Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the worst driving that you have seen (OLD)

• 14-08-2010 10:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭

What is the worst driving that you have seeing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭gerbear1

Michael Schumacher in Canada this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Captainship

cooltown wrote: »
    What is the worst driving that you have seeing?

Irish roads every fecking weekendicon8.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

the first smokie and the bandit film or was it the second ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

I saw a guy in a silver Audi A4 undertaking the traffic in Lane 1 and Lane 2 using one of those parking areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

are you required to indicate left when undertaking ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I suppose it is the morning i was goin to dublin and I came around the portlaoise roundabout over the motorway headin for dublin and had my indicator on for headin down the slip road when i met an auld fella coming up against me:eek::eek:. I flashed him and he stopped and fcuked me because he reacoked I was a pr1ck with a big car..:D. I rang the boys in blue straight away. Stupid old fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

i saw a woman driving once:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

a backfiring ae86, an integra and a fiesta constantly over and under taking each other all the way from clon to cork one day years ago.

One of those "oh, if i was an unmarked" drives....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

SARASON wrote: »
    I suppose it is the morning i was goin to dublin and I came around the portlaoise roundabout over the motorway headin for dublin and had my indicator on for headin down the slip road when i met an auld fella coming up against me:eek::eek:. I flashed him and he stopped and fcuked me because he reacoked I was a pr1ck with a big car..:D. I rang the boys in blue straight away. Stupid old fart.

he stopped and fcuked me

he fcuked you?:eek:

rape crisis centre:185012388722

unless you enjoyed it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Nothing for me will ever top the woman who practically stopped in the outside lane of the N7 on a busy weekday evening in traffic flowing at around 100kmph because she decided that she suddenly wanted to take the Carlow turnoff. It was the closest Ive ever come to being involved in a serious accident and had she actually caused a pileup I have no doubt several people would have died.

Penalty points are not sufficient for such recklessness; a several year driving ban and/or the possibility of jail time should be the punishment for anyone who stops or attempts to stop on a busy motorway in fast flowing traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

the worst I ever saw was actually on the M4 in the UK but involved a convoy of Irish cars.....when you get to Cardiff, two lanes swing off left and two continue on....all of us got into the lanes for straight on except one clever dick who knew better and ended up going down the slip in the lefthand of the two lanes and proceded to stop in the lane when he realised his error and indicate right and turn across the second lane into the third to go straight on...all of this with 90mph+ traffic coming up behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

bmw535d wrote: »
    i saw a woman driving once:eek:

Women use this forum too and are getting sick of the sexism. Can you drop it please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I was on an Autobahn in Germany years ago and there was a sudden and insane crash about 150 mtrs in front of us so we broke hard to the right and around it. We stopped on the hard shoulder for two reasons.

1. To catch our breath because everybody screamed like on a rollercoaster or something.

2. To see how bad it was to see if we could check.

We looked back and saw an articulated lorry jackknife and slide into the back of the 3 car pile up. You could then see the truck getting pumelled by traffic and we could actually see a car flip through the air and nearly come over the top of the truck.

We were youngish so our parents wouldn't let us out of the car and within minutes the place was teeming with Polizei and helicopters. We never did find out about the extent of injuries or deaths because we didn't speak any German(couldnt listen to news or read papers) but I would guarantee people had to have been killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Heading towards Dublin on the N2 a couple of years back. Night-time. Steady enough stream of traffic.

A couple of lads go roaring past me in a souped-up Starlet. Only problem was, there was a truck coming the other way bearing down on them and nowhere for them to get back in safely.

So wing-commander in the Starlet in complete panic tries to force himself back in line between me and car in front. He gets back in (inches from me) , but the problem is he's still going far too fast for the line of traffic, so in order to avoid hitting the car in front, he swings over into the hard shoulder, missing the back passenger corner of the car in front by a matter of inches. He then nearly loses it completely and after a bit of fish-tailing, only just manages to regain control, slows down and stops on the hard shoulder.

When I think about how it could have ended up if he had hit the back corner of that other car - could've easily pushed them sideways across in front of the truck. Makes me shiver.

Worst part - I thought at least he probably scared the shíte out of himself. But, 10 mins later the little scroat roars past me and a load of other cars again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭esharknz

A few examples - someone reversing on the M50, because they'd missed the exit for the N7 (I think). This person was part in the hard shoulder / part on the left most lane.

Another when I saw a person doing a u-turn on the (one way) slip road off the M50 to Dundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Oddly similar story, but I was joining the Midleton dual carriageway from Carrigtwohill. At that point, you can only join the dual carriageway west-bound, not east bound. As I approached the roundabout, some bloke in front of me suddenly made an awkward turn and started heading straight down the off-ramp. Despite beepings, callings and flashings from everyone around the place he continued heading the wrong way down (into a 120kph zone). Gardaí caught up with him relatively quickly after being called, and said he was "confused".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Driving on the N7 through toomevara at night and coming across some fool in an 08 Avensis with no rear lights

Called traffic watch straight away

Mc Love wrote: »
    Driving on the N7 through toomevara at night and coming across some fool in an 08 Avensis with no rear lights

Called traffic watch straight away

This is not uncommon in Ireland; Ive come across it plenty of times. Worse still are the dickheads who drive around at 9.30 at night in that almost darkness with no lights on. Someone told me once that there are drivers who are reluctant to use their headlights as they are afraid they will drain the battery in the car... :confused::eek:The mind boggles...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

Yesterday as i was coming out of a roundabout in letterkenny. A girl in a black clio (on her own) with an L plate seen me coming and she waited and waited then just sailed out in front of me..... i slammed on the breaks.
    I knew the look in her eye she was going to go but i couldn't believe how late she left it, just crazy. If i hadn't have looked in her eyes i would have smashed straight into the side of her.

djimi wrote: »
    This is not uncommon in Ireland; Ive come across it plenty of times. Worse still are the dickheads who drive around at 9.30 at night in that almost darkness with no lights on. Someone told me once that there are drivers who are reluctant to use their headlights as they are afraid they will drain the battery in the car... :confused::eek:The mind boggles...

Or even this morning, fog was bad in some places and people still driving with no lights on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Berty wrote: »
    I was on an Autobahn in Germany years ago and there was a sudden and insane crash about 150 mtrs in front of us so we broke hard to the right and around it. We stopped on the hard shoulder for two reasons.

1. To catch our breath because everybody screamed like on a rollercoaster or something.

2. To see how bad it was to see if we could check.

We looked back and saw an articulated lorry jackknife and slide into the back of the 3 car pile up. You could then see the truck getting pumelled by traffic and we could actually see a car flip through the air and nearly come over the top of the truck.

We were youngish so our parents wouldn't let us out of the car and within minutes the place was teeming with Polizei and helicopters. We never did find out about the extent of injuries or deaths because we didn't speak any German(couldnt listen to news or read papers) but I would guarantee people had to have been killed.
    were you in final destination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

On the south link a few years ago, was in the overtaking lane passing a car, then see a car on its own up ahead in the overtaking lane all on its lonesome.

Then realised that it was completely stopped, i.e. parked in the overtaking lane.

I braked but definitely didnt have enough distance to stop pulled over and the car next to me pulled into the hard shoulder, missed her by inches.

The reason why she had stopped was even more ridiculous, she had dropped her phone on the floor and was looking for it.

And the most ridiculous thing was she still didnt want to move until she found the phone despite me and another driver shouting at her from the hard shoulder, cars were screeching to a halt all the way back down the road.

That individual was either mentally ill or just plain stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

...I flashed him...
    bmw535d wrote: »
    he stopped and fcuked me

he fcuked you?:eek:

rape crisis centre:185012388722

unless you enjoyed it:pac:

He flashed him originally.

Asking for it tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭shu

I can't get over the amount of people I have come across who think that when there is a green arrow for the people going straight that they can turn right or left. I have seen this SO many times, and have seen pedestrians crossing on their green man nearly pulverised by the stupidity of these drivers. How hard is it to understand that a green arrow does not mean the same as a green light?! So stupid but so dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Scottie99

esharknz wrote: »
    Another when I saw a person doing a u-turn on the (one way) slip road off the M50 to Dundrum.

Yea saw something similar last night on the M2. They turned right at the roundabout north end of ashbourne and headed down the M2. Until they realised they'd taken the wrong turn..........so they did a U turn and drove back up the M2.
    Thought about phoning the Garda, but what's the point?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Gardoggle

I've noticed that there's never any L plates on the cars I see do stupid things. So these people have actually passed tests (for the most part). just goes to show how ineffective our driver training system is in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

I checked to make sure I wasn`t here , I`m not. Some people are such bad drivers thou kinda scary!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

two weeks ago, I saw a man standing at the central reservation on the N4 in Lucan near Woodies, it's a concrete barrier with about 50cm gap between the white line and the wall. Anyway, a car stopped to pick him up. In the overtaking lane. I was already gone past before I could have taken his reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Any car with a PL, LV, LT, RUS, etc. plate...

Oh yeah, IRL too! :D

Scottie99 wrote: »
    Thought about phoning the Garda, but what's the point?:rolleyes:

The point being they will think twice about doing it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

anyone driving a boxy starlet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

About a year ago, coming into Limerick from Shannon direction, on the N18, there's 2 roundabouts close enough together, dual carriageway up as far as the second one. I was in the left lane, going straight through the first one.

There was a car just behind me, that I was watching closely, as he pulled directly out in front of me as I tried to overtake him a bit earlier.

He goes into the right lane, which is fair enough as there's 2 entry and exit lanes for going straight through the first roundabout. Except he decides to exit into the left lane, leaving me to slam on the brakes to avoid hitting him.

He continues on in the left lane as far as the second roundabout, I go into the right lane to turn right, and he's there again at the exit going right, luckily he's behind me at this stage, and doesn't crash into me.

Maybe not as dangerous as other examples, but it's the worst in the sense that he had no clue at all what he was doing, and didn't just follow some pattern like most people who can't navigate roundabouts. He was only about 30 I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭who_am_I?

Pheonix park today, a Red Micra (97-D) while travelling in a line of traffic close to on the Upper Glen Road overtook two cyclists and immediately turned left on Knockmaroon road, the cyclists came very close to being knocked down as the passenger door passed less than a foot of the cyclists front wheels.

Unbelievingly stupid manoeuvre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Scottie99

Mc Love wrote: »
    The point being they will think twice about doing it again

I've tried before being a good citizen but they weren't interested in relation to a drink driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

An old focus in front of me, woman driving very slowly and erratically in not so slow moving traffic, 3 kids literally walking across the back seats. I couldn't see what she was doing, but she kept putting her head down and back up again. Eventually I thought, screw this, went past her, and couldn't believe what I saw. She was eating dinner off a plate on her lap, using cutlery.

Yes, I reported her, but I doubt anything happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

About a year ago i was on a roundabout only to be meet by some auld one coming the wrong way in her granny mobile(Micra) how i didnt hit her head on i'll never know. Of course she thought all those people beeping at must have just being saying hello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Many years ago, a car headed straight for me going the wrong way on a one-way road in Blackrock. We stopped nose to nose and he then gave a shrug of the shoulders and a grin which kinda said 'what am I like'. The lad couldn't even manage to do a 3 point turn properly to go the correct way while the traffic backed up. Twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Last January I was driving on the N4 near Longford.The road was like glass and everybody was taking it appropriately easy.

In my rear view mirror I saw some idiot overtaking every car on the road,she then tail-gated me for half a mile before overtaking me on a blind bend. I wouldnt have minded too much but when she overtook, I noticed she was on the phone. About 2 miles further down I pulled into the petrol station, there was herself in buying the paper and a coffee.

Scottie99 wrote: »
    I've tried before being a good citizen but they weren't interested in relation to a drink driver.

The guards in my area are usually very interested when someone reports dangerous driving. I called them one night when an idiot tried to race me in the village of Johnstown (I have never had, nor will I ever have, any interest in racing morons on the road) and tried to overtake me by going the wrong way around a roundabout, almost resulting in him ploughing into the side of my car. As far as I know he was picked up a short while later racing around some back roads.

Its worth a phone call. You never know, if they do act upon it then it might just save someones life. I know personally if I saw someone do something dangerous and didnt report it, if I then found out that they killed or injured someone later on I would feel more than a little responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

northbound on m1 between swords and balbriggan, road is quiet, i was taking it handy in the nearside lane, noticed an ambulance coming at speed in the offside lane with lights and sirens on.

I checked, and he had a free run past me, but the driver infront of me stopped as soon as she saw the lights..

I squealed to a stop in the hard shoulder, asked (screamed) WTF??

Her: "You have to stop when you see an ambulance"

Me: "Yeah, on a single carraige way!!"

Her: "Oh.."

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Last January I was driving on the N4 near Longford.The road was like glass and everybody was taking it appropriately easy.

In my rear view mirror I saw some idiot overtaking every car on the road,she then tail-gated me for half a mile before overtaking me on a blind bend. I wouldnt have minded too much but when she overtook, I noticed she was on the phone. About 2 miles further down I pulled into the petrol station, there was herself in buying the paper and a coffee.

I lost count of the amount of times I saw this around new years this year in the snow. Everyone would be travelling at 20mph and struggling to keep traction, yet one genius would have to go around overtaking everyone at reckless speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

peatcass wrote: »
    northbound on m1 between swords and balbriggan, road is quiet, i was taking it handy in the nearside lane, noticed an ambulance coming at speed in the offside lane with lights and sirens on.

I checked, and he had a free run past me, but the driver infront of me stopped as soon as she saw the lights..

I squealed to a stop in the hard shoulder, asked (screamed) WTF??

Her: "You have to stop when you see an ambulance"

Me: "Yeah, on a single carraige way!!"

Her: "Oh.."

Stopping on a single carriageway is nearly as stupid. Driving onwards and pulling over to allow the ambulance to safely overtake on a appropriate stretch of road is a much better course of action and far far safer for the driver of the emergency vehicle.

i'm sorry i wasn't as articulate as you would have liked, nearly dying will do that to you, obviously you find a suitable place to pull in.

I didn't think to add every rule of the road in my post, will know for again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭paultheviking

Title is "Whats the worst driving you have seen?", not "Whats the most poorly described account of bad driving you have seen on boards.ie?"

Back on topic.. (I wouldn't want to be seen as trolling)

Every day, on the m50, even though the two inside lanes are full, and I'm overtaking in the correct lane, I ALWAYS get a large repmobile bullying me out of the way so he can move one car up, and do the exact same to the next unfortunate driver.

Learn to ignore them. My attitude is that if Im in the overtaking lane doing the speed limit and actually overtaking somebody, then I dont care who is sitting up my ass, they will be sitting behind me for the few seconds it takes me to clear the car/cars Im overtaking and get back into the inside lane. I will not allow someone to bully me into breaking the speed limit or driving in a manner in which I do not wish to drive just because some prick has no patience.

djimi wrote: »
    Learn to ignore them.

just amazes me with so many deaths on the road, this still goes on..

i can take stupid driving, we've all made mistakes, but dangerous driving.. they should be charged with attempted murder.

Title is "Whats the worst driving you have seen?", not "Whats the most poorly described account of bad driving you have seen on boards.ie?"

Back on topic.. (I wouldn't want to be seen as trolling)

ouch, remind me never to píss you off

a few years ago, i was on the oscar traynor/m1 roundabout, heading for the northbound exit.
    a car comes straight for me.. all the flashing/beeping in the world.. nothing.. car went straight past.
    driver obviously told during lessions, never make eye contact with someone who's flashing/beeping at you.

A few years back driving home from Galway/Oranmore towards east. A dark 5-series Beemer estate caught my eye on the dual carriageway section driving aggressively and impulsively but without making any real progress. There were kids on the back.

Traffic was pretty heavy and the driver in question had gotten few cars in front of me by the time we exited at roundabout towards N4. The traffic on the single lane section was even busier and this driver didn't know how to overtake properly but kept tailgating and taking peeks, but had to repeatedly return back to her own lane due to oncoming traffic.

We stopped for a break soon after but when returned back to N4 came to a crash site where the same car had had an head-on collision with a silver Golf. Hope there were no casualties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Worst Driving: A few years back driving on the N59 out of Galway before the road becomes narrow. I'm overtaking a tractor thats driving in the hard shoulder, and a woman in an Audi is tailgating me. There is a car coming in the opposite direction, so as she goes to overtake me she crosses onto the hard shoulder of the other side of the road, the car passes between the two of us, then she pulls back accross the road ahead of me. Luckily the car coming the other way didnt panic. She didnt even pull away after the manouver, and she took the next junction!

Nearest miss was a woman pulling out infront of me outside Ratoath garden centre, that was a pump the brakes moment, inches to spare.

Then almost weekly I see cars blindly following the car infront onto the other side of the road to avoid cyclists / parked cars etc, forcing oncoming traffic to slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Cionád wrote: »
    Worst Driving: A few years back driving on the N59 out of Galway before the road becomes narrow. I'm overtaking a tractor thats driving in the hard shoulder, and a woman in an Audi is tailgating me. There is a car coming in the opposite direction, so as she goes to overtake me she crosses onto the hard shoulder of the other side of the road, the car passes between the two of us, then she pulls back accross the road ahead of me. Luckily the car coming the other way didnt panic. She didnt even pull away after the manouver, and she took the next junction!

WTF, that is insane :eek::eek: