Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

luckily i brought my 17hmr!!!

• 20-08-2010 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

iphone186.jpg Supposed to be shooting a few pigeons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Not so lucky for that fox. :eek:
    well done mack ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 springer2k10

It's one of this years cubs! There easily shot! Very easy to call up with a squeal and knock them with the shotgun!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭mack_

Well its a first for my sako. shot at around 130yds. very happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

nice one mack, hope its the first of many, lovely rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

good shootin mack...;)

Cheers guys. nice to hear from some nice people not the begrudging types ive encountered on here before..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

mack_ wrote: »
    Cheers guys. nice to hear from some nice people not the begrudging types ive encountered on here before..

Here :eek: never :(

Have ya not got a "real" fox gun then? :p:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭touchyie

feck the begruger's and know it all's mac and there is plenty!. Its always good to get a shot at a fox fair play and well taken one less now. Did you get any pigeons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

It's one of this years cubs! There easily shot! Very easy to call up with a squeal and knock them with the shotgun!!

Got one this evening with my .17, came from bout 500 yds out non stop to about 20 yds, had to give a bark to get him to stop :D

must have been hungry Tfox. Ya got a few pigeons but not what i hoped for. goin to try it again today. gettin the spinner out.
    :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Fair play mack, lovely rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

must have been hungry Tfox. Ya got a few pigeons but not what i hoped for. goin to try it again today. gettin the spinner out.
    :):):)

Well to be fair was actually my friends .17HMR but he decided try the lamp for a change :)
    Was a very curious big cub, didnt know any better, and never will :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 springer2k10

Thinking about changing my under and over for semi auto. Want to spend around 900 anyone any ideas what I should go for? Mainly used for decoying!

Would shooting pigeon with a rifle be legal as they are now technically game?

dunno if shooting them with a rifle is legal. i use my bettinsoli diamond sporter o/u for decoying. was out today with the old krico .22lr semi auto. bit of fun bunny bashin. got a few mags and greys too. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

It's just occurred to me and the legislation in this area is so f**ked up you could get into trouble very easily :rolleyes: like using a rifle fitted with a moderator to shoot birds as in greys & magpies? and shooting a gun you don't have a licence for? and pigeon being game and therefore only being allowed to use a shottie? :eek:

Thinking about changing my under and over for semi auto. Want to spend around 900 anyone any ideas what I should go for? Mainly used for decoying!

Beretta A391, should get a good s/h for that kind of money ;)

It's just occurred to me and the legislation in this area is so f**ked up you could get into trouble very easily :rolleyes: like using a rifle fitted with a moderator to shoot birds as in greys & magpies? and shooting a gun you don't have a licence for? and pigeon being game and therefore only being allowed to use a shottie? :eek:
    WHY can u not use a mod??

'Cause it's illegal :D

OK so I'll go and get the link :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I think you aer wrong there BS, the derrogation is an exemption to this.

JR posted a list a while back

From the 1976 Wildlife Act

33.—(1) It shall be an offence for a person to kill or injure—

[GA] ( a ) with a repeating or automatic shotgun (other than a repeating or automatic shotgun which is adapted or modified so as to render it incapable of carrying more than three shotgun cartridges), with an airgun, air-rifle, gas-rifle, pistol or revolver, or with any firearm fitted with a silencer device, any wild bird,
    [GA] ( b ) with a rifle, any protected wild bird.

Linky Tac?

I may be wrong so :eek:

Found this too

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2000/en/act/pub/0038/sec0041.html#partiv-chapii-sec41

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

From the 1976 Wildlife Act

33.—(1) It shall be an offence for a person to kill or injure—

[GA] ( a ) with a repeating or automatic shotgun (other than a repeating or automatic shotgun which is adapted or modified so as to render it incapable of carrying more than three shotgun cartridges), with an airgun, air-rifle, gas-rifle, pistol or revolver, or with any firearm fitted with a silencer device, any wild bird,
    [GA] ( b ) with a rifle, any protected wild bird.

Linky Tac?

I may be wrong so :eek:

Its the derrogation, its on one of the air rifle threads recently. List of vermin birds by county/provience.

derrogation of corvids, Now i have no time to search (I'm in work :D )

Was it only to shoot them with an air rifle though?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67438709&postcount=6

Still searching for derogation.........................

Found it ... here's the post :) The derogation is listed in it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67420532&postcount=4

While it states use of a rifle is allowed it doesn't state use of a moderator is allowed so would that mean the legislation kicks in and makes it illegal?

Now as I said the law is very easy to fall foul of and remember ignorance is no defence :)

So I think I'll finish with

QED :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Unprotected wild birds can be shot with a rifle which doesn't have a silencer attached.

I think that's correct.

It's.A.Mess.

johngalway wrote: »
    ...............It's.A.Mess.

+1 and if they go to "fix" it it will make it WORSE as we have seen :rolleyes:

.............Now i have no time to search (I'm in work :D )

Aren't we all :P

Too many guys here caught up in all yhe laws and sub paragraphs. wonder if they ever do anything else. cany understand why they want to protect mags and greys.. from bein shot with or without mod. what is the difference. asked local garda about it and said as long as i was licenced for mod it was ok. now let ye go do some shooting and stop picking holes in my post.:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Beautiful rifle mate, and good shooting - what kind of scope is on it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Too many guys here caught up in all yhe laws and sub paragraphs. wonder if they ever do anything else. cany understand why they want to protect mags and greys.. from bein shot with or without mod. what is the difference. asked local garda about it and said as long as i was licenced for mod it was ok. now let ye go do some shooting and stop picking holes in my post.:mad::mad::mad:

Relax.

More people than shooters watch this forum.

The difference is one is legal, one isn't legal.

ALL birds are protected. Derogations are signed giving us permission to shoot some and not others and according to certain conditions.

If they caught you, or you were reported, and if they were of a mind to, you'd be in breach of the law and in trouble.

Some lads like to know what's legal and what isn't. It's a little bit important.

vixdname wrote: »
    Beautiful rifle mate, and good shooting - what kind of scope is on it ?

Bushnell banner. 4-16x40. good enough for what i want. you doin much shootin vix?