Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greyhound Madness

• 23-08-2010 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭

i was a passenger in a car driving to Woodstown Beach Waterford early tonight around 7.00pm, we were about 5 minutes away when we encountered a white van on the opposite lane and he was signalling us with his headlights. For the first few seconds we were like "whats he signalling for", then out from behind his van came a greyhound running right into our lane. My mate slammed on the breaks and veered left narrowly missing the dog and the wall to our left.

Needless to say we were rather shaken, we got out to see this idiot get out of the van and put his leash on the greyhound and drive off rather hurriedly. I didnt know what was going on, and my mate turns to me and says that he was training the greyhound and that apparently its not an isolated thing.

I mean what a f**kin a**hole, we could of been killed.

And no we did not get his number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Did you get his reg though? ;)

Yeh, some people should never be allowed to have animals. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

johndoe99 wrote: »

How about the name of the dog?. Sounds like he'd be worth throwing a tenner on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

You should have fcuking gone after him, gotten his number, and gone straight to the nearest garda station. He's a danger to other road users, himself and his animal. These people drive me fcuking bonkers! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My mate slammed on the breaks and veered left narrowly missing the dog and the wall to our left.

Your mate obviously doesn't know the rules of the road. You don't stop for animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

How about the name of the dog?. Sounds like he'd be worth throwing a tenner on.

Here here,a dog used to racing vans when goes up against other greyhounds he wont have to get out of 2nd gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Did he have a rabbit or hare tied onto the hitch of the van?

Never heard of this at all. Not only is it the wrong ground to train a greyhound on but if the greyhound was worth money or showing signs of being a good runner then he would soon become roadkill.
    Roadkill = zero profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Sorry I ran off, had to get him home for the dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Sorry I ran off, had to get him home for the dinner.
    You ate him for dinner:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

i was a passenger in a car driving to Woodstown Beach Waterford early tonight around 7.00pm, we were about 5 minutes away when we encountered a white van on the opposite lane and he was signalling us with his headlights. For the first few seconds we were like "whats he signalling for", then out from behind his van came a greyhound running right into our lane. My mate slammed on the breaks and veered left narrowly missing the dog and the wall to our left.

Needless to say we were rather shaken, we got out to see this idiot get out of the van and put his leash on the greyhound and drive off rather hurriedly. I didnt know what was going on, and my mate turns to me and says that he was training the greyhound and that apparently its not an isolated thing.

You could have been killed by hitting a greyhound with your car??
    Really??

If your mate was dumb enough to put ye at risk trying to dodge a greyhound then he might want to hand his keys back to mammy and daddy.

Plus no trainer would run a decent greyhound on a tarmac road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The owner deserves to be whippet.

WindSock wrote: »
    The owner deserves to be whippet.

No.
    Now go lurcher on over to your corner and think about what you've done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    You could have been killed by hitting a greyhound with your car??
    Really??

read my post again, where does it say i could have been killed hitting a greyhound?

all i said was we could have been killed; like hitting the wall. Obviously English is not your first language, and by the sound of things, your the kind of person that would do such idiotic things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Here here,a dog used to racing vans when goes up against other greyhounds he wont have to get out of 2nd gear.

wouldn't a greyhound be faster than a van travelling in second gear ? over a short distance anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

read my post again, where does it say i could have been killed hitting a greyhound?

all i said was we could have been killed; like hitting the wall. .

But you are not meant to swerve for animals, so if you were killed due to swerving for an animal it is your mates fault.

Always expect the unexpected on the roads.

all i said was we could have been killed; like hitting the wall. Obviously English is not your first language, and by the sound of things, your the kind of person that would do such idiotic things.

Ok, so you/your mate felt it a better decision to veer towards a wall than hit a dog?

"decision"

it all happened in a split second, we didnt stop and have a chat for a few minutes and have a cup of tea and decide what to do.

Anyone in that position, would immediately react and swerve away.

srfc19 wrote: »
    But you are not meant to swerve for animals, so if you were killed due to swerving for an animal it is your mates fault..

please show me a link to some legal proof, where it states you are not meant to swerve for animals ?

I don't know about the legality situation, but human life comes before animal life and the dangers of swerving puts the human life in danger (possibility of hitting another car, tree or wall).
    If not swerving leads to the death of the animal at the expense of saving a human life then so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Terrier-ised you so much, you forgot how to write comprehensible english, the pup.

the ** were used as bad language is not allowed. All my mates are laughing at your post, what a dope.

Thats the point, it's a joke, people are meant to laugh. Your friends are smarter then you, they get jokes, kudos to them.

It isn't the stars he is talking about but the use of "of" where it should be have.

I wouldn't be overly concerned about being laughed at by someone who considers driving into a wall a safer option than hitting a dog.

where in my post does it state "considers driving into a wall a safer option than hitting a dog"

from reading your previous threads, i can see your from Limerick, well that explains a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Hold on a sec, what exactly was the owner doing? Are you suggesting that he let the dog loose on purpose? I doubt that's the case.

If a greyhound gets free of a leash in the open then it's unlikely that he will return to his owner. If the dog sees something (small dog, cat, rabbit etc) then it's goodnight, you may never see the dog again. If a greyhound catches a family pet on a road it will tear it apart and the owner could be open to being sued. No trainer in his right mind would let a greyhound loose on a road. I'm presuming that the dog got loose by accident. Fair play to the owner by alerting you of this with his headlights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

from reading your previous threads, i can see your ?????? from Limerick, well that explains a lot.

His what is from Limerick ? :confused: Or do you mean that you are in Limerick using binoculars, and you can see something of his - that you forgot to specify - from there ? Maybe you can see his dog from Limerick ?

And what, pray tell, might it explain ? Does it explain your repeated bad grammar and spelling, for example ?

P.S. The word you needed to use in your sentence is "you're"

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Hold on a sec, what exactly was the owner doing? Are you suggesting that he let the dog loose on purpose? I doubt that's the case.

If a greyhound gets free of a leash in the open then it's unlikely that he will return to his owner. If the dog sees something (small dog, cat, rabbit etc) then it's goodnight, you may never see the dog again. If a greyhound catches a family pet on a road it will tear it apart and the owner could be open to being sued. No trainer in his right mind would let a greyhound loose on a road. I'm presuming that the dog got loose by accident. Fair play to the owner by alerting you of this with his headlights.

why as i stated in the post, did he get the dog, get in van and speed off, without coming over to us and explain himself, it all looked suspicious

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    His what is from Limerick ? :confused: Or do you mean that you are in Limerick using binoculars, and you can see something of his - that you forgot to specify - from there ? Maybe you can see his dog from Limerick ?

And what, pray tell, might it explain ? Does it explain your repeated bad grammar and spelling, for example ?

P.S. The word you needed to use in your sentence is "you're"

Sorry about the bad grammar, but this is only a forum, where we can use shorthand much like ud use on a mobile for texting. Didnt realise knackers could spell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Huh?

Did the Greyhound look like this ?

Huh?

Did the Greyhound look like this ?

thants uncanny, thats him, do u live in the area, wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

i was a passenger in a car driving to Woodstown Beach Waterford early tonight

Woodstown Beach eh.....
    Sounds like you were going dogging but it wasnt what you ecpected.

why as i stated in the post, did he get the dog, get in van and speed off, without coming over to us and explain himself, it all looked suspicious

Maybe he is just an ignorant person. Or maybe he felt no obligation to come over and explain to you that his greyhound got loose. I'm sure he was thinking that it would be fairly obvious to any person.
    I didnt know what was going on, and my mate turns to me and says that he was training the greyhound and that apparently its not an isolated thing.

Well your friend is very ill informed. Prehaps he was trying to sound knowledgeable. Nobody in their right mind would train a greyhound by setting it loose on a road. The only times greyhound's are ever set loose is in a race, in a field where someone stands at the bottom with the dog and the dog sprints to a person at the top with a whistle, or in an enclosed field they might be set loose for a small period of time.

Maybe he is just an ignorant person. Or maybe he felt no obligation to come over and explain to you that his greyhound got loose. I'm sure he was thinking that it would be fairly obvious to any person.

he was ignorant, glad someone agrees.

Well your friend is very ill informed. Prehaps he was trying to sound knowledgeable. Nobody in their right mind would train a greyhound by setting it loose on a road. The only times greyhound's are ever set loose is in a race, in a field where someone stands at the bottom with the dog and the dog sprints to a person at the top with a whistle, or in an enclosed field they might be set loose for a small period of time.

http://www.examiner.com/pet-news-in-national/lazy-british-man-walking-dog-while-driving-car-is-so-busted-loses-license

Hasmunch wrote: »
    Woodstown Beach eh.....
    Sounds like you were going dogging but it wasnt what you ecpected.

yeah i was with your mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

and original post of the year goes to.......

Such wit. Amazing.

You've been complaining about people's grammar:

It's could have been killed. Not could of. OK. After rereading your posts, it obviously wasn't you that had been complaining - your grammar is far too atrocious to correct anybodies

But the dog was leashed in this case? Greyhounds are worth money, on average about 1000 quid. Would you leave Eur 1,000 free on a road? Because that is basically what you are doing if you let a greyhound loose.

where in my post does it state "considers driving into a wall a safer option than hitting a dog"

from reading your previous threads, i can see your from Limerick, well that explains a lot.

Well he veered away from the dog towards a wall.
    Go figure.

You obviously aren't the brightest of lads so it might be best to leave you be.
    Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for those killer greyhounds roaming around Ireland.

Sorry to hear your dogging session was ruined.

But the dog was leashed in this case? Greyhounds are worth money, on average about 1000 quid. Would you leave Eur 1,000 free on a road? Because that is basically what you are doing if you let a greyhound loose.

maybe he was a millionaire

Well he veered away from the dog towards a wall.
    Go figure.

You obviously aren't the brightest of lads so it might be best to leave you be.
    Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for those killer greyhounds roaming around Ireland.

Sorry to hear your dogging session was ruined.
    have a safe trip back to knackerland

Says the man from a place who's main industry is selling strawberries on the roadside.

hey! i love strawberries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

johndoe, take a day off. I would advise you use this time to brush up on your manners.