Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bill of all Trades

• 20-08-2010 2:40pm
    Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This picture was taken from a news paper in Wicklow sorry for the poor image it was sent to my phone from another installer i know but i think this is better than our Supreme satellite guy in Rosslare who along with being Ireland's largest supplier of FTA is selling cakes at a market each saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

scaller wrote: »
    This picture was taken from a news paper in Wicklow sorry for the poor image it was sent to my phone from another installer i know but i think this is better than our Supreme satellite guy in Rosslare who along with being Ireland's largest supplier of FTA is selling cakes at a market each saturday.

I came across some bloke selling the same in a small market in a very small town just south of Gorey. Here he was selling cupcakes on one side and FTA boxes and installs on the other........strange!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

There is another guy south of Gorey doing powerwashing cherrypicker for hire and free to air installs. I Heard he has some sort of web site up with all his differant services on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Rippy

Bill's Gates?
    Bet he would do your Windows too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭Booms

Would you get a discount for a combined dish and gate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Booms wrote: »
    Would you get a discount for a combined dish and gate?

Good deal going on Satelitte cakes at the moment.

ca57ccd52d757496

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭steveon

Nothing wrong with being a jack of all trades so long as the job is done correcty. Its hard enough to keep the wolves from the doors. He could be selling the satellite systems on commission so fair play and good luck to him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Harry.c

steveon wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with being a jack of all trades so long as the job is done correcty. Its hard enough to keep the wolves from the doors. He could be selling the satellite systems on commission so fair play and good luck to him...

Hey Steveon,

While I agree with you to a point, Its the likes of these fella,s are killing the buisness for the long term, genuine established people that are in the buisness, like myself and other people I know,
    We invest a lot of time and money in the buisness, I for one could make and hang gates but dont, I stick to my buisness only, not infringing on others. this game is getting a bad name with every Bob the builder/gate hanger/cupcake baker, out there at the moment..

People should realise what they are getting coming to their house!!

Harry.c wrote: »
    Hey Steveon,

While I agree with you to a point, Its the likes of these fella,s are killing the buisness for the long term, genuine established people that are in the buisness, like myself and other people I know,
    We invest a lot of time and money in the buisness, I for one could make and hang gates but dont, I stick to my buisness only, not infringing on others. this game is getting a bad name with every Bob the builder/gate hanger/cupcake baker, out there at the moment..

People should realise what they are getting coming to their house!!

I am also in the tv business, have been since 6 yrs of age. The key to any business is diversification. Not infrining on some1 else's business what the hell is that about? Of course you are...you are in direct competion with other installers etc, so to be one step ahead of the competition you need to be able to provide more than one service..

All over the board, people talk about the ease of one provider of tv, broadband phone etc...so why cant it be the same for anything else...if the service is done rite then there shouldnt be a problem. If its done wrong then the company or person will fail at what he does and it wont be a problem for you. If anything you will get more business as I spend countless hours cleaning up others peoples mess...I dont like it but its life...deal with it..

When Im quiet doing tv work, I look for other work, such as broadband installs, webdesign, repair computers, It started as a hobby but is now something I love, almost as much as I do enjoy visiting here and giving my time and advice, which I hope helps others....so stop slagging off some1 else for trying to make an honest living...as I said earlier if he makes a pig's ear of it...thats his business and it shouldnt bother you.

Alot of people start off doing Tv's then go into cctv and I know countless others that went into gate automation then home automation....to say some1 shouldnt do it is just ridiculous...hang gates if you can...why not...my ex boss done it and make a sucess of it....and now runs a seperate company doing that as well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭Tony

I strongly disagree, these guys are damaging the satellite business by giving it a bad name, remember as an industry we are competting with cable companies and MMDS so when one of these morons screws up it hurts us all.

If its done wrong then the company or person will fail at what he does and it wont be a problem for you. If anything you will get more business as I spend countless hours cleaning up others peoples mess...I dont like it but its life...deal with it..

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

There's so many options out there regarding tv providers so one eejit can get everyone tarred with the one brush,then potential customers will head somewhere else-a lot of stories out there of shoddy work, and bad news spreads.How many times have ye heard "Jaysus I wouldn't get that in the house-yer man made a hames of Mary's house down the road",people assume it's the same guy doing all the jobs and very difficult to change their mind.
    How in all fairness is there a connection between cakes,gatesand satellite tv installs,it'd be ok if the guy was doing alarm installs or something comparable along with satellite tv-at least theres some kind of link on a technical level.
    Let people diversify but at least keep the work in the same ballpark-at least they'd be taken seriously.I like Pat the Baker's bread but wouldn't get him to put up a dish:)

A lot of call's my self and two guys i know in the trade Harry.c been 1 are from people just asking how much is the Freeview/Freetoview/Freetoairsatnav/Freesky/Freethis and Freethat. Before the switchover last August people would just phone me and say when is the earliest that you can install Free to Air or Freesat. I dont mind healthy opposition in the trade if the Installer is legit and paying his taxes . But i dont like fellas popping up from nowhere putting in cheap ****e free to air systems calling the system some name they made up and completely destroying the tv buisness just to make some quick money.

Look at the picture i posted up at the start of this thread the Guy is Advertising Freeview with a Dish in the Picture what does that say about his Knowladge of Tv systems. 100's of FREEVIEW channels

satellite-dish-pimped.jpg

+
    1252082132-cupcake-stand_49.jpg

=

tt0702258.jpg

zerks wrote: »
    Dunno what happened with the 1st set of pics-maybe trying to do too may things at once;) Maybe a higher power here can delete it.

you can delete it yourself

Fixed that-my browser is kicking up,all good now.
    This thread reminds me of the days of the Celtic Tiger when any man with a van set himself up as a builder,plumber,whatever-those guys are gone and the reliable guys are still going.How many ads were posted in local papers along the east coast during DSO in Wales? Too many guys trying to make a quick buck and dragging the business down.

Fixed that-my browser is kicking up,all good now.
    This thread reminds me of the days of the Celtic Tiger when any man with a van set himself up as a builder,plumber,whatever-those guys are gone and the reliable guys are still going.How many ads were posted in local papers along the east coast during DSO in Wales? Too many guys trying to make a quick buck and dragging the business down.

I am also in the tv business, have been since 6 yrs of age. The key to any business is diversification. Not infrining on some1 else's business what the hell is that about? Of course you are...you are in direct competion with other installers etc, so to be one step ahead of the competition you need to be able to provide more than one service..

All over the board, people talk about the ease of one provider of tv, broadband phone etc...so why cant it be the same for anything else...if the service is done rite then there shouldnt be a problem. If its done wrong then the company or person will fail at what he does and it wont be a problem for you. If anything you will get more business as I spend countless hours cleaning up others peoples mess...I dont like it but its life...deal with it..

When Im quiet doing tv work, I look for other work, such as broadband installs, webdesign, repair computers, It started as a hobby but is now something I love, almost as much as I do enjoy visiting here and giving my time and advice, which I hope helps others....so stop slagging off some1 else for trying to make an honest living...as I said earlier if he makes a pig's ear of it...thats his business and it shouldnt bother you.

Alot of people start off doing Tv's then go into cctv and I know countless others that went into gate automation then home automation....to say some1 shouldnt do it is just ridiculous...hang gates if you can...why not...my ex boss done it and make a sucess of it....and now runs a seperate company doing that as well....

Your completly missing the point.. I am not slagging him off for doing something else at all,
    All the examples you gave for diversifing are are all loosly based on a technicial level, I myself will to diversify in to other TECHNICIAL areas as I have to cause of these lads.
    As someone else said what the hell have hanging gates got to do with satellite eystems?

So your attidude is if Bob the plasterer up the road from you started fitting sat systems, undercutting you, you would sit there and say.. ah sure good luck to him! Bull****e mate,

If you bothered to actually read what I wrote, i didn,t say one shouldnt go into the cctv, gate automation etc.

Maybe you will think differently when as scaller says your just quoting and not getting much work cause of lads going around, making cakes, hanging gates, plastering, oh and least I forget fitting sat systems!

There's so many options out there regarding tv providers so one eejit can get everyone tarred with the one brush,then potential customers will head somewhere else-a lot of stories out there of shoddy work, and bad news spreads.How many times have ye heard "Jaysus I wouldn't get that in the house-yer man made a hames of Mary's house down the road",people assume it's the same guy doing all the jobs and very difficult to change their mind.
    How in all fairness is there a connection between cakes,gatesand satellite tv installs,it'd be ok if the guy was doing alarm installs or something comparable along with satellite tv-at least theres some kind of link on a technical level.
    Let people diversify but at least keep the work in the same ballpark-at least they'd be taken seriously.I like Pat the Baker's bread but wouldn't get him to put up a dish:)

My Points exactly Zerks,

How can you be taken seriously, they are not even remotly connected,
    Ah yes.. so fresh it,s famous! I still wouldnt get him to put up a dish either no matter how fresh his bread is!!

[My ex boss started doing electric gates, as originally he dont the cameras on the gates, and it was from people continuosly asking him why he didnt do the whole job that inspired him to learn the trade and then setup a second company that done just that...when he was quiet he would do work in either company that he saw fit..

QUOTE=Harry.c;67641737]Your completly missing the point.. I am not slagging him off for doing something else at all,
    All the examples you gave for diversifing are are all loosly based on a technicial level, I myself will to diversify in to other TECHNICIAL areas as I have to cause of these lads.
    As someone else said what the hell have hanging gates got to do with satellite eystems?

So your attidude is if Bob the plasterer up the road from you started fitting sat systems, undercutting you, you would sit there and say.. ah sure good luck to him! Bull****e mate,

If you bothered to actually read what I wrote, i didn,t say one shouldnt go into the cctv, gate automation etc.

Maybe you will think differently when as scaller says your just quoting and not getting much work cause of lads going around, making cakes, hanging gates, plastering, oh and least I forget fitting sat systems![/QUOTE]

Bob the plasterer should stick to plastering. If he wants to chnage career to become satellite installer let him A. get the proper training B. Get the proper insurance C. Learn the difference between free view and freesat.

I could go on but I doubt you will get the point steveon, these guys are damaging our business not moving it forward. They are giving the satellite business a bad name with their shoddy practices.

I welcome competition as long as we are all playing on the same level playing field. Those clowns do not.

Competition is good , taking advantage of the public is bad.

Tony wrote: »
    Bob the plasterer should stick to plastering. If he wants to chnage career to become satellite installer let him A. get the proper training B. Get the proper insurance C. Learn the difference between free view and freesat.

I could go on but I doubt you will get the point steveon, these guys are damaging our business not moving it forward. They are giving the satellite business a bad name with their shoddy practices.

I welcome competition as long as we are all playing on the same level playing field. Those clowns do not.

Competition is good , taking advantage of the public is bad.

You obviously dont read what I said...

IF THE PERSON DOES THE JOB RIGHT IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT OR HOW MANY DIFFERENT TRADES HE DOES...

IF he does it wrong he wont last in business so dont let them worry you. You provide an excellent service Tony, I have installed countless items sold by your goodself...so once again dont worry about them. Let people get what they pay for...if the decide to use a monkey and pay peanuts then thats what they will get..

I did read what you said and i still think you are missing the point. I've yet to meet a tradesman who can do several different trades to a high standard. Hence the expression "Jack of all trades and master of none"

He may only last a short time but while he is in business he is damaging our industry, I do not understand why you cannot grasp this. You cannot seriously argue that a guy who sells cakes one day and tries to fit dishes the next is seriously commited to the satellite trade.

Please turn off the caps,shouting does not help your arguement .

You obviously dont read what I said...

IF THE PERSON DOES THE JOB RIGHT IT DOESNT MATTER WHAT OR HOW MANY DIFFERENT TRADES HE DOES...

IF he does it wrong he wont last in business so dont let them worry you. You provide an excellent service Tony, I have installed countless items sold by your goodself...so once again dont worry about them. Let people get what they pay for...if the decide to use a monkey and pay peanuts then thats what they will get..

Steveon You are still not getting the main point that Tony, Harry.c Myself and Zerks are making. Are you happy to sit at home on your Arse when some Guy who knows **** all about Satellite tv Systems and probably is a Carpenter, Plumber, Plasterer, Painter or Chef by trade is undercutting you in work by €50-€80 on a install and has probably bought a cheap satellite kit in B+Q for €50 and fitted it for €150 while you are paying top notch for a branded Freesat System. Also when it comes to October every year and your handing mister TAXMAN over your hard earned €€€ and this so called Jack or Bill of all trades dosent pay a penny because he done the job for cash would you still be happy.

scaller wrote: »
    Steveon You are still not getting the main point that Tony, Harry.c Myself and Zerks are making. Are you happy to sit at home on your Arse when some Guy who knows **** all about Satellite tv Systems and probably is a Carpenter, Plumber, Plasterer, Painter or Chef by trade is undercutting you in work by €50-€80 on a install and has probably bought a cheap satellite kit in B+Q for €50 and fitted it for €150 while you are paying top notch for a branded Freesat System. Also when it comes to October every year and your handing mister TAXMAN over your hard earned €€€ and this so called Jack or Bill of all trades dosent pay a penny because he done the job for cash would you still be happy.

Im not missing any point, if hes crap at what he does then yes it would piss me off, I know alot of people who just do satellites and nothing else that are crap at it 2...and all I do is get the complaints from their customers afterwards. So that also pisses me off. Does the guy who sells the cakes, actually install the dishes or is it some1 else???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ISAA

Everyman to his own job,

Satellite communications does not mix well with cakes :eek:

I agree with Tony and others.

Regards,

Gerry

Steveon can you give me a Reply to this

Are you happy to sit at home on your Arse when some Guy who knows **** all about Satellite tv Systems and probably is a Carpenter, Plumber, Plasterer, Painter or Chef by trade is undercutting you in work by €50-€80 on a install and has probably bought a cheap satellite kit in B+Q for €50 and fitted it for €150 while you are paying top notch for a branded Freesat System.

And can you give me a reply to this

Also when it comes to October every year and your handing mister TAXMAN over your hard earned €€€ and this so called Jack or Bill of all trades dosent pay a penny because he done the job for cash would you still be happy.

I jusr did answer it, no i am not happy if some1 who doesnt know what he is doing, and doesnt have insurance undercuts or undermines any1.

Im certaintly less happy if he isnt paying his due taxes, but no1 here proved to me that the person whos add's are ridiculed here is such a person.

I myself would question why he would do so many different things, I wouldnt want to, but a stall holder will always have a variation of items to get people to his stall, he could be selling satellites on commission for some1 else...

Also his wife, aunt sister mite be making the cakes....

Steveon these two guys are been used as an example of how bad things are becoming in the satellite trade. As everyone here is trying to point out to you that its Guys like these two and a lot more who know **** all about the Satellite tv buisness are going destroy this trade in the long term. The same trade that You and I and Tony and Harry.c and many more guys here on boards.ie who are paying our Taxes and Insurance and trying to earn a living from supplying good quality equipment and doing good installs.

As i said Look at the picture i posted up at the start of this thread the Guy is Advertising Freeview with a Dish in the Picture what does that say about his Knowladge of Tv systems. 100's of FREEVIEW channels. He may as you say be on comission Just selling the kit but either way he dont know the differance between Freeview and Freesat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 supremesats

How silly are ye ..... We did have a satellite stand in the market for about 2 weeks in june and happened to be next to a lady selling cakes.... so open your eyes next time

We are in the satellite business for nearly 10 years and we do cover as much of the country as we can cos you need to travel for business nowadays so if we feel there is an opening in donegal we will advertise there and get the local installers there to install for us this is good business sense. There is plenty of work out there for everyone just need to use your head on how to get it but many of ye want jobs on your doorstep ye are not prepared to travel and ye cant even think outside the box on how to advertise your business.
    Any way why are ye so obsessed with us we are not doing anything wrong our work is immaculate we ARE paying our taxes unlike alot of ye and we are not interfering with anyone if anything we are subing alot of jobs out to local installers with very good reputations providing local employment.
    So what is your problem get a life and get off your behinds and go out and look for work

How to win friends and influence people.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ISAA

We are in the satellite business for nearly 10 years, is that all,:D

Be careful Gerry He is talking about advertising up your way. Then again he might want to hire you guys in Donegal for his multinational http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65032410 company to install his Opticom free to air boxes that give 12 movie channels http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055800637.

How silly are ye ..... We did have a satellite stand in the market for about 2 weeks in june and happened to be next to a lady selling cakes.... so open your eyes next time

We are in the satellite business for nearly 10 years and we do cover as much of the country as we can cos you need to travel for business nowadays so if we feel there is an opening in donegal we will advertise there and get the local installers there to install for us this is good business sense. There is plenty of work out there for everyone just need to use your head on how to get it but many of ye want jobs on your doorstep ye are not prepared to travel and ye cant even think outside the box on how to advertise your business.
    Any way why are ye so obsessed with us we are not doing anything wrong our work is immaculate we ARE paying our taxes unlike alot of ye and we are not interfering with anyone if anything we are subing alot of jobs out to local installers with very good reputations providing local employment.
    So what is your problem get a life and get off your behinds and go out and look for work
    ....we are not doing anything wrong our work is immaculate .....

.....we are subing alot of jobs out to local installers with very good reputations providing local employment....

Well well, with those above quotes in mind...

I was at a womans house who had a leaflet of yours put through her door, she rang to enquire, was told about the mysterious 12 movie channels, also was told she would get sky movies too?????

the dish was replaced, with two bolts holding it up, sure why waste four eh?
    And of course the perfectly good Freesat reciever she already owned and paid for about 14 months ago, just HAD to be taken away by the so called pro doing the, ehem, professional installation,

To top all this sheer class and professionalism off, three weeks trying to call the number on the leaflet later, she gave up, calling someone else to sort out the problem she was having, after only 3 months,

ah yes, immaculate work, installers with good reputations?

Why is this guy saying us all the time. All the long term Installers in the trade Know that this Guy is on his own, He is also passing on work to a Polish crowd in wexford town that has a bad reputation down there. Even the wholesalers down in Wexford are having a laugh at this guy the way he is blowing himself up as a company. Apart from these polish guys i would like to Know who are the other installers in co wexford that this Guy subs out installs too.

FTAflyer.jpg

Just a reminder of original flyer.Didn't that polish crowd get banned from boards for self pimping?

They did get Banned and so did Sammy99 but i reckon he joined up again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

FTAflyer.jpg

Just a reminder of original flyer.Didn't that polish crowd get banned from boards for self pimping?

Was Setanta Sports News (god it was sh*t) ever FTA? Me finks not.12 movies channels? lol how did he get away with that! :rolleyes:

carbsy wrote: »
    Was Setanta Sports News (god it was sh*t) ever FTA? Me finks not.11 movies channels? lol how did he get away with that! :rolleyes:

Because according to Him he is the largest supplier of Free to Air in Ireland.
    It looks like his company is bigger than Sierra,Finlays Electroplus and Armstrongs and it looks like his company has loads of installers working for his company in every county in Ireland
    Maybe this time next year it will be bigger than UPC and Sky

It was FTV as far as I remember,another fail there so.If you're gona advertise a service at least try and be professional and know what you're talking about.Lots of people know about cakes but very few know about the intricacies of satellite tv and are easily confused by FTA,Freeview and Freesat which can lead to exploitation of their ignorance.

.Lots of people know about cakes but very few know about the intricacies of satellite tv and are easily confused by FTA,Freeview and Freesat which can lead to exploitation of their ignorance.

True... How many men know the difference between a frilly milly and a flan though? hehe

You'll find the reputable installers will always have work,anyone doing half assed installs and pulling strokes such as removing customers perfectly good equipment won't last in the business,get a bad name and it sticks.
    On a lighter note-what's the nicest cake Carbsy?:D I might get one free when I cancel my subs and switch to Supreme when they take over from Sky and UPC.

You'll find the reputable installers will always have work,anyone doing half assed installs and pulling strokes such as removing customers perfectly good equipment won't last in the business,get a bad name and it sticks.
    On a lighter note-what's the nicest cake Carbsy?:D I might get one free when I cancel my subs and switch to Supreme when they take over from Sky and UPC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

get a bad name and it sticks.

It's not hard to change your name. Tom Slick, anyone? :)

But,seriously.

we are subing alot of jobs out to local installers with very good reputations providing local employment.

Lot of local installers know each other-did any of em do any work for Supremesats? Would doubt it very much.

None of the long term Installers in Wexford would stoop that low they have good Reputations that they want to keep. What this guy is doing is putting cheap flyers in peoples doors, Some people are Naive to the whole TV/Satellite set up and are taken in by these flyers and lies. But it now looks like people are starting to cop on as mentioned by Harry.c in his post, What sort of Installer would take down a dish and half fit a new dish and then take out a proper FREESAT receiver and replace it with a cheap Free to Air box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

I'll take a few pavlovas off ye if they are a decent price.

bg-1.jpeg?u=634048646820601250
    We hope you can find everything you need. Supreme Satellite Systems is focused on providing high-quality service and customer satisfaction - we will do everything we can to meet your expectations.

We are Ireland's largest supplier of Free to Air Satellite Tv and therefore we have the most competitive prices on the market. We pride ourselves on being the best in the industry from our quality of equipment to our customer service.

With a variety of offerings to choose from, we're sure you'll be happy working with us. Look around our website and if you have any comments or questions, please feel free to contact us.

http://www.supremesatellites.com/default.html

Hmm-some interesting claims there and even more dubious ones on the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

I am on the fence on this. I tried a while back to get an installation business going and I just couldn't justify the liability insurance cost at startup. However, I think as long as there is no regulation there will always be people like this. You guys do know that there is no LEGAL requirement to have public/product liability when installing etc.....I mean that is madness in one sense but they cowboys have it as their defense in another sense!

azzeretti wrote: »
    You guys do know that there is no LEGAL requirement to have public/product liability when installing etc

Yes there is no legal requirement but if you do not have insurance what you are really saying is you dont mind putting your customer at risk from a big bill if an accident happened. If insurance was 10% of what it is now these guys would not get it then either so I dont agree its any kind of defense.

azzeretti wrote: »
    I just couldn't justify the liability insurance cost at startup.

Not so easy is it ?:)

Local installers being employed-does that cover installs in Poland aswell? It seems the local installers want to keep their good name.