Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mickey Ned quits limerick

• 19-08-2010 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭

Breaking news on live 95fm tonight is that Mickey Ned o'sullivan has quit as limerick senior football manager. It's a pity in my opinion. Who will take over I wonder??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

He is no loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Magi11

You can only have so many hard luck stories. Limerick were too negative, they had Cork bet last year and this but for a bit more ambition.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

liammur wrote: »
    He is no loss.

I think he is. Limerick are a far better team now than when he took over IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think he is. Limerick are a far better team now than when he took over IMO.
    How? :confused:

When he took over in 2005 they were a Division 1 side playing average football. They're now a Division 3 side playing average football. He has done nothing better or worse than the previous incumbent Liam Kearns. Nothing against the man on a personal level, but his tactics and style of football were never going to win anything.

IMO limk were a team that could beat very few teams but give everybody a good game. Simply not good enough and Mickey ned finally realises that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Lge form aside, they are now challenging Cork and Kerry all the way in the championship - were they doing that previously?

By the way, seeing as though some of ye see happy he is gone, who do you think will come in to take ye to the next level? I honestly do not want Limerick football sliding backwards from their current status.

They started to challenge under liam kearns, a draw in the munster final v kerry, competing in division 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Hopefully someone with a more professional approach will come in and get them over the line in a big game or two - and that's no disrespect to MNOS who I felt done an admirable job over the last 5 years. But now is a good time for change I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Since when did the league matter??

If Limerick weren't so "negative" they probably wouldn't have been near to beating cork. By "negative" I presume you mean final playing with a defensive structure. Limerick doesn't have the players to win by playing some beautiful, free flowing attack focused football. Man for man how many Limerick lads would honestly make the cork panel?

Mikey Ned is a massive loss. Maybe he has taken the team as far as he can but to insinuate that he hasn't benefited limerick football is a load of bull.

The league matters. To think otherwise is folly.

You won't improve in div 4.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Lge form aside, they are now challenging Cork and Kerry all the way in the championship - were they doing that previously?
    2002 - Beat Kerry in the League and rattled them in the Championship eventually losing by four points
    2003 - Got to the Division 2 league final, beat Cork by ten points in the Championship before losing in the Munster final to Kerry by five.
    2004 - Drew with Kerry in the Munster final before losing by 4 in the replay.

All of this was done with Liam Kearns in charge. This to me definitely was a good challenge to the Cork/Kerry stranglehold.
    Since when did the league matter??
    You're joking right? The league is crucial in preparing teams for the championship. Not only does it get players fit, it improves their stamina and gives them crucial experience against the better teams. Do you seriously think playing against London and Kilkenny was of any benefit to Limerick this year?
    If Limerick weren't so "negative" they probably wouldn't have been near to beating cork..
    On the contrary, it is our negativity that prevented us from beating Cork. Our insistance on playing a possession game, hand-passing the ball back and forth across the pitch like a group of line dancers. When we have played direct football, like in the first twenty minutes against both Kerry and Cork, its been shown to be much more effective.

By "negative" I presume you mean final playing with a defensive structure. Limerick doesn't have the players to win by playing some beautiful, free flowing attack focused football.
    How do you know that to be true, if the manager i.e. Mickey Ned, never tries to play a free-flowing game! Its as well to be beaten by 20 points as by 2.

Mickey Ned has had five years. He has done well in some areas such as developing new talents like Seanie Buckley and Ger Collins. But he's not achieved the holy grail of a Munster title, mainly down to naiveity and the wrong tactics. His time is up, lets move on and see who else is available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I wouldn't be surprised if Mick O'Dwyer takes over this position.

hardybuck wrote: »
    I truely hope so. Its only a 90 minute commute from Waterville to Rathkeale where the Limerick team train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

hardybuck wrote: »

My first thought too

THat would be typical of limk gaa. 1 step forward, 3 steps back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

THat would be typical of limk gaa. 1 step forward, 3 steps back.

Why? I'm not going to pretend that I'm the most knowledgable about gaelic football but I don't think anyone can deny that Mick O'Dwyer has consistently gotten the best out of the teams he has managed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I was sad when I heared the news last night,not because I wanted him to stay,but of all the memories over the last 5 years and saying goodbye to a real gentleman. Mickey Ned will be a real assest to any country but I think he went as far as he can with Limerick footballers.

I have my fingers crossed for Daragh O'Se. They'll bring in someone young,no way will it be Mick O'Dwyer.

Donnie Buckley gone too, so next year wil be a complete shakeup for Limerick football. Wahoo. Munster here we come :)

jordainius wrote: »
    Why? I'm not going to pretend that I'm the most knowledgable about gaelic football but I don't think anyone can deny that Mick O'Dwyer has consistently gotten the best out of the teams he has managed.

I wouldn't put him in charge of a local club team. Apart from kerry he has won very little in about 20 years of huffing and puffing and claiming huge mileage expenses.

Someone like darragh o se could be a complete flop or very good, like the armagh lad managing kildare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Liammurs every comment u make is negative based on the previous comment!would u recommend?...Mick O'Dywer would be ok...but i feel we just left a very good coach go very disappointed with Limerick for letting this occur, and as for people saying Darragh O'Shea get a grip a total novice and yet ye would want him in charge of a team who have aspirations of winning Munster,with thoughts like that no wonder we have won feck all in years.

Mick O'Dwyer would no doubt increase the profile of football in Limerick, and could possibly inspire the team to go the extra distance which seperates them from tangible progress which they are so close to.

However, having listened to people who were close to teams he was involved with in other counties, its not all good news.

His methods are way out of date. Your talking laps, and lots of them, none of your fancy modern stuff. His tactics and decisions on the line are pretty basic. Substitutions which appear blatantly obvious seem to take ages to be made, there are even games where he won't introduce substitutes at all. If he were to go to a top county like Cork or whoever, lads just wouldn't tolerate his antics.

He refuses to acknowledge the league, Limerick could possibly get relegated from Div 3. While it might increase the chances of getting one decent win in championship and a headline for Micko, it doesn't do much for Limerick long term.

So he could be a bit of a mixed bag-thats even if he is in the frame.

I wouldn't put him in charge of a local club team. Apart from kerry he has won very little in about 20 years of huffing and puffing and claiming huge mileage expenses.

Someone like darragh o se could be a complete flop or very good, like the armagh lad managing kildare
    I will again point you to Leinster titles won with Kildare and Laois....not exactly traditional powerhouses of Leinster football. If you don't think this achievement is impressive then fair enough, but you'd be in a minority of one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

I wouldn't put him in charge of a local club team.
    Why? Proper reasons please? All you have shown is that you dislike Mick O'Dwyer. You have not shown how (in your opinion) he is a poor manager.
    Apart from kerry he has won very little in about 20 years of huffing and puffing and claiming huge mileage expenses.
    Leinster titles with Laois and Kildare are big successes. As grenache has said, these are not exactly traditional powerhouses in Leinster. (How many titles have both of those counties won since Micko left? Neither have won one since he left, he ended a 42 year drought for Kildare and a 57 year drought for Laois)

And considering how far he lives from these counties he is perfectly entitled to mileage expenses.

And Wicklow had a very successful season under him in 2009; 4 championship wins is unprecedented in Wicklow.

So you would prefer someone who could be a complete flop, over someone who has consistently gotten the best out of the teams he has managed?:rolleyes:

jordainius wrote: »
    Why? Proper reasons please? All you have shown is that you dislike Mick O'Dwyer. You have not shown how (in your opinion) he is a poor manager.

Leinster titles with Laois and Kildare are big successes. As grenache has said, these are not exactly traditional powerhouses in Leinster. (How many titles have both of those counties won since Micko left? Neither have won one since he left, he ended a 42 year drought for Kildare and a 57 year drought for Laois)

And considering how far he lives from these counties he is perfectly entitled to mileage expenses.

And Wicklow had a very successful season under him in 2009; 4 championship wins is unprecedented in Wicklow.

So you would prefer someone who could be a complete flop, over someone who has consistently gotten the best out of the teams he has managed?:rolleyes:

First mistake you made, I have no dislike towards M O Dwyer. I've never met him, nor do I know him. In fact he seems quite a nice man from seeing him on tv, interviews etc
    But I don't rate him, and that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. A few leinster titles in a very weak period of leinster football simply doesn't impress me.
    Off the top of head, I would much prefer any of the following:

John Maughan
    Jack O Connor
    Liam Kearns
    Pat O Shea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

First mistake you made, I have no dislike towards M O Dwyer. I've never met him, nor do I know him. In fact he seems quite a nice man from seeing him on tv, interviews etc
    But I don't rate him, and that's just my opinion, I could be wrong. A few leinster titles in a very weak period of leinster football simply doesn't impress me.
    Off the top of head, I would much prefer any of the following:

John Maughan
    Jack O Connor
    Liam Kearns
    Pat O Shea
    John Maughan no way..Jack O'Connor is in charge of the Kingdom,Liam Kearns had his chance and wants the Galway job,and just my own view but i don't rate Pat O'Shea too much.Would Like Micko,Peter Ford,or Jason Ryan to take over this team.(If ryan where to leave Wexford)

Apparently Limerick have approached Micko for the job. I'm quiet excited about the prospect of him coming to Limerick. I think we could do with some old school training to get the lads fitter.

If ryan where to leave Wexford)
    He parted ways with Wexford after Cork knocked them out last month. I would imagine he would be high on the CB's list of preferred candidates.

grenache wrote: »
    He parted ways with Wexford after Cork knocked them out last month. I would imagine he would be high on the CB's list of preferred candidates.

He did not part ways with them. He has been offered another year but is currently weighing it up. Has a young family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

John Kiely a shoe in =p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

In fairness, Mick O'Dwyer is over 70 years old, and look what happened Limerick Hurlers when they appointed an old man?

Seriously, though, Micko's day is gone.

I think it's very much a younger man's game now. Look at the likes of McGeeney and McCartan?

I like Mickey Ned, he is a shrewd tactician and, in reality, should have had at least one Munster title for his efforts. There's another team, surely, waiting for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Just throwing these out there but what would people make of Paudi O'Se or Billy Morgan or someone like that.

I think we will struggle to attract a big name to be honest and I wouldn't be too pushed either way if Micko was given the job. I think MNOS realised he got this team as far as he could and the time was right to move on and give someone new a chance (A bit like Kearns). I will always be grateful to the man for what he did for Limerick football over the last few years and he wasn't ever afraid to give youth a chance with the likes of Ger Collins and Ian Ryan coming to the fore. A real gentleman and was always magnanamous in defeat despite the fact we have been on the receiving end of some scandalous decisions over the last few years.

So Micko's defo out as he's staying another year with Wicklow. Liam Kearns officially ruled himself out last week as well.

I was pretty sure it was going to be Mick so Im completly clueless now to whom the new manager will be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,465 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Remember Paidi O Se as Clare Manager in 2007. Not such a great idea lol