Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

giant rat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

i'm lost for words, I can't believe the size of it...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

sounds like a fun sport, urban giant rat stalking with air rifles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

:eek:, that reminds me of the Novel 'The Rats' by James Herbert, about rats the size of dogs
    devouring people in London, seems like fiction is coming to life,
    shudder.

Ratsnovel.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

:eek::eek::eek: dont think i'd be after them with a air-rifle more a .22 job

roasted-rat.jpg

its master splinter...:D
    splinter01.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

greenpeter wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek: dont think i'd be after them with a air-rifle more a .22 job

More a .223 job ya mean 30" Rat with a pellet gun, I don't think so!
    That is as big as a small fox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Wasn't there a new species of rat found in Papua New Guinea

http://news.bbc.co.uk/earth/hi/earth_news/newsid_8210000/8210394.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Dirty Fookers nothing better than shooting them with the 4/10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Do you think could they be driven out with dogs and shoot them with shot guns..some crack - would'nt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

COYPU me thinks!!!!!;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

just saw an episode of the really bad steven seagal lawman show from louisianna where hes a deputy sheriff,they were killing coypu in the levees as they bore huge holes into them which usually makes the levee burst.they went out with the swat team shooting them with .22s with mods on(as cars drove along the top of the levve they were firing at the coypu)The coypu looked very like whats in the ops picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

We have had them here for years in Dublin and Limerick.
    Known as Chavus Scumbaggius,with the lesser breeds common to Limerick,known as Dundonious Mac Carthyium.which seems to have subdued the lesser breeds of vermin known as the Collopyious Keanus and the Ryanus
    Easily recognised by their mating calls of "ComeireIluveya!" or "GotaanydrugsforsaleBud?" or "paythefukup orwell break yourhead"
    they are found in the poorer areas of of the city and in the city centre in droves on any Sat night.Also found infesting our countries jails too
    Quite aggressive and prone to attack when cornerd.Usually issuing a hissing cry of "illfukkingstabthekointsoiwill" or "comeheresoicanshootya ya koint"before they do.
    Best caliber for disposing of them.7.62X39 FMJ,and lots of it deliverd at full auto.40mm HE/FRAG rounds from an M16/M203 are reported to be quite sucessful too.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

biggest rats ive ever seen were in venice. huge.
    and before ya say it no they werent the ones on the gondillas.;)

bazza888 wrote: »
    just saw an episode of the really bad steven seagal lawman show from louisianna where hes a deputy sheriff,they were killing coypu in the levees as they bore huge holes into them which usually makes the levee burst.they went out with the swat team shooting them with .22s with mods on(as cars drove along the top of the levve they were firing at the coypu)The coypu looked very like whats in the ops picture

I know a lad on another forum who digs them out with terriers in France!
    There as big, and as ugly,as that yoke in the link!!

"Hairy Japanese Bast**ds" as Fr Jack Hackett was wont to say on the m atter.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

As long as a bulldog not including the tail, feckin hell, they could be snared:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Jaysus thats one big F*****g rat !!! The last time I saw one that big, he was standing in front of a microphone in the Dáil, I think his name was Brian !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭mac80

I remember about 10 years ago my oul fella was gettin a site cleared and got some contractors in to knock the old house which was next to a river.

As they began work on it they saw dozens and dozens of rats some of them apparently massive and no afraid of humans either.
    The contractor walked off the job and never came back, he had to get another firm in to finish it. Apparently they were different to normal rats :rolleyes: he still calls them "Water rats" but I dont think there is a different species to my knowledge.

As a lad i remember going down to a local grain store and seeing literally hundred of rats in the yard, they woould all run when you drove up and when they did it made a very creepy sound :eek::eek:

Listen to the noise of this rat freeky :eek::eek: I hate the things, wish I had an air rifle for hunting them

When we were kids their was a dump a couple of miles from the house.

We often drove there in the evening, the father would tell us to be quiet in the car. Ligts engine off.

Then he would turn on the lights and rats everywhere.

During the day people would be searching through the dump for stuff!

I could never understand how The amount of rats had to be in the thousands as it was ~ 40 acres of filth!

Ok it is a rat that your man was trying to kill.But still,FFS!Do it quick!No need to torture the critter either.Bit fukwitted doing that with a rat too,getting that close one bite from them..Hello Weils disease!

Tack you were lucky.
    A couple of miles??we had Limerick dump X2 literally a mile from our front door,and a horrendous rat problem.Thanks to Limercik corporation D"&ck heads and indifferent Clare politicans :mad:for about 35 years.
    Used to be able to shoot at a little stream that ran into the Shannon,with all the water runoff from the old dump and its delightful soupcon of pollution into the Shannon river,and into Limerick citys drinking water....But we digress.:rolleyes:.There were literally hundreds of rats using this waterway as a rat superhighway..:eek:.I think my best weekend was 140 with a .22
    Yes,we had whole clans of people rummaging and making quite a good living out of the Limerick tip:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Ok it is a rat that your man was trying to kill.But still,FFS!Do it quick!No need to torture the critter either.Bit fukwitted doing that with a rat too,getting that close one bite from them..Hello Weils disease!

going of topic here, but im just curious, is weils disease not from rats piss, i though it was

You are right 100% Jap.
    But still,God alone knows what other ****e a bite from one of those will give you.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    You are right 100% Jap.
    But still,God alone knows what other ****e a bite from one of those will give you.

there was a story around here about a man that had a rat run up the leg of his pants, apparently the rat bit him and then pissed on the bite, i dunno how true it is but he died anyway APPARENTLY

them bastards must be crawling with disease

Could well belive it about them running up your pants leg,as they WILL bolt for any hole or escape route.Hence tucking your pants legs into the boots, if they are lace up or over the wellies is completely mandatory when up close and personal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

friend had a terrier that spend his day hunting them around the yard, the terrier got a bite off one and he went blind from it

i always have the wellies on when around them, spent last few years around farm yards you learn quick where the rats are :D

homerhop wrote: »
    friend had a terrier that spend his day hunting them around the yard, the terrier got a bite off one and he went blind from it

they killed hens belonging to my neighbour a bit ago, he said he thinks they were pissing in the water/food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

Used to have a dog (Cocker Spaniel) who was unbelievable at catching rats, id say somewhere around 250 in her fairly short life.

She'd spot them from 50 yards, manouver herself down wind, sneak up to about 8 yards away and then pounce. Whole process often took over half an hour in which time the rat would have gone into and come out of its den maybe a dozen times.

It was really amazing to watch and the strangest thing is im the only one who ever saw it. Any time i ever brought someone else along she never caught one.

Often wondered was it instinct or intelligence. Lovely dog, miss her now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

jeez lads they are only rats 15 yrs ago we used to drive to tuam municipal dump out in the middle of the bog on a friday evening after work and it was a 2 hr drive in those days taking a team of terriers with us ,with every lamp and spare battery we had :eek: lamp rats with terriers and hurls till it either got light or we ran out of juice we never ran out of rats and we'd get into the 200s most times
    ah those were the days and yes trousers in the wellies ;)

landkeeper wrote: »
    jeez lads they are only rats 15 yrs ago we used to drive to tuam municipal dump out in the middle of the bog on a friday evening after work and it was a 2 hr drive in those days taking a team of terriers with us ,with every lamp and spare battery we had :eek: lamp rats with terriers and hurls till it either got light or we ran out of juice we never ran out of rats and we'd get into the 200s most times
    ah those were the days and yes trousers in the wellies ;)

Heaven!!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

It's a coypu, iv'e seen them hunted in france.Here's a picture I came across on another forum.
    coypu1.jpg

thats a patterdale in the picture is it?

Thats right!!!;)

no such thing as a patterdale terrier they are all fell terriers :cool:

landkeeper wrote: »
    no such thing as a patterdale terrier they are all fell terriers :cool:

Wikipedia

This article may require cleanup to meet Wikipedia's quality standards. Please improve this article if you can. (April 2008)
    Patterdale Terrier

Black and tan Patterdale.
    Country of origin England
    [hide]Traits
    [show]Classification and standards
    Notes
    The Patterdale Terrier is recognised by the American Rare Breed Association
    Dog (Canis lupus familiaris)
    The Patterdale Terrier is a breed of working dog that originated in the Lake District of Cumbria in Northwest England.[1] The name Patterdale refers to a small village a little south of Ullswater and a few miles east of Helvellyn.[2]
    The Patterdale is a type of Fell Terrier. The Patterdale terrier was "improved" and brought into the Kennel Club as the Welsh Terrier after a brief naming struggle in which the name "Old English Broken-coated Terrier" was attempted before being rejected by the Kennel Club hierarchy. The Patterdale Terrier is sometimes called the "Old English Terrier" or the "Fell Terrier".

Either way, it's a big frickin rat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Stanleyp

Back in 2003 I was working in London. Walkin home the mile or so from work to hotel one evening I saw a dog running along side me on the footpath. I took a closer look and it was a friggin rat the size of an adult cocker spaniel. Ive never seen anything as horrific before or since. Not one bit afraid of me. This was in the Wembley area, they were just knocking the stadium and I put it down to the disturbance of the site, but now I just think thats the size of them in London. It has scarred me!:):)

they got another one in linconshire, terrier men all over the uk must be drooling in anticipation...:D
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/3104027/Gnaws-II-Giant-rat-caught-in-Lincoln.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You'd need a big Fenn trap for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭palo

That makes me think five things standing20ft= Alphamax BB,Bakial mp153 full choke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Sick i worked at market gardening and the fookers use to be nesting under crops in the drills. I really really hate them. Poison going down tomorrow :(:(:(

"The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs yesterday revealed there had been 11 possible sightings of coypus in Britain in the past decade, though they were "inconclusive".

But Leeds businessman Steve Luya, 55, who lived in Nigeria for years, insisted our picture showed an African Greater Cane Rat that had escaped after being imported.

A pair of rats can produce 3,000 offspring a year. The rodents are known to carry 40 diseases including plague"

rats are great sport , and vastly underated as a sporting quarry if even on a small scale , even the antis turn a blind eye to rat hunting
    you can shoot them
    snare them
    trap them
    ferret them
    lamp them
    they are great for teaching a young lad with an air gun ,they are clever adaptable and as a species indestructable , some of my best memories are of good days spent ratting with some of my good mates over the years
    as one man said after the nuclear holocaust the rat will come crawling out of the rubble and start to eat ;)natures born survivor rock on ratty

I remember sitting on our shed roof with an air rifle picking the wee fecker off. They used to squeal like hell, edventually they would eat the dead ones

It definatly looks like one of them coypu's, a wild population of them in the wild! their there to stay, yad never wipe out something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

RAT.jpg

Got this fella yesterday morning, hes no coypu :D