Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marraige

• 17-08-2010 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The only cure for love....

So, what's your opinions on it? Have you ever thought about it? Would you ever consider it? If so, where would you like to get married? And who to? Not for you, then why not? Are you already hitched? How's it going? Etc...

Marraige 251 votes

I'm engaged to be married
    0% 0 votes
    I'm already hitched
    8% 21 votes
    I've already been hitched & am now divorced / seperated
    16% 42 votes
    I definitely want to some day
    1% 5 votes
    No way, Jose
    29% 73 votes
    Not something I've really thought about / considered
    13% 33 votes
    Some day, maybe
    4% 12 votes
    Atari Ding Dong a Ling
    25% 65 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Marriage is for suckers.

Its the ultimate in glorified business contracts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Very happily married, and i had my wife's express permission to state that...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

And who to?

A woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

orourkeda wrote: »
    Marriage is for suckers.

Its the ultimate in glorified business contracts
    That definitely stops with marriage........:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

would like to one day for tax reasons if i meet the right girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭elleburp

There's a cure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Marriage is a redundant institution that is sold to women as proof a man loves them and sold to men as "the right thing to do"

I would have a massive party to celebrate my love for a woman if I was indeed in love, but I would not get married I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Not that bothered to be honest. I'd have no problem spending my life with someone and not marrying them.

I've never really been one of these girls who dreamt of a big white wedding growing up and all that.

If i did ever decide to get married, i'd probably elope. Mainly to piss my mother off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 OkComputerGirl

Cant wait to get married to my boyfriend.. He hasnt asked me yet but we both talk about it all the time so we are just waiting :)

big expensive weddings are horrible and costly!
    I want a nice, small cosy wedding :) Im sure my father will be delighted to hear that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Not necessarily just a contract but it is a very sacred thing in my opinion! Obviously built from love, communication, trust, compasion, honesty and friendship!

I'd consider it if I were with the right person, someone I would see myself grow old with until I am old and grey! I'd hope to have kids straight away after, no point hanging on!;)

I'd only be with someone my family and friends would approve of though, they can be very judgemental and then again I am very picky when it comes to men!

I'd be happy to have a small wedding nothing too splashy and big but its not something I've thought about much. Probably a church or on a beach somewhere. I'll cross that bridge when It comes to my turn in my own good time, can't really decide on other aspects until the time comes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Mawage. Mawage is wot bwings us togeder tooday. Mawage, that bwessed awangment, that dweam wifin a dweam... And wuv, tru wuv, will fowow you foweva... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Cant wait to get married to my boyfriend.. He hasnt asked me yet but we both talk about it all the time so we are just waiting :)

:D:D That's what's known in the business as "keeping her sweet".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The only benefit of it these days is for fathers rights if you have kiddies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

No way, i love being free too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

KerranJast wrote: »
    Mawage. Mawage is wot bwings us togeder tooday. Mawage, that bwessed awangment, that dweam wifin a dweam... And wuv, tru wuv, will fowow you foweva... :)

Inception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not necessarily just a contract but it is a very sacred thing in my opinion! Obviously built from love, communication, trust, compasion, honesty and friendship!

I'd consider it if I were with the right person, someone I would see myself grow old with until I am old and grey! I'd hope to have kids straight away after, no point hanging on!;)

I'd only be with someone my family and friends would approve of though, they can be very judgemental and then again I am very picky when it comes to men!

I'd be happy to have a small wedding nothing too splashy and big but its not something I've thought about much. Probably a church or on a beach somewhere. I'll cross that bridge when It comes to my turn in my own good time, can't really decide on other aspects until the time comes!

Agree with most that apart from the third paragraph, if you love someone, what does it mater whay other people think, yes its a plus if friends and family like them, but its what you think of them is surely the most important

Superbus wrote: »
    Inception?

Jesus H - what a sh*t film. Haven't seen a film as bad as that since The Matrix. Utter & complete drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 OkComputerGirl

:D:D That's what's known in the business as "keeping her sweet".

Haha that sounded bad didnt it..
    Were both only 24 and are totally in love with each other. Trust me, he wants to get married more than i do! :)<3<3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Jesus H - what a sh*t film. Haven't seen a film as bad as that since The Matrix. Utter & complete drivel.

Disagreed.

Anyway:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

What is wrong with a couple showing how much they love each other and showing their commitment? If they genuinely love each other, live together, want to spend the rest of their lives together, raise children (better environment) why not get married! Parents of the couple would be much happier with that kind of set up!

irish-stew wrote: »
    Agree with most that apart from the third paragraph, if you love someone, what does it mater whay other people think, yes its a plus if friends and family like them, but its what you think of them is surely the most important

I'm in that thinking myself, I suppose if you really love them it shouldn't matter but sometimes I have to make my family and friends happy in order to make myself happy sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'm not completely averse to marriage but it's not important to me. It is definitely only something I would consider if I was sure that, not only did I love the person, but wanted the same things in life and it was something that they wanted. But even then things change down the line and you never know what you'll want from life in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Yes - to gain a US passport

anyone else notice the spelling error (marraige??) in the thread title?

The Agogo wrote: »
    Yes - to gain a US passport

anyone else notice the spelling error (marraige??) in the thread title?

Yes. I also noticed that you didn't finish your first sentence with a full stop & didn't start the second sentence with a capital letter.

But in the wider scheme of things, no-one really give a flying f*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Women in the thread -> ya cant wait its going to be perfect & we'll live happily ever after

Lads in the thread -> not a f**kn notion!

I'm 25, so taking my time on that front, still young yet! I've a bit of time yet before I be willing to settle down with someone. Just haven't met any I'd consider settling down with just yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I'm 25, so taking my time on that front, still young yet! I've a bit of time yet before I be willing to settle down with someone. Just haven't met any I'd consider settling down with just yet!

Are your friends married yet? and do you think that when you reach your early 30's and all your friends are married and you have not met that do you think you will start to panic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

KerranJast wrote: »

I love you.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Are your friends married yet? and do you think that when you reach your early 30's and all your friends are married and you have not met that someone special, would you start to panic?

None of my friends are married! Not even engagged! But I do know of people I went to school and college with who are married/engagged and have kids.

I probably would panic if I hadn't met that special person by my early 30s, hope to be married with kids by then or at least settled!?
    Most of my cousins and siblings didn't marry till their late 20's (only a few), the majority married in their early 30's, mid 30's and late 30's so its kinda the norm that I wouldn't expect to marry until my 30's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

elleburp wrote: »
    There's a cure?

Yes - divorce - no better way of finding out you actually married a cünt

I'd like my career to take off and live away from home again and be more independent and hope to complete a masters before I get married...

Need to find the perfect man! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I don't really see the point in marriage, so there is a good chance I will never get married.

galwayrush wrote: »
    That definitely stops with marriage........:pac::pac:

I thought being suckered starts with getting married

I'm happily married.

But my wife isn't.

Ba-dum-ching!

marriage is a load of bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

No way, i love being free too much.

Have to agree there.

I wonder how eager divorcees are to get remarried?

Marriage isn't for everyone! The traditional way is not always suited to some people. Its what ever way that makes them happy is what counts! Some people have kids before they marry its not a big a deal for some people. Everyone is different depending on their values and views that they share with their partners, and depending on the individual themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Dublinm

if you get it right, you will be happy,
    if you get it wrong, you will be complaining

Dublinm wrote: »
    if you get it right, you will be happy,
    if you get it wrong, you will be complaining

And when they were only halfway up, they were neither up nor down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

There's nothing to fear about 'marriage' imo.
    If you're already happy together marriage won't change that.
    Having children is a much sterner test of a relationship than marriage believe me.

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I'm with himself five and a half years now, engaged for two.

We're both very busy with our careers at the moment, and are living opposite sides of the country as a result. Realistically it'll be another 5-7 years before we'd be in a position to even think about planning a wedding. We're planning to build a house in a few years, so it'll be a long time before we have €5,000 or so to spare for our very small non-religious wedding abroad.

For me, getting married is sort of an afterthought. We are already totally committed to our future together and don't particularly need a piece of paper as evidence. I'm aware of the tax benefits involved, and I would ideally like to be married if we ever decided to have children, so I guess we'll do it at some stage. Apart from anything else, it'll be an excuse for a party!

But it's not something that I would stress about, or get into debt for, or even be too bothered about saving up for. If we have the money to spare, we'll do it our way eventually. If we never get round to doing it properly, we'll probably do a cheap civil ceremony at some stage for the tax/children reasons. But it wouldn't bother me a bit if I never get married.

I guess it probably means more to you if you're doing it for religious reasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Marriage is usually pretty retarded.

Females have being a bride, weddings, the big day, marriage and babies, etc, bred into them from a scarily young age.
    Then most grow up and say 'I just really like the idea of being married' - no fucking shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Where's the option for "second time around is best" (or at least better than the first time)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

no no no! i will never be married. it makes me squirm just thinking about it. actually i tend to get high pitched and squeeky when i speak about it with friends. i don't see the point too it at all.

i'm the complete opposite to snuggles, who, quite frankly, is making me break into a rash. *scratches furiously*

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Where's the option for "second time around is best" (or at least better than the first time)?

I never thought of that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

i'm the complete opposite to snuggles, who, quite frankly, is making me break into a rash. *scratches furiously*

It's alright, they make you get tested before you get married.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Considering by past knack at going for a long line of disloyal and emotionally fickle and fragile women and watching the experiences of my mates both male and female(with all too rare exceptions, then no. No way Hose for me personally.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Do you still have to do a pre-marriage course these days?
    (It's where a celibate man tells you all about sex)

CPL 593H

Wibbs wrote: »
    Considering by past knack at going for a long line of disloyal and emotionally fickle and fragile women ... then no. No way Hose for me personally.

Maybe if you stopped preying on easy targets... :p