Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first day of school like?

• 18-08-2010 4:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

I remember like it was yesterday. It was a really interesting day. I walked in the school yard and I was really excited with my new bag, lunch box with my stickers on everything. I remember walking into the class room for the first time and everybody had their mammy's with them. I was put at the green table. We played with lego and toys. When 10 o clock came all the mammys were told to leave. Only one child kicked up a scene and that was me. Then when I calmed down. We played for longer. Then it was time for lunch and out comes my Toy Story lunch box and what happens. It falls and smashes into bits. I start cying. Then I looked at my school bag and I realized somebody had stole my glow in the dark stickers. I started crying again. It was a bad day and we went home at one o'clock. On the way home in the car my mam said to me are you looking forward to going again. I was like I have to go again? I thought you only had to once!
    What was your's like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

All I can remember is entering the classroom with a flying karate kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

........................................................invalid link or thread specified. please contact your mother for her photo album.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Can't remember, thankfully.

School was shit and I've forgotten it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I cried and cried and my shiny new teacher (Miss Kelly, St Colmcille's Boys National School) brought me to the toilet and washed my face, kissed my forehead and held my to her boobs and I fell in love.

She was my teacher for the next three years.

I still think about her.

I may call her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

The only thing I remember from the first day of secondary school, was this guy who started crying because his locker was on the bottom row.. on the floow.

It was hilarious, and because he was crying, his shoes got stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I remember the 1st day of school from low infants upto 4th class because of one boy, I can still remember his name and face.

The first day of each new year it took his mother and upto three teachers to subdue him. He used to go hysterical on the first day of school, his mother would be dragging him into the room. I'll never forget one year when he clamped onto the door frame and the school caretaker had to pry him off.

By the time we got to 4th class or 'big school' we were all pretty sick of the antics so he stopped. I seen him a couple of years ago working in McDonalds, I forget to thank him for the hilarious memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Always been a wrong'un me, right from the start...Met my teacher from junior infants years later and she said she'll never forget the first day of school that year because amid all the crying and chaos, and parent-clinging, I apparently tipped her on the shoulder and asked 'what is the procedure in the event of a fire or emergency?'...I was 4 years old...must've heard it or seen it somewhere but still, it'd be priceless to hear no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

cooltown wrote: »
    I remember like it was yesterday. It was a really intresting day. I walked in the school yard and I was reaaly excited with my new bag, lunch box with my stickers on everything. I remember walking into the class room for the first time and everybody had there mammy's with them. I was put at the green table. We played with lego and toys. When 10 o clock came all the mammys were told to leave. Only one child kicked up a scene and that was me. Then when I cammed down. We played foe longer. Then it was time for lunch and out comes my Toy Stoy lunch box and what happens. It falls and smashes into bits. I start cying. Then I looked at my school bag and I realized somebody had stole my glow in the dark stickers. I started crying again. It was a bad day and we went home at one 0 clock. On the way home in the car my mam said to me are you looking forward to going again. I was like I have to go again? I thought you only had to once!
    What was your's like?

I'm guessing here OP but was yesterday your first day at school.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

cooltown wrote: »
    I remember like it was yesterday. It was a really intresting day. I walked in the school yard and I was reaaly excited with my new bag, lunch box with my stickers on everything. I remember walking into the class room for the first time and everybody had there mammy's with them. I was put at the green table. We played with lego and toys. When 10 o clock came all the mammys were told to leave. Only one child kicked up a scene and that was me. Then when I cammed down. We played foe longer. Then it was time for lunch and out comes my Toy Stoy lunch box and what happens. It falls and smashes into bits. I start cying. Then I looked at my school bag and I realized somebody had stole my glow in the dark stickers. I started crying again. It was a bad day and we went home at one 0 clock. On the way home in the car my mam said to me are you looking forward to going again. I was like I have to go again? I thought you only had to once!
    What was your's like?

It won't be as bad when you go into senior infants. You can laugh at all the little boys and girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

My mam took me over to another girl and asked the girls name then left me with her and ran off. Little did she know that the girl I had just made friends with was the class psycho and for the next 2 years we were getting up to all kinds of mischief. Until she had to stay back, so I took on her role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

My mother walked me to school and told me to be careful crossing the big road on my own on the way home, and that if I was nervous I could wait for one of the big girls and cross with her.

We got to the classroom and she left almost immediately, leaving me surrounded my crying, wailing girls. I remember wondering what they had been told that I hadn't.

I was happy when I saw the pile of jigsaw boxes on the play table, because I loved doing jigsaws at home. Then I discovered that they were all only 4-piece ones. I think the suspicion that the school thought that we children were idiots stayed with me for the rest of my time there.

I started school on my fourth birthday.. Mam has told me since that she tricked me into thinking it was my present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

My ma's a teacher so I had a good idea of the school concept long before day1. As such I was excited to get in and check out all the fuss. Not everyone was so excited tho. When I arrived in class I remember the kid beside me was crying and wanting to go home. So I told him not to cry and that school wasn't going to be bad.

I was a liar even from an early age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

mfceiling wrote: »
    I'm guessing here OP but was yesterday your first day at school.........

Give him some credit tho. Look how he was able to keep all his writing nice and straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I ran away from Mum into the schoolyard and she got upset because, having walked me there, I just ran in without giving her a kiss :o

I remember we spent a lot of the day doing name badges for the person sitting next to us, a great introduction lesson really, and then did a lot of work on 'Autumn' and 'Busy At Maths'....truly, the two most important lessons of that era, since we were of an age where the trees dying every year were worrying us. I remember they used to call it Nature Studies on the book list as well.

I also remember playing in that schoolyard, running about and then lying in the sun one day, it was a weird - open plan - schoolyard that had little hiding places and little inlets and a few bushes too...I don't think you'd see one like that these days, and without being crude, it was such a stimulating place for our minds as young children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I remember quickly establishing control of the lucrative milk and bun sell-on trade (by battering the top boy in the jacks with a sock full of Lego) which got me right in with the mots as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

stovelid wrote: »
    I remember quickly establishing control of the lucrative milk and bun sell-on trade (by battering the top boy in the jacks with a sock full of Lego) which got me right in with the mots as well.

Not quite as lucrative as the sticker distribution business. Textbook theory is no substitute for the cut and thrust world of the schoolyard business environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My first school was quite small town and I really liked it.
    Later on we moved to a big city and the school there was pretty crap but I powered through, like kids do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I'll never forget my first day. my mam and dad walked me to the school, having made sure I was dressed properly and had my lunch packed and in my lunchbox. New Grey flannel trousers, smartly pressed. a new green jumper and white shirt. I had one of those ties on an elastic string. I was nervous on the walk to school. My dad had his camera at the ready. "It's a big day for you son, try and be brave".

They got me to the class room, amid all the chaos and screaming, and were proud as punch when, for the first time, I walked to the top of the class and said "Good Morning children, I'm Mr. Zod and I'll be your teacher."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I went in and got in a ton of trouble because some kid lied and told the teacher I threw another kids coat in the toilet, when it was actually him who did it.

If I remember correctly he failed his leaving and is now on the dole...

Serves him right the ****er!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

I remember three details about my first day.

1. My mother leaving and me crying for a good 10 minutes straight before noticing ALL THE TOYS!!!!!!

2. My flask with Ribena in it was yellow with a red top.

3. I sat beside another boy, named Seán, who happened to be the teacher's son but I didn't realise it until a day or two later as he called her 'Miss' as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I didn't cry so much my first day as weep hysterically, crying is where tears run down your face, I was weeping, this is where you lose control of all muscles and end up punching the blackboard in anger breaking several meta-carpals in the process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Can't remember but can remember my first day of secondary school, all us first years were assembled in the PE hall and everyone was wearing the correct Navy school trousers...except me who was wearing grey trousers...oh boy did I stand out :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I shit my pants.
    It was horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I got into a fight with someone straight away, this kid, whose name I can still remember, wouldnt give me this toy, so I took it off him and lamped him over the head with it. He burst into tears.

No regrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I remember waking up and immediately running excitedly into my parents room and jumping onto their bed saying "am I starting school today?". They weren't impressed as it was only 6 a.m.

My abiding memory of the actual class on the first day was my complete puzzlement at other kids crying and my further confusion when, after questioning her about it, being told by my mother that they were just babies. But they were the same age as me and I definitely wasn't a baby!!

I wish she told me the truth - that school was fúcking miserable and it was only going to get worse and worse for another 14 years and those kids obviously knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

I went to nursery first so school wasnt too bad. But my mother used to tell me that she was just ouside the door knitting. I was quite happy knowing she was there and never went to look for her or her knitting needles and 7000 jumpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I went to playschool before "Big School"...all i remember was the plastic cup of miwadi orange, 2 rich tea bickies at lunchtime and endlessly playing with málar (morla whatever...).Happy times!

I was late for my first day of Primary School. Never forget it. My mam was racin around the school corridors, draggin me by the arm tryin to find my classroom. Mrs Mantan was my first teacher and she was a legend! I loved primary school so much (all good memories). Very Happy times!

Have feck all good memories from Secondary :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I was made start school in October, cos if i'd started with the rest in Sept i would've been 3 still. So everyone was already well settled and had made friends by the time i arrived.

Anyway,i don't remember much of it, but i do know my dad had to be called back after leaving me there cos i was so inconsoleable!
    I think i've blocked the rest from my memory..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

It was like the crying game for me!

My sister took me to school the first day. I was ok. On the day I sat beside a classmate of mine we were crying over crayons! Thats how we met, we were friends throughout school.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

My sister took me to school the first day. I was ok. On the day I sat beside a classmate of mine we were crying over crayons! Thats how we met, we were friends throughout school.!

You had a penis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

It was ok, until my mikado biscuits fell on the floor, jam-side down. I had always hated mikados, but I cried anyway.

I don't remember at all.
    I remember "playschool" and kids crying and me going "wtf are they crying for" but I don't think it was the first day.
    Don't remember first day of primary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I remember almost everybody else crying when their parents left. My twin brother was there too so it didn't really bother me. I barely remember it otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Snuggie Bear what have you said, the smartarses will be after you for that!!! :o

AAAAAAAHHH wrote: »
    You had a penis?

I did not have a penis and do not have one cause I am a girl I have a vayvayjay!

The crying game was a figure of speech as I probably cried for most of the first day of primary school. Can't remember what happened on my first day of playschool though!

kfallon wrote: »
    Snuggie Bear what have you said, the smartarses will be after you for that!!! :o

Oh sh1te what have I said now!?? I am not on about the film, I am on about figure of speech as in like crying all the time on the first of school like? what smartarses are going to explain to me what I have actually said? They all ready got me mr fallon - "AAAAAAHHH!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I did not have a penis and do not have one cause I am a girl I have a vayvayjay!

Nice name for it :D

Can't really remember my first day but prob involved a few tears and not being totally happy with my new surroundings!

kfallon wrote: »
    Nice name for it :D

Can't really remember my first day but prob involved a few tears and not being totally happy with my new surroundings!

ya thanks, heard the for name for it from a fellow boardsie...can't remember who named it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭babyfratelli_x

All I remember is that I was late... typical :rolleyes:

Got seated with my best friend from playschool... already knew 4 or 5 of the people in my class so wasnt cryin or anythin... I was such a lil geek tho, I loved school :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Note: Remember those hard black shoes you wore as a five year old kid.

Ok, so it comes time for my mother to leave, not bloody likely says I. I start bawling and the the teacher goes to scoop me up to restrain me as my mother walks off. My response was to kick her full whack in the chin. She got an aweful whallop but I was eventually bribed in to class with chocolate. Happy days

All I remember is that I was late... typical :rolleyes:

Got seated with my best friend from playschool... already knew 4 or 5 of the people in my class so wasnt cryin or anythin... I was such a lil geek tho, I loved school :D

I didn't really like school much! Yet have spent most of my life there! Didn't really like school until I went to college! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I cant remember my first day of school in ireland, but i can remember my first day of "grade school" in america.

My mam walked me to school my dad was in work, i started a week later than everyone else for some reason. So i was just walked into a class by my mam and principle, lasted about 10secs burst out the door ran straight past the principle and my mam outside all the while i was sobbing. Sat on the outside steps for at least half an hour, in the mean time my mam was crying cause i was in such a state.

I absolutly hated the first year in school no one could understand me, or when i said the letter "h" for some reason. It got better after that , when i realized that most if not all american tests are mulitipul choice. The worst thing was coming back to irish secondary school, because i wasnt half as smart as i thought i was :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

T'was kinda shíte, tbh.... Cos my Junior Infants teacher was my mother!!!!!!!:( Never got away with fukken anything throughout my 8 years of Primary School!!! It all got reported back to her at lunch in the staff room...:(

DazMarz wrote: »
    T'was kinda shíte, tbh.... Cos my Junior Infants teacher was my mother!!!!!!!:( Never got away with fukken anything throughout my 8 years of Primary School!!! It all got reported back to her at lunch in the staff room...:(

My grandmother taught in my school :D
    Also got everything reported back :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

ya thanks, heard the for name for it from a fellow boardsie...can't remember who named it!

Vavayjay? It's an Americanism, heard it before on other forums ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

hehe i can remember, got in and was grand then i felt like drawing on everything with a crayon:p the walls were abit messy tbh, oh and making new friends by swapping pokemon cards :D , yeah i am still young :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I had pre-school as well and to the best of my knowledge, I don't remember crying or anything on my very first day, I do remember working on a fairly big jigsaw ( for a 4 year old ) during my time in pre-school once and by the time I'd finished it, I'd missed out on eleveness and didn't get anything as a result! :eek:

As for Jr Infants, I wasn't fussed over it, they actually brought me in a few days beforehand to allow me to get used to the environment ( I should note, the authorities thought I'd should have being put in a special school because I was lagging behind in mental development because I was born with hearing problems which need grommets to fix. The parents were having none of that. It was also the reason I got kept back in Jr Infants as well. ) so when I started for real, I knew what to expect and when I repeated, I wasn't fussed.

I needed a lot of help in Jr ( both years ) , Senior infants up until 3rd class to help me catch but once I got the hang of it and the fact owing to the fact I was placed on my own as I needed extra help, was probably one of the reasons I wanted get the hang of things, I'd gotten sick of being placed on my own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

I don't remember a great deal of it, just being bored through most of the day (much like the remaining 14 years); I do remember after getting home though saying:
    "Mam, I don't like school, I'm not going anymore" then my mam laughed and said "sorry not that easy", heh.

I was all enthusiastic and excited about going to school for the first time, and that was my first horrible realization that it wasn't a choice :)
    So glad all that's done with now :)