Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is one wasting there time spreading fertiliser in this weather

• 15-08-2010 8:37am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭

ye havnt seen rain in cork with a bit and the ground is rock hard. is it a waste putting out fertiliser with nothing to wash it down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

ye havnt seen rain in cork with a bit and the ground is rock hard. is it a waste putting out fertiliser with nothing to wash it down
    looking out here in waterford this morn was thinking the same and i will wait till rain is falling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

same as that lads rain promised tomorrow evening and a broken week after that.probably best to wait till tomorrow:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Isn't the growing season coming to an end soon anyway which would presumely mean alot of your fertilizer would be wasted:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we spread yesterday;)

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Isn't the growing season coming to an end soon anyway which would presumely mean alot of your fertilizer would be wasted:confused:
    every year is different , we are not allowed to spread after 15 september and i for one havent spread as much fertiliser this year , hoping by getting a bit out now and in a few weeks we can have the cows out for longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭WhodahWoodah

Oh I know ye are growing us all our food and we all appreciate that, I just really really wish the spreading of fertiliser (by which I take it ye mean manure) wasn't a necessary evil in Ireland! Sometimes the smell of an unexpected bit of fertilisation would take your breath away when you're driving with the window open! Although it must be worse for ye having to actually go out and spread it! Thanks for growing the food and cows etc anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

WhodahWoodah the people on here are talking about artificial fertilizer which has no smell. Slurry is the one that smells and most farmers actually dont mind the smell, we dont love it but have gotten used to it. And your welcome for the food ;) and sorry about the smell but it has to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭WhodahWoodah

Fair enough-I didn't know ye were talking about artificial fertiliser. I like to think that I was clear that I wasn't giving out about slurry really. I know it has to be done and I appreciate farmers doing it. That was totally my mistake (holding hands up in shame :-))

well did ye get rain.... we got a good bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

very little down here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Oh I know ye are growing us all our food and we all appreciate that, I just really really wish the spreading of fertiliser (by which I take it ye mean manure) wasn't a necessary evil in Ireland! Sometimes the smell of an unexpected bit of fertilisation would take your breath away when you're driving with the window open! Although it must be worse for ye having to actually go out and spread it! Thanks for growing the food and cows etc anyway!

If you do not appreciate the finer things in life, it's a pretty sad outlook:D

Of course there is never a bad smell in the city:pac: