Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Tea party movement?

• 15-08-2010 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭

Is there any interest in it?

Or are the Irish to lazy and politically disengaged to do anything?

If nobody took to the streets over 'Anglo' and the rest of it when do we say enough is enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

You know that the Tea Party in the US is generally seen as a bit of a joke, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Is there any interest in it?

Or are the Irish to lazy and politically disengaged to do anything?

If nobody took to the streets over 'Anglo' and the rest of it when do we say enough is enough?

So we can rant incoherently and rabidly against the system whilst offering no alternative? No thanks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

The Barry's v Lyons split is way too deep for there to be any chance of tea party success in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

This has been discussed before, I believe.

The summary was, I think, that a movement for fiscal conservatism would be welcome but that the Tea Party Movement is a spoiled brand and only attracts animosity. Thus any conservative movement should try and distance itself from the Tea Partiers, rather than connect with them.

That "summary" may have merely been my own view, mind, and not the consensus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭cavedave

Einhard

So we can rant incoherently and rabidly against the system whilst offering no alternative? No thanks...

Maybe doing nothing is an alternative. No politician ever says 'I wont do anything as I will probably mess things up" any ecologist, economist, operations researcher, doctor, lawyer will say this. Why do politicians not accept that actions have unintended consequences and you are frequently better to do nothing then to interfere?

I would love a party that ran on the "unless there is evidence the action will help we will do nothing". Anglo would have been ignored for a start.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

What we need in Ireland is a proper right wing party to tackle the important issues.

Issues of importance and at the core of the party should be;

Fiscal Conservatism

Anti Europe, continue to rebel against them

Socially conservative, allow a referendum on abortion, the church should not decide, the people should.

Block any attempts to introduce Gay Marriage

Liberal Gun laws, the right to arms for self defence

A proper crackdown on travellers similar to how Australia deals with their Aboriginal problem. Mass detention centres for traveller criminals.

Strictly curb african immigration into this country. Strict limits on Asian professionals. Free trade with the anglosphere world, permanent residency to be made available to citizens of Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United States who wish to come and live here. Immigration policy to be changed to a system which puts white people first, with integration at the core of the agenda. Multiculturalism to be scrapped and openly condemned.

Islam to be banned in Ireland, it has no place anywhere. Period.

Universal Healthcare to either be scrapped or rolled out properly, the two tired half baked system we have can't continue as it is swallowing resources without delivering a service.

Secularism in Schools, teaching students a less liberal curriculum, The values and morality of Christianity can be instilled in students without the state teaching catholicism in our schools.

Lowering of taxation, VRT, Motor tax to be abolished Fuel duty to be cut, VAT down to 12.5%

Introduce a national ID card, raise the speed limits on Motorways to 140km/h

Introduce a system of electoral recall which will see an election held every two years, A general election allows a Government to currently form and stay in power for 5 years without the people being able to recall them. County Council elections are also held every 5 years and are usually a midterm election really and as we saw last year in 2009 the people gave Fianna Fail a good trouncing in the locals and saw FG make large gains.

The councils should then be able instruct the President to dissolve the dail and call a general election and overrule the Dail, this will make the Dail far more accountable to the people. I also favour the continuation of the Senate but instead make the senate electable by the people, give them power to block bills and legislation from the Dail, simultaneously stagger the Senate Elections so that if a party in Government are doing a bad job then the newly elected Senate (presumably with a different party in the majority) can then either refuse to co-operate with the Dail and force a general election or else make so many amendments to the crap coming up from the lower house that the senate is in effect running the country.

We must change our system of governance to ensure that Fianna Fail can never get a chance to inflict such damage on the country ever again and to ensure that those in politics are held responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭cavedave

Stinicker

What we need in Ireland is a proper right wing party to tackle the important issues.

Pretty much everything you list as a right wing policy I disagree with. So one of us is wrong about what that phrase means.

Also the policies you list are tiny issues compared to spending billions we do not have on banks, public service and on social welfare.

cavedave wrote: »
    Pretty much everything you list as a right wing policy I disagree with. So one of us is wrong about what that phrase means.

Also all the policies you list are tiny issues compared to spending billions we do not have on banks, public service and on social welfare.

If you had seen my list at the very top was Fiscal Conservatism, by Fiscal conservatism I am in favour of obliterating the public service, transforming the dole into a system which rewards training and upskilling and helps employers keep employees on when they would otherwise be left go ie. wage subsidies, a company may only be able to afford to pay say €200/week when the state could help subvent the rest keeping an employee on and getting tax of that €200 also in VAT later as it is spent.

The public service must radically slim down and get efficent, the banks should have been left to rot in hell and never been given a penny.

Another very important issue is Justice and we need to arm the guards and bring back the death penalty with a clause which can never again see it be banned.

The Death Penatly should be applied to cases of pre-meditated murder, murder of children, pedophillia and corporate treason. I firmly believe, Charlie McGreevy, Brian Cowen, Sean Fitzpatrick, Bertie Ahern, Michael Fingelton and some others should be hanged or shot dead for what they have done to this country. The law of the land will judge them and they should be made to pay the ultimate price for what they have done.

Stinicker wrote: »
    What we need in Ireland is a proper right racist party to tackle the important issues and promote xenophobia and hatred of non-whites.

There ye go, I fixed that for you.

Ps: When you say we should open residency to citizens of the US and others, does that include black Americans? Or Aborigines?

Einhard wrote: »
    There ye go, I fixed that for you.

Ps: When you say we should open residency to citizens of the US and others, does that include black Americans? Or Aborigines?

I favour restrictions of immigration so I am automatically a racist. :rolleyes: It is you who are the bigot my friend. I favour the preservation of our culture, way of life and Irishness that makes us unique. This is far from racism this is giving preference to Irish people. You clearly are incompatible with a Conservative party so I suggest you go over to the socialists or better still monster raving looney party. :mad::mad::mad:

Labour, Fine Gael and Fianna Fail takes care of this already. There is an appetite for a good far right of centre party in Ireland and with the right people and backing it could rise to the fore in Irish politics having good morals and a hard working ethos at its core and this is what is on the pulse of the nation right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Stinicker, are you serious, I mean really you must be a troll right. I hate to invoke Godwins Law but I feel that its already flashed through the minds of the people who have read your post.

Fiscal Conservatism
    Agree with you on this point but then you shoot yourself in the foot by saying....

What the hell are we supposed to be rebelling against, a Europe that has been nothing but good for us, dragging our parochial arses out of poverty and disastrous isolationist polices. We F@cked up this country, Europe had nothing to do with it and if anything we need to move closer to Europe to stop our own homegrown shysters from taking us for yet another ride.

Socially conservative, allow a referendum on abortion, the church should not decide, the people should.
    Agreed but then you contradict yourself when you say...

So allowing abortion is ok but god forbid we let the gays marry. Your talking out of both sides of your mouth here or more then likely some other orifice

While I agree with you in principle it is unfortunate that we live on an island that has a long and continuing history of violence, as shown just a few days ago when some f'cktards decided to try and blow up so kids up North. We cannot allow a relaxation of the gun laws at present when there is a chance people like this may get their mitts on them

A proper crackdown on travellers similar to how Australia deals with their Aboriginal problem. Mass detention centres for traveller criminals.
    I'm not even going to comment on this because it is so divorced from reality that anything I say would probably go over the head of someone who thinks that the Australian treatment of the native population is something to be emulated

Strictly curb african immigration into this country. Strict limits on Asian professionals. Free trade with the anglosphere world, permanent residency to be made available to citizens of Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United States who wish to come and live here. Immigration policy to be changed to a system which puts white people first, with integration at the core of the agenda. Multiculturalism to be scrapped and openly condemned.
    Yeah those damn darkies coming over here taking our jobs, maybe you'd like to put them in the same camps you established for the travelers criminals, you know really concentrate the problem and all. How do you feel about Africa/Asian Americans by the way, are they still allowed in your glorious white nation of Ireland?

No place anywhere, what about Arab/Muslim countries? Maybe we should declare a Crusade on their asses, you know, whiten the place up abit.
    Universal Healthcare to either be scrapped or rolled out properly, the two tired half baked system we have can't continue as it is swallowing resources without delivering a service.
    Agreed but how do you propose we go about this cause I have no idea, can you enlighten me please?

Secularism in Schools, teaching students a less liberal curriculum, The values and morality of Christianity can be instilled in students without the state teaching catholicism in our schools.
    Secularism based on the teaching of Christianity, does not compute

Lowering of taxation, VRT, Motor tax to be abolished Fuel duty to be cut, VAT down to 12.5%
    Something for the little guy eh, the man on the street. Lower taxes and increase speed limits and hope he does realise that while his speeding past the brand spanking new detention centres and checkpoints his ID card says he's a proud citizen of the Democratic Peoples Republic of Ireland

Introduce a system of electoral recall which will see an election held every two years, A general election allows a Government to currently form and stay in power for 5 years without the people being able to recall them. County Council elections are also held every 5 years and are usually a midterm election really and as we saw last year in 2009 the people gave Fianna Fail a good trouncing in the locals and saw FG make large gains.
    Yeah because what this country really needs is politicians constantly on campaign mode, knowing that they only have 2 years in office. Why between elections they may even get a years work done running the country instead of worrying about Marys vote and how you gotta help her out with the Social Services in order to keep it.

The councils should then be able instruct the President to dissolve the dail and call a general election and overrule the Dail, this will make the Dail far more accountable to the people. I also favour the continuation of the Senate but instead make the senate electable by the people, give them power to block bills and legislation from the Dail, simultaneously stagger the Senate Elections so that if a party in Government are doing a bad job then the newly elected Senate (presumably with a different party in the majority) can then either refuse to co-operate with the Dail and force a general election or else make so many amendments to the crap coming up from the lower house that the senate is in effect running the country.

We must change our system of governance to ensure that Fianna Fail can never get a chance to inflict such damage on the country ever again and to ensure that those in politics are held responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Any reason or just for giggles?

Why?
    Very close minded IMO

The IRA would love that.

Blatent Racism

More increadibly blatent racism.:rolleyes:
    Your haveing a laugh right?

Yet more blatent racism.
    Hows the hitler youth going?:P

Yes because when a state is spending far more than it can afford the obvious solution is to throw away lots of income.

Why, just for more giggles I suppose.

Yea cos what we really nead is a goverment tearing its self apart:rolleyes:

So basicly make Ireland a copy of America but much more racist and closeminded?

Cant beleive no one tought of this before.:pac:

I favour restrictions of immigration so I am automatically a racist. :rolleyes: It is you who are the bigot my friend. I favour the preservation of our culture, way of life and Irishness that makes us unique. This is far from racism this is giving preference to Irish people. You clearly are incompatible with a Conservative party so I suggest you go over to the socialists or better still monster raving looney party. :mad::mad::mad:

No you favour people with white skin over people with dark skin.
    thats why you are a racist:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Kinky Slinky

On March 22, 2010, a Lynchburg, Virginia Tea Party activist, attempting to post the home address of Congressman Tom Perriello on his blog, incorrectly posted the address of Perriello’s brother, who also lives in Virginia, and encouraged readers to "drop by" to express their anger against Rep. Perriello’s vote in favor of the health care bill. The following day, a severed gas line was discovered in Perriello's brother's yard which connected to a propane grill on the home’s screened-in porch. Local police and FBI investigators determined that it was intentionally cut as a deliberate act of vandalism. The website issued a response saying the Tea Party member's action of posting the address "was not requested, sanctioned or endorsed" by the group
    All we need is a load of knackers going around vandalising things and putting peoples lives in danger. Half the people at these protests aren't politically motivated and are just there to spread their ignorance.

tea-party-arkanses-shootings-obama-republicans-14918272505.jpeg

Stinicker, are you serious, I mean really you must be a troll right. I hate to invoke Godwins Law but I feel that its already flashed through the minds of the people who have read your post.

Fiscal Conservatism
    Agree with you on this point but then you shoot yourself in the foot by saying....

What the hell are we supposed to be rebelling against, a Europe that has been nothing but good for us, dragging our parochial arses out of poverty and disastrous isolationist polices. We F@cked up this country, Europe had nothing to do with it and if anything we need to move closer to Europe to stop our own homegrown shysters from taking us for yet another ride.

Well to begin with, Ireland was forced to hold a 2nd referendum on the Lisbon Treaty, we are now being expected to pump money into the Greek bailout for something that has absolutely nothing to do with us. Greece should just be expelled from the Euro and let the currency take the hit.

Agreed but then you contradict yourself when you say...

So allowing abortion is ok but god forbid we let the gays marry. Your talking out of both sides of your mouth here or more then likely some other orifice.

Gay marriage is incompatible with any decent moral society and Marriage is something between a female and male and has nothing to do with religion or spirituality.

While I agree with you in principle it is unfortunate that we live on an island that has a long and continuing history of violence, as shown just a few days ago when some f'cktards decided to try and blow up so kids up North. We cannot allow a relaxation of the gun laws at present when there is a chance people like this may get their mitts on them

What happens outside of the Jurisdiction of the republic if none of our concern, if the British are happy to occupy the 6 counties against the wishes of people living there they must be prepared to deal with the consequences.

I'm not even going to comment on this because it is so divorced from reality that anything I say would probably go over the head of someone who thinks that the Australian treatment of the native population is something to be emulated

Both populations have similar social and criminal populations, the system used in Australia works well in that it protects the Majority from the Minority. In Ireland the majority are victimised while the Minority (travellers) cause mayhem where ever they usually go.

Yeah those damn darkies coming over here taking our jobs, maybe you'd like to put them in the same camps you established for the travelers criminals, you know really concentrate the problem and all. How do you feel about Africa/Asian Americans by the way, are they still allowed in your glorious white nation of Ireland?

In order to preserve our culture, and way of life there must be greater limits on immigration into this country, otherwise we will be faced with a situation in less than 100 years time where our Irish descendents are an ethnic minority in our own homeland. We must not allow that to happen and the future is every much as important as the present.

No place anywhere, what about Arab/Muslim countries? Maybe we should declare a Crusade on their asses, you know, whiten the place up abit.

Islam is a religion of hatred and evil and has no place within Irish society, we have gotten along well for centuries on our christian and secular values. Islam will only create problems in the future and from a purely liberal perspective it should be banned.

Agreed but how do you propose we go about this cause I have no idea, can you enlighten me please?
    Simple either we kill the HSE or else reform it and allow for public health coverage while removing the private system from the public purse.

Secularism based on the teaching of Christianity, does not compute.

You will find the teachings of christianity very similar to secularism, in that they respect people and encourage harmony in our world. In comparison to Islam which teachs its followers to go out and kill non believers.

Something for the little guy eh, the man on the street. Lower taxes and increase speed limits and hope he does realise that while his speeding past the brand spanking new detention centres and checkpoints his ID card says he's a proud citizen of the Democratic Peoples Republic of Ireland

No you are just plain trolling, A National ID card would have massive benefits for this country in allowing for easier non passport travel within the EU and to clamp down on identity theft and welfare fraud.

Yeah because what this country really needs is politicians constantly on campaign mode, knowing that they only have 2 years in office. Why between elections they may even get a years work done running the country instead of worrying about Marys vote and how you gotta help her out with the Social Services in order to keep it.

No it might actually for some long term planning and make Government work because they know they will be kicked out very soon unless they start doing something. A change of government is a good thing Fianna Fail will soon be in power for the last 14 years and this is very unhealthy for our democracy.

What happens outside of the Jurisdiction of the republic if none of our concern, if the British are happy to occupy the 6 counties against the wishes of people living there they must be prepared to deal with the consequences.

Both populations have similar social and criminal populations, the system used in Australia works well in that it protects the Majority from the Minority. In Ireland the majority are victimised while the Minority (travellers) cause mayhem where ever they usually go.

In order to preserve our culture, and way of life there must be greater limits on immigration into this country, otherwise we will be faced with a situation in less than 100 years time where our Irish descendents are an ethnic minority in our own homeland. We must not allow that to happen and the future is every much as important as the present.

Islam is a religion of hatred and evil and has no place within Irish society, we have gotten along well for centuries on our christian and secular values. Islam will only create problems in the future and from a purely liberal perspective it should be banned.

You can dress racism up in all the moral concern you want.
    You can make all the unfounded claims you want in support of it.

It is still racism!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I favour restrictions of immigration so I am automatically a racist. :rolleyes:

When your favoured restrictions revolve predominantly around skin pigmentation, then yes, you are indeed a racist. Either that or a very crude caricature of a right-winger.

Looking through your posts in this thread, it appears as though you've carefully analysed each and every issue and thought: "right... what's the most obnoxious opinion I could possibly express right now?"

You can dress racism up in all the moral concern you want.
    You can make all the unfounded claims you want in support of it.

It is still racism!!!:mad:

Lady there is a huge difference between preserving what we have and going out killing millions of people.

You sound like the sort of person who is too close minded and bigoted to have a frank and open conversation with someone who is concerned at levels of immigration into this country for fear that your left wing ideals and values would be exposed for the sort of hypocrisy that they are.

In essense you appear to be a hyocrite, you claim to be all open, liberal and lefty but when a debate is opened you roll into a ball and stick your head in the sand. You then think you win automatically because you have what is in your opinion the upper moral high ground.

In the words of Winston Churchill, "When Fascism will return, it will come in the guise of anti fascism."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Sandvich

Just so you know, outside of this rather barmy little forum, Libertarians are almost as much a joke these days as Tea Partiers are, and they're joined at the hip. I don't think people saying they need to "distance" themselves from the Tea Partiers realise that they'll still be shunned and mocked since the real issue is the impractical, inhumane and often sociopathic views expressed by these modern Objectivists.

Unless they're like, Noam Chomsky libertarians, or something with a trace of real intellectualism. Most right wing libertarians I've have the misfortune of conversing are selfish, smug and sometimes downright evil human beings who put ideas and principles far before human life. Others just haven't thought things through properly. Something similar happened to Libertarians way back when in the last big depression; this is basically a death throw since unregulated capitalism has shown to be destructive, they have to bite back hard.

US Conservatives in general also have a habit of valuing their property more than human life.

Lady there is a huge difference between preserving what we have and going out killing millions of people.

That's genocide, not racism.
    You sound like the sort of person who is too close minded and bigoted to have

Oh yeah, totally. The guy who wants to stop coloured people coming in isn't a bigot; it's the person who thinks he's wrong!

Do you realise how transparent it is? It's the first line of argument bigots tend to use these days. It's immature and it's bad arguing.
    a frank and open conversation with someone who is concerned at levels of immigration into this country for fear that your left wing ideals and values would be exposed for the sort of hypocrisy that they are.

You're not frank, honest, or concerned. It's just that the position that apparently holds these values but is in reality selfish and malicious appeals to you.
    In essense you appear to be a hyocrite, you claim to be all open, liberal and lefty but when a debate is opened you roll into a ball and stick your head in the sand. You then think you win automatically because you have what is in your opinion the upper moral high ground.

More stereotypical right wing immaturity.

"NO U"

This is basically your whole argument. I'm not the bigot, you are!!!

Personally, I've never claimed to be open minded towards bigotry. You'd have to be a bit simple to be open minded to everything, since that would involve being open minded to closed mindedness, which defeats the practical purposes of spreading the idea of being open minded.
    In the words of Winston Churchill, "When Fascism will return, it will come in the guise of anti fascism."

Doesn't that apply equally to you, since you're claiming to oppose the FASCISM of the evil liberals?

You sound like the sort of person who is too close minded and bigoted to have a frank and open conversation with someone who is concerned at levels of immigration into this country for fear that your left wing ideals and values would be exposed for the sort of hypocrisy that they are.

Firstly I aint no lady.

Racism dose not nesisarily mean killing. It is the asumption that one person is of greater worth than another based on their race/skin coloure.
    An idea I find to be abhorent.

I never made any claim. I simply showed your ideas to be the racist thrash that they are.

You seam to think that Irish culture is so weak that it would be incapable of surviving another in competition with it. It has for tha last 800 years.I dont see anything to suggest it cannot continue to do so. I am not so worried that I would deny countless people their right to fair and equal treatment here or anywhere.

My head is not in the sand. But yours seams to be in the past. A past that shows just how destructive and terrible racial ideaoligy can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Why not just ban local politics? All this blackmail by the Jackie Healys of the world and decentralisation of government agencies to the ministers constituencies has wasted countless taxpayers money not to mention our habit of voting in political families( Beverly Cooper Flynn). Its always what they can get for there constituency not what they can do for the greater good of the nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Well to begin with, Ireland was forced to hold a 2nd referendum on the Lisbon Treaty, we are now being expected to pump money into the Greek bailout for something that has absolutely nothing to do with us. Greece should just be expelled from the Euro and let the currency take the hit.
    I agree with you on the Lisbon issue, it should have been left after the first referendum no matter what the decision but that doesn't change the fact that I think Europe is good for this country. As regards the Greece issue do you realise that if they were not bailed out they would have taken down the whole Euro with them, that means that the money that is in your pocket right now would be all but worthless. Greece should never have been allowed in in the first place, they cooked the books and lied through their teeth to get but that is why we need greater harmony within the EU when it comes to these issues. I believe that every Eurozone country should be required to summit their budgets to the Central bank for approval but people like yourself will bleat on about sovereignty and spout nationalist rhetoric and will hinder any hope of solving these problems
    So allowing abortion is ok but god forbid we let the gays marry. Your talking out of both sides of your mouth here or more then likely some other orifice.

Gay marriage is incompatible with any decent moral society and Marriage is something between a female and male and has nothing to do with religion or spirituality.
    Whose morals are we dealing with here, yours, the popes, big gay Al's down the pub. What do you believe marriage stands for, you stated that it should be between man and woman only but what to you IS marriage? Is it a declaration of love and a contract saying that you are going to stick together through thick and thin or is it just a financial arrangement for the benefit of both parties? Or perhaps you believe that its just a social convention that must be followed after you have gone out with someone for a certain period of time (the weakest basis for marriage IMO). Please explain to me, without quoting the Bible or falling back on "it's just wrong" type arguments how a same sex couple cannot fulfill all these prerequisites for marriage. I say if they love each other let them marry and have a chance to be as miserable as the rest of us.

It is our concern since if we legalise guns, and some of those weapons are used to kill someone in a foreign "war" when we knew that such a situation might occur then we are compilicte in the act. It also appears that you feel that police/soldiers/little kids up North are legitimate targets because they "should be prepared to deal with the consequences". I for one would be very uncomfortable with a law that would allow you to own a weapon.

Any references for that or are you just spewing out hatred and bigotry again. I again stand by my comment that if anything the Australian model should be held up as a cautionary tale of how marginalizing elements of the population can be disastrous. In fairness to the Aussies though they have made some efforts to try and remedy some of the problems they have caused
    http://www.skwirk.com.au/p-c_s-14_u-120_t-328_c-1126/what-was-assimilation-/nsw/what-was-assimilation-/changing-rights-and-freedoms-aboriginal-people/stealing-a-generation-asssimilation-

Any references to this claim that Paddy Irishman is an endangered species?
    I would welcome a bit of fresh blood into our gene pool to be honest, it might just pretty us up abit and perhaps reduce or pathological begrudgery and fear of the new. You seem to have a very romanticized view of Ireland and our true worth as a nation. What would you think if say Albania was to follow such a policy of exclusion and isolationism. You'd probably hike the pig higher under your arm and shake your head in amusement while muttering begorra.

Where did you get that, Fox news? Sure Islam is barbaric, backward and cruel but no more so then your own vaulted Christian values that helped found this great nation of alcoholics whose secular institutions helped shield known pedophiles while they were balls deep in an alter boy. I suggest you get off your high horse and come live down here with the rest of us, you'll see that the majority of us unenlightened fools are happy to live and let live be they Muslim, Christian, Buddhist or Jew.
    Secularism based on the teaching of Christianity, does not compute.

You will find the teachings of christianity very similar to secularism, in that they respect people and encourage harmony in our world. In comparison to Islam which teachs its followers to go out and kill non believers.
    I see by your posts that you truly embrace the Christian/secular doctrine of,understanding, compassion and forgiveness while adhering to the notion that anything outside this is evil and must be destroyed. How many Muslims do you know personally, I would guess by your posts that the nearest you have ever come to one was watching Sky news and 24. As with any religion Islam has its nutjobs just as Christianity does (Joe Coleman, Jerry Falwell, Ratzinger), but don't make the mistake of equating the loudest fringe elements as a representation of the whole.
    No you are just plain trolling, A National ID card would have massive benefits for this country in allowing for easier non passport travel within the EU and to clamp down on identity theft and welfare fraud.
    Wait a minute your saying that a National ID card will help travel throughout Europe. Wouldn't that entail close cooperation with our evil continental overlords? As for identity theft and fraud no system is perfect and I would wager that supplying personal information to a central government (which I thought you were against) would lead to untold damage to individuals once the system has been cracked by criminals, which is inevitable. I also don't hold with providing the government with any personal data as I see it as an infringement on my right to privacy, I have nothing to hide but I am NOT giving those ****ers the chance to snoop on me. Government has no business interfering with the private affairs of its citizens and if you are willing to give that up you are a fool and deserve whatever they end up doing to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

“If you're not a liberal at twenty you have no heart, if you're not a conservative at forty you have no brain.”

Winston Churchill.

Most of what has been said I would have expected TBH.

Nothing new the same lefty liberal drivel that you hear on Joe Duffy

And the same recationary extreme right wing neo fascist 'they took our jobs..' caricature's.

However the center/left governments that we here and all across have returned over and over again have not worked. We are sliding head first into a european super state where it wont matter what we think because it wont matter a dam.

We are voting away all the freedoms we fought and died for over hundreds of years. We now have to get the ok from europe for our own budget. Our highest court is superseded by that in europe. In fact when we do vote and europe does not like the answer then we do it till we get it right FFS. How democratic is that?

Yes we did well out of europe but if Iceland can turn around and say, 'No we are not paying back the money', why can't we? I dont see the atlantic fleet ankered off Reykjavík threathining war. We need leadership in this country, leadership that wont cow down to our europen masters. (yes Iceland is not in the EU but they owe the same banks the money)

Its not racist to say we should have tough immigration laws.(There are many countries that I cant move to.)

Its not racist to deport people who are here illegally.

I dont want my, or for that matter your information shared with states like Israil or the US.

I want an Ireland that works with our european neighbours but does not have to answer to them.

An Ireland that has the freedom to self determination and protects its citizens. If the US or any european country want the extradition of an Irish person then thats what happens, France will yell anyone to piss off you cant have them.

There are many examples of good right of center(not right wing) government policies all over the world that we could use here.

All across europe the right is coming back, I'm not advocating national socialism or the agenda of Jean-Marie Le Pen so please no cheap shots.

If you feel that they way we are going already is the right thing, please re-elect Fianna Fail and regale your grandchildren of the days when we pissed our proud nation away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

“If you're not a liberal at twenty you have no heart, if you're not a conservative at forty you have no brain.”

Winston Churchill.

And the same recationary extreme right wing neo fascist 'they took our jobs..' caricature's.

However the center/left governments that we here and all across have returned over and over again have not worked. We are sliding head first into a european super state where it wont matter what we think because it wont matter a dam.

Most European governments are considered centre-right - but I guess it depends on your perspective.
    We are voting away all the freedoms we fought and died for over hundreds of years. We now have to get the ok from europe for our own budget.

Wrong - we get an analysis of the outline of our budget and feedback from the other member states. Pity it wasn't in place a decade ago.
    Our highest court is superseded by that in europe.

Wrong again - the ECJ only has competence to rule on the Treaties and in matters covered by them. Our Supreme Court, on the other hand, has the capacity to rule it impossible for us to be a party to the Treaties - hence the Crotty judgement.
    In fact when we do vote and europe does not like the answer then we do it till we get it right FFS. How democratic is that?

Entirely democratic. You voted No (presumably) the second time round without let or hindrance. You're claiming it as anti-democratic because other people changed their mind when you didn't.
    Yes we did well out of europe but if Iceland can turn around and say, 'No we are not paying back the money', why can't we? I dont see the atlantic fleet ankered off Reykjavík threathining war. We need leadership in this country, leadership that wont cow down to our europen masters. (yes Iceland is not in the EU but they owe the same banks the money)

Iceland hasn't refused to pay back the money. They voted against a specific deal, but they have accepted paying back the money. Also, you appear to be confused about where the money we've had comes from - we've had direct subventions from the other EU member states, and still do.
    Its not racist to say we should have tough immigration laws.(There are many countries that I cant move to.)

True, but calls for such laws are often based on racism.

Same.
    I dont want my, or for that matter your information shared with states like Israil or the US.

Fair enough.
    I want an Ireland that works with our european neighbours but does not have to answer to them.

You mean we should get what we can, and not give anything back?
    An Ireland that has the freedom to self determination and protects its citizens. If the US or any european country want the extradition of an Irish person then thats what happens, France will yell anyone to piss off you cant have them.

Actually, we're quite famously involved in saying exactly that to Hungary currently - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ciaran_Tobin_extradition_case.
    There are many examples of good right of center(not right wing) government policies all over the world that we could use here.

All across europe the right is coming back, I'm not advocating national socialism or the agenda of Jean-Marie Le Pen so please no cheap shots.

Then what are you advocating? Again, I have to point out that according to most political analysts, the current governments across Europe are right of centre, not left of it.
    If you feel that they way we are going already is the right thing, please re-elect Fianna Fail and regale your grandchildren of the days when we pissed our proud nation away.

At what point in the last decade did this feeling kick in, and over what issue exactly?

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaarrggh how do u do the milti qoute thing?

But it is racist to base public policy on skin colour. Which is what Stinicker is advocating. Unless you read "Immigration policy to be changed to a system which puts white people first" differently?

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaarrggh how do u do the milti qoute thing?

When you quote someone, you'll see their posts starts with [ QUOTE ] and ends with [ /QUOTE ]. So if you want to chop someone's post up into shorter pieces to reply to individually, you need it to look like this:

[ QUOTE=Scofflaw ]Most European governments are considered centre-right - but I guess it depends on your perspective.[ /QUOTE ]

---your response here----

[ QUOTE ]Wrong - we get an analysis of the outline of our budget and feedback from the other member states. Pity it wasn't in place a decade ago.[ /QUOTE ]

---your response here----

and so on. I've added spaces to the code there [(space)QUOTE(space)], but there shouldn't be any.

The easiest way to do it is to not to use the Quote button at all. Select (highlight with your mouse) the post you want to reply to, copy, and paste it into a blank Reply box. Then select each phrase you want to reply to individually and click the little speech bubble icon on the toolbar - that will put quote code around it.

You don't have to attribute the quote (the "=Scofflaw" bit) but obviously it helps!

cordially,
    Scofflaw

You favour restrictions based on skin colour, not on nationality, aptitude or any other creiterion. Under your administration, the current president of the United States, his Attorney General, and two former Secretaries of State might be refused citizenship on the basis that their pigmentation is different to yours. That sounds pretty damn racist to me...

Scofflaw wrote: »
    Most European governments are considered centre-right - but I guess it depends on your perspective.
    Wrong - we get an analysis of the outline of our budget and feedback from the other member states. Pity it wasn't in place a decade ago.

Yes we will have to get an ok from europe on our budget if you believe what you said you are very naive. After all europe never moves the goal posts does it?
    Wrong again - the ECJ only has competence to rule on the Treaties and in matters covered by them. Our Supreme Court, on the other hand, has the capacity to rule it impossible for us to be a party to the Treaties - hence the Crotty judgement.

In the Irish courts after someone has lost in the Irish supreme court which is the highest court in the land they now have the right to appeal to a court in europe that supersedes it.
    Entirely democratic. You voted No (presumably) the second time round without let or hindrance. You're claiming it as anti-democratic because other people changed their mind when you didn't.

On the Nice and Lisbon referendums by your way of thinking then we should have kept voting for ever, Next time we might have said no, the time after that yes, after that a draw, after that a no...... . If France and Holland voted no to the European constitution and they were ignored what hope had we. I wonder if after the next general election in Ireland and the results were not to the liking of some people so we had to vote again to get the right result how would you feel??
    Iceland hasn't refused to pay back the money. They voted against a specific deal, but they have accepted paying back the money. Also, you appear to be confused about where the money we've had comes from - we've had direct subventions from the other EU member states, and still do.

I have said we did well out of europe.
    I was refering to the bank bail outs. So what if we dropped from a 'AAA' rating, what are we at now 'B' and it cost us more money that greece to buy money and we didnt have to get the bail out they did and have poured billions into a zombie bank.

We owe the world bank, ECB as well as many other central banks, profiters on the money markets
    True, but calls for such laws are often based on racism.

So you are just calling me racist? If you think it call me it. You are like Israil say anything and its anti-semitic
    Same.

Same

Fair enough.

You mean we should get what we can, and not give anything back?

I said nothing like that. What do you think we should give back?
    Actually, we're quite famously involved in saying exactly that to Hungary currently - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ciaran_Tobin_extradition_case.

1 case long before they joined europe. In France nobody is given up
    Then what are you advocating? Again, I have to point out that according to most political analysts, the current governments across Europe are right of centre, not left of it.

I feel there will be a large move to the right as each counrty goes through its next 2 general elections
    At what point in the last decade did this feeling kick in, and over what issue exactly?

I've never voted for them
    (I wish I knew how to the mulit qoute thingy)

I'm off to bed

[EDIT=Scofflaw]Is that clearer?[/EDIT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

All of this zealotry and racism doesn't do the case for smaller government any good at all. One step forward and two steps back, I suppose. I really wish the libertarian elements of the republican party would grow a pair and dissociate themselves from this neo-conservative twaddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I'm always wary of someone who use the word "our" , from your point of view the rest of the population are some kind of bit actors who are there to act in a particular way for your amusement or for your particular sense of order ?

Secondly it implies that you know better then me what cultural values "ought" to be passed on to my kids

Also your ethnic minority comment is scaremongering and most likely baseless

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Hazlittle

I have little or no time for keyboard warriors. If you want a movement go set one up.

Winston Churchill.

I always thought this was stupid since more intelligent/intellectual/academic people tend more towards liberal politics. It just sounds like a typical conservative goading tactic to get people to come over to your side by making them feel immature on theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Winston Churchill.
    Misquoted and misattributed by you. You're not the first to not bother checking (see here for example) but I suggest building that house of yours on a foundation that actually exists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

cavedave wrote: »
    Maybe doing nothing is an alternative. No politician ever says 'I wont do anything as I will probably mess things up" any ecologist, economist, operations researcher, doctor, lawyer will say this. Why do politicians not accept that actions have unintended consequences and you are frequently better to do nothing then to interfere?

I would love a party that ran on the "unless there is evidence the action will help we will do nothing". Anglo would have been ignored for a start.

YES!!! I haven't been able to put that inchoate thought into words before.

Sometimes it literally is better to do nothing. Not that this will ever appease the Plebs - as they want the government to always be doing something 'to fix' the problem, yada yada. Unfortunately we see far too much of this groupthink on the politics forum here, and by extension into Irish society. Which is why politics is a cesspit and why truly intelligent people cower into academia. They know that even though they know what they are doing, 90% of people require somebody to shout and scream and roar that they have 'a plan', and that only by following 'the plan' will the country be saved. Then other groups come up with 'a plan' to counter 'the plan' and suddenly everyone is planning but not thinking!

Of course, how could they not be, what with all the fairness they're planning to dish out. Say yes to fairness!
    sceptre wrote: »
    Misquoted and misattributed by you. You're not the first to not bother checking (see here for example) but I suggest building that house of yours on a foundation that actually exists.
    Ah, I was waiting for you to seize upon that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Fiscal Conservatism

Don't forget riding for virginty!

Denerick wrote: »

Sometimes it literally is better to do nothing. Not that this will ever appease the Plebs - as they want the government to always be doing something 'to fix' the problem, yada yada.
    Not too long ago, I had a good chortle imagining Cowen et al in a boardroom trying to see how they could work the "do nothing" angle. The thought itself is surreal and it's not going to happen any time soon. The zeitgeist of large governments sticking their fingers into everything is far too prevalent. If something bad ever happens, the first question asked is: "Why did the government let this happen and how can they fix it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Winston Churchill.

We are voting away all the freedoms we fought and died for over hundreds of years. We now have to get the ok from europe for our own budget. Our highest court is superseded by that in europe. In fact when we do vote and europe does not like the answer then we do it till we get it right FFS. How democratic is that?

They should pony up the cash no questions asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Illustrative how a Tea Party thread managed to degenerate into the most debased racism within a couple of posts. (Don't know if the author has noticed, but plenty of Asians and Africans live in the aforementioned countries.)

EDIT: Here's the same guy claiming to be oppressed because he can't call Pakistani people by a racist term that most of copped on to in the 1970s; oh, the humanity:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65755157&postcount=5

P.

Denerick wrote: »

Sometimes it literally is better to do nothing. Not that this will ever appease the Plebs - as they want the government to always be doing something 'to fix' the problem, yada yada. Unfortunately we see far too much of this groupthink on the politics forum here, and by extension into Irish society. Which is why politics is a cesspit and why truly intelligent people cower into academia. They know that even though they know what they are doing, 90% of people require somebody to shout and scream and roar that they have 'a plan', and that only by following 'the plan' will the country be saved. Then other groups come up with 'a plan' to counter 'the plan' and suddenly everyone is planning but not thinking!

I'm afraid so - it starts with "the Government should do something about x" or "what is the Government doing about x?". The Government than says "we must be seen to do something!", and from there it's a very short step to "this is something, let's be seen to do it".

Frankly, that's the advantage of all those consultants' reports and investigatory committees - they are ways of being seen to be doing something without really doing anything. If the people are still shouting when the conclusions finally come in, you do something - if not, you bury the report.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

fontanalis wrote: »
    They should pony up the cash no questions asked!

fontanalis, please don't quote a long post simply in order to add a "witty" one-liner to it. I will start penalising you for it next time I see it.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

the tea part is fairly popular around here in the south now

but yes it attracts some nutcases and i tried hard to explain over a beer that revolutions never end well (George Orwell's quote springs to mind) ...

but yeh we dont need anything like that back home or anyone to be associating themselves with it