Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Puck Fair - Unfair

• 11-08-2010 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭

I was totally disgusted to see the Irish Independent newspaper today printed an article about Puck Fair and how they think it is so nostalgic, and a wonderful thriving age old tradition. They showed a picture of a young girl of about 14 holding up two tiny pups for sale - downright cruelty and irresponsible in my opinion. I dread to think of what other animals were traded there in sheer misery. It seems that I am the only one outraged by this? anybody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Budget Marketing

Its a tradition, having gone to the fair many times i can say that it seems to me to be above board, just as fair as any other cattle/animal market. with all respect you cant judge the fair based on a picture you saw in newspaper 200km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

if you think that is bad,i suggest you never set foot through a small town fair or mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TopBombing

Do ye wanna buy a dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

...... the fair based on a picture you saw in newspaper 200km away.
    When did Kilorglan move to the China Sea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

dont know much about it, why do you think its cruel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Chinasea wrote: »
    I was totally disgusted to see the Irish Independent newspaper today printed an article about Puck Fair and how they think it is so nostalgic, and a wonderful thriving age old tradition. They showed a picture of a young girl of about 14 holding up two tiny pups for sale - downright cruelty and irresponsible in my opinion. I dread to think of what other animals were traded there in sheer misery. It seems that I am the only one outraged by this? anybody else?

Ah get over yourself.

Google 'peta' you'll meet some friends there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Budget Marketing

When did Kilorglan move to the China Sea?

since when did chinasea live in china?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭l3m0n5

The biggest trade this week in Puck is alcohol not puppies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

troll.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Its a great festival and brings in lots of tourists, it goes back at least 700 years, have been there a few times, great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

I agree 100% with the OP - chinasea. That is a disgusting practice and should be banned. Any psycho could decide to buy a puppy and God only knows what could happen to it.
    And, for the information of the other poster who said this goes on in fairs and markets across the country, I think not! There are laws preventing this kind of thing and there are there for a reason.
    Plus, telling the OP she'll find some friends on Peata - bit insensitive don't you think? If she's good enough to care and show some humanity she should not be knocked for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It seems that I am the only one outraged by this? anybody else?

Do you have a F*ck Pair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I passed through killorglin this morning. There were fellas sanding outside the door of a pub at half past eight and the publican still hadn't let them in....very unfair imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Shazanne wrote: »
    I agree 100% with the OP - chinasea. That is a disgusting practice and should be banned. Any psycho could decide to buy a puppy and God only knows what could happen to it.
    And, for the information of the other poster who said this goes on in fairs and markets across the country, I think not! There are laws preventing this kind of thing and there are there for a reason.
    Plus, telling the OP she'll find some friends on Peata - bit insensitive don't you think? If she's good enough to care and show some humanity she should not be knocked for it!

I don't know, the OP had none of this humanity in a thread yesterday complaining of the waste of taxpayers money to defuse a bomb in D15.

So people being injured or killed by a bomb - okay
    Selling dogs - Horrific stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Any psycho can get a puppy from a friend or neighbour, or go to the pound and get one FFS
    What would you rather they are sold or put in a bag with a few rocks and dropped in a river?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I dont paticulary see anything cruel with it but im open to debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

What the hell, you are upset by the sight of a few pups being sold...?, if you only saw what happens to a lot of pups and kittens that dont ever get sold or given to a good home, i think then you would get upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

OP you are very naive
    What's wrong with selling puppies? Seriously???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Sweet mother of fúck, there's much worse things happening in the world, a bit of perspective please

And whats with assuming that puppies being sold are gonna be abused!? Whats the alternative, neauter and spay all animals to prevent this happening in the future??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

This thread makes me want to go to KFC for a bucket of chicken.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

If you dont see anything wrong with a defenceless puppy being handed over like a stuffed toy then that is your problem. I am well aware that there are worse things going on in the world and am painfully well aware of the cruelty inflicted on some poor animals - I dont need all that pointed out to me thanks.
    I disagree with it - I am an animal lover and would do all I can to help an animal in need. That's just me and I make no apologies for it - if you feel differently then so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If you dont see anything wrong with a defenceless puppy being handed over like a stuffed toy then that is your problem. I am well aware that there are worse things going on in the world and am painfully well aware of the cruelty inflicted on some poor animals - I dont need all that pointed out to me thanks.
    I disagree with it - I am an animal lover and would do all I can to help an animal in need. That's just me and I make no apologies for it - if you feel differently then so be it.

Are you vegetarian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Have you got a couple of big puppies?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Have you ever had a puppy? Was it not handed over to you at somestage?
    It's nice that you are an animal lover, I think it's a good quality to have, but I dont think situations like this are all that cruel. We're not talking about puppy farms, I'm sure those pups will go on to lovely homes, maybe some wont be so fortunate but that's life, the same thing happens humans unfortunately

Dont know what the alternative is, madatory neutering or a ban on pets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

What?They just sell/give away puppies?
    Wtf is the big deal?
    Am I missing something?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

OP, what's happening in Kerry is harmless, now focus your worries on some Far Eastern countries, they sell puppies for human consumption.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

I have to agree with you, OP.

That fair really gets my goat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

galwayrush wrote: »
    OP, what's happening in Kerry is harmless, now focus your worries on some Far Eastern countries, they sell puppies for human consumption.;)

The ones in Killorglin consume humans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

I tried, I really did, but I just can't take the OP seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I was totally disgusted to see the Irish Independent newspaper today printed an article about Puck Fair and how they think it is so nostalgic, and a wonderful thriving age old tradition. They showed a picture of a young PUPPY of about 4 holding up two BABIES for sale - downright cruelty and irresponsible in my opinion. I dread to think of what other KIDS were traded there in sheer misery. It seems that I am the only one outraged by this? anybody else?

:eek: Damn right the sale and trafficking of kids is wrong and your right to be concerned! I think we should be taking this thread seriously!!!!:pac:

/knocks head of wall doesnt get the point of this thread i mean a kid holding a puppy the humanity wont somebody think of the kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

King Felix wrote: »
    I have to agree with you, OP.

That fair really gets my goat.

Is it not a different goat every year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

YFlyer wrote: »

Pucked if I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I was totally disgusted to see Boards.ie today printed an article about Puck Fair and how they think it is so horrific, and a wonderful thriving age of over sensitivity and dunderheadness. They showed a picture of a young poster of mental age of about 14 holding up two tiny pups for sale and the poster screaming blue bloody murder from the back of their long suffering high horse - downright cruelty and irresponsible in my opinion. I dread to think of what other posters were exposed to this and experienced sheer misery. It seems that I am the only one outraged by this? anybody else?

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

YFlyer wrote: »

Your kidding right?

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

how have I never heard of the Puck Fair?

oh thats right I never met anybody that cared. aha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

As usual it seems the majority are wrong. Besides Shazanne . Ireland has the highest amount of unwanted abandoned animals in Europe - our animal welfare pounds/refuges are chock a block with discarded animals. Just because it is a tradition it most certainly doesn't make it right. Many of these traders aren't fit to look after a worm - they couldn't care less about animals, just an excuse for a piss up, punch up and a bit of dodgy horse trading. We have laws with regards to animal welfare but as usual little or no enforcement and hence the likes of these hideous fairs take place. Enjoy yourselves by all means – hey if you want to drink till 7 in the morning then go ahead but NOT IN the name of defenceless animals. Shames there are so many cruel people in Ireland that can't see anything wrong with this. - I can't see how I am naive - animal NEGLECT distresses me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

But anyone can buy a dog, cat etc from anyone else just through ads in the media.... so what makes you think this fair is any different? Of course there are people who will not look after their pets, such is life... but I'd imagine the majority would look after them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

young girl of about 14 holding up two tiny pups for sale

Worst dowry ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I can't see how it can be right for a 14 year old to be selling pups at a fair - like I said the dog pounds are overflowing with unwanted dogs - we need to much more pro active with regards to spaying and neutering and not mass producing litters of unwanted dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

Ah you are an animal lover alright, you want all their balls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

I can't see how it can be right for a 14 year old to be selling pups at a fair - like I said the dog pounds are overflowing with unwanted dogs - we need to much more pro active with regards to spaying and neutering and not mass producing litters of unwanted dogs.

Those damn 14 year old puppy farmers they'll ruin the world I tell ya :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Sweet jebus....... if that's what winds you up I'd love your life.
    Never read anything or go on the internet again.
    Someone think of the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 panorton

You see a picture of a 14 year old girl and two pups and that's enough evidence for you to condemn all puck fair as
    "downright cruelty and irresponsible in my opinion. I dread to think of what other animals were traded there in sheer misery"
    I'm glad your not a judge.
    I lived abroad in Europe for several years and I contest that Ireland has the most abandoned animals in Europe. Where did you get that one from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Im actually living and working in Killorglin, Co.Kerry, Puck Fair is happening just outside my window right now and I can tell you from experience (been to 21 puck fairs) that there is no animal cruelty here. There is liver cruelty with the amount of drink thats going around but who needs the liver anyway, its a useless organ that just gets in the way of drinking :D Anyway dont base your entire judgement on one picture, one picture doesnt represent an entire festival, if I based one picture on every thing then I would be naive to think that all the gay people in the world live in San Francisco or all barbers are black, think before you speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Maybe King Puck can step in and tell them down with this sort of thing. What does he do anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I was there on Tuesday and had an absolute blast!

Regards the animal cruelty,Puck fair is no worse than I've seen in marts up and down the country. The puppies are generally treated very well, especially compared to the hens and geese.
    I saw the pups that were featured in the paper were being sold up the town and were away from the rest of the animals. I thought they were a bit young to be separated from their mother tbh and was suprised that picture got in the paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Acidflash

OP it might want to stay away from Ballinasloe in October!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Someone is selling puppies OMG:eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm guessing you are oblivious to what they did with the goats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 jagerluvinliamo

Get a sense of proportion will ye ffs. Typical reactionist bull****, its like someone giving out about there being too much bad language in a porn film. Surprised ye didn't get the "capturing a goat and putting it on a platform for 3 days" cheap shot in either.
    Far worse things are happening to animals in this country and are very far away from the public eye. This sale of pups is no different to what happens everyday around the country, just a bit more in the public eye. Whatever about the seller its grossly harsh to dismiss whoever took them as someone who was gonna treat objectify the them as a stuffed toy.

This is a very visible place to have animals mostly horses on display. Badly treated animals won't get sold here and the are welfare officers about so the perpetrators cruelty come no where near the fair. The fair itself might cause horses distress but this has vastly improved, the horse fair has moved to an open field outside the town well away from other festival goers. Not all horses get to be traded at the luxury of Goffs you know and you'll be glad to hear that these fairs i dying out.

Edit: Just to had to that take a look at this insted
    http://www.independent.ie/world-news/police-find-a-live-cat-in-car-ready-to-be-cooked-2293701.html