material possessions.
    So many people are ignorant these days, but why? The dude in the big beemer or the fancy suit will rarely acknowledge a good deed, no matter how small. A nod is all it takes to say thanks to a stranger. Now I'm not saying ALL rich people are ignorant or that all 'poorer' people are saints, but the correlation between money and ignorance seems fairly solid.
    As I said, I'm not Mr. Happy all the time but there is no excuse for ingorance. I make a conscious effort to do 1 nice thing every day. If even half the world did this it would be a way way better place.
    I don't even know if this is a question or a rant but just be nice. Smile at people. Say thanks. It's easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Ranting and Raving that way -->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

The world is full of cnuts mate. Its one of the facts of life. Some people werent raised with good manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

areu4real? wrote: »

Because I'm #1 and the world can go fuck itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I was in a very rural part of Ireland, you know the kind of place where everyone waves, regardless. This got me thinking...
    I'm not a saint by any means, but the simple things always help. I'll ALWAYS hold the door for you, if I'm not travelling fast I will stop to let you cross the road and give a little smile as I wave you across. It takes practically NO effort to do this. If I'm coming to a red light and you're at a junction, I will leave room for you to pull out (in before "hehe, 'pull out'")
    Today, was driving in town and I stopped to let a lady cross with a buggy. Prick behind me in an '09 Merc beeps at me. I was literally stopped for 5 seconds. So, I get out and just say loudly "problem". He mumbles something, then body language goes all hunched and apologetic. So obviously this guy was a prick without trying. How does that happen to people? The woman who I let cross was looking back smiling when I let her cross and without being rude, she didn't seem too bothered about material possessions.
    So many people are ignorant these days, but why? The dude in the big beemer or the fancy suit will rarely acknowledge a good deed, no matter how small. A nod is all it takes to say thanks to a stranger. Now I'm not saying ALL rich people are ignorant or that all 'poorer' people are saints, but the correlation between money and ignorance seems fairly solid.
    As I said, I'm not Mr. Happy all the time but there is no excuse for ingorance. I make a conscious effort to do 1 nice thing every day. If even half the world did this it would be a way way better place.
    I don't even know if this is a question or a rant but just be nice. Smile at people. Say thanks. It's easy.
    What's next? Throwing an empty water bottle on the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭stopusingoil

Ha. Come on man, it's obvious. You live in a city. No community spirit whatsoever. What do you expect? If it bothers you that much, move to the country or just become an asshole too so you won't care any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

What do you expect? If it bothers you that much, move to the country or just become an asshole too so you won't care any more.

I expect nothing more than people to appreciate a good deed.
    Saying "that's the way it is" is a kop out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

Ha. Come on man, it's obvious. You live in a city. No community spirit whatsoever. What do you expect? If it bothers you that much, move to the country or just become an asshole too so you won't care any more.

The country has as many assholes as cities do. Difference is in the country people pretend to be nice on the surface. I've never met people more cunning and crafty than country people, especially farmers.

MultiUmm wrote: »
    The country has as many assholes as cities do. Difference is in the country people pretend to be nice on the surface. I've never met people more cunning and crafty than country people, especially farmers.

Yea, I don't really think geography is the problem though. I think it's greed on some level

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

I'm not travelling fast I will stop to let you cross the road and give a little smile as I wave you across.

Do you know how F**KING dangerous this is? You are waving pedestrians onto a road with no regard for cars/motorbikes/etc coming the opposite direction, cars overtaking you from behind, god knows what else. What if mr pedestrian is distracted by you waving at him to cross the road and doesn't see a car coming the opposite direction? Let pedestrians wait until the road is completely clear and they can see in both directions to cross by themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Holding doors open for someone is a courtesy that is dying. Courtesy in general is. People are too wrapped up in themselves these days to make the slightest bit of effort to be mannerly.

It's one thing that gets my goat is when people don't bother to say thanks after you do something nice for them.

I worked in a off licence before and went out of my way many a time to sort customers out, be it letting them in five minutes after I had locked up or running to the bar next door to get them ice free of charge or a bottle opener and they don't even bother to say one little word to express a bit of gratitude.

Went off on a bit of a rant there! Tl:dr, most people are cnuts! :pac:

30H!3 wrote: »
    Do you know how F**KING dangerous this is? You are waving pedestrians onto a road with no regard for cars/motorbikes/etc coming the opposite direction, cars overtaking you from behind, god knows what else. What if mr pedestrian is distracted by you waving at him to cross the road and doesn't see a car coming the opposite direction? Let pedestrians wait until the road is completely clear and they can see in both directions to cross by themselves.

No regard? I always make sure it's clear. I look in my mirrors as people cross. This is in quiet residential streets or slow moving traffic. Not the m50 I'm not talking slamming the breaks and waving 30 schoolkids over the road. And no, I didn't realise it was F'ING DANGEROUS to be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

No regard? I always make sure it's clear. I look in my mirrors as people cross. I'm not talking slamming the breaks and waving 30 schoolkids over the road. And no, I didn't realise it was F'ING DANGEROUS to be nice.

It is dangerous, it's
    a) distracting to the pedestrian's observation of 2-way traffic
    b) means the pedestrian can't see the road behind you as well
    c) putting the pedestrians safety into your realm of responsibility

Stop doing it, seriously. There's a reason people fail their driving test for doing that.

It is dangerous, it's

Stop doing it, seriously. There's a reason people fail their driving test for doing that.

Sorry, but that warning won't stop me. Some people hang on the edge of the kerb, ready to dart between traffic. I would rather stop for this person. IMO, letting them cross is usually safer. Would you let another car pull out? Would you help a stranger in need? That's what this thead is about, not road safety. I understand your concerns, but they are your concerns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭stopusingoil

It is dangerous, it's

As much as I hate moanbags I have to agree here, please STOP doing it.

d) there is no way you checked your mirrors for cyclists before stopping, because I cycle and people like you nearly kill me regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

But some of the richest people don't look rich and you would never know it to look at them. They don't play the part. i.e. K Club golf, Gold Rolex, Saville Row suits etc etc, but are wealthy.

I remember coming home from a golf society once and telling the parents who was there. I mentioned Mr X. They said "You know he's a multi-millionaire". Steel Industry contracter. The man wouldn't have looked out of place in any rural pub.

The people in the suits and Merc's may look rich but as they say in Texas "Big Hat, No Cattle". They are playing the status game and are in all probability one missed lease payment away from bankruptcy.

When you are experiencing financial worries people tend to give others short shrift. Hence, the honking and the arse-holeness of some.

d) there is no way you checked your mirrors for cyclists before stopping, because I cycle and people like you nearly kill me regularly.

I ALWAYS check that it's safe. Have been driving years and I know when it is safe or not. Just to clarify this, I'm not going to stop on a busy street, but sometimes people are gonna go for it regardless. I also have great regard for cyclists and will give right of way when I can. I'm sure you see a lot of this ignorance on a bike. When I used to cycle everywhere some drivers act like you're not even there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

this has to be the dumbest thing ever stopping in the middle of a road ,,that you said is not even busy,she can cross herself when its safe.

the driver was probably behind you ,,but you were too busy watching some girl at side of the road to notice.

then you proceed to exit you car and go all road rage.

totally crazy

cuppa wrote: »
    this has to be the dumbest thing ever stopping in the middle of a road ,,that you said is not even busy,she can cross herself when its safe.

the driver was probably behind you ,,but you were too busy watching some girl at side of the road to notice.

then you proceed to exit you car and go all road rage.

totally crazy

Em, thats nothing like what happened.
    She was about to cross through one lane of slow moving traffic, so I let her. There was 1 car behind me, not probably, definitely. Woman was not a looker. No road rage, all I said was literally "problem?". And I can think of way dumber things than stopping a car. Licking a hot poker would be one. Eating glass. Using water as fuel for a fire. Bashing someone who is simply asking people to be nice. Loads of dumber things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Jesus Christ at all these awkward ****ers.

I'm sure you all know he's talking about when he's crawling along the road and there's people half way across you just wave the hand at them to cross and there they go, I often do it on Patrick St. in Cork, I'm well aware of my surroundings, they've crossed one side of the road usually and are waiting till the cars on the other side pass. It happens everywhere all the time and I've never heard of someone being killed from this.

Lets have a small bit of common sense when we're talking about what's dangerous and what's not.

Dave147 wrote: »
    Jesus Christ at all these awkward ****ers.

I'm sure you all know he's talking about when he's crawling along the road and there's people half way across you just wave the hand at them to cross and there they go, I often do it on Patrick St. in Cork, I'm well aware of my surroundings, they've crossed one side of the road usually and are waiting till the cars on the other side pass. It happens everywhere all the time and I've never heard of someone being killed from this.

Lets have a small bit of common sense when we're talking about what's dangerous and what's not.

Thank you, Thank you and Thank you.

Let people cross the road in there own time same as letting people out at a junction ,,the traffic behind you cant read you mind that your going to stop for no apperant reason.

i if it was me behind you in the car ,,id be getting out to confront you in my fiat panda.

Let people cross the road in there own time same as letting people out at a junction ,,the traffic behind you cant read you mind that your going to stop for no apperant reason.

i if it was me behind you in the car ,,id be getting out to confront you in my fiat panda.

Sorry, I fail to find the relevance of your Fiat Panda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I do all that hold the door open blah blah blah business, but I don't go looking for people to love me cause I do it.

I do it despite the fact I hate people, people are tw*ts. But then again I am awesome, so who knows.

well you failed to miss the not to stop in the middle of the road part ,so i guess you failed to miss the fiat panda referance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

When you're travelling at 10-20mph we can assume traffic has enough time to react to any sudden slowing down/stopping the cars in front do. It's usually safer to let these people cross the road than to keep driving as they're just going to dart in front of a car anyway.

I do see where you are coming from, but think you got the wrong end of the stick here.

I feel like I'm in the motoring forum. I used that as an example. It could be something like standing up for the quiet one when they're getting a bit of stick. Helping to lift a buggy down the stairs. Giving up a seat to someone who needs it. Small things that don't actually affect me. I gave a decent sum of money to a homeless guy I got chatting to before because he told me some good stories. Have never told anyone about it because I think it takes away from the deed. I don't look for people to "love me" for doing something nice. As I said, it's so easy to nod the head in acknowledgement of small deed.
    well you failed to miss the not to stop in the middle of the road part ,so i guess you failed to miss the fiat panda referance

I get the reference, you're not rich. Not the relevance. Unless you're saying "I drive a Panda, but don't acknowledge good deeds"
    And you do realise that "failed to miss" makes me sound better, yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You're really cool. Can I be your friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I'm with the OP here. Doing a nice thing isn't difficult. Stopping and letting someone cross the road is grand.

See the alterntive and move to Italy. 80mph down a laneway. Sure it's a nice Porche you have but that was my pizza box you hit with your wing mirror you inconsiderate **** :mad:

Then there's the other wanker who starts shouting at you angrily when you can't give him directions because you have no idea where he is trying to go because you aren't a native. Nice merc, but you're a spoiled rich wanker. I can tell by your girlfriend because she's made from the name material as your interior.

Middle aged woman trying to get to the shops? No problem love. It's only a green man but run me over anyway. There's nothing nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

Today, was driving in town and I stopped to let a lady cross with a buggy.

Stopping in the middle of the road to give way to a pedestrian is something you should never do.
    So, I get out and just say loudly "problem".

Knackerish carry on.
    she didn't seem too bothered about material possessions.

You can tell that by just looking at someone? what the hell has that got to do with anything anyway? does that mean she is the nicest person in the world?

So many people are ignorant these days, but why?

You seem more than qualified to answer that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You're the kind of fella I could have a few pints with. Keep being sound!

Terry wrote: »
    You're really cool. Can I be your friend?
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

OP you should have went to "ranting&raving" with this.
    We all get what you were trying to do, very decent it was too,but life
    is full of hyper-active assholes,especially one's here picking holes in it.

The Asshole Factor i call it. Next time don't get out of the car as it could lead
    to extreme violence you don't know what kind of creature is in the car behind you.
    Just beep and wave,(one fingered salute if you like) then drive on. Drive on.

Stopping in the middle of the road to give way to a pedestrian is something you should never do.
    Yea, the other traffic wardens already told me, thanks though

Knackerish carry on.
    Really? Knackerish? I didn't stab him.

You can tell that by just looking at someone?
    Yea, was trying not to be nasty, but she was scruffy.
    what the hell has that got to do with anything anyway?
    Goes back to my central point here that money breeds ignorance.
    does that mean she is the nicest person in the world?

No, didn't say that. It's an example I used for contrast

You seem more than qualified to answer that.

You pick me apart and then say that. Nice.

As I said, I'm anonymous here. Not looking for people to big me up. But I love how the nicest thing most people in thread can do is complain about me stopping the car. Classic AH

mecanoman wrote: »
    OP you should have went to "ranting&raving" with this.
    We all get what you were trying to do, very decent it was too,but life
    is full of hyper-active assholes,especially one's here picking holes in it.

The Asshole Factor i call it. Next time don't get out of the car as it could lead
    to extreme violence you don't know what kind of creature is in the car behind you.
    Just beep and wave,(one fingered salute if you like) then drive on. Drive on.

Thats the thing. Normally I would drive on. I'm a quiet fella, but I knew this guy behind was just being an ass. I didn't approach him, just made sure we could see each other. I'm not big or intimidating looking, but his reaction showed me that he know he was in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Really? Knackerish? I didn't stab him.

Well what would you have done if he had have replied that he did indeed have a problem and made his way up to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

Find it amazing the amount of people here giving stick to the OP for stopping to let some old lady cross the road. Some day that might be one of you lot, trying to cross the road to get home before you piss your pants while pacemaker is low on battery life, and some ignorant pricks wont stop to let you cross because their in a rush to get home and watch TV. Some people have no manners. It cost nothing to be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

SV wrote: »
    Well what would you have done if he had have replied that he did indeed have a problem and made his way up to you?

Maybe shout at him? Not stab him. If the OP was going to stab him however this would be a good opener Have you people never been let across the road by a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

FunnyStuff wrote: »
    Find it amazing the amount of people here giving stick to the OP for stopping to let some old lady cross the road. Some day that might be one of you lot, trying to cross the road to get home before you piss your pants while pacemaker is low on battery life, and some ignorant pricks wont stop to let you cross because their in a rush to get home and watch TV. Some people have no manners. It cost nothing to be nice.

FFS it was a mother with a buggy. Hardly what you call an OAP. If you have to lie to defend the OP at least to a better job at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

bm365 wrote: »
    FFS it was a mother with a buggy. Hardly what you call an OAP. If you have to lie to defend the OP at least to a better job at it.

it was a mother with a young child. Probably stressed/tired as most mothers are with young children. She probably appreciated the break, Its only a small gesture but gestures as simple as a smile can make your day so much better. It cost the OP nothing bar abuse on AH. Just hope that everybody giving the abuse is never let cross the road.. i'd hate to think what kind of abuse the driver would get for being kind :rolleyes:

At least some nice people have finally decided to drop in to my thread.
    And bm365, what do I need to be defended about? The bad vibes in this thread are a perfect example of what I'm talking about. People are all to ready to attack. It's depressing really.
    Stand my ground, as I done nothing wrong.
    Or hop in the car and boot it, running over the lady crossing the road. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Everyone has a p1ssy attitude to get off their chest. Some people take it out on randomers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

bm365 wrote: »

Thats even worse. You're giving out about some guy who stopped to let to let a mother and her child cross the road. ****in tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Goes back to my central point here that money breeds ignorance.

Seeing that this is the central point of this thread, you obviously have a serious chip on your shoulder.

It's hilarious that the whole thing isn't about the fact that the guy was a 'tard and that he was interrupting you're nice deed, rather that his demeanour was the consequence of him driving a Merc and/or wearing a suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

This thread just proves how life can be full of cunts!

Jev/N wrote: »
    Seeing that this is the central point of this thread, you obviously have a serious chip on your shoulder.

It's hilarious that the whole thing isn't about the fact that the guy was a 'tard and that he was interrupting you're nice deed, rather that his demeanour was the consequence of him driving a Merc and/or wearing a suit.

Not trying to argue with you, but the chip on the shoulder thing is simply not true. This has been learned rather than built into me. I also personally know "rich" people who are lovely, decent people. I said before, not all rich are asses, but I really feel that too much money has negative effects on weaker personalities.

I watched a documentary before, think it was BBC Horizon, where they took 50 random people from the street. They didn't tell them what they would be doing, just 'tests'.
    In one room they gave them squares of paper to count.
    In the other room they counted piles of cash.

They then ran a series of test.
    First, bowls of sweets were placed in front of both groups. The people who counted the paper ate 1 sweet each and wrote the report. The ones who counted money continued eating even after the report had been completed.
    Then each person was then told to leave the room, 1 by 1 for a task. They placed an actress in the hall, timid looking woman with a pile of paper. She was to drop the papers as the guinea pigs walked past her. ALL the people who counted money walked past, some laughing. Most of the paper counting group stopped and helped her pick them up. This is not some random stereotype I'm coming up with.

No.

Please?
    I need a friend who has road rage.
    I like stories about how they fist people who drive up their arses.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

FunnyStuff wrote: »
    Thats even worse. You're giving out about some guy who stopped to let to let a mother and her child cross the road. ****in tosser.

Banned.

Terry wrote: »
    Please?
    I need a friend who has road rage.
    I like stories about how they fist people who drive up their arses.

I don't have road rage, this thread is giving me forum rage though! :)

I hate to break it to you, but jumping out of your car because the person behind beeped at you is road rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Hahrharharharhra, forum rage.