Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody fined for driving in a bus lane in Dublin?

• 09-08-2010 7:13pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Has anybody here been fined, or even just stopped, for driving in a bus lane in Dublin?

If so, do you know on what road or bus lane were you stopped on?

FULL DISCLOSURE: I'm a freelance journalist. Although also please note I'm a very regular user of boards.ie, and if I wasn't asking the above with my journalist hat on, I'd be doing so as somebody with an unhealthy interest in transport and planning. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

monument wrote: »
    Has anybody here been fined, or even just stopped, for driving in a bus lane in Dublin?

FULL DISCLOSURE: I'm a freelance journalist. Although also please note I'm a very regular user of boards.ie, and if I wasn't asking the above with my journalist hat on, I'd be doing so as somebody with an unhealthy interest in transport and planning. :)

Not me personally but buddy got done for driving around trinty bus lane when the car ban was in effect about 6 months ago.

If you want to see lots of cars stopped for this offense, wait for september when schools are back. Go to the N7 inbound and park yourself close to the green isle hotel on the N7 side. Every single morning without fail, Mon-Fri, the guards will be pulling over cars for doing just that. They also get drivers of yellow reg plates (non-legal drivers in this case) using the bus lane, and make them walk. Car gets removed by guards.

A small observation. You obviously do not drive a lot in Dublin if you fail to see this happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Yeah, during the term you see it a lot. For me, the hotspot for Garda checks seems to be heading into the city on the N11, just before White's cross. You always get people cruising up the bus lane there and stopped by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Palmerstown Rd.

Motor bike.

40 euro fine

A single car was blocking the bus lane in a traffic jam. They were the only ones in the lane and didnt want to move an inch to let me pass. I flashed, they didnt move. One looked around and ignored me from the back seat.
    I squeezed past and the one in the passenger seat wound down his window waiting for a remark. I was pissed off and asked could they not have moved a few inches to let me pass? They hit the sirens and it was a branch car.
    They spent a good ten minutes writing the ticket and left me in the bus lane waiting and waiting ...........

Crime of the century.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Thanks to everybody so-far.
    Damien360 wrote: »
    A small observation. You obviously do not drive a lot in Dublin if you fail to see this happening.

I don't drive, but I've seen it happening a bit and am just trying to establish if it happens on certain roads -- there seems to be an issue on some roads, I'll come back here and let people know after I can fully confirm everything. Although it's interesting to hear about cars being taken off people, I've only heard of this been done with higher rated offences, ie suspected drunk driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Damien360 wrote: »
    They also get drivers of yellow reg plates (non-legal drivers in this case) using the bus lane, and make them walk. Car gets removed by guards.
    Although it's interesting to hear about cars being taken off people, I've only heard of this been done with higher rated offences, ie suspected drunk driving.

I don't think cars are impounded for being in the bus lane. UK reg cars (yellow plates) may be impounded if they haven't paid VRT, for example. There's a few reasons why a car will be taken, but solely driving in the bus lane is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I see it a good few times - nearly always when people are taking a left off a dual carriageway and the part where the bus lane turns into an exit lane is really short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭redman

Cabinteely at the turn off for Johnstown Road (went in 200mtrs too soon)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

caught once on the long mile road in 5 years of commuting and using the bus lanes EVERY day. at the time it was €40. best money I ever spent

redman wrote: »
    Cabinteely at the turn off for Johnstown Road (went in 200mtrs too soon)

That's exactly the junction I was thinking of actually! Probably only room for 3 or 4 cars turning left there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

worded wrote: »
    Palmerstown Rd.

Motor bike.

40 euro fine

A single car was blocking the bus lane in a traffic jam. They were the only ones in the lane and didnt want to move an inch to let me pass. I flashed, they didnt move. One looked around and ignored me from the back seat.
    I squeezed past and the one in the passenger seat wound down his window waiting for a remark. I was pissed off and asked could they not have moved a few inches to let me pass? They hit the sirens and it was a branch car.
    They spent a good ten minutes writing the ticket and left me in the bus lane waiting and waiting ...........

Crime of the century.

I thought motorbikes are allowed to use buslanes.:confused:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

loobylou wrote: »

Motorbikes are not allowed to use bus lane, although apparently many gardai will recommend that they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Motorbikes are not allowed to use bus lane, although apparently many gardai will recommend that they do.

Every other country legally allows motor bikes as its safer for all concerned but not in the FF run kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

My girlfriend was stopped in the city centre for driving in a bus lane, can't remember where though. Garda let her off with a warning though as she said she was just skipping some traffic to turn left when bus lane terminated.
    eoin wrote: »
    That's exactly the junction I was thinking of actually! Probably only room for 3 or 4 cars turning left there.
    seen that a few times too.

I have also quite often seen an undercover car cruising in the bus lane between White's Cross and Foxrock Church, have seen them getting people for continuing to use the lane after Foxrock church, where it becomes a 24/7 one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

done on the n7 turning left down for clondalkin the turn by the green isle, went in a few hundred metres too quick, nice 80 euro fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Hissing Sid

worded wrote: »
    Every other country legally allows motor bikes as its safer for all concerned but not in the FF run kip.
    Not in the UK, it is up to each traffic authority to decide.

From the traffic advisory authority.

The local highway or traffic authority is best placed to
    decide whether or not to allow motorcycles into with-flow
    bus lanes. Each case needs to be examined on its own
    merits, taking into account the positive and negative
    aspects in reaching a balanced view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Was done on the end of Cork St heading into town one morning a few months ago. They seemed to camp on that bend quite regularly before the schools broke for summer holidays. No sign of them these days of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 bmw3d

i got stopped in drumcondra twice in the same place, was late for work so could save 15 - 20 mins by driving 300 - 400 metres down bus lane, got a warning both times. i never heard of anyone getting done until this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭lipo starter

finglas road, heading into clearwater, the bus lane turns into left lane. motorbike guard was sitting at the top, there was a queue of traffic on the other lane so we moved over about two cars length before the bus lane finished. i did say to the driver not to do it but he did.... he got a fine. up there again a week later, seen two people getting pulled in for doing the same. the car i was in, the driver was very nearly doing the same AGAIN until he seen the two cars getting pulled over. i also have a friend who was pulled in there, havent seen the guards there again though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Got pulled in the bus lane outside Trinity College. It was just after 4 the bus lane starts again at 4pm. I got a telling off no fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I got pulled a few years back on Ormond Quay. My Sat nav was telling me to turn left up ahead and when I approached the turn I changed lane only to then see I couldn't turn left where the Sat Nav wanted me to turn left so I kept slowly proceeding in the bus lane waiting for my Sat Nav to recalculate the route (as there was another turn right ahead and I wanted to see if it was going to send me there). Next thing a motor cycle Garda comes from behind and pulls me in. I told him what happened and he was nice enough but still did me for it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

cormie wrote: »
    I got pulled a few years back on Ormond Quay. My Sat nav was telling me to turn left up ahead and when I approached the turn I changed lane only to then see I couldn't turn left where the Sat Nav wanted me to turn left so I kept slowly proceeding in the bus lane waiting for my Sat Nav to recalculate the route (as there was another turn right ahead and I wanted to see if it was going to send me there). Next thing a motor cycle Garda comes from behind and pulls me in. I told him what happened and he was nice enough but still did me for it :(

done further down quays near heuston, wolfe tone quay i think its called.
    motorcycle cop also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Pulled in about 100mtrs too early to go down Whitworth Road....€60 fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

caught once on the long mile road in 5 years of commuting and using the bus lanes EVERY day. at the time it was €40. best money I ever spent

QUEUE JUMPER!! Drivers who regularly do this make my blood boil.

Why should anybody get away with this when every other road user must comply with the ROTR:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

mullingar wrote: »
    QUEUE JUMPER!! Drivers who regularly do this make my blood boil.

Why should anybody get away with this when every other road user must comply with the ROTR:mad:

Do you dislike being overtaken too?

Your bus lane drivers could be on the way to hospital with a child about to pop out, or could lose their job if late that day, or could have simply made a mistake, or it could be an unmarked garda car, whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

ShiresV2 wrote: »
    Do you dislike being overtaken too?

You cant compare overtaking to driving in bus-lanes.

Overtaking = Legal, Using bus-lanes = illegal (during their operating hours)
    ShiresV2 wrote: »
    Your bus lane drivers could be on the way to hospital with a child about to pop out, or could lose their job if late that day, or could have simply made a mistake, or it could be an unmarked garda car, whatever.

A Guard will NEVER delay any genuine medical emergency, I seen that situation once with a sick child and they blue-lighted the car with the sick child to the hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Can we keep this thread on topic and desist with the inane bullsh*t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

cormie wrote: »

Pretty much the reason why a satnav should only ever be used as a guide...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

djimi wrote: »
    Pretty much the reason why a satnav should only ever be used as a guide...

Aye, well I didn't take the turn :) My mistake was not moving back into the driving lane straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭SC024

Been caught 3 or 4 times at various locations, had a few more close ones, its always a €60.00 fine...Never been let away with it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Michael Doherty

One gardai told me to do so...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

SC024 wrote: »
    Been caught 3 or 4 times at various locations, had a few more close ones, its always a €60.00 fine...Never been let away with it though

3-4 times?
    Fined every time?
    You must have more money than sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

Done twice at Regency Hotel in Drumcondra inbound, and once outbound on the Drumcondra road on the stretch between Quinn's and Fagan's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

N11 inbound just after Brewery Road on a moped many moons ago.

No fine, just a bollocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭timbel

a few years back got caught 3 times in 1 morning!
    was late for work and had to be there for meeting.

Got caught on N3 inbound before Blanchardstown village rdbt (before all the roadworks began obviously - was a regular spot for Garda).

Then on the Navan road just before crossroads for Kinvara Ave.

Then at the bottom of Manor St, I went straight on instead of left turn.
    Spotted a garda further down. I pulled in as if to park, wait 2 mins then did a U turn. he raced up to catch me.

A completely idiotic morning - €120 in fines - shoulda just paid for a taxi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

loobylou wrote: »

Only taxi's, bicycles, buses and emergency vehicles are allowed in bus lanes, and it must be a scheduled bus service, this includes Aircoach, CityLink, Dualway, Mortons etc, it does not mean anybody with a minibus/coach doing the local school/bingo run is entitled to use them.

Im not sure if its legal per se but I always thought they turned a blind eye to this? Surely its better to have a couple of cars queueing at the end of a bus lane rather than stopped on the main road holding up the rest of the traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

Nothing personal - but i get a warm fuzzy feeling seeing people get caught at that junction. i dunno why i just do...

Ardent wrote: »
    Was done on the end of Cork St heading into town one morning a few months ago. They seemed to camp on that bend quite regularly before the schools broke for summer holidays. No sign of them these days of course.

Im not sure if its legal per se but I always thought they turned a blind eye to this? Surely its better to have a couple of cars queueing at the end of a bus lane rather than stopped on the main road holding up the rest of the traffic?

They definitely don't turn a blind eye to it, I see loads of people being pulled over for turning into the bus lane too soon on the N11.

eoin wrote: »
    They definitely don't turn a blind eye to it, I see loads of people being pulled over for turning into the bus lane too soon on the N11.

I dont mean people turning in too soon, but where there is a bus lane that turns into a lane with a red light at the end of it, where cars could be queueing at the red light, would it not be considered better for a car to join the end of the queue even if it meant being in the end of the bus lane rather than having to wait on the main lane and potentially block traffic? Seems a bit much to expect someone to block traffic for the sake of a car length or two...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I have to mention the buslane that runs down the Belgard Road towards Newland Cross. During rush hour there will be a queue of cars sitting in the buslane ready to join the Naas Dualcarraigeway(outbound). I'm pretty sure the guards know of this one and turn a blind eye, but it would be shooting fish in a barrell.

I've never got fined for driving in a buslane, but I'm always in them. A lot of people don't realize that not all buslanes are 24/7. Nothing puts a smile on my face more, than driving in the buslane when I am allowed, and watching all the other cars sitting in traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭EmerBaggott

Hi, I was caught early this morning heading to work in rush hr traffic...Major road works on the M1, was running late coming in the swords road heading towards the traffic lights, decided to get into the left lane just at whitehall church & there was a guard there to pull me over along with a few other unfortunates...1st time ever to pull over there I usually head down passing the regency hotel, but bad decision :mad: So anyway the garda gave me a warning, saying the ticket would be sent out to me. I rang a garda whom I know & he said that the fine is 2 penalty points & a fine of so much, is this absolutely true cause Im getting a lot of mixed messages from reading stuff on the internet...Please someone reassure me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I dont mean people turning in too soon, but where there is a bus lane that turns into a lane with a red light at the end of it, where cars could be queueing at the red light, would it not be considered better for a car to join the end of the queue even if it meant being in the end of the bus lane rather than having to wait on the main lane and potentially block traffic? Seems a bit much to expect someone to block traffic for the sake of a car length or two...

In this backward country this really gets on my nerves. If all the traffic turning left obeyed the rules parking on the main lanes waiting to turn left, there would be gridlock. Dorset st comes to mind.

Blame the councils for putting bus lanes where they should not be as it would make no difference to the overall bus service if everyone went into the bus lane on turning left or not as other buses would be held up in the main lanes as a result of obeying the rules.

Also, some routes I know of in Dublin never seem to ever have a Garda patrolling. I notice they seem to target inbound traffic more than outbound traffic as they are an easier catch.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I got done for taking the left (bus only) turn at the bottom of Dawson St. There was a group of Gardaí there catching everyone coming around (about 10 in the time I was there). I've seen them there a few times since as well usually catching quite a few.

Ok, it's very annoying...& what was your fine having been caught going into that bus lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭voteforpedro

Hi, I was caught early this morning heading to work in rush hr traffic...Major road works on the M1, was running late coming in the swords road heading towards the traffic lights, decided to get into the left lane just at whitehall church & there was a guard there to pull me over along with a few other unfortunates...1st time ever to pull over there I usually head down passing the regency hotel, but bad decision :mad: So anyway the garda gave me a warning, saying the ticket would be sent out to me. I rang a garda whom I know & he said that the fine is 2 penalty points & a fine of so much, is this absolutely true cause Im getting a lot of mixed messages from reading stuff on the internet...Please someone reassure me :o

the fine is €80 but you won't get penalty points if its just a bus lane

Oh great so no penalty points for driving on to a bus lane, just the 80e fine...Oh that's great music to my ears, I was gonna die off if I got another 2 points...Friend I know who's a guard informed me that Id get 2 penalty points & a fine, so obviously that has been changed...Well fingers crossed :( :rolleyes: :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭sophie1234

i got caught coming out of esso on the run n11 in cabinteely(old bray road) driving the 100metres to my estate at about 10 at night(24hour bus lane) they let me away with a warning, they followed into my estate to! i was so annoyed but glad i got away with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

Therre was a guard pulling on Mount Merrion Avenue going up to the N11 this morning. Everyone ignores the bus lane there anyway and just uses it as the left turning lane. He had 4 or 5 yokes stopped at about 8 this morning, Saw one on the motorbike a few weeks at the start of the bus lane at about 5 in the evening.
    Is there points for it now or just the fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Palmerstown Rd. :D

pulled over went to court , Garda never showed up, told the judge my car was over heating and i wanted of the road , only drove 50 yards to the garage:D when infact drove the whole way down to get thru traffic LOL:rolleyes::rolleyes: