Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where can I buy Roland used in these songs?

• 14-08-2010 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what it is? and possible merchants/stockers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Neurojazz

Most those synths would be available via eBay second hand, but nothing new around - only ones that emulate (pretty accurately) that sound.

From what i can tell, there's a TB-303, and possibly a MKS series or Juno for the sound right at the start and the sync'd sound there also.

That lot would cost 2-3k in good working order, and just to bear in mind that the computer equivalent would cost around 150-300 (but need lots of other software also to get it to work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭splitrmx

Beats: Roland TR606, Roland TR808

Bass line: Roland TB303

Other synth sounds: Roland Jupiter 8

Probably a few older keyboards like a Farfisas etc.

Check Ebay. Won't be cheap. The Jupiter 8 alone goes for 3-ish grand nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Cheers guys...tis for a mate of mine. We bought programmes that simulate the sound using computer/keyboard. But it's not like using the real thing.

Thought they'd be expensive :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Quiggers

the mc 202 was the first synth capable of the 303 bassline sound, and is much cheaper
    ebay will probably have a few

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

That sounds really good.

Try the TAL Bassline soft synth. It's modelled on the Roland SH 101. It has those sounds in their as presets.

The early Roland synths, You'd have learn to "program" them by hand (it's not programming, it's adjusting the knobs and sliders ) it could be a real pain figuring out how to get a sound. later Rolands, like the groove boxes come with all the old sounds in presets.

In that music there's also a vocoder used.

The Agogo wrote: »
    Cheers guys...tis for a mate of mine. We bought programmes that simulate the sound using computer/keyboard. But it's not like using the real thing.

Thought they'd be expensive :(

They physical synths are out of fashion. People are getting rid of them because they're so difficult to use.

I've heard of Roland SH 101s being picked up for less than 200 quid.

They are tricky to use - I wouldn't like the learning curve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

I presume you've tried Rebirth..?

http://www.rebirthmuseum.com/

I have (in the distant past) owned the real synths and drum machines (101, 303, 505, 606, 707, 808, Juno 106 etc.) and IIRC Rebirth came very close in terms of sound and programming.(to the 303 & 808)

Novation Bassstation was intended to offer an alternative but wasn't quite as good IMHO, should be cheap enough these days.

http://www.vintagesynth.com/novation/nov_bsk.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Jebus! The Basstation was launched in '93.. really showing my age now. :pac:

Charitit Singh released that in 1982 - so he probably wasn't using a Roland.

It may have been a mini moog. And some very rudimentary sequencer ( something that can play a few notes.) He was an accomplished musican, he may have played lots of the pieces purely by hand. And painstakingly recorded each part. With the mini moog - if you know how, you can synthesise everything from kicks to snares, hi hats - to your synth sounds - your 303 sounds.

I haven't done it - but in the manual for my MC 505 there's a whole thing on synthesis - where you start with the basic oscillators and build a sound like a trumpet or a flute. A professional session musician like Singh back in the very early eighties possibly had followed the Moog manuals and could conjure flute players and electronic drummers on demand. Much cheaper than having to pay a flute player to come in a do a few pieces.

He may have had an even more rudimentary set up.

JustinOval wrote: »
    I presume you've tried Rebirth..?

http://www.rebirthmuseum.com/

I have (in the distant past) owned the real synths and drum machines (101, 303, 505, 606, 707, 808, Juno 106 etc.) and IIRC Rebirth came very close in terms of sound and programming.(to the 303 & 808)

Novation Bassstation was intended to offer an alternative but wasn't quite as good IMHO, should be cheap enough these days.

http://www.vintagesynth.com/novation/nov_bsk.php

The hardware at the minute is getting really cheap - unless it's something like a 303 which are still expensive. People are getting rid of their hardware - because it's too hard to use. It's really hard to use in comparison to the soft synths.

If I wasn't broke and some had place to put the stuff, I'd probably buy old hardware. It has a lot of draw backs - but there's something more creative about the stuff. Learning to program a mini moog probably takes months - and then a least a few minutes to change a sound. I would just be fun to play with. Whoever did the sounds for Jean Michel Jarre's first albums must have had a real headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭splitrmx

krd wrote: »
    Charitit Singh released that in 1982 - so he probably wasn't using a Roland.
    The Roland TB303 was sold in 1982. The original cover of Singh's album shows a Roland Jupiter 8, a TB303 and a TR606. He could have used either the 606 or the 808 synced to the 303 via din-sync.

splitrmx wrote: »
    The Roland TB303 was sold in 1982. The original cover of Singh's album shows a Roland Jupiter 8, a TB303 and a TR606. He could have used either the 606 or the 808 synced to the 303 via din-sync.

The question is then - Did Singh invent house?

Have we been listening to Indian music all this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

didnt disco invent house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

good point - it was earlier than Phuture's 'Acid Trax'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭madtheory

The hardware at the minute is getting really cheap - unless it's something like a 303 which are still expensive. People are getting rid of their hardware - because it's too hard to use. It's really hard to use in comparison to the soft synths.
    Wrong on both points.

1. Prices of most "hardware" synths are going up, especially analogues. Even Yamaha CS series synths are expensive now. Check ebay. SH101 prices have gone up, Juno 106 is stable for years, Jupiter 8 has sky rocketed, TB303 has gone back up, TR909 and 808 are stable.

2. In most respects those synths are easier to use than software because there's a control for every parameter and no menus. Very hands on and immediate. Exception is the 303 if you want to actually program a tune you've composed. But that would be the wrong way to use it really, it works best as a random bassline generator.

Get your hands on an old synth sometime and you'll get it. Juno 6/60/106 would be a great example and easy to come across.
    Whoever did the sounds for Jean Michel Jarre's first albums must have had a real headache.
    That would be Jean Michel Jarre himself. He did a tour in 2009 with all the original synths x4, same sounds. Impressive stuff. On earlier tours he used to do an Oxygene showcase entirely on the Nord Lead. Same sounds. Shows what can be done.

O, and the track posted uses a Raga. They don't come up in house music much. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Doge

madtheory wrote: »
    Wrong on both points.

1. Prices of most "hardware" synths are going up, especially analogues. Even Yamaha CS series synths are expensive now. Check ebay. SH101 prices have gone up, Juno 106 is stable for years, Jupiter 8 has sky rocketed, TB303 has gone back up, TR909 and 808 are stable.

He's talking about non-vintage hardware, since he said "unless its something like a TB-303."
    which rules out pretty much everything you mentioned!

Most digital/VA hardware seems to go for about 1/4 of the original price these days, with a few exceptions like certain Nord and Waldorf products.

He did not make that clear at all, especially given that the OP is about vintage synths. "Something like a TB303" could mean anything from vintage synths to modern recreations such as Jo Mox etc. Yes, VA prices have dropped, no argument there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Doge

madtheory wrote: »
    He did not make that clear at all, especially given that the OP is about vintage synths. "Something like a TB303" could mean anything from vintage synths to modern recreations such as Jo Mox etc. Yes, VA prices have dropped, no argument there.

Heh, i actually phrased it as "probably meant" at first,
    but was in an aggressive mood so took it out of the post. ;)

rawr

Fair play :)