Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Nights Stay and Go Karting/Paintball for €130

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Just saw this deal for the Ambassador Hotel in Cork City.
    http://www.onoffer.ie/offers/12500_stay--play-with-the-ambassador-hotel--kartworld-cork-from-130pp.aspx

2 Nights with Paintball, Go Karting and token free drink.

Thought I might book it for the bro's stag party (being best man is a huge pain by the way if anyone asks you just say NO!).

Has anyone been to this Hotel before? Is it decent location etc for goin on monster session for a stag do??

I live five minutes from the Ambassador. The hotel itself is very picturesque and all that as you drive up to it (I'm sure that's what your after ;). I have never stayed there but been to bar and lower area for wedding/funeral afters etc. Very nice though I would not say a venue for a stag would jump out at me! You are ideally located to head into the city centre, you are about 10 minutes walk from very centre, and 4-5 minutes from a plethora of pubs on MacCurtain St. What kind of a night are you after and I can advise accordingly? Clubbing? Pubbing? Both? Something different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭munstergirl

Stayed there once, rooms are ok, clean bit old fashioned. No complaints.

About 10 min walk downtown down steep hill, would not even dream of walking back up.

Beautiful building from outside, was quite busy too.

Think i only paid around €60 per room, your offer is pp. But sounds like fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Mini Driver

tommy21 wrote: »
    . What kind of a night are you after and I can advise accordingly? Clubbing? Pubbing? Both? Something different?

To be honest its more of a pubbing group of lads who will be going so any good pubs around the hotel would be great Tommy cheers. Also if you have any suggestions for something a little bit interesting/different I'm all ears ... organisation is not my strongpoint.

We went go-karting for one of the other lads stag dos a few months ago and it was unbelievably good craic so this deal is v appealing cause of the karting/paintball element as well as being in the heart of the city :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Kartworld (Watergrasshill) is a fair trek from the Ambassador, probably 25-30minutes drive. Maybe see if they'll throw in transport to and from 'cause if ye're ropey after the night before, ye'll hardly want to be driving up there.
    Plus, ye'll be flahed after that day out, so ye'll hardly be able to drive back to the hotel afterwards!

Ye should go for the 2nd option from here! ;)

cheers soarer yeah the karting etc will defo have to be on the day we arrive as walking will be a problem the next day let alone driving!! Any good pubs we should hit in the area?

To be honest its more of a pubbing group of lads who will be going so any good pubs around the hotel would be great Tommy cheers. Also if you have any suggestions for something a little bit interesting/different I'm all ears ... organisation is not my strongpoint.

We went go-karting for one of the other lads stag dos a few months ago and it was unbelievably good craic so this deal is v appealing cause of the karting/paintball element as well as being in the heart of the city :D:D

Let me have a think about it - when is the stag roughly?

What is age group roughly, different pubs suit different folks and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

don't know myself as I've never done it, but is 300 paintballs enough fro 3 hours? you don't want to be having to pay an arm and a leg for extra paintballs on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Doodlebug

Have organised a stag myself using this package. It's savage value, the hotel is nice (although wary of stags, they are sound once you keep it down!:D), and the staff at Kartworld were brilliant. Don't forget to get your drinks/club-voucher from Kartworld, as the hotel has nothing to do with that side of it AFAIK. Once you don't go too mad, the supplied paintballs are fine, though most people buy another €20 or €30 worth during the day, although you can spend as much as you like!

I think you'd be better off paying for a mini bus to do a return to/from hotel, the one offered by Kartworld is good.

As has been said, the walk down into town is no bother - you'll be getting a taxi back, but it's reasonable enough.

BTW, you can also arrange your own selection of activities there, archery, etc. if you ask.

The group is mostly aroung the 29-30 age group and no real hell raisers in it so noise etc in the Hotel hopefully wont be a problem.

The activities sound great so should make a full day of it there and then on to the pub crawl for the night!! It will just make my job as best man so much easier not having to co-ordinate things cause I am a VERY lazy **** :D

What pubs are best to hit for bit of banter and non-outrageous prices?? I heard that place Cubins (I think thats what its called) is decent spot?

Anywhere around the Washington Villiage (I think they call it), and you'll be doing alright. Cubins is there, as is Reardons. They should sort out yere dancing woes.
    For pints then, there's The Wash(ington Inn), and around the corner is The Courthouse. Around the corner from that again, at the top of North Main Street, is The Raven, which is tiny and is basically someone's living room. That's a right good spot. No loud music, just people having a chat/laugh. There's another pub next to it, and another striahgt across the road. Both livlier, with music. Can't remember their names though.
    You'll probably want to head to The Long Island too. Cocktail bar type thing. They nearly always have FashionTv on, so lads have plenty of leering to do!
    And SoHo down on the Grand Parade.

You'd probably want' to start in The Raven/Courthouse/Wash, then head towards SoHo, and then back up to Reardons/Cubins. They're all within 2 minutes walk of each other, so ye won't go too far wrong regardless of which way ye do them.
    Only problem with them is they're at the other end of the sity from the hotel. But shur ye can call into The Shelbourne, Larry Tompkins, Tom Cashmans, and The Newport on ye're stroll over. That route will bring ye through the main pedestrianised* area of the city, and it's a nice walk.

* - Opera Lane has opened now, which is like Grafton Street. It's the next street over from Cashmans/Newport, but there are no pubs. Ye'll probably head in there the day after!;)

Soarer wrote: »
    Anywhere around the Washington Villiage (I think they call it), and you'll be doing alright. Cubins is there, as is Reardons. They should sort out yere dancing woes.
    For pints then, there's The Wash(ington Inn), and around the corner is The Courthouse. Around the corner from that again, at the top of North Main Street, is The Raven, which is tiny and is basically someone's living room. That's a right good spot. No loud music, just people having a chat/laugh. There's another pub next to it, and another striahgt across the road. Both livlier, with music. Can't remember their names though.
    You'll probably want to head to The Long Island too. Cocktail bar type thing. They nearly always have FashionTv on, so lads have plenty of leering to do!
    And SoHo down on the Grand Parade.

You'd probably want' to start in The Raven/Courthouse/Wash, then head towards SoHo, and then back up to Reardons/Cubins. They're all within 2 minutes walk of each other, so ye won't go too far wrong regardless of which way ye do them.
    Only problem with them is they're at the other end of the sity from the hotel. But shur ye can call into The Shelbourne, Larry Tompkins, Tom Cashmans, and The Newport on ye're stroll over. That route will bring ye through the main pedestrianised* area of the city, and it's a nice walk.

* - Opera Lane has opened now, which is like Grafton Street. It's the next street over from Cashmans/Newport, but there are no pubs. Ye'll probably head in there the day after!;)

Not so sure about Cubins for that age group, isn't it a bit younger orientated (e.g. 18-24)? Maybe not on certain nights. I would think Havana's would be a better bet no?

Also OP Scotts on Oliver Plunkett St (parallel to Patrick St, the main thoroughfare of city) is nice but pricey, lot of rather fetching foreign women go there now also (not important for the groom but for some of ye maybe ;) ) Has a comfortable indoor smoking room if any of ye are smokers.

tommy21 wrote: »
    Not so sure about Cubins for that age group, isn't it a bit younger orientated (e.g. 18-24)?

Young women need lovin' too! ;)

Ha ha and a few of the lads would be only too happy to help them out with that!!

Soarer thanks a million that sounds like a really good pub crawl route actually and then maybe finish in one of the clubs and then of course back to the hotel for some residents bar action!

Is the hotel on Macurtain Street? is that much of a walk to Patrick street and these bars?

Ha ha and a few of the lads would be only too happy to help them out with that!!

Soarer thanks a million that sounds like a really good pub crawl route actually and then maybe finish in one of the clubs and then of course back to the hotel for some residents bar action!

Is the hotel on Macurtain Street? is that much of a walk to Patrick street and these bars?

The Shelbourne is on MacCurtain st. Just walk down the hill from your hotel (both hills, as your hotel is on one, then turn right down the bigger hill, this is Wellington Road. Parallel to this is Summer Hill which runs into MacCurtain St. you can't go wrong. Walk to Patrick St. from there is probably about 3 minutes.

From Patrick St. to the bars, about 10 minutes. So all really close - save your taxi money for the drunken stupor home.

Tommy21 has got it pretty much bang on there.

I reckon the handiest thing to do though, is ignore Summer Hill and keep walking on Wellington Road (big hospital on your right). The second hill on your left is the one you want to walk down (I think there's a little corner shop at the top of it). That'll bring you straight onto MacCurtain Street. The Shelbourne will be across the road, up to your right a bit.
    Actually, at the bottom of that little hill onto MacCurtain Street, there's a little pub right on the corner. Used to be called The LV, dunno what it's called now. You'll get a grand pint in there, and there's a pool room out the back if needs be.

As for the route, from the Shelbourne, head up against the traffic and turn left. You should see the beauty of Patrick Street in front of you. Head towards that, over the bridge, and turn right. Tompkins is on your left. Walk straight on, and turn left at the Opera House. Walk to the other end of the Plaza, and Cashman's is on the corner. Walk up the side of Cashman's (Paul Street), and The Newport is on your left. Keep walking up Paul Street, and you come to The Coal Quay (pronounces Kay incase you're lost!). Keep walking straight, and you're on North Main Street. Just up to your left, but across the road, is The Raven. Just up from that again is Washington Street, where up on your right is Reardon's/Cubins/The Wash/The Courthouse, and to your left is The Long Island and Soho (down further and turn right).
    The place isn't very big, so don't be too worried about getting lost. The fact ye're staying near MacCurtain Street means if any of ye do get lost, ye just head for Patrick Street, walk to the end of it, over the bridge, around the corner, and ye're back where ye started.

Christ, after writing all that, Cork sounds class! Probably don't take advantage of it like I should! :rolleyes:

Enjoy yere weekend.