Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballincollig show 2010

• 14-08-2010 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭

Just a few pictures taken at today's show in Ballincollig...

DSCF0554.jpg

DSCF0555.jpg

DSCF0553.jpg

DSCF0552.jpg

DSCF0550.jpg

DSCF0551.jpg

DSCF0549.jpg

DSCF0548.jpg

DSCF0547.jpg

DSCF0546.jpg

DSCF0545.jpg

DSCF0544.jpg

DSCF0542.jpg

DSCF0539.jpg

DSCF0541.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

part deux :D

DSCF0540.jpg

DSCF0537.jpg

DSCF0535.jpg

DSCF0538.jpg

DSCF0536.jpg

DSCF0532.jpg

DSCF0534.jpg

DSCF0533.jpg

DSCF0531.jpg

DSCF0530.jpg

DSCF0561.jpg

DSCF0529.jpg

DSCF0543.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

Does anyone know if this show is on tomorrow, Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

http://www.iwayclassics.com/classic_events.htm

According to this it's on tomorrow too? I hope! i was working today so would love to go tomorrow!

http://www.iwayclassics.com/classic_events.htm

According to this it's on tomorrow too? I hope! i was working today so would love to go tomorrow!

It's on tomorrow yes.... I'll see you there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Rust or Weld

nice cars but not many original Irish regs, shame the idiots that run this country cant reissue old redundant reg numbers would make our classics more Irish, sure you know what i mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

nice cars but not many original Irish regs, shame the idiots that run this country cant reissue old redundant reg numbers would make our classics more Irish, sure you know what i mean?

They wouldn't be 'genuinely' Irish then.

I personally would abolish the 'ZV' system. Either you have a genuine Irish car, or you don't. None of this pseudo-Irish nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Max_Damage wrote: »
    They wouldn't be 'genuinely' Irish then.

I personally would abolish the 'ZV' system. Either you have a genuine Irish car, or you don't. None of this pseudo-Irish nonsense.

Old regs shouldnt be reissued. Though it seems half the cars being imported are being rung though these days. I saw a Capri 2.8 injection with an early 1978 reg on it yesterday,the 2.8i wasnt introduced until the early 80s.:rolleyes: People arent even bothering to at least match the reg up with the cars anymore. Plus he was probably escaping paying VRT.
    This sort of thing really is the elephant in the room of the classic scene in this country.

The ZV system was fine if the muppets in the office didnt fcuk it up.The four digit was perfect,the fives arent. Instead of the five numbers they should have used up another unused allocation of which there are a few.
    Id prefer no ZVs than the crap thats there now.

Lads, you're totally missing the point here... At the end of the day, a registration plate is nothing more than an identification number. I'm a car enthusiast, not a registration plate enthusiast.

Few pictures taken at today's show....

DSCF0597.jpg

DSCF0598.jpg

DSCF0596.jpg

DSCF0595.jpg

DSCF0594.jpg

DSCF0593.jpg

DSCF0592.jpg

DSCF0591.jpg

DSCF0590.jpg

DSCF0589.jpg

DSCF0588.jpg

DSCF0586.jpg

DSCF0587.jpg

DSCF0585.jpg

DSCF0583.jpg

DSCF0584.jpg

DSCF0582.jpg

DSCF0581.jpg

DSCF0580.jpg

DSCF0578.jpg

DSCF0577.jpg

DSCF0576.jpg

DSCF0575.jpg

DSCF0572.jpg

DSCF0574.jpg

DSCF0573.jpg

DSCF0571.jpg

DSCF0570.jpg

DSCF0569.jpg

DSCF0567.jpg

DSCF0579.jpg

DSCF0566.jpg

DSCF0565.jpg

DSCF0568.jpg

2cv wrote: »
    Lads, you're totally missing the point here... At the end of the day, a registration plate is nothing more than an identification number. I'm a car enthusiast, not a registration plate enthusiast.
    I think your missing the point,but we will have to agree to disagree i think here! :D

LOL
    ok so
    i just don't get people's obsession with ZV plates... every time i see people give out about the 5 digits ZV plates, i just smile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

nice cars but not many original Irish regs,

Not many?

15thaugust2010027.jpg

15thaugust2010019.jpg

15thaugust2010033.jpg

15thaugust2010026.jpg

15thaugust2010018.jpg

15thaugust2010017.jpg

15thaugust2010016.jpg

15thaugust2010015.jpg

15thaugust2010034.jpg

G Luxel wrote: »

15thaugust2010026.jpg
    Friend of mine used to own this,good to see it still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Old regs shouldnt be reissued. Though it seems half the cars being imported are being rung though these days. I saw a Capri 2.8 injection with an early 1978 reg on it yesterday,the 2.8i wasnt introduced until the early 80s.:rolleyes: People arent even bothering to at least match the reg up with the cars anymore. Plus he was probably escaping paying VRT.
    This sort of thing really is the elephant in the room of the classic scene in this country.

The ZV system was fine if the muppets in the office didnt fcuk it up.The four digit was perfect,the fives arent. Instead of the five numbers they should have used up another unused allocation of which there are a few.
    Id prefer no ZVs than the crap thats there now.

you are spot on their Carchie.... the ringers are going to feck it up for us all one day. I tend to disbelieve most Irish reg numbers I see.

Friend of mine used to own this,good to see it still around.

a common sight in ballincollig, often to be seen at one of the petrol stations. Judging by the shine, it could have been sold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭RossDonegan

Agree, I think its ok if you put on an Irish reg say off a car you used to own the EXACT same year, spec and colour and that you have the taxbook from.

But what pisses me off is the Escort club for example, where they import in English cars Mexicos and RS's and put Irish plates on them. So they have an Rs2000 and its only a 1.1 Popular on the logbook.

I myself have a TaxBook off a Black Mk1 Escort 2door 1.1 , Cork built. I know where the original car is buried. I eventually will import a car the EXACT same and use this tax book. I can't see why I can't, when if I had to I could get the original VIN plates under the bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Agree, I think its ok if you put on an Irish reg say off a car you used to own the EXACT same year, spec and colour and that you have the taxbook from.

But what pisses me off is the Escort club for example, where they import in English cars Mexicos and RS's and put Irish plates on them. So they have an Rs2000 and its only a 1.1 Popular on the logbook.

I myself have a TaxBook off a Black Mk1 Escort 2door 1.1 , Cork built. I know where the original car is buried. I eventually will import a car the EXACT same and use this tax book. I can't see why I can't, when if I had to I could get the original VIN plates under the bonnet.
    Looks better, simple as that. Year plates are bad, ZVs are worse. Irish plates look better whether they're genuine or not. Most people are honest about them too.

Anyway people don't buy Escorts cos they're genuine Irish cars. The Escort scene and the classic scene, are almost totally unrelated IMO.

corktina wrote: »
    I tend to disbelieve most Irish reg numbers I see.
    As do i,sadly i tend to think of them as ringers and work backwards looking for reasons why they arent. What also annoys me is is when people think my genuine cars arent. My '76 100A is on a 76KY plate,i have a taxbook for an irish one,but i wouldnt use it.
    It isnt though.You are still faking an identity,and losing the history of the imported car. I know many people dont care about past history of a given car,all they want is the classic in the driveway but to me its all part of the ownership experience knowing where the car was etc etc.. When i bought my Chevette,it had one owner and 15000 miles on it,two guys asked my why i didnt put the numbers from a '78 Kadett i had on it,when i explained the above he just didnt get it. Its either original or its not. Too many cars are being rung these days aswell,its surely going to come to a head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

As do i,sadly i tend to think of them as ringers and work backwards looking for reasons why they arent. What also annoys me is is when people think my genuine cars arent. My '76 100A is on a 76KY plate,i have a taxbook for an irish one,but i wouldnt use it.

It isnt though.You are still faking an identity,and losing the history of the imported car. I know many people dont care about past history of a given car,all they want is the classic in the driveway but to me its all part of the ownership experience knowing where the car was etc etc.. When i bought my Chevette,it had one owner and 15000 miles on it,two guys asked my why i didnt put the numbers from a '78 Kadett i had on it,when i explained the above he just didnt get it. Its either original or its not. Too many cars are being rung these days aswell,its surely going to come to a head?

Totally agree, with Carchaeologist.
    It is nice to see an Irish reg car Something about it. Also one can track at times the history of it which is great. It really gets to me when people question the orignality of my cars, one day at a petrol station someone asked me where did I get the plates and logbook to put on my car!! I asked him what did he mean, (knowing well what he meant) I then said that my car is an orignal Irish car, (which it is well both are) as he walked away i could see he didnt believe me. Its all been covered before on another thread. The danger is people who do it at some point it will come out and put us all under question. Especially if being so open on a forum like this.

Another thing which is just not right is selling a car at a premium because it has been cloned / ringed, I know of a guy who gave 20 plus k for a 13k car because it was an Irish car. I knew for a fact it was a import.

Another time while heading a club I was contacted by a UK club trying trace a car which was sold to a fellow in Ireland there was no trace of this car but when he said who bought it I knew the car straight away and it was on Irish plates. The car had some heritage from the UK, which is lost on its current plates.

I understand why people do it, but its just not right and not worth it. Soon enough it will cause insurance issues and tax issues and could cause a whole load of a mess for all.

But yes ZV with 5 digits doesnt look right. Why cant the Gov not do private plates like in the UK !! at least then it would be legal !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

I was at the Charleville show a couple of years back,
    while in the queue for me free sandwich and cuppa,I got talking to a chap who said he had an A30,I told him I had a full set of glass,engine gearbox/axle ect if he was interested in a few spares,
    first thing he said" do you have the tax book?":rolleyes:
    I didn't BTW.
    My Capri has a 5 didgit zv plate,I don't mind it,
    what really pis**s me of though is when someone get a zv plate then moves the first number next to the letters,
    instead of ZV 00000,they have ZV0 0000,
    Horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

LOL
    ok so
    i just don't get people's obsession with ZV plates... every time i see people give out about the 5 digits ZV plates, i just smile :D
    Have to agree with you there CV, methinks its part of the "ailment" that people get so hung up on these reg numbers. I just like the cars and am not really concerned about the plate, again I just smile when I read how annoyed people get about these reg plates. Bit like the Irish weather, get used to it , aint gonna change !!!;)

shawnee wrote: »
    Have to agree with you there CV, methinks its part of the "ailment" that people get so hung up on these reg numbers. I just like the cars and am not really concerned about the plate, again I just smile when I read how annoyed people get about these reg plates. Bit like the Irish weather, get used to it , aint gonna change !!!;)

Oh i know :-)

The ZV with 5 digits seems to be particularly annoying people, highly entertaining :D I'm looking forward to the ZVs with 6 digits, how much ful will we have then hey ;)

shawnee wrote: »

This could come down to generation gap here, for those of us who remember the old Irish plates more on cars, as to those who were in their teens during the 80's when it all changed to year etc. It is all down to what your used to, I think.

So for me, it is the cosmetic look of a 3 /4 digit number and even better if an original Irish car. Certainly would not turn up my nose at a car based on its plate though thats crazy!!.

Those are my thoughs for the day ;)

okistag wrote: »
    This could come down to generation gap here, for those of us who remember the old Irish plates more on cars, as to those who were in their teens during the 80's when it all changed to year etc. It is all down to what your used to, I think.

So for me, it is the cosmetic look of a 3 /4 digit number and even better if an original Irish car. Certainly would not turn up my nose at a car based on its plate though thats crazy!!.

Those are my thoughs for the day ;)

I agree.... The car is more important...

But what ticks me off big time is (and i won't mention any names) a certain person that goes to classic car shows and ONLY takes pictures of original irish registered cars... :D

It boils down to only one word... Nostalgia! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

just on the zv issue. I think you might as well have a year and county than a ZV. you see ZV and know its an import it hides nothing. At least year and county plates save people asking you as many questions when you take your car to a show.

My car is orignal, just orignal english... so what....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Nice pics, thanks.

It is scary, though, that I remember so many of these classics when they were new :(

I agree.... The car is more important...

But what ticks me off big time is (and i won't mention any names) a certain person that goes to classic car shows and ONLY takes pictures of original irish registered cars... :D

Hey 2cv, sorry if thats me,:confused: I take photos and alot of them but these days its such a pain up loading to photobucket etc and then to find ones to post on here. So when I see an original Irish reg I do post it here as it might be remembered or something. Next time I will post photos and a link to my my photobucket where one see a whole lot more than just what I post. ;)

Hey 2cv, sorry if thats me,:confused:

It's not you :D

Anyway, doesn't matter... All i care about it the actual car, not the reg :) For all i care they all have Lithuanian reg's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

i like to see old cars brought back to there original state as they would have been when they were first used , and part of that is the cars original registration it doesnt matter what country the registration is from as long as it is original to the car . if a car is imported it wont have its original reg so, for show purposes i would rather replace the zv plate or cover it with the original number plate

Well,i wasnt even in my teens in the 80s,so it isnt that. I just like them,simple as.
    But what ticks me off big time is (and i won't mention any names) a certain person that goes to classic car shows and ONLY takes pictures of original irish registered cars...
    Why would this tick you off? Some people only take pics of the Porsches and the exotic cars,surely the same kind of thing.

I know you like Citroens and the like,and i will say a five number ZV actually looks better on one as it can be made to look more french.
    My car is original, just original english... so what....
    Lol,good quote!

you'd be just as bad as any other ringer then though.

also you are uninsured as the policy you are using is not for the car you are driving

Why would this tick you off? Some people only take pics of the Porsches and the exotic cars,surely the same kind of thing.

I know you like Citroens and the like,and i will say a five number ZV actually looks better on one as it can be made to look more french.

Well maybe "ticks me off" is too harsh... I just find it a bit strange that someone would completely ignore a car at a show, purely cos it's on ZVs..

And about the Citroens :-) I haven't had one in a few years. I drive Mercedes, VW and Renault at the moment :D

Too many cars are being rung these days aswell,its surely going to come to a head?

I agree. They're bound to cop on to this and get a lot stricter. I guess people will moan that they're too strict then :D

My views are simple: if you want a 1970 car, buy a 1970s car :D Don't buy a 1980s and ring it...

Well maybe "ticks me off" is too harsh... I just find it a bit strange that someone would completely ignore a car at a show, purely cos it's on ZVs..
    I never said i ignore them,just tend to take more pics of the irish stuff:p
    And make no excuses for doing so:cool::p

I never said i ignore them,just tend to take more pics of the irish stuff:p
    And make no excuses for doing so:cool::p

Btw, i wasn't referring to you :P

Lol,good to see theres others out there with problems too!:p

I think we all have problems.... my problem is that i've too many cars :D

I can sympathise with that. Got rid of one though this week hopefully!

^ Which one?

Know the feeling of too many cars! I've two stored on my uncle's farm in Westmeath. I'm pushing it at that!

my problem is i probably have too many but when i see something nice i dont think i have enough

Max_Damage wrote: »
    ^ Which one?
    Merc 190. There may be more to go yet..

There's is an '87 Alto gagging for a good home on Donedeal! :D

i remember when the swift and alto and the jeep arrived in ireland i was working in a suzuki dealership at the time ,old men and nuns seemed to buy them

Remember these Alto's:

22462730002_large.jpg

Their was one in Blackrock in a driveway until a few months ago. Seriously rare yokes.

There was a tidy one in Tralee a few years back ,515AIN,an old guy had it,and everything that was done to it and journeys taken was written into the hand book..which i managed to get out of the glovebox before the track machine put a bucket down through it. Kept the plate too!